True Legend

Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    May 13, 2011
    75
    If action's your thing, then the Chinese-Hong Kong martial-arts epic True Legend is your movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    May 12, 2011
    70
    Watching True Legend, a wuxia film crossed with classic vaudeville, it's hard to figure out who's borrowing from whom anymore.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 10, 2011
    70
    In countless over-the-top set pieces, Yuen delivers striking combat clarity without sacrificing the visceral editing and crazy digital effects of modern bloodbaths.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    May 12, 2011
    67
    There is no question that Yuen Woo-ping is a master of his craft, but True Legend leaves doubt as to his mastery of the art of storytelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    May 12, 2011
    67
    True Legend's heart is in the right place. It's just the body that's weary.
User Score
1.1

Overwhelming dislike- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Jul 27, 2015
    0
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen. It's just a blatant ripoff of Twin Dragons only much more stupid. The fighting is too fake andOne of the worst movies I've ever seen. It's just a blatant ripoff of Twin Dragons only much more stupid. The fighting is too fake and ridiculously impractical. The beginning was fun and believable but the rest of the film felt like an episode of Dragonball Z or a sequel to Forbidden Kingdom with a third of its budget. It's beyond boring as well. It doesn't help that the actors have no charisma whatsoever. Full Review »
  2. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    True Legend tells the story of Yuan Lie, the pale kung-Fu master of the Five Venom Fist, who is adopted by the man who killed his father andTrue Legend tells the story of Yuan Lie, the pale kung-Fu master of the Five Venom Fist, who is adopted by the man who killed his father and raised him as one of his own. Jealous of his adopted brother Su Can's marriage to his sister, Yuan Ying, and longing for vengeance for the murder of his father, Yuan Lie takes his revenge, and takes over the kingdom as his own, and keeps his nephew hostage. Barely escaping with their lives, Su Can and Yuan Ying flee to the mountains, where they plan to rescue their son. Thinking that her husband has gone mad, Yuan Ying ventures off to rescue her son alone, while Su Can fights with the god of wushu in his mind, and learns the secret to defeating Yuan Lie. But can Su Can reach the palace to save his family in time? I found True Legend very entertaining. The fight sequences are very well choreographed, and feature over-the-top action that is trademark of a good Kung-Fu movie. The antagonist of the movie uses armor that is sewn into his skin, and his punches shoot poison into his victims. The special effects in this movie are very well done, and show how far that Chinese cinema has come. The movie also has a well known actress, Michelle Yeoh, who plays Dr. Yu, as well as a cameo by the late American actor David Carradine. The acting of all of the characters is very well done, even from a westerner's point of view, whatever that is worth. I don't speak Mandarin, although I prefer to watch Chinese films with their original voice track, and subtitles, so when I say the acting is good, I mean that there is plenty of believable and genuine emotion throughout this movie, and that is a trait that sets this movie apart from a lot of action films. As a fan of kung fu movies, I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone else who is a fan of kung fu, or action films in general. I think this movie even deserves a spot in my Blu-Ray collection. Enjoy!! Full Review »
  3. May 2, 2012
    10
    Dude, you have to checkout the podcast review of True Legend and Legend of The Fist here - http://tinyurl.com/d7tgbo2

    The Mondo Maniacs
    Dude, you have to checkout the podcast review of True Legend and Legend of The Fist here - http://tinyurl.com/d7tgbo2

    The Mondo Maniacs (www.mondomaniacs.com) do a podcast review and comparison between True Legend and Legend of the Fist. The review is funny as balls! You can check it out here - http://www.mondomaniacs.com/2012/05/02/true-legend-vs-legend-of-the-fist
    I highly recommend it.
    -Steve The Dude
    Full Review »