User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 217
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sasha
    Jun 20, 2007
    0
    Unbreakable It is hard to review this film as a motion picture, because it feels more like TV soap opera on mute. The 1 hour and 47 minutes of boring, predictable and foolish sequences of silence in between unbelievably repetitive dialogue easily make this movie one of the most roll-your-eyes producing films I have ever gone threw. Bruce Willis plays the dull and slow-moving David Dunn, a Unbreakable It is hard to review this film as a motion picture, because it feels more like TV soap opera on mute. The 1 hour and 47 minutes of boring, predictable and foolish sequences of silence in between unbelievably repetitive dialogue easily make this movie one of the most roll-your-eyes producing films I have ever gone threw. Bruce Willis plays the dull and slow-moving David Dunn, a lone and unharmed train wreak survivor who discovers that he is unable to sustain injury. Meanwhile, the emotionally unstable and easily injured Samuel L. Jackson plays the obviously brilliant yet deceiving psycho who thinks comic book heroes walk the earth. The movie unravels from somewhat interesting to boring. It takes most of the movie for what is at hand not to be dealt with, and you find yourself staring at the mysterious situation put forwards simply not breaking through with a much needed common thriller plot twist or breaking point. This is of course, until towards the very end. One central problem with the movie is that it is highly unlikely that one man would go his entire life without tripping or falling and wondering why there was no pain or injury. His mother would not wonder why he never got Chicken Pox? His father would never wonder why his knee did not bleed when he fell on it extremely hard during some catch? His wife would not wonder why when he slipped in the shower and smashed his head on the floor that he did not feel any pain? It just seems so unbelievably silly and impossible for this to happen and for nothing to be realized until a frickin train accident at the age of 40. The movie is essentially unrealistic beyond obvious proportions. The acting performances are easy and have no depth due to the pathetic script handed to the actors only to damage there impressive careers. Put simply, this movie is bad. If you wish to take my advice, avoid it by any means Expand
  2. DanF.
    Feb 23, 2005
    0
    After watching this movie I was at a lose for words. M. Night Shymalan should be crucified. This movie is definitly the skid mark on bruce willis and anyone else involved in the movies' career. This movie made me want to kill myself, it was only about an hour and a half long but it felt like an eternity in hell.
  3. UncleMunkle
    Jan 9, 2003
    1
    zzzzz, zzzzz, snore.... Is it over? Wha' happen? Huh? Duh, ok. Whatever. zzzzz,zzzzz, snore...
  4. KenG.
    Aug 15, 2006
    3
    Intriguing concept, which was really poorly handled.
  5. Sasha
    Jun 21, 2007
    1
    Unbreakable It is hard to review this film as a motion picture, because it feels more like TV soap opera on mute. The 1 hour and 47 minutes of boring, predictable and foolish sequences of silence in between unbelievably repetitive dialogue easily make this movie one of the most roll-your-eyes producing films I have ever gone threw. Bruce Willis plays the dull and slow-moving David Dunn, a Unbreakable It is hard to review this film as a motion picture, because it feels more like TV soap opera on mute. The 1 hour and 47 minutes of boring, predictable and foolish sequences of silence in between unbelievably repetitive dialogue easily make this movie one of the most roll-your-eyes producing films I have ever gone threw. Bruce Willis plays the dull and slow-moving David Dunn, a lone and unharmed train wreak survivor who discovers that he is unable to sustain injury. Meanwhile, the emotionally unstable and easily injured Samuel L. Jackson plays the obviously brilliant yet deceiving psycho who thinks comic book heroes walk the earth. The movie unravels from somewhat interesting to boring. It takes most of the movie for what is at hand not to be dealt with, and you find yourself staring at the mysterious situation put forwards simply not breaking through with a much needed common thriller plot twist or breaking point. This is of course, until towards the very end. One central problem with the movie is that it is highly unlikely that one man would go his entire life without tripping or falling and wondering why there was no pain or injury. His mother would not wonder why he never got Chicken Pox? His father would never wonder why his knee did not bleed when he fell on it extremely hard during some catch? His wife would not wonder why when he slipped in the shower and smashed his head on the floor that he did not feel any pain? It just seems so unbelievably silly and impossible for this to happen and for nothing to be realized until a frickin train accident at the age of 40. The movie is essentially unrealistic beyond obvious proportions. The acting performances are easy and have no depth due to the pathetic script handed to the actors only to damage there impressive careers. Put simply, this movie is bad. If you wish to take my advice, avoid it by any means Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2014
    2
    Unbreakable thinks its smarter than it is, and Shyamalan is so self confident that everything in the movie feels manipulated and forced. In fact, the whole movie seems pointless. Even great actors like Samuel L. Jackson, Bruce Willis, and Robin Wright seem wooden and disinterested. Although i will admit this is a great movie for a drinking game. Every time a character mentions being sick,Unbreakable thinks its smarter than it is, and Shyamalan is so self confident that everything in the movie feels manipulated and forced. In fact, the whole movie seems pointless. Even great actors like Samuel L. Jackson, Bruce Willis, and Robin Wright seem wooden and disinterested. Although i will admit this is a great movie for a drinking game. Every time a character mentions being sick, drink. Every time Bruce Willis and Robin Wright talk about their sinking marriage, drink. That should be a fun night. Expand
  7. Ben
    Aug 27, 2001
    0
    They should have called this film Unwatchable. My sixth sense tells me, "hated it."
  8. Dunebuggy
    Aug 5, 2004
    2
    This movie took itself way too seriously.
  9. Mr.R
    Jul 27, 2001
    0
    A ponderously slow film with a laughable, incredulous ending that neatly wraps up nothing. Which film is the real work of Shaylaman? I hope not this one.
  10. Maxine
    Jul 30, 2001
    3
    All I can say is what a freaky movie!
  11. JohnC.
    Jan 23, 2002
    0
    PONDEROUSLY slow and overwrought! The movie plays like a WAY overstylized comicbook origin story on Prozak! The audience is given glimpse after glimpse into the glory of something that is perhaps just a bit better than human - but instead of exploring the meaning of Willis' new found abilities or perhaps giving the audience a meaningful demonstration; we are subjected to lonnggg, PONDEROUSLY slow and overwrought! The movie plays like a WAY overstylized comicbook origin story on Prozak! The audience is given glimpse after glimpse into the glory of something that is perhaps just a bit better than human - but instead of exploring the meaning of Willis' new found abilities or perhaps giving the audience a meaningful demonstration; we are subjected to lonnggg, slowww interludes of angst and drama. This story is a posterchild for good editing and directorial focus! Expand
  12. [Anonymous]
    Jan 12, 2005
    1
    This movie was one of the WORST movies i have ever seen. This movie made me question M Night Shyamalan and his writing skills.
  13. Feb 23, 2015
    4
    Bruce Willis seems angry at his wife (he lets go of her hand) ....now hes with an old lady/can't remember the amount of sick days....5 years no sick day....he wants a raise its clear.......on a serious note....thirty five minutes in we see an interesting performance and bruce willis is still throughout....weird to say that bad things can happen at a football game....other than bad halfBruce Willis seems angry at his wife (he lets go of her hand) ....now hes with an old lady/can't remember the amount of sick days....5 years no sick day....he wants a raise its clear.......on a serious note....thirty five minutes in we see an interesting performance and bruce willis is still throughout....weird to say that bad things can happen at a football game....other than bad half time shows and overpaid arrogance....the best thing about this movie is the raincoat makes him seem retarded....why can't there be a man being sexed for once...and a woman to avenge him...I bet I have to make it if i want it..... makes me wonder if I'm retarded........-JRA Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Even the surprise ending arrives with a thud and makes us wonder why Shyamalan didn't try something new instead of recycling his "Sixth Sense" recipe.
  2. 40
    A gloomy, preposterous psychological thriller.
  3. 75
    Even if the ending doesn't entirely succeed, it doesn't cheat, and it comes at the end of an uncommonly absorbing movie.