Tyler Perry's Temptation

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 35
  2. Negative: 24 out of 35
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Tyler Perry proves that he can jump between genres easily, he can describe in detail, the unsuccessful relationships between couples, and what can greed do to a human being or to love, and that grass isn't always greener the other side. As for the movie's execution, it wasn't as bad as it was said to be. The acting is not bad it is above mediocre, but not excellent, they could have usedTyler Perry proves that he can jump between genres easily, he can describe in detail, the unsuccessful relationships between couples, and what can greed do to a human being or to love, and that grass isn't always greener the other side. As for the movie's execution, it wasn't as bad as it was said to be. The acting is not bad it is above mediocre, but not excellent, they could have used more feelings though. As a movie it was surprisingly entertaining and interesting, I was interested the whole way through and excited to see what would happen next. Temptation is not usually the movie that would entertain everyone, but if you see the content of this movie, it is impressing and usually new, cheating is an important issue to talk about, it deals with the dark side of the human being, it deals with what every woman wants, and in a dark stylish way, it makes it one of the most important movies of the year. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    I was really surprised to see the low scores on this movie--so much so that I avoided it at the theatre. After watching at home, I found the story alone is worth an 8. Tyler Perry has consistently shown that his dramas are well-written and thought out. The reviews stating "this is not Madea" do a disservice to the fact this movie was never intended to be. It's also not a predictableI was really surprised to see the low scores on this movie--so much so that I avoided it at the theatre. After watching at home, I found the story alone is worth an 8. Tyler Perry has consistently shown that his dramas are well-written and thought out. The reviews stating "this is not Madea" do a disservice to the fact this movie was never intended to be. It's also not a predictable relationship flick. A few twists and turns make it worth the watch. I usually am in agreement with most of the movies reviewed on Metacritic, but the current score for Temptation is waay off the mark. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    7
    The storyline of the movie was applicable to what people go thru on a daily basis. This movie shouldn't be over analyzed its pretty much what you see is what you get. A movie that a person can relate to is a good movie in my world. Too many critics talk about the cinematography of the film, who cares about the skylines, odd view points, etc let us just focus on the story and the messageThe storyline of the movie was applicable to what people go thru on a daily basis. This movie shouldn't be over analyzed its pretty much what you see is what you get. A movie that a person can relate to is a good movie in my world. Too many critics talk about the cinematography of the film, who cares about the skylines, odd view points, etc let us just focus on the story and the message of the movie. The movie was entertaining and a good film. Go see it and enjoy the story. All things that glitter may just be an illusion, don't be fooled by the smoke and mirrors. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    This movie was really boring at the beginning to be honest but then.. that last half hour.... WOW!!! yes, the triple exclamation mark. The plot twist and how the climax rose oh my god just unbelievable and i loved the ending even though everyone criticized it.. it was a sad ending which is what i practically loved all about it. I think critics watched the movie half way there then judgedThis movie was really boring at the beginning to be honest but then.. that last half hour.... WOW!!! yes, the triple exclamation mark. The plot twist and how the climax rose oh my god just unbelievable and i loved the ending even though everyone criticized it.. it was a sad ending which is what i practically loved all about it. I think critics watched the movie half way there then judged it. I strongly think they didn't watch the whole movie anyway i highly recommend it for people who like dramas! Expand
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    3/3/2014 Tyler Perry proves yet again that he is a good writer. The only negative comment I would have in this film is Kim Kardasian. Why on earth he would choose such a poor excuse for a human to act in one of his films is beyond me. She brought the movie down. I liked how he described in detail, the unsuccessful relationships between couples, and how complacency and greed can lead to3/3/2014 Tyler Perry proves yet again that he is a good writer. The only negative comment I would have in this film is Kim Kardasian. Why on earth he would choose such a poor excuse for a human to act in one of his films is beyond me. She brought the movie down. I liked how he described in detail, the unsuccessful relationships between couples, and how complacency and greed can lead to infidelity. Also that what looks so good can be so very different once you have jumped in with both feet.....noting the grass isn't greener the other side. I was interested the whole way through and it kept my attention and I was excited to see what would happen next. I thought it was entertaining and interesting and like the fact that it portrayed how women can fall into the same trap that men do. It showed how cheating can sometimes lead to a life changing decision, in more ways than one. However if you are part of the Hollywood scene and/or don't give a rip about values, I could see how it wouldn't be a movie for you. Expand
Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 11 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Jun 11, 2013
    25
    The film is flat-out ludicrous from beginning to end.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Apr 3, 2013
    20
    Apart from its dramatic predictability, Temptation is a snooze because of its languid pacing and rudimentary camerawork.
  3. Reviewed by: Zachary Wigon
    Apr 2, 2013
    30
    Temptation’s refusal to find nuance in its didactic worldview ensures that the film will ultimately only succeed for audiences already in agreement with it.