Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 11 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Jun 11, 2013
    25
    The film is flat-out ludicrous from beginning to end.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 3, 2013
    20
    Apart from its dramatic predictability, Temptation is a snooze because of its languid pacing and rudimentary camerawork.
  3. Reviewed by: Zachary Wigon
    Apr 2, 2013
    30
    Temptation’s refusal to find nuance in its didactic worldview ensures that the film will ultimately only succeed for audiences already in agreement with it.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Mar 29, 2013
    33
    It isn’t until Temptation grows flamboyantly bad in its final act that it rises to the level of good dumb fun in the trashy tradition of Perry’s most entertainingly awful films.
  5. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Mar 29, 2013
    30
    Limp pacing and countless shots of Washington’s skyline plague the narrative. Ms. Smollett-Bell exudes an earthy appeal, but it’s the charismatic Mr. Jones who steals the picture. Given all the stifling preachiness, that’s to be expected.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Mar 29, 2013
    20
    Perry's ongoing disinterest in improving as a filmmaker is now seemingly part of his unshakable belief in himself, his insistence on doing his thing his way.
  7. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 29, 2013
    30
    Onscreen, it somehow manages to be at once wildly overblown and terminally boring.
  8. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Mar 29, 2013
    30
    Significantly lacking in star wattage (including Perry’s own), this sluggish, relentlessly downbeat portrait of a young couple in crisis should play well to Perry’s fanbase.
  9. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Mar 29, 2013
    30
    By any measure, 'Temptation' ranks amongst Tyler Perry's worst.
  10. 38
    Cranking out two formulaic movies like this a year show the Atlanta mogul’s true ambition — replacing all those soap operas TV is canceling, two hours at a time.
  11. Mar 29, 2013
    20
    That sort of fire-and-brimstone morality dominates this one-note sermon, which pairs its pedantic preaching with the campiness of Vanessa Williams speaking in an absurd French accent and Kim Kardashian as the protagonist’s bitchy fashionista coworker, vainly trying to act.
User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 9 out of 16
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    I went into this movie with an open mind! I didn't even have to buy the ticket! And I sure wasn't pressed for time. I had nothing to lose withI went into this movie with an open mind! I didn't even have to buy the ticket! And I sure wasn't pressed for time. I had nothing to lose with getting even the slightest bit of enjoyment from this film. I'm pretty certain that even the most mediocre slurry of a movie could have entertained me enough to simply shrug and say "whatever" and I would have been fine with that.
    Sadly... No...
    What I got in return was a lasting nightmare that won't ever go away. I am prohibited, by law, from filing any formal charges for what I believe to be psychological torment and/or aggravated assault.

    WARNING: TOXIC!
    NOT FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION!
    IF MOVIE COMES INTO CONTACT WITH EYES, RINSE THOROUGHLY AND IMMEDIATELY AND CONTACT YOUR NEAREST POISON CONTROL CENTER!
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Tyler Perry proves that he can jump between genres easily, he can describe in detail, the unsuccessful relationships between couples, and whatTyler Perry proves that he can jump between genres easily, he can describe in detail, the unsuccessful relationships between couples, and what can greed do to a human being or to love, and that grass isn't always greener the other side. As for the movie's execution, it wasn't as bad as it was said to be. The acting is not bad it is above mediocre, but not excellent, they could have used more feelings though. As a movie it was surprisingly entertaining and interesting, I was interested the whole way through and excited to see what would happen next. Temptation is not usually the movie that would entertain everyone, but if you see the content of this movie, it is impressing and usually new, cheating is an important issue to talk about, it deals with the dark side of the human being, it deals with what every woman wants, and in a dark stylish way, it makes it one of the most important movies of the year. Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2013
    1
    This is NOT a Tyler Perry movie, twelve minutes into it and you will be bored. Is this the laugh out loud funny Madea Tyler Perry? No, it'sThis is NOT a Tyler Perry movie, twelve minutes into it and you will be bored. Is this the laugh out loud funny Madea Tyler Perry? No, it's not. The film is just not good, it has no meaning all of it is kissing and Obsessions and none of the script has meaning. I say this Tyler Perry Garbage Sucks. Full Review »