Tucker & Dale vs Evil

Tucker & Dale vs Evil Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Tucker & Dale vs Evil is a hilariously gory, good-spirited horror comedy, doing for killer rednecks what Shaun of the Dead did for zombies. Tucker and Dale are two best friends on vacation at their dilapidated mountain house, who are mistaken for murderous backwoods hillbillies by a group ofTucker & Dale vs Evil is a hilariously gory, good-spirited horror comedy, doing for killer rednecks what Shaun of the Dead did for zombies. Tucker and Dale are two best friends on vacation at their dilapidated mountain house, who are mistaken for murderous backwoods hillbillies by a group of obnoxious, preppy college kids. When one of the students gets separated from her friends, the boys try to lend a hand, but as the misunderstanding grows, so does the body count. Tucker & Dale vs Evil has been a hit on the festival circuit, debuting at Sundance, and winning the Midnight Audience Award at SXSW, the Jury Prize for First Feature at Fantasia, the Best Director award at Fantaspoa, and the Best Motion Picture Award at Sitges. (Magnet Films) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 29, 2011
    90
    The impalement is a nice touch. The death by wood chipper, pretty sweet. But the best bit of comedy in the ridiculously gory Tucker and Dale vs. Evil eviscerates the field of psychology with no bloodshed at all.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Sep 29, 2011
    80
    A farce of misunderstanding first, body-count nightmare second and at nearly all times a refreshingly upending horror-comedy bromance.
  3. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Sep 30, 2011
    78
    The film plays by genre rules - explicit gore included - even as it turns them on their severed head.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 28, 2011
    75
    For anyone frustrated with countless formulaic exercises that drain modern horror of fresh ideas, Tucker & Dale is a downright cathartic indictment that encourages comparison to the "Scary Movie" franchise. It's mostly a smart spoof that looks awfully dumb for a reason.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 29, 2011
    70
    It's a sometimes-hilarious send-up of slasher movies that buries a surprising amount of sweetness under buckets of gore.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Sep 25, 2011
    70
    An endearingly cheeky tribute to suspense and slasher classics.
  7. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Sep 27, 2011
    20
    The "bumpkins are people too" message will certainly please the Appalachian Anti-Defamation League; midnight-movie fans, however, will recognize that this mess misses the mark by a country mile.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    Its funny!
    Its stupid!
    Its gory! Tucker & Dale vs Evil was just awesome haha I haven't seen Alan Tudyk since "3:10 TO YUMA" and i wish they
    Its funny!
    Its stupid!
    Its gory!
    Tucker & Dale vs Evil was just awesome haha
    I haven't seen Alan Tudyk since "3:10 TO YUMA" and i wish they use him in more movies.
    Best comedy from 2010.
    Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2015
    10
    This is a good movie.It is funny, it is action-packed, it's gory and pretty damn entertaining.What else could you ask for?This is a reallyThis is a good movie.It is funny, it is action-packed, it's gory and pretty damn entertaining.What else could you ask for?This is a really impressive and surprising movie. Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Tucker and Dale vs. Evil is an hysterical horror/Comedy from writer-director Eli Craig. Tudyk and labine have incredible on-screen chemistry,Tucker and Dale vs. Evil is an hysterical horror/Comedy from writer-director Eli Craig. Tudyk and labine have incredible on-screen chemistry, and are comic gold in this Hills have Eyes/ Wrong turn farce. A refreshing new take on the genre. Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2012
    9
    Tucker and Dale vs. Evil from Director Eli Craig brings us a wonderful horror / comedy action. Set in the woods in the middle of nowhere aTucker and Dale vs. Evil from Director Eli Craig brings us a wonderful horror / comedy action. Set in the woods in the middle of nowhere a bunch of teens are trying to rescue their friend cauz they believe two guys on their vacation kidnapped her. What comes out is so funny, that I had to watch this movie a second time right after the first. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    A solid Horror Comedy that mixes the two genres well together, and thanks to top-notch performances from both Alan Tudyk & Tyler Labine itA solid Horror Comedy that mixes the two genres well together, and thanks to top-notch performances from both Alan Tudyk & Tyler Labine it makes for one very funny movie! It's a little corny and silly at times but as are most of these types of films, you can't really take them too seriously! It's just plain fun watching poor Tucker & Dale get caught up in all the chaos that they get stuck with. Overall any fans of their Horror/Comedies put together will really enjoy this movie Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2012
    8
    A must see. This was a pretty funny movie but if you have a weak stomach you may want to hold off. The only some what bad thing i could sayA must see. This was a pretty funny movie but if you have a weak stomach you may want to hold off. The only some what bad thing i could say about this film is that there's a little bit of an overuse of blood. There are also some parts that are a little predictable. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2015
    5
    I understand what other people see in Tucker and Dale vs Evil. I don't find it that funny. I thought the leads in this movie were fine but theI understand what other people see in Tucker and Dale vs Evil. I don't find it that funny. I thought the leads in this movie were fine but the movie as a whole is a horror comedy with not enough of either genre. I found this movie so ridiculous and it only got more and more unbelievable as it went. The big problem I have with it is the villain who is so terrible, unfunny and has completely ridiculous motives. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Fall Movie Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2011
    We preview the 30 top movies arriving this fall, from Steven Soderbergh's "Contagion" to George Clooney's "Ides of March." While you're at it, find release dates and descriptions for the other 60+ fall films, too.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.