Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: A madcap parody which finds an aimless young man inheriting a failing television station, which he revises by listening to his audience. (MGM)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. The laughs just keep rolling as 'Weird Al' makes a movie. Overheard from a still-convulsing woman after a recent screening of Weird Al Yankovic's UHF: "I'm sorry, but that's funny." I'm sorry, but she's right. Yuks you feel obliged to apologize for are yuks nonetheless. And UHF prompts a lot of apologies.
  2. The movie is forever digressing so that Mr. Yankovic can offer media spoofs that have only the most tangential relation to the story. [22 Jul 1989, p.1.15]
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    63
    Yankovic fails to come up with anything new to freshen the stock storyline, and is content instead to let it serve as a creaky showcase for his forte, media parodies. But even the quality of these parodies is inconsistent, with the movie and music takeoffs being obvious and out of date.
  4. UHF, a parody of trash television, is almost defiantly silly, but when it's funny it is very funny. This sloppy, good-natured satire certainly doesn't threaten "Network's" status as the classic decimation of the television business. [27 Jul 1989, p.1]
  5. Gamely running through parodies of TV commercials and shows, not to mention Spielberg, Schwarzenegger, Stallone, Selznick, and Gandhi, the movie proves to be awful by any standards--feeble, corny, and labored in script as well as direction--although the Capracorn of the basic premise occasionally manages to convey a certain sweetness.
  6. 25
    The result is a very unfunny movie. It's routine, predictable, and dumb - real dumb.
  7. In UHF we get 90 minutes of Al Yankovic, and that's 85 minutes too much. The problem isn't that he's weird, but that he isn't weird at all. The premises for his gags are commonplace and predictable, and his follow-throughs lack imagination. He seems incapable of spinning more than one tired joke from each set-up. [21 Jul 1989, p.E1]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Noranda
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    If you love wacky comedy, this is a movie for you! I couldn't STOP laughing! Weird Al is truly the king of zany comedy!
  2. Jan 21, 2015
    10
    Gave us good laughs when my friends and I were just leaving our teenage years over 25 years ago. And now it gives my kids good laughs. TheGave us good laughs when my friends and I were just leaving our teenage years over 25 years ago. And now it gives my kids good laughs. The "Gandhi II" trailer alone makes UHF worth it. Expand
  3. AdamA
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    Why can't people learn to enjoy a great comedy flick? Yeah, it's cheesy, but didn't it hit it's own target? Great to Why can't people learn to enjoy a great comedy flick? Yeah, it's cheesy, but didn't it hit it's own target? Great to watch if you're feeling doofy. Collapse
  4. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    Not only can "Weird Al" Yankovic make fun of your favorite tunes, together with Jay Levey he can also eat up, swallow, digest and throw upNot only can "Weird Al" Yankovic make fun of your favorite tunes, together with Jay Levey he can also eat up, swallow, digest and throw up your favorite movies and television shows aswell.

    No doubt about it, UHF is one for the ages. It's smart, funny and at the same time very engaging at the best of times. I love how the plot of a UHF station against a National Network Affiliate works well in making the movie what it was.

    We see this movie push the boundaries of the satirical genre into what it is now. From the smart, ingenius and humidly and high flying humor of Airplane! to what is now Utter randomness, sky rocketing humor and genius scripwriting by the Albert Einstiens of Comedy. Yes, we owe it all to Alfred Yankovic. UHF is a classic. From the Academy Award scene paroding Raiders of the Lost Ark to the Ghandi II skit, there is not a single moment in this movie that puts a frown on your face. Money For Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies is a smart and very funny song by the way, and the UHF theme song should have been a single off the album, seriously. I do have to mention, this particular satirical film is very unique. Do You Know Why? Well because, UHF has a plot that actually engages you, rather than drag you into the comedy. Yes, it actually has depth in it, unlike many, many movies of the same genre. The Plot has you sucked in to the last moment. Seriously.
    Screw Vampires Suck, Scary Movie and all those. UHF is one of the greatest satirical films of all-time.
    Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    This movie was under-rated when it premiered, and it still gets no respect. Personally, I think this movie is funnier than anything in theThis movie was under-rated when it premiered, and it still gets no respect. Personally, I think this movie is funnier than anything in the theaters now. No one associated with it ever claimed it was high comedy, or serious cinema - it was done for laughs....cheap, plentiful laughs. Kevin McCarthy stole the movie, as far as I'm concerned. His over-the-top portrayal of R.J. Fletcher was a riot. If you have an hour and a half or so to kill, and want to be mindlessly entertained. check this one out. Expand
  6. May 6, 2011
    8
    I don't understand all the hate directed at this silly but fun mishmash of parodies. It's not shakespeare but damn it be funny! I laughed myI don't understand all the hate directed at this silly but fun mishmash of parodies. It's not shakespeare but damn it be funny! I laughed my butt off through the whole thing. If you like comedies like Naked Gun, then give this a try. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Had this movie put more focus on music, thereby playing to the other half of Al’s greatest strength, it would have been more solid. As it stands, it’s a serviceable piece of shallow but fun comedy. Yes, we know George is going to save Channel 62, not once, but twice. Yes, Fletcher is as unsubtle as villains come. (Philo is an alien, though? I admit I did not see that coming.) On the other hand, when you include gags as outlandish as “Wheel of Fish”—either the dumbest funny thing or funniest dumb thing ever—you earn brownie points aplenty … especially with bored nineteen-year-old nerdy college students trying to clean out their DVRs just before midnight on Fridays. No prizes for guessing those are the circumstances I was under when I first saw “UHF.” This isn’t really a good movie, and Weird Al is better as a musician than trying to carry ninety-minute movies, but the jokes hit more than miss, so I can mildly recommend this work. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers