Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Jul 16, 2013
    85
    Particular credit must be given to Samuel L. Jackson’s voicing of Whiplash and Paul Giamatti’s work on the voice of Chet. The chemistry between the two is awesome, hilarious even.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    A fresh, fast and funny little fable.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 17, 2013
    70
    A series of strong emotional crosscurrents tied to the notion of winning and losing are in the hands of a very eclectic and capable cast.
  4. 63
    While small children may be enchanted by this little gastropod that could, adults will be more sorely tested. For all the horsepower Turbo boasts about, the movie tends toward the sluggish — as in slow as a slug.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Oct 21, 2013
    60
    Paul Giamatti shines as Theo’s pessimistic brother Chet, and the uplifting message never smashes you over the head.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 16, 2013
    60
    Competent, pretty funny in places, awfully nice to look at, that sort of thing. There’s just not a lot of excitement, though.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 17, 2013
    25
    One of the more disappointing big studio animated features this year, a movie can't even muster the energy to be visually engaging, let alone give you anything to care about story-wise.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. dpc
    Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Saw it with my 7 year old son we both had a great time. Yes, the story is hardly innovative, but the animation is great, the humor is great, the voice acting is great and it's overall just a lot of fun. Turbo is getting a bit beat up for the wrong reasons. Critics should take in account the target audience, like my son, who loved it. And as an adult, believe me, you could do far worse. So, if you are 2 dudes in your 20s, you probably won't be blown away (as you might with Pixar) but for families with easy-going kids, you won't be sorry you dropped some cash on a Saturday afternoon. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    While I enjoy Dreamworks films, I never thought they were anywhere near what Pixar puts out in the department of story and humor. "Turbo" isn't going to win any awards for dynamic characters or any for having a rich deep story but I found myself having a lot of fun with the film. While it was clearly geared more towards kids rather than being a family film that both young and old can enjoy (the sheer logistics of a world where a snail can go fast and the human race kinda accepts it a little too easily will, no doubt, rub some older viewers the wrong way), I still thought the movie had some great animation, a fantastic cast doing an astonishing job and it was really funny--especially the snail character White Shadow (man, he was funny). Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    I had a great time with the movies. movie about a speed-obsessed snail who just go with it enters the Indy 500 dose make thing lot groundbreaking.But, for those dragged to see it by children, it won't make you want to rub salt in your eyes it just make you run from the salt to ensure your safe. its an great pick. i give 8 out of 10. Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    7
    The story of the movie is very similar to Ratatouille and Cars, nothing original. But you can pass a good time watching this movie with your friends or family. Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    6
    A light hearted hybrid of Pixar's Cars and Ratatouille; Turbo never quiet manages to hit the high notes from either its plot or action but its entertaining enough for a watch. The comedy is sharp which helps the film but for a film called Turbo I expected it to get to it's main plot faster. Collapse
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    This is an enjoyable children's movie, but it's nothing spectacular. I would say it's similar to Monster's University you are hoping for something a little more, but it's worth a mild recommendation. B- Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    I think what kills Turbo is the fact that it has a painfully generic plot, poorly developed and unlike-able characters, and terrible miscasting. I mean hopefully, Who puts people like Samuel L. Jackson and Snoop Dogg in an animated film aimed towards kids? Morons...that's who.

    Overall, Turbo shouldn't even be on your radar. It's painfully unoriginal and boring. Would be a waste of time and money to see it.
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Trailers