User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 72
  2. Negative: 47 out of 72
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichR.
    Feb 3, 2006
    1
    This is a foul movie. Why doesn't this has-been branch out a little bit instead of playing the same old dispeptic psycho in every movie, again and again, time after time... And Matthew Mc-whatever-it-is? Don't get me started! What a log! This guy's the Patrick Swayze of his generation: dull, non-threatening, over-exercised and dumb. I guess I should say "What a dog!" No This is a foul movie. Why doesn't this has-been branch out a little bit instead of playing the same old dispeptic psycho in every movie, again and again, time after time... And Matthew Mc-whatever-it-is? Don't get me started! What a log! This guy's the Patrick Swayze of his generation: dull, non-threatening, over-exercised and dumb. I guess I should say "What a dog!" No wonder women like guys like these; they make them feel superior. Expand
  2. Johnston
    Oct 8, 2005
    0
    Lelt me preface remarks by stating I love to gamble. After watching two hours of this garbage, you finally realize this movie is so inept. It is about scamdicappers and nothing else. It is just dumb and puts you to sleep. There is no plot, and is without purpose unless you count the actors ripping the public off by accepting a paycheck? To see the great Al Pacino acting at this level of Lelt me preface remarks by stating I love to gamble. After watching two hours of this garbage, you finally realize this movie is so inept. It is about scamdicappers and nothing else. It is just dumb and puts you to sleep. There is no plot, and is without purpose unless you count the actors ripping the public off by accepting a paycheck? To see the great Al Pacino acting at this level of incompetency is very sad. Avoid this disaster at all costs as it's simply too bad to be believed. Expand
  3. Lucky
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    What a disappointing effort. Forgotten as soon as you leave the theater. There is nothing to like. Just a waste of time.
  4. Jane
    Oct 9, 2005
    0
    My boyfriend dragged me to see this. It was so awful that he apologized. Enough said.
  5. dick
    Oct 12, 2005
    0
    If you liked this I want to sell you the Brooklyn Bridge.
  6. punits.
    Oct 12, 2005
    2
    Good acting by the actors, but in a lost cause. This movie is absolutely retarded. No plot, no point, nothing. Not even a slight bit of realism, goes from one extreme to another. This type of movie needs a explanation at the end of movie stating what the director and producer had in mind when they made you waste more than two hours of your time. We sat in the movie theater and watched Good acting by the actors, but in a lost cause. This movie is absolutely retarded. No plot, no point, nothing. Not even a slight bit of realism, goes from one extreme to another. This type of movie needs a explanation at the end of movie stating what the director and producer had in mind when they made you waste more than two hours of your time. We sat in the movie theater and watched people leave, entertained by the comments other people were making. Which actually made the whole experience bearable. I feel bad for the actors who put forth a very good effort. Expand
  7. spongeee
    Oct 12, 2005
    0
    Good thing I was high cause this movie was horrible to the T. Rene Russo (who happens to be one of the Exc Producers) cheats with a younger man...what young man in his right mind would touch Russo with a 10 ft stick. At times I thought Paccino and Matt were going to kiss and other parts reminded of bad porn writing. Al is so over rated...Taxi Driver was good...but is he really that Good thing I was high cause this movie was horrible to the T. Rene Russo (who happens to be one of the Exc Producers) cheats with a younger man...what young man in his right mind would touch Russo with a 10 ft stick. At times I thought Paccino and Matt were going to kiss and other parts reminded of bad porn writing. Al is so over rated...Taxi Driver was good...but is he really that consistant...Hollywood really sucks...come on man! Expand
  8. Larry
    Oct 13, 2005
    0
    Oh My God this was bad.
  9. Wacko
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    There anen't any words in the American Dictionary to desribe how truly awful this flick was. Avoid.
  10. SusanM
    Oct 14, 2005
    3
    Borrrrring!! I fell asleep for a little while in the middle...I was thinking Matthew should do exercise videos...he's nothing short of awe-inspiring with his shirt off. Other than that, the movie was a real sleeper.
  11. Lindsey
    Oct 25, 2005
    0
    My boyfriend dragged me to this trash. AWFUL is an understatement.
  12. MikeD.
    Mar 17, 2006
    3
    Ridiculous script. Pacino is always interesting to watch but he is over the top most of the time in this movie.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. It's a compelling drama, if only a little hollow. For my money, Pacino's bark is ultimately better than Two For the Money's bite.
  2. 40
    In keeping with his apparent ambition to play each character more berserk than the last, Pacino can't discuss wine choice without sounding on the brink of aneurysm.
  3. Sports betting is a great subject for a movie, but Two for the Money is short on the number-crunching nitty-gritty.