New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 28, 1992
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 122 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
102
Mixed:
12
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
twocents00Jul 8, 2016
I almost didn't watch this movie because of all the horrible things I heard about it. It was a great movie and really answered some lingering questions I had. Sheryl Lee and Ray Wise both give spine tingling performances. The tension inI almost didn't watch this movie because of all the horrible things I heard about it. It was a great movie and really answered some lingering questions I had. Sheryl Lee and Ray Wise both give spine tingling performances. The tension in some of the scenes was palpable. I guess Lynch was just way ahead of his time because it is a masterpiece. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
VerticalGunnJul 29, 2014
A disturbing, sadistic, mind-bending prequel to the television series Twin Peaks. It's not Lynch's best work, but it's still a welcome expansion to he mythology.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
sbahreNov 26, 2011
David Lynch's most heartbreaking movie. The quirky television show is deconstructed as Lynch takes us through the real life horrors that Laura Palmer went through before Agent Cooper got on the scene. The film delves into all of the darkDavid Lynch's most heartbreaking movie. The quirky television show is deconstructed as Lynch takes us through the real life horrors that Laura Palmer went through before Agent Cooper got on the scene. The film delves into all of the dark places that the show only alluded to. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
faxafloi35Jul 8, 2016
Critics are silly. As for me this is one of my favorite films. It is very dark and creepy and at 35 it still gives me the creeps if I watch it during the night. Perfect script and music. People think there are no answers in this movie, but ICritics are silly. As for me this is one of my favorite films. It is very dark and creepy and at 35 it still gives me the creeps if I watch it during the night. Perfect script and music. People think there are no answers in this movie, but I think there are many. You just have to be able to think abstractly. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
DinoBeamApr 18, 2017
Wow this movie blew me away! I had heard the 90's audience didn't understand it and thus gave it a bad review, and i love lynch, but i still didn't expect it to be this good. I heard it had no humor in it, it has tons. I heard it was allWow this movie blew me away! I had heard the 90's audience didn't understand it and thus gave it a bad review, and i love lynch, but i still didn't expect it to be this good. I heard it had no humor in it, it has tons. I heard it was all despair, it isn't. It has almost the same balance as the show. Sheryl Lee gives one of the very best performances I've ever witnessed, as if she hadn't done well enough with the show. I thought I might not like seeing Laura Palmer's life before her death, which is the mystery of the show, and i was blown away at how well it was done, and how absolutely glued to the screen I was. Donna has been replaced due to a scheduling conflict and I like her replacement better! I am still left in shock by how satisfying this movie was, especially with all the hype surrounding it after watching the series. Watching the series first is a must. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
PaversJul 9, 2007
I must admit, the first time I saw this movie I was disappointed. It was the first thing that I watched in the Twin Peaks franchise and now I know that was a mistake. Soon afterwards I purchased the first television series and discovered I must admit, the first time I saw this movie I was disappointed. It was the first thing that I watched in the Twin Peaks franchise and now I know that was a mistake. Soon afterwards I purchased the first television series and discovered what all the fuss was about. That series is the best television show I have ever seen. So I tried Fire Walk With Me again and disliked it even more than the first time I watched it. It lacked the charm of the first series and there was so much content that wasn't related to that first series. I ended up getting confused, waiting for the movie to end. Then despite all the negative things I'd heard about the second tv series, I manage to get hold of a copy, and was pleasantly surprised. Though not as strong as the first tv series, the series is still enjoyable. Soon after watching that series, I received a copy of the Fire Walk With Me DVD as a birthday present. Despite having reservations about watching this movie again, I played it last night. And lo and behold after watching every episode of both tv series, everything came together. The whole thing made much more sense... and was a joy to watch. This movie does NOT hold up as a standalone. I feel this is the reason for a lot of the negative reviews. I'd recommend this movie only after watch both series one and series two of the tv series.... then maybe like me, you will be pleasantly surprised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidN.May 16, 2010
A powerful, moving, psychedelic movie. Do not believe the hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JorisNov 4, 2006
28??? This is an amazing masterpiece I can't understand why someone wopuldn't like this! As a fan of Twin Peaks I never wanted to see this as I read the reviews. But when I saw it I was completely stunned and overwhelmed by this 28??? This is an amazing masterpiece I can't understand why someone wopuldn't like this! As a fan of Twin Peaks I never wanted to see this as I read the reviews. But when I saw it I was completely stunned and overwhelmed by this masterpiece. Fantastic Lynch atmosphere--great scenes with a lot of depth. The David Bowie scene is fantastic and Badalamenti's score adds a lot again to the whole of this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TelyS.May 29, 2006
With his final comment on the world of Twin Peaks he and Mark Frost created, David Lynch pulls a fast one and actually bothers to care about it. It is easy to see why the film was hated so vehemently by critics and fans of the series; the With his final comment on the world of Twin Peaks he and Mark Frost created, David Lynch pulls a fast one and actually bothers to care about it. It is easy to see why the film was hated so vehemently by critics and fans of the series; the quirk and humor that defined TP for many has been replaced by the most profoundly sad and moving story about incest that will likely ever be made. The film achieves stratospheric levels of depraved, sincere beauty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerP.Dec 9, 2008
I'm not a big David Lynch fan. I think the reason the TV series worked so brilliantly well was because he had to curb his more insane impulses. I hated Wild at Heart, Lost Highway and Dune and I didn't really get Mulholland Drive I'm not a big David Lynch fan. I think the reason the TV series worked so brilliantly well was because he had to curb his more insane impulses. I hated Wild at Heart, Lost Highway and Dune and I didn't really get Mulholland Drive (though it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErckNFeb 15, 2007
This film is so deep that is leaves the shallow minded all but drowning in its wake. Lynch fans all over call this the worst ever and not just amongst his films but of all cinema (I really cannot figure why even from those whom have given me This film is so deep that is leaves the shallow minded all but drowning in its wake. Lynch fans all over call this the worst ever and not just amongst his films but of all cinema (I really cannot figure why even from those whom have given me a superficial reason to call it trash). People looking for an obvious sum will be lost...this is pure art in the highest of forms...it finally takes us to the real underbelly of all the evidence that was exhibited in the series. This is Laura Palmer's story were the series was Cooper's perception of a town where yellow traffic lights mean slow down and not speed up. My advice is just have no expectations. As with any other Lynch film, it's good to view with an open mind and let it just wash over you like a wave of chaos and beauty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcDoyleAug 8, 2010
The critics missed the boat on this one. Especially if you've seen at least the first season & a half of the TV series. My friends and I were quoting the movie for years ("bite the bullet baby!") - I think it's one of Lynch's best works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleAug 28, 2017
A descent into the hellish mind of resident cinematic mad scientist David Lynch, Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me is the prequel to his surreal early 1990s television series Twin Peaks, which was recently revived by Showtime. Introducing us toA descent into the hellish mind of resident cinematic mad scientist David Lynch, Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me is the prequel to his surreal early 1990s television series Twin Peaks, which was recently revived by Showtime. Introducing us to this sadistic and surrealist world, Fire Walk With Me starts off withe murder of Teresa Banks (Pamela Gidley), the disappearance of FBI agent Chester Desmond (Chris Isaak), and then moves into the central mystery regarding the suspicious incidents happening to high school prom queen Laura Palmer (Sheryl Lee) in the lead up to her death. From what I gather, her death is the mystery explored in the original television series. What is perhaps the most interesting is how little is actually revealed. Sure, we see what kills her here, but that is hardly the only bit that is important. A film that defies definition and reaches comical levels of Lynchian absurdity, Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me is simply a damn good time if you are a film lover who adores being thoroughly confused.

What is perhaps most obvious in this film is the balance between heaven and hell that Lynch creates. With references to how, once you walk with the fire, it consumes you entirely with innocence the first thing to go. Read as being in reference to hell fire or walking in sin, Laura Palmer exemplifies this by working as an apparent sex worker who goes to seedy, red-tinted dance halls with creepy men who give her drugs. In dancing with the devil in such a fashion, Laura has let her soul come into direct contact with danger that leaves her open to losing her soul entirely to the pits of hell. With a scene calling back to Rosemary's Baby, Lynch shows what appears to be Laura's father or some other guy named Bob (it flips between the two) mounting Laura as she sleeps, clawing with long finger nails against her body, and thrusting as she slowly wakes up, leading her to wonder if it was all a dream or not. This scene is certainly similar to Rosemary's Baby when Mia Farrow's character is raped by Satan in a dream-like sequence. In many films, such as Angel Heart or The Devil's Advocate, Satan is depicted as having long, gnarly looking nails and the character of Bob has these exact same nails.

The further she descends into madness and sin, Laura loses sight of any of the light of God in the film. In an early shot, Lynch shows a painting on her wall that has an angel serving food to children. Later, this angel is gone. In a scene where she is being attacked along with a friend also caught in this life, the friend is able to escape after a guardian angel arrives to untie her hands. Laura, however, is left to deal with every bit of the terror that her sinful ways has brought upon her. While perhaps not the most important theme, it is clear that there is some evil forces bubbling under the surface here with these nefarious characters clear depictions of absolute evil in our world, capable of destroying the purity, innocence, and mental health of those who give into their temptations purely by being in their presence.

In line with this concept of purity, Lynch places with ideas regarding incest and the protective nature of fathers throughout. Creating horror out of images of Laura's father Leland (Ray Wise) seeing her getting awaiting his arrival to the bedroom after he had asked Teresa to bring her friends to their next encounter, the film dances with going all the way as Leland/Bob/Satan mounts her in the bedroom and has sex with her. This incestuous relationship is naturally jarring to watch unfold and one that neither wants, with both sharing repulsed glances at one another once they know the devious lifestyle the other leads that has led to some unwelcomed shoulder rubbing as a result. On one hand, the film manages to create horror and tension out of this weird relationship between the two that often spirals into absolute insanity, while also calling into question just who Leland is and why he is being used to get closer to Laura in this way.

Much of the horror shared between Leland and Laura is derived from the natural desire of a father to protect his daughter from growing up and meeting seedy characters. Seeing her as a sexual being is not just jarring, but Leland seeing her somebody being prepped for a man as sexually depraved as himself really does him in completely. He knows that Laura is just like the girls he sees, none of whom he actually respects. Thus, it is no surprise to see him freak out on her to wash her hands when he sees her after their unfortunate near-encounter in the bedroom. Yet, it is clear that this is not just some simple case of a father trying to protect his daughter from sex. By rubbing shoulders with these evil characters in his own journey through the film's story, Leland knows the dangers they pose to him, let alone his previously innocent and proper daughter Laura.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TharnisMay 30, 2017
28 is just insane. Maybe the world wasnt ready for this fantastic movie back then. Saw it for the first time last week. Rarely have i been so emotionally rattled as i was by this movie. Crept under my skin. I saw the tv series when it first28 is just insane. Maybe the world wasnt ready for this fantastic movie back then. Saw it for the first time last week. Rarely have i been so emotionally rattled as i was by this movie. Crept under my skin. I saw the tv series when it first aired and rewatched the series when i heard that they where gonna make season 3. After the rewatch i then saw Fire walk with me. Regret i didnt see it before.

So for all those that enjoyed twin peaks but didnt see fire walk with me due to the negativity...... give it a chance.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dramatickidAug 21, 2017
This movie received bad review because it was too "Lynchian" for its times maybe but that's what makes it so unique. It can be fully appreciated only if you watched the first two seasons of Twin Peaks otherwise its plot makes little sense.This movie received bad review because it was too "Lynchian" for its times maybe but that's what makes it so unique. It can be fully appreciated only if you watched the first two seasons of Twin Peaks otherwise its plot makes little sense. Just like most of Lynch's movie it leaves you dazzled and puzzled but it is also very moving because of the focus on Laura Palmer's tragedy. The ending scene is a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
facciooneAug 17, 2017
I forced myself to watch this, after reading a bunch of reviews that placed this as an historical low hit for Lynch, and found myself surprised at how good it was. Better than most episodes of the series in my opinion. This utterly changed myI forced myself to watch this, after reading a bunch of reviews that placed this as an historical low hit for Lynch, and found myself surprised at how good it was. Better than most episodes of the series in my opinion. This utterly changed my entire view of Laura Palmer and the meaning of her attitude, the amount of information and links here is huge if compared to the ever slow pace of the series.
It surely is twice as better as any episode of the new third season (that for some reason is being acclaimed as the best Lynch work ever even if it has all the characteristics that made critics spit on Fire Walk With Me in the first place).
All this ramble to say : Critics can't judge their own s**t, this is a fundamental and well done piece of the Twin Peaks experience
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JankerJul 23, 2017
It's pretty good and a treat to have something like this within the Twin Peaks mythos! Slightly darker then the original tv series but absolutely worth a watch if you like the Twin Peaks world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews