Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 11 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Mar 30, 2013
    63
    When its third act erupts into full-blown theatrical maximalism, Tyler Perry's Temptation practically turns into Brian De Palma's Temptation.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Mar 29, 2013
    58
    A few wild, third-act twists give Perry's middling melodrama some soap-opera kick. But all the finger-wagging sure does get tiring after a while.
  3. Reviewed by: Miriam Bale
    Mar 29, 2013
    40
    The mixed tones don't quite meld; While Smollet-Bell is fine, the broad comedy is so sporadic it feels out of place.
  4. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Mar 29, 2013
    30
    By any measure, 'Temptation' ranks amongst Tyler Perry's worst.
  5. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 29, 2013
    30
    Onscreen, it somehow manages to be at once wildly overblown and terminally boring.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Mar 29, 2013
    30
    Significantly lacking in star wattage (including Perry’s own), this sluggish, relentlessly downbeat portrait of a young couple in crisis should play well to Perry’s fanbase.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Mar 29, 2013
    20
    That sort of fire-and-brimstone morality dominates this one-note sermon, which pairs its pedantic preaching with the campiness of Vanessa Williams speaking in an absurd French accent and Kim Kardashian as the protagonist’s bitchy fashionista coworker, vainly trying to act.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 8 out of 16
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    3/3/2014 Tyler Perry proves yet again that he is a good writer. The only negative comment I would have in this film is Kim Kardasian. Why on earth he would choose such a poor excuse for a human to act in one of his films is beyond me. She brought the movie down. I liked how he described in detail, the unsuccessful relationships between couples, and how complacency and greed can lead to infidelity. Also that what looks so good can be so very different once you have jumped in with both feet.....noting the grass isn't greener the other side. I was interested the whole way through and it kept my attention and I was excited to see what would happen next. I thought it was entertaining and interesting and like the fact that it portrayed how women can fall into the same trap that men do. It showed how cheating can sometimes lead to a life changing decision, in more ways than one. However if you are part of the Hollywood scene and/or don't give a rip about values, I could see how it wouldn't be a movie for you. Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    I was really surprised to see the low scores on this movie--so much so that I avoided it at the theatre. After watching at home, I found the story alone is worth an 8. Tyler Perry has consistently shown that his dramas are well-written and thought out. The reviews stating "this is not Madea" do a disservice to the fact this movie was never intended to be. It's also not a predictable relationship flick. A few twists and turns make it worth the watch. I usually am in agreement with most of the movies reviewed on Metacritic, but the current score for Temptation is waay off the mark. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    7
    The storyline of the movie was applicable to what people go thru on a daily basis. This movie shouldn't be over analyzed its pretty much what you see is what you get. A movie that a person can relate to is a good movie in my world. Too many critics talk about the cinematography of the film, who cares about the skylines, odd view points, etc let us just focus on the story and the message of the movie. The movie was entertaining and a good film. Go see it and enjoy the story. All things that glitter may just be an illusion, don't be fooled by the smoke and mirrors. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    The full title of Tyler Perry’s new film is “Tyler Perry’s Temptation: Confessions of a Marriage Counselor” which is a big handle for what would make a good TV movie with about 15 minutes cut from this fairly slow moving film. I am a big fan of Tyler Perry (except for his Madea character) and I keep hoping his films will ‘crossover’ to an additional crowd to his usual fan base. Though it was a little larger audience today Allen and I were the only white faces in the audience.

    The screenplay, based on his stage play, and directed by Perry, this film is all cliches. An amatuer director, when showing New Orleans, would feature someone singing “When The Saints Come Marching In” and a couple eating beignets at the Cafe Du Monde in the French Quarter or having them walk down Bourbon Street sipping Hurricanes. Perry, far from an amatuer, does just that as in the Washington D.C. scenes there are ALL the monuments and buildings an audience will be familiar with.

    Regarding the actors, and including a couple in that list seems offense to include as actors, I was familiar with Renee Taylor, who gets the wise crack lines, Vanessa Williams, whose reason for her accent distracts from her performance and doesn’t pay off when the reason is given and Brandy Norwood who gives a good performance. Ella Joyce is a familiar face and most of her background is in theatre.

    Jurnee Smollett-Bell, Lance Gross and Robbie Jones, all mainly from TV sitcoms and series, were new to me. One of the fun things in seeing Tyler Perry films are the point at which the male leads take off their shirts and the reactions from the audience. In Gross and Jones he picked the right guys for those scenes and though given cliche rolls they handle them well. The film revolves around Smollett-Bell who though not giving an embarrassing performance really needs more experience to tackle rolls like this.

    I may be the only person who is seeing Kim Kardashian for the first time except in print and, no disrespect intended, like many others I am shaking my head as to how she has come to the point in ‘fame’ that she has reached.

    This is not as good a film as his “Why Did I Get Married?” or “Why Did I Get Married Too?”. The biggest disappointment is you would have had to never seen a movie in this genre if you didn’t know where it is heading as soon as you meet the three leads. It wouldn’t be a Perry movie without some sermonizing and he brings the church, the bible, AIDS and HIV+ into the script adding to the already lengthy, at 111 minutes, of the slow moving story.

    By the way if you want to see why movies are so expensive to make just sit, and read, through the end credits!
    Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2013
    1
    This is NOT a Tyler Perry movie, twelve minutes into it and you will be bored. Is this the laugh out loud funny Madea Tyler Perry? No, it's not. The film is just not good, it has no meaning all of it is kissing and Obsessions and none of the script has meaning. I say this Tyler Perry Garbage Sucks. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    0
    Tyler Perry is not Tyler Perry even for the pathetic director Tyler Perry already is. This film was so hard to watch not because it tryed to sentimental but because it wasn't put together well. Tyler Perry's fault all around. Maybe if he could actually write a decent script for all audiences and not all black people this film wouldn't of hard both races so hard. Maybe if he took time to direct something this movie wouldn't of sucked. The script is impossible to make into a good film and with Tyler Perry controlling this film all hell breaks loose. I'm so upset I even gave this movie my movie and my time. Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    0
    acted badly misdirected a story predictable and slow the temptation to tyler perry is a path that leads to nowhere or the divercion far the concern which should be the goal of a movie like this Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews