Tucker & Dale vs Evil

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 147

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Tucker and Dale vs. Evil is an hysterical horror/Comedy from writer-director Eli Craig. Tudyk and labine have incredible on-screen chemistry, and are comic gold in this Hills have Eyes/ Wrong turn farce. A refreshing new take on the genre.
  2. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Warning! This movie is life threatening, it my easily kill you!
    This is a movie in which you will laugh so hard that you might suffocate and die. The scenes that are mixed with humor and blood are brilliantly shot. Even though this ain't a big blockbuster, it is certainly a movie worth watching. You won't regret it!
  3. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    An instant cult classic. I find most comedies to be pretty mediocre and unfunny...but Tucker & Dale vs Evil won me over in the first 5 minutes. A brilliant and clever twist on the "hillbilly horror" genre. The stars (Alan Tudyk and Tyler Lebine) have great chemistry and comedic chops - these guys prove why they are two of the best comedic actors working today. The combination of cleverAn instant cult classic. I find most comedies to be pretty mediocre and unfunny...but Tucker & Dale vs Evil won me over in the first 5 minutes. A brilliant and clever twist on the "hillbilly horror" genre. The stars (Alan Tudyk and Tyler Lebine) have great chemistry and comedic chops - these guys prove why they are two of the best comedic actors working today. The combination of clever humor mixed with slapstick will keep you laughing throughout. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    I honestly expected this to be another crap straight to dvd movie but it's actually really good. A few laughs through out and a rather original story as well. I loved it.
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    A really funny movie. When you look at the box and movie posters, it may not look too great, but the movie itself is good. It shows an average horror movie from a different perspective.
  6. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very gory and very funny. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    Tucker & Dale vs. Evil take all of the cliches from the genre of horror and slice it up in to tiny pieces for some big laughs. Very few have been able to take such a well-loved yet predictable genre and turn it in to an enjoyable, clever, and actually funny creation, but, along with films like Shaun of the Dead, Tucker & Dale vs. Evil does just that. Director Eli Craig finds a nice balanceTucker & Dale vs. Evil take all of the cliches from the genre of horror and slice it up in to tiny pieces for some big laughs. Very few have been able to take such a well-loved yet predictable genre and turn it in to an enjoyable, clever, and actually funny creation, but, along with films like Shaun of the Dead, Tucker & Dale vs. Evil does just that. Director Eli Craig finds a nice balance between the blood, gore, and humor which all arise from a simple premise that keeps getting crazier and crazier. By the end, it makes the movie that much more entertaining and fun to watch.

    The horror-comedy takes on two perspectives here. The first perspective comes from the college kids who only go by looks and within seconds automatically assume Tucker (Alan Tudyk) and Dale (Tyler Labine) are hillbilly murderers who want them dead. So once one of their friends, Allison (Katrina Bowden), appears to be taken by the two rednecks, the rest of the annoying kids go on a rescue mission that goes terribly wrong. Of course, that only leaves one other perspective and itâ
    Expand
  8. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    Tucker and Dale vs. Evil is exactly what Scary Movie should have been. It's smart witty and brilliantly funny going where no other horror slasher comedy has gone before. The teen characters are cliche but the way they die is not only funny but complete original. You need a seriously messed up comedic mind to create and write something this off the wall bat **** crazy. It's the most fun youTucker and Dale vs. Evil is exactly what Scary Movie should have been. It's smart witty and brilliantly funny going where no other horror slasher comedy has gone before. The teen characters are cliche but the way they die is not only funny but complete original. You need a seriously messed up comedic mind to create and write something this off the wall bat **** crazy. It's the most fun you will have with a horror film this year!!! Expand
  9. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    TUCKER & DALE VS. EVIL is a funny, entertaining and violent comedy flick that never fails to leave it's audience laughing and wanting more. I really enjoyed this film and it is great fun.
  10. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    such a fun Movie to watch a great mix of horror and comedy. never fails in bringing something new to the screen must for lovers of the genre. a true future cult film
  11. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    The funniest film of 2011, don't watch the trailer, just watch the film. The trailers contains some spoilers IMO. Excellent twists turns throughout the film. Lots of belly laughs and great performances from the two leads.
  12. Jan 18, 2012
    7
    This movie for what it is actually surprised me with the fact that the writers and producers took what seemed on paper to be a very easy story and made it into an hour and a half fun ride full of gore and stupid comedy. Though this movie is not revolutionary or new to the genre by any means, Dale and Tucker deliver an enjoyable experience to any of those who are looking for a break fromThis movie for what it is actually surprised me with the fact that the writers and producers took what seemed on paper to be a very easy story and made it into an hour and a half fun ride full of gore and stupid comedy. Though this movie is not revolutionary or new to the genre by any means, Dale and Tucker deliver an enjoyable experience to any of those who are looking for a break from the typical mock comedy horror film. Expand
  13. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    Tyler Labine, Alan Tudyk and Katrina Bowden make this bloody messy comedy with a dark indie vibe shine. Though it reeks with cultish potential, there is at least one laugh out loud moment that even a trailer can't spoil the fun of when you see it in context. Tyler Labine plays his character with a natural ease, one of those rare roles where you wonder if the actor is that good or if theTyler Labine, Alan Tudyk and Katrina Bowden make this bloody messy comedy with a dark indie vibe shine. Though it reeks with cultish potential, there is at least one laugh out loud moment that even a trailer can't spoil the fun of when you see it in context. Tyler Labine plays his character with a natural ease, one of those rare roles where you wonder if the actor is that good or if the character is simply who he is in real life. Katrina Bowden is allowed to ever so slightly step out of type casting by being a "nice" character. She sells the confidence of her character and the actual attraction she has to Labine's redneck character. This is a move that will age well. One you will show friends while you order a pizza and drink some beer and just have a couple hours of mindless fun. Though it's not as well put together as similar-genre twisting horror flick Leslie Vernon Behind the Mask, it's harmless fun to everyone who isn't on the screen dying in messy bloody and comically fitting ways.

    Also, it proves a good memory is the best key to avoiding a stupid death of your own.
    Expand
  14. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    Its funny!
    Its stupid!
    Its gory!
    Tucker & Dale vs Evil was just awesome haha
    I haven't seen Alan Tudyk since "3:10 TO YUMA" and i wish they use him in more movies.
    Best comedy from 2010.
  15. Jan 28, 2012
    8
    A must see. This was a pretty funny movie but if you have a weak stomach you may want to hold off. The only some what bad thing i could say about this film is that there's a little bit of an overuse of blood. There are also some parts that are a little predictable.
  16. Feb 6, 2012
    9
    Tucker and Dale vs. Evil from Director Eli Craig brings us a wonderful horror / comedy action. Set in the woods in the middle of nowhere a bunch of teens are trying to rescue their friend cauz they believe two guys on their vacation kidnapped her. What comes out is so funny, that I had to watch this movie a second time right after the first.
  17. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    This movie was too funny, had me rolling. Enjoyed the main characters, the premise was extremely funny as well, and the characters were believable ..Enjoyed it.
  18. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    Great! The whole movie/script is just one big misunderstanding after another and it makes for some very hilarious parts. It's nice seeing the story from another perspective especially through the eyes of people that would usually be the killers. Even though this movie isn't to be taken seriously it does have a good message; never to judge a book by its cover. On a side note, the mainGreat! The whole movie/script is just one big misunderstanding after another and it makes for some very hilarious parts. It's nice seeing the story from another perspective especially through the eyes of people that would usually be the killers. Even though this movie isn't to be taken seriously it does have a good message; never to judge a book by its cover. On a side note, the main blonde actress from 30 Rock is possibly the girl of my dreams. It is currently opening weekend for The Cabin In The Woods and it has been receiving pretty positive reviews. Well, I saw it two days ago and I think Tucker & Dale vs. Evil is wayyyy better, which is a shame because it will live in the shadows for a good while. I always like seeing movies like this because its like finding a needle in a haystack. Tucker & Dale Vs. Evil > The Cabin in the Woods. Expand
  19. May 6, 2012
    10
    I caught this film totally by accident but when I saw the dude out of Reaper I thought it might be pretty good. It turned out to be one of the best films that I've watched in AGES! It's a fantastic take on the deliverance type films that come out every year. Watching events unfold to the hapless characters is just brilliant and very, very funny. Recommended!
  20. May 19, 2012
    7
    Tucker & Dale vs Evil is a very funny goofball comedy with a healthy splattering of gore. It nails it's movie references well and there's a knowing nod around every corner. It's even quite original in it's own way; I can't think of another movie with the same concept. But most importantly of all, the movie delivers a lot of gut-rumbling laughs. It ain't rocket science but it certainly doesTucker & Dale vs Evil is a very funny goofball comedy with a healthy splattering of gore. It nails it's movie references well and there's a knowing nod around every corner. It's even quite original in it's own way; I can't think of another movie with the same concept. But most importantly of all, the movie delivers a lot of gut-rumbling laughs. It ain't rocket science but it certainly does the job it sets out to do. Expand
  21. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    Two simpleminded hillbillies head for the mountains to fix up their new vacation home, a dilapidated cabin, when they fall under attack by a group of college kids that have mistaken them for psychotic serial killers! Move over, Jason, Horror has a new mascot... Two actually, in TUCKER AND DALE VS. EVIL! Eli Craig's brilliant satire of the Slasher genre has all of the same sharply-writtenTwo simpleminded hillbillies head for the mountains to fix up their new vacation home, a dilapidated cabin, when they fall under attack by a group of college kids that have mistaken them for psychotic serial killers! Move over, Jason, Horror has a new mascot... Two actually, in TUCKER AND DALE VS. EVIL! Eli Craig's brilliant satire of the Slasher genre has all of the same sharply-written humor as SCREAM minus the pretentious overtures, turning Horror on its head by playing off of every major movie trope with hilarious results. Simple misunderstandings give off sinister appearances, as the college kids confuse Tucker and Dale's good-natured acts as attempts to kill them! When one of the girls slips on a rock, Dale heroically saves her from the lake, but the teens only see an unconscious body being dragged from the water! As they attempt to rescue her, Tucker accidentally saws into a beehive, and comes charging into the woods with a chainsaw, causing one of the kids to impale himself on a tree branch! Bits like this only cover half of the humor, because the real smarts come out in Craig's witty dialog. Tyler Labine and Alan Tudyk downplay their roles for maximum effect, providing plenty of laughs and keen comedic timing along the way. TUCKER AND DALE VS. EVIL is bloody good fun from start to finish, earning its place right beside other modern revisionist classics like BEHIND THE MASK: THE RISE OF LESLIE VERNON and LONG PIGS!

    -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Expand
  22. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    What makes Tucker Dale vs. Evil so. Brilliant is its constant play on horror cliche's, in fact, it turns that many cliches on its head that it makes you unsure what the story is actually about. The film may contain lots of blood guts and glory but I wouldn't necessarily call this a slasher film as such as there is no real villain in this film but it would defiantly fall under theWhat makes Tucker Dale vs. Evil so. Brilliant is its constant play on horror cliche's, in fact, it turns that many cliches on its head that it makes you unsure what the story is actually about. The film may contain lots of blood guts and glory but I wouldn't necessarily call this a slasher film as such as there is no real villain in this film but it would defiantly fall under the sub-genre of being a Bromance horror which is most recognizable in horrors such as 'Shaun of the Dead'. There is no denying that this is one of the most original horrors of 2011 or even in the past decade; its filled to the tip top of gore, fun and all-out entertainment that should be enjoyed and loved by every type of horror fan, or film fan for that matter. Welcome to one of the best horrors of 2011 Expand
  23. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    A solid Horror Comedy that mixes the two genres well together, and thanks to top-notch performances from both Alan Tudyk & Tyler Labine it makes for one very funny movie! It's a little corny and silly at times but as are most of these types of films, you can't really take them too seriously! It's just plain fun watching poor Tucker & Dale get caught up in all the chaos that they get stuckA solid Horror Comedy that mixes the two genres well together, and thanks to top-notch performances from both Alan Tudyk & Tyler Labine it makes for one very funny movie! It's a little corny and silly at times but as are most of these types of films, you can't really take them too seriously! It's just plain fun watching poor Tucker & Dale get caught up in all the chaos that they get stuck with. Overall any fans of their Horror/Comedies put together will really enjoy this movie Expand
  24. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    There has been no shortage of movies about folk on a camping trip running into trouble with bloodthirsty locals and so the genre is certainly ripe for parody. Fortunately Dale and Tucker Vs Evil avoids the lazy use of pop culture references and crude jokes found in the Scary Movie franchise instead choosing to turn things completely on their head.

    Far from being crazed killers the
    There has been no shortage of movies about folk on a camping trip running into trouble with bloodthirsty locals and so the genre is certainly ripe for parody. Fortunately Dale and Tucker Vs Evil avoids the lazy use of pop culture references and crude jokes found in the Scary Movie franchise instead choosing to turn things completely on their head.

    Far from being crazed killers the hillbillies are actually just nice guys on a fishing trip that find themselves caught up with a bunch of stupid and rather clumsy college kids. This central conceit gives the movie a lot of momentum allowing for a number of laugh out loud moments and even when the pace does drag slightly the two likable leads, Alan Tudyk and Tyler Labine of Firefly and Reaper fame, ensure proceedings are entertaining.
    Expand
  25. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    A great little movie. Had me laughing out loud at many points throughout and Dale and Tucker and such lovable characters it's pretty amazing. It's a nice little movie that does what it sets out to do quite well.
  26. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    This film takes dark comedy to Appalachia where 2 hillbillies deal with a group of college kids. Funny, sweet and wacky (give it 15 min to get rolling).
  27. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    A Truly hilarious dark comedy involving two true hillbilly buddies attempting to survive a random series of attacks by a group of inner city college students. This movie is one to be treasured and watched over and over again. I Kid you not.
  28. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    Different is the way to describe this movie. And that's a good thing. It's just ridiculous; our protagonists Tucker and Dale make their formal appearance as creepy looking hillbilly's, but turn out to be just two guys on their way to a vacation home. With several College teens mistaking them for murderers, hilarity ensues as our teenage "heroes" attempt to wipe them out, mistakenly toppingDifferent is the way to describe this movie. And that's a good thing. It's just ridiculous; our protagonists Tucker and Dale make their formal appearance as creepy looking hillbilly's, but turn out to be just two guys on their way to a vacation home. With several College teens mistaking them for murderers, hilarity ensues as our teenage "heroes" attempt to wipe them out, mistakenly topping themselves one by one, causing confusion between both parties.

    The film is hilarious and clever, it's fresh and new, and it's unmatched by few films out there. It's stupid, but that's what they were going for.
    Expand
  29. Jan 25, 2015
    7
    Hilarious film pretty above the average comedy you usually get. More on the level of Jump Street 21 and 22. Original take on horror movies (unlike Scary Movie and the likes) with two leading actors who make a perfect pair of idiots with a lot of chemistry and personality. You won´t be disappointed if you are looking for laughs without having to witness ridiculous jokes or mediocre romanticHilarious film pretty above the average comedy you usually get. More on the level of Jump Street 21 and 22. Original take on horror movies (unlike Scary Movie and the likes) with two leading actors who make a perfect pair of idiots with a lot of chemistry and personality. You won´t be disappointed if you are looking for laughs without having to witness ridiculous jokes or mediocre romantic comedies. Expand
  30. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    Hilariously brilliant! Tucker and Dale does a wonderful job of satiring horror movies while infusing as many comedic scenes as possible. There were so many points in this movie where I was straight up laughing out loud. I wouldn't really call this a Horror Comedy though because there were very few jump scares. It is one of the funniest comedy movies I've seen in a good while.
  31. Jul 25, 2015
    10
    This is a good movie.It is funny, it is action-packed, it's gory and pretty damn entertaining.What else could you ask for?This is a really impressive and surprising movie.
  32. Oct 26, 2015
    5
    I understand what other people see in Tucker and Dale vs Evil. I don't find it that funny. I thought the leads in this movie were fine but the movie as a whole is a horror comedy with not enough of either genre. I found this movie so ridiculous and it only got more and more unbelievable as it went. The big problem I have with it is the villain who is so terrible, unfunny and has completelyI understand what other people see in Tucker and Dale vs Evil. I don't find it that funny. I thought the leads in this movie were fine but the movie as a whole is a horror comedy with not enough of either genre. I found this movie so ridiculous and it only got more and more unbelievable as it went. The big problem I have with it is the villain who is so terrible, unfunny and has completely ridiculous motives. Expand
  33. Oct 31, 2015
    7
    A solid horror comedy blend similar to cooties but with a real charm to these main characters. Their stereotype and their actual personalities are so different it adds a lot of heart and warmth to this movie. Lots of gore to spare, not the most hilarious jokes I have to say, but the comedy comes from the inventive ways of death and the charm from our two loveable hillbilles.
  34. May 1, 2016
    9
    Over the many years of watching horror I have seen my fair share of hillbilly horror. You know the type…college kids go into the woods for a weekend of drug abuse, alcohol poisoning & sex. They don’t heed the warnings & don’t believe the stories so one by one they get picked off by the local rednecks.

    It’s been done to death & few can touch the classics such as Deliverance, Texas
    Over the many years of watching horror I have seen my fair share of hillbilly horror. You know the type…college kids go into the woods for a weekend of drug abuse, alcohol poisoning & sex. They don’t heed the warnings & don’t believe the stories so one by one they get picked off by the local rednecks.

    It’s been done to death & few can touch the classics such as Deliverance, Texas Chainsaw Massacre& Two Thousand Maniacs. Originality isn’t something you can expect from the genre….Tucker & Dale vs. Evil attempts this.

    Tucker & Dale are hillbillies, they know it & so does everyone they come into contact with. They are on their way to their vacation cabin in the woods to relax & do some fishing when they run into a group of college kids heading in the same direction. The kids make the presumption based on their looks that they are nothing but inbred hicks looking to kill.

    When one of the kids has an accident forcing Tucker & Dale to intervene they appear to be kidnapping her in the eyes of her friends. This starts a chain of events that makes a mockery of the hillbilly killer genre.

    I love that Tucker & Dale vs. Evil takes the genre & turns it on its head; the hillbillies are likeable guys being treated very badly. The preppy college kids are nasty pieces of work & happy to judge instantly. One of the earliest scenes sees an awkward Dale attempting to talk to one of the college girls at a gas station. He doesn’t know how to talk to girls so Tucker tells him to be himself & laugh often. Dale leans on a scythe inadvertently as he fumbles his way through a conversation & laughs so awkwardly he sounds threatening. It’s a fantastic scene that shows how easily a bumbling hillbilly can be mis-represented.

    Part comedy, part horror, Tucker & Dale pulls no punches when it comes to gore as the hapless college kids end up dying at their own hands but always in a way that could be blamed on Tucker & Dale. I can’t talk up the wood chipper scene enough, it is absolute genius.

    All the actors in the movie are excellent but special mention must go to Dale whose loveable yet cuddly character shows real development throughout the movie & you can’t help but root for him to get the girl. The same goes for the main lead of the college kids Chad, whose personal vendetta against hillbillies makes for a fascinating motive.

    The one drawback is the final parts of the movie that feels somewhat drawn out. The showdown between Dale & Chad an anti-climax & because of an unnecessary opening, predictable.

    A beauty of a movie that does a good job of being funny while remaining quite gory. The leads are all very good & taking the hillbilly horror & reversing the roles made for some amazing scenes.
    Expand
  35. May 11, 2016
    9
    Funniest horror parody type movie in a while. Had some great kill scenes and good story line.

    Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29ba86-Tucker-Dale-vs-Evil-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Oct 6, 2011
    70
    Here's something you don't see every day: a genial, politically correct splatter comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Oct 5, 2011
    75
    Students of the Little Movie Glossary may find it funny how carefully Tucker and Dale works its way through upended cliches. I though it had done a pretty complete job already, including the two or three chainsaws and the wood chipper, but I was much gratified at the end when a sawmill turned up.
  3. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Sep 30, 2011
    78
    The film plays by genre rules - explicit gore included - even as it turns them on their severed head.