Tuesday, After Christmas

Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 27, 2011
    100
    More broadly this is a resonant, vivid and finally heartbreaking tale about the universal difficulty of marriage and the endless self-delusion of the human condition, driven by a trio of amazing dramatic performances.
  2. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 25, 2011
    100
    The strength of Tuesday, After Christmas, Mr. Muntean's fourth feature, lies in its rigorous, artful and humane fidelity to quotidian circumstance.
  3. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    May 26, 2011
    91
    More about well-observed moments of everyday life than it is about heightened melodrama.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jun 1, 2011
    90
    The latest bloom from the flourishing garden that is Romanian cinema, Radu Muntean's Tuesday, After Christmas chronicles the emotional fallout from a classic love triangle, but it unfolds with the agonizing tension of a suspense film.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 30, 2011
    88
    At first glance, Tuesday, After Christmas seems, in both form and content, only a modestly ambitious endeavor. Yet the singular attention with which it carries out its aims-and the rigorous success it ultimately attains-is nonetheless unsparing, and bracing.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    May 24, 2011
    80
    Director Radu Muntean has pulled off the near-impossible, turning each scene (captured in capacious long takes) into arias of generosity for his actors.
  7. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    May 23, 2011
    80
    Again, Muntean and his script collaborators offer exceptionally naturalistic dialogue.
  8. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    May 25, 2011
    75
    They breathe originality into an oft-told story.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best, if not the best movie I've seen about a triangle. The movie is part of the "new wave" of critically acclaimedThis is one of the best, if not the best movie I've seen about a triangle. The movie is part of the "new wave" of critically acclaimed Romanian movies. Unlike most of the other award winning Romanian movies, in this one nobody is poor or politically persecuted. It is about people like you and me and nobody is the obvious good or bad person. Full Review »
  2. Mar 17, 2012
    0
    I love to watch movies. When a new film arrives and I queue it up and settle in, I get excited. I choose movies by the color code onI love to watch movies. When a new film arrives and I queue it up and settle in, I get excited. I choose movies by the color code on Metacritic and then reading the description. I donâ Full Review »
  3. May 29, 2011
    3
    If a movie has a beginning, a middle and an end, then certainly the start of this movie is good. Well told, good character buildup. But theIf a movie has a beginning, a middle and an end, then certainly the start of this movie is good. Well told, good character buildup. But the movie is missing a middle and end. If this was the first part of a trilogy then i would give it great marks. But its missing two thirds. I did enjoy it but the "ending" , in that , it has none, left a bitter taste and hence the score. Full Review »