Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 12 out of 20
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Dec 17, 2013
    60
    A Madea Christmas, for all its narrative shortcomings, also has plenty of laughs.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Dec 16, 2013
    50
    The funniest Madea film in a fair stretch... It's also, of course, not good by any definition.
  3. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Dec 13, 2013
    42
    By the standards of Tyler Perry’s Madea series, A Madea Christmas is better than average.
  4. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Dec 18, 2013
    40
    Rather than rising above the fray, Madea is very much the fray itself.
  5. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Dec 13, 2013
    40
    With a character who can essentially say and do whatever she wants, you might expect a bit more.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 13, 2013
    40
    Comedy characters change and grow. Sometimes, as we see in Tyler Perry's A Madea Christmas, they become so much like old relatives that their edge is gone.
User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Dec 14, 2013
    0
    This is a Christmas movie? These story elements rarely connect, and exist only so the sassy, straight-talking Madea can bulldoze throughThis is a Christmas movie? These story elements rarely connect, and exist only so the sassy, straight-talking Madea can bulldoze through obvious scenarios, cracking jokes that might have been funny when Nixon was in office. Madea insults a harried Asian customer while working in a busy department store. Madea stumbles into a Ku Klux Klan rally while road-tripping through Alabama. Madea falls in a pile of cow manure while working on Lacey and Conner’s farm. Madea relays a hip-hop version of the Nativity story to Lacey’s impressionable class and concludes by hanging a misbehaving student from a life-size cross in the front of the classroom. Coal. A moldy fruitcake. Socks and underwear. The complete Encyclopedia Britannica set. These are items I’d prefer to receive this holiday season instead of “Tyler Perry’s A Madea Christmas,” an insensitive, unfunny cringer from the entrepreneurial writer-director that should have come with a gift receipt. Full Review »
  2. Dec 23, 2013
    0
    Please dear god, show me your mercy and erase my memory. I saw one of these movies before and let me tell you, the 'silly black man crossPlease dear god, show me your mercy and erase my memory. I saw one of these movies before and let me tell you, the 'silly black man cross dressing into crazy elderly black woman' cliche' is simply not funny AT ALL. None of his movies have ever been funny, he just doesn't have it. His ignorant racial slurs and absolute disregard for his own self respect is dreadfully painful to watch. As he is an obvious advocate for racism, id like to state my opinion in that Tyler Perry is a complete and utter disgrace to blacks and an absolute abomination to humankind. This no talent ass clown will never get better, because he simply is a terrible filmmaker that had no talent to began with. Please god strike him down for the sake of sanity. Full Review »
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This is the best Tyler Perry movie thus far very funny. It had us laughing all the way through. My wife and I both enjoyed it. The wholeThis is the best Tyler Perry movie thus far very funny. It had us laughing all the way through. My wife and I both enjoyed it. The whole auditorium was filled with laughter. Full Review »