Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 12 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Dec 13, 2013
    67
    Madea is still a witty character, but the gutter wisdom of her tossed-off verbal hand grenades can’t shock us anymore; even the outtakes that play through the closing credits feel like reruns.
  2. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Dec 17, 2013
    60
    A Madea Christmas, for all its narrative shortcomings, also has plenty of laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Dec 13, 2013
    42
    By the standards of Tyler Perry’s Madea series, A Madea Christmas is better than average.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Dec 16, 2013
    38
    It’s a Christmas nightmare, stuck with two obnoxious relatives who think they’re funny, and won’t shut up.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Dec 13, 2013
    30
    An exceptionally poor piece of holiday cash-in product, rushed and ungainly even by the low standard set by Perry's seven previous Madea films, yet it should be every bit as profitable.
  6. 25
    A lump of cinematic coal Perry’s shoving into America’s stockings this holiday season.
  7. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Dec 13, 2013
    0
    A Madea Christmas belongs to a rancid strain of Yuletide trifles that feature awful people being terrible to each other for 90 minutes under the sway of insulting plot contrivances before the awfulness is climactically washed away in an avalanche of holiday sentimentality.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This is the best Tyler Perry movie thus far very funny. It had us laughing all the way through. My wife and I both enjoyed it. The whole auditorium was filled with laughter. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Mr. Tyler Perry has assisted the art culture in a number of ways. First, he has helped people redirect their behaviors that cause dysfunction. He has raised the issue of being aware of irrational actions. No, he does not use drugs, or women in derogatory ways. He is a true artist: In the Modern Era, Post Modern, Post Post Modern Era and if you choose the Populist era as well. Merry Christmas. Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    seen this movie yesterday, i liked it, but the movie lacks alot of madea's funny side. she lost her hard side in this movie, alot of the humor is credited to larry the cable guy he really saved this movie Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    6
    Still not feeling the effects from the last 5 Madea movies, I'd say Tyler Perry just felt a little too much pressure on a new holiday-themed Madea movie. A Madea Christmas is pretty funnier than Witness Protection, but still even though it's not a very good Madea movie, but it's probably decent. Maybe I'll wait for a rental but not this holiday season. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2013
    5
    Tyler Perry knows how to make money from movies; my wish is now he'd make a really great movie! His problem is always the same the story board. There are always wonderful moments of genuine laugh-out-loud situations/dialogue but he weighs his films down with predictability (young boy's story) and disbelief (car save and transformation of Conner, oh, and milking a bull.) Enjoyed this but won't remember much about it; with his talents he needs to aim for more than a trip to the bank! Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2014
    5
    I'll pretty much see any Madea movie, and my expectations are always at floor level for every scene that doesn't have Madea kicking somebody's ass or threatening to kick somebody's ass. It met my expectations, and had fun with it! Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2013
    0
    Please dear god, show me your mercy and erase my memory. I saw one of these movies before and let me tell you, the 'silly black man cross dressing into crazy elderly black woman' cliche' is simply not funny AT ALL. None of his movies have ever been funny, he just doesn't have it. His ignorant racial slurs and absolute disregard for his own self respect is dreadfully painful to watch. As he is an obvious advocate for racism, id like to state my opinion in that Tyler Perry is a complete and utter disgrace to blacks and an absolute abomination to humankind. This no talent ass clown will never get better, because he simply is a terrible filmmaker that had no talent to began with. Please god strike him down for the sake of sanity. Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews