User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 3 out of 50
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    David Lynch's most heartbreaking movie. The quirky television show is deconstructed as Lynch takes us through the real life horrors that Laura Palmer went through before Agent Cooper got on the scene. The film delves into all of the dark places that the show only alluded to.
  2. StringerB.
    Sep 9, 2002
    9
    Teresa Banks is hot. Why hasn't she been in anything else?
  3. EvamW.
    May 21, 2005
    9
    This is one of Lynch's all-time best! Sadly, this film has been misunderstood and wrongheadedly compared to the tone of the series. This film peels back the layers of the series to its essence, that which is Laura Palmer's last days. FWWM also deals with what the series could not and this can be, like actress Sheryl Lee said, "very confrontational to certain people." This film This is one of Lynch's all-time best! Sadly, this film has been misunderstood and wrongheadedly compared to the tone of the series. This film peels back the layers of the series to its essence, that which is Laura Palmer's last days. FWWM also deals with what the series could not and this can be, like actress Sheryl Lee said, "very confrontational to certain people." This film IS the heart and soul of Twin Peaks as far as I'm concerned. An incredibly moving and honest film by one of contemporary cinema's most visionary and progressive artists. Expand
  4. SpikesD.
    Aug 11, 2002
    10
    Let me just start by saying to Rita Kempley...the word is "Garmonbozia," not "Garborzonia." That's your first problem. Secondly, when Jacques "Bite the Bullet Baby" Renault tells Laura, "I'm as blank as a fart," you've got to understand the symbollism in that. This movie is packed with it. Bob rocks as usual. Leland is a crazy bastard. Sheryl Lee should have been recognized Let me just start by saying to Rita Kempley...the word is "Garmonbozia," not "Garborzonia." That's your first problem. Secondly, when Jacques "Bite the Bullet Baby" Renault tells Laura, "I'm as blank as a fart," you've got to understand the symbollism in that. This movie is packed with it. Bob rocks as usual. Leland is a crazy bastard. Sheryl Lee should have been recognized by the Academy for her work. And Chris Isaac steps into his role quite elegantly. The dream world of Twin Peaks, including the Black Lodge and its inhabitants, is something that must be understood on a subconscious level. And the owls are not what they seem. cooper cooper coooper.... Expand
  5. scotfree
    Sep 12, 2004
    10
    Just has to be a 10 !!!!!
  6. DavidN.
    May 16, 2010
    10
    A powerful, moving, psychedelic movie. Do not believe the hype.
  7. JacquesR.
    Aug 24, 2002
    10
    Bite the bullet, baby....Bite the bullet...
  8. ErikB.
    Aug 12, 2004
    10
    So brilliant that I watched the movie and the series again this summer. Give me my garmonbozia! I wish Lynch would do a sequel, and I wish they would get the series with pilot out on DVD in a decent edition. Lynch themes propel this film beyond his normal ouevre, knowing that there are 31 hours of backstory turning time on its head in a manner later used by Tarantino in Pulp Fiction. The So brilliant that I watched the movie and the series again this summer. Give me my garmonbozia! I wish Lynch would do a sequel, and I wish they would get the series with pilot out on DVD in a decent edition. Lynch themes propel this film beyond his normal ouevre, knowing that there are 31 hours of backstory turning time on its head in a manner later used by Tarantino in Pulp Fiction. The story is an epic presentation of the conflict between the ideal and the real in small town America, and the horror of that limnal space where the two almost recognize each other. Zowie, watch this one again and again until you understand it. Collapse
  9. Joris
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    28??? This is an amazing masterpiece I can't understand why someone wopuldn't like this! As a fan of Twin Peaks I never wanted to see this as I read the reviews. But when I saw it I was completely stunned and overwhelmed by this masterpiece. Fantastic Lynch atmosphere--great scenes with a lot of depth. The David Bowie scene is fantastic and Badalamenti's score adds a lot 28??? This is an amazing masterpiece I can't understand why someone wopuldn't like this! As a fan of Twin Peaks I never wanted to see this as I read the reviews. But when I saw it I was completely stunned and overwhelmed by this masterpiece. Fantastic Lynch atmosphere--great scenes with a lot of depth. The David Bowie scene is fantastic and Badalamenti's score adds a lot again to the whole of this. Expand
  10. TelyS.
    May 29, 2006
    10
    With his final comment on the world of Twin Peaks he and Mark Frost created, David Lynch pulls a fast one and actually bothers to care about it. It is easy to see why the film was hated so vehemently by critics and fans of the series; the quirk and humor that defined TP for many has been replaced by the most profoundly sad and moving story about incest that will likely ever be made. The With his final comment on the world of Twin Peaks he and Mark Frost created, David Lynch pulls a fast one and actually bothers to care about it. It is easy to see why the film was hated so vehemently by critics and fans of the series; the quirk and humor that defined TP for many has been replaced by the most profoundly sad and moving story about incest that will likely ever be made. The film achieves stratospheric levels of depraved, sincere beauty. Expand
  11. RogerP.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    I'm not a big David Lynch fan. I think the reason the TV series worked so brilliantly well was because he had to curb his more insane impulses. I hated Wild at Heart, Lost Highway and Dune and I didn't really get Mulholland Drive (though it
  12. ErckN
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    This film is so deep that is leaves the shallow minded all but drowning in its wake. Lynch fans all over call this the worst ever and not just amongst his films but of all cinema (I really cannot figure why even from those whom have given me a superficial reason to call it trash). People looking for an obvious sum will be lost...this is pure art in the highest of forms...it finally takes This film is so deep that is leaves the shallow minded all but drowning in its wake. Lynch fans all over call this the worst ever and not just amongst his films but of all cinema (I really cannot figure why even from those whom have given me a superficial reason to call it trash). People looking for an obvious sum will be lost...this is pure art in the highest of forms...it finally takes us to the real underbelly of all the evidence that was exhibited in the series. This is Laura Palmer's story were the series was Cooper's perception of a town where yellow traffic lights mean slow down and not speed up. My advice is just have no expectations. As with any other Lynch film, it's good to view with an open mind and let it just wash over you like a wave of chaos and beauty. Expand
  13. Aug 8, 2010
    9
    The critics missed the boat on this one. Especially if you've seen at least the first season & a half of the TV series. My friends and I were quoting the movie for years ("bite the bullet baby!") - I think it's one of Lynch's best works.
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 10 out of 16
  1. Judged by the standards of ordinary filmmaking, it's as strange, suggestive, and surreal as other Lynch pictures have been. Judged by the standards of Lynch's own career, however, it's amazingly stale and second-hand… [and] contains not a single moment of genuinely felt emotion. [1 Sept 1992]
  2. A two- hour-plus surrealistic bummer - it makes the audience feel as if it is coming down from a virulent drug. (The pacing, the images, the music and the endemic menace recall clinical descriptions of cocaine-induced paranoia.)...A disgusting, misanthropic movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Snyder
    25
    It's all rather haphazard, and fans will wait in vain for Sheriff Harry S Truman, rich girl sexbomb Audrey Horne and the rest, or for more Cooper. Brief bits that avid viewers can understand will render the film incomprehensible to the new viewer. [29 Aug 1992]