Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: November 22, 2000
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 391 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
347
Mixed:
32
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
BradySmithJul 5, 2013
It's not the biggest or longest movie ever, but it wasn't meant to be. Unbreakable is a very good example of how to make a satisfying movie on a small scale. It's atmospheric, intriguing, well acted, and directed with skill and patience.It's not the biggest or longest movie ever, but it wasn't meant to be. Unbreakable is a very good example of how to make a satisfying movie on a small scale. It's atmospheric, intriguing, well acted, and directed with skill and patience. At times it can even be emotionally powerful. It's twist ending could have been handled a little better, but it's far better than most twist endings. Even though the movie received mostly positive reviews I still find it to be underrated. It shows that M Knight Shamalan can make a good movie when he really tries. I wonder if he will ever return to form. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
cryhardhumorJul 26, 2015
Commendable especially for the well written dialogue and the several long shots throughout. Unbreakable can be slow sometimes, but ultimately is a well acted and performed dramatic thriller.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MamaTLFOct 12, 2013
Very good movie that can touch you and show you that a movie with a hero doesn't have to be dynamic, full of action and CGI with exploding cities. Its very relaxing, smooth and calm with a good ending.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaAug 8, 2011
This movie has many different elements but boring it's audience is not one of them. After a second viewing of the film one will see the true masterpiece that is unbreakable
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
Although it was not as good as The Sixth Sense it was still a good movie worthy of me watching it a few times. The twist was very good.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ZiggyStardustJun 16, 2011
God, this movie really got to me. I don't know why but I really, really teared up in the end. "They called me mr. Glass". Just wow, amazing performances, well written script and just amazing movie. Must see, even if you don't like comic booksGod, this movie really got to me. I don't know why but I really, really teared up in the end. "They called me mr. Glass". Just wow, amazing performances, well written script and just amazing movie. Must see, even if you don't like comic books [stories]. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
BrianAD9Jan 13, 2016
Unbreakable is M. Night Shyamalan's often overlooked masterpiece. It stars Bruce Willis is excellent as David Dunn, and an awesome Samuel L. Jackson in my favorite role he's ever done. There is no superhero film more realistic than this one,Unbreakable is M. Night Shyamalan's often overlooked masterpiece. It stars Bruce Willis is excellent as David Dunn, and an awesome Samuel L. Jackson in my favorite role he's ever done. There is no superhero film more realistic than this one, nor does any other superhero film have such a perfect ending. I don't want to give away any more than I should, but it's hard not to. While it's not perfect, it more than makes up for it's little flaws with it's emotional undercurrent and subtle brilliance. I could not recommend Unbreakable more. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Sep 5, 2011
It may not be the best movie from the past eleven years, but for fans of M. Night Shyamalan, this is a very good film.

The premise about a man who survived the train accident and learns that a man who likes comic books and heroes is stalking
It may not be the best movie from the past eleven years, but for fans of M. Night Shyamalan, this is a very good film.

The premise about a man who survived the train accident and learns that a man who likes comic books and heroes is stalking him was spooky, but very good. The story was a very nice concept, but suffered from a weaker ending.

The acting was very solid and the chemistry between Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson was well built together and the pacing was very decent.

The suspense was chilling and very satisfying it got me interested to want to know what's going on. The soundtrack from James Newton Howard was a lot of fun I want to check it out soon.

Unbreakable's weaker ending doesn't cover it up, but like The Sixth Sense and Signs, M. Night Shyamalan did his best to give me some scares.

7.3 out of 10
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
If ever a filmmaker vaulted from unknown to lionized status on the basis of one film, it was M. Night Shyamalan with “The Sixth Sense,” a little-anticipated ghost story that became one of the 10 highest grossers of all time. The question ofIf ever a filmmaker vaulted from unknown to lionized status on the basis of one film, it was M. Night Shyamalan with “The Sixth Sense,” a little-anticipated ghost story that became one of the 10 highest grossers of all time. The question of whether this singular writer-director can deliver again will, by itself, guarantee a large turnout for “Unbreakable.” The answer is that he delivers much of the same: Same star, same preoccupation with telepathic and quasi-supernatural/religious powers, same hushed tone and deliberate pace, same sense of absolute control. But there are also serious differences: A weaker story, increased pretentiousness, some ill-advised narrative zigzags and a “surprise” ending that can’t begin to compare with the one in his previous picture. In addition to the draw repped by Shyamalan, Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson, yarn possesses sufficient intrigue to hook audiences and keep them on board much of the way, so despite the ultimate sense of letdown, B.O. prospects are very sturdy.

Following a mysterious prologue revealing the birth in 1961 Philadelphia of a black boy who enters the world with broken arms and legs, second scene is so good that it raises what are gradually revealed to be unrealistic expectations. David Dun (Willis) is sitting by the window on a train shuttling to Philadelphia from New York, where he’s had a presumably unsuccessful job interview.

When an attractive young woman, Kelly (Leslie Stefanson), sits down next to him, he discreetly slips off his wedding ring and quietly chats her up, only to see her get up and move when he pushes too far. After putting his ring back on, he stares outside at the onrushing scenery until it becomes apparent that the train is moving too fast, at which point a cut to David’s son (Spencer Treat Clark) flipping TV channels reveals the news of a terrible derailment.

Brief scene obliquely provides all the exposition the viewer needs to know — the status of David’s marriage, his job uncertainty, his willingness to move to New York — while superbly building a quiet sense of unease. Much of it is shot with an agile hand-held camera positioned behind the seats in front of David and Kelly, the cuts are all significantly timed, and the mix of sounds — the subdued vocal tones, the ambient noise of the train, the sudden whoosh of an oncoming diesel — is wonderfully subtle.

Such a sequence establishes a sense of total confidence that one is in the hands of a master storyteller and creates an automatic viewer willingness to follow wherever he chooses to go.

Some viewers will go along with all this, while others, like David himself, will resist. Because the mystery of where the story might be headed is sustained for so long, the film doesn’t go off the tracks all at once. But the superhero angle, which seems a bit odd when introduced, eventually feels all wrong, especially when invested with supernatural and spiritual dimensions that seem like holdovers from “The Sixth Sense.”

And while the earlier picture cast the sort of spell that would have been disrupted by any comic relief, the presence of pop culture refs via comics makes quite notable the absence of any humor or sense of fun, just as it makes its pretentions to deep meaning and self-importance all the more specious.

All the same, Shyamalan’s handling of individual sequences is often extremely impressive; he clearly knows exactly what he wants and how to achieve it. This time out, he receives a great assist from lenser Eduardo Serra, whose widescreen work within a subdued color scheme is enormously textured and arrestingly composed.

Also notable among the uniformly excellent craft contributions are Dylan Tichenor’s precision editing and James Newton Howard’s supple, supportive score.

In subdued, subtle form, Willis gently conveys the essence of a working-class man seemingly beaten down by life but mostly victimized by his own refusal to realize his true potential. Jackson lends his commanding presence and persuasive dialogue delivery to the odd role of Elijah, which never becomes fully dimensional enough despite its backstory of tragic vulnerability.

Wright Penn doesn’t do much with the flatly written wife part, and it’s during some of her domestic scenes with Willis a little more than an hour in that pic goes into lowest gear. As the couple’s son, Clark bears more than a passing resemblance to Haley Joel Osment, but the kid plays a decidedly peripheral role in this one.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
FilmVirtueMar 28, 2015
Unbreakable isn't a film, It's an experience. An invitation into the mind of It's unique director that presents to us his vision of a mysterious and strange thriller. Unbreakable will engage your brain and keep you thinking to the end becauseUnbreakable isn't a film, It's an experience. An invitation into the mind of It's unique director that presents to us his vision of a mysterious and strange thriller. Unbreakable will engage your brain and keep you thinking to the end because of the insane plot twists and interesting story. This is another success from visionary filmmaker Shyamalan that serves as both a thriller, and a original work Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
Another great M. Night Shayamalan film. Nice to see two great actors at their best on display in this movie. Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson were both brilliant in Unbreakable. This film was very well thought out and everything comesAnother great M. Night Shayamalan film. Nice to see two great actors at their best on display in this movie. Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson were both brilliant in Unbreakable. This film was very well thought out and everything comes together in the twist ending. This ones a classic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DanBurritoDec 10, 2015
This is proof that The Sixth Sense wasn't a fluke and Shyamalan can still make great movies. It really sticks out among Superhero flicks because it's much more of a psychological thriller than an action blockbuster. Bruce Willis was great andThis is proof that The Sixth Sense wasn't a fluke and Shyamalan can still make great movies. It really sticks out among Superhero flicks because it's much more of a psychological thriller than an action blockbuster. Bruce Willis was great and Sam L. Jackson was badass as usual. The film was incredibly gripping and tense with some emotional moments. While the ending isn't as impactful as "The Sixth Sense" but it was still a great, unexpected twist. One of M. Night's best and a great superhero movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
PeterN.Mar 19, 2007
A refreshing take on the superhero theme. Not for people who think movies should always happily entertain. Not for the more pretentious art-filmers who can't get out of their own way. Thankfully, It's a movie for anyone inbetween.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiguelAug 1, 2007
A modern masterpiece. Great, great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KhalidAug 2, 2006
Great movie! I wanted to watch it again just to put all the hints in context. [***SPOILERS***] The ending was perfect in tone with comic books and comic book movies. Every superhero needs a villian.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarvinF.Oct 4, 2008
First, the guy who said 1 hour and 47 minutes of boring... He is no critic... The Motion Picture- Unbreakable, come on... Pure genius, an excellent film for everyone... A superb message for all...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcusL.Jan 5, 2009
Not his best movie, but Bruce Willis did do a good job. It was not as good as Sixth Sense, but was just as interesting and also kept you wondering.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeakerAug 15, 2001
A must see. An estrangement of characters compiles a thoughtfully crafted, well directed theme of life and strengths. This film accuretly portays a society's clash of morals with a personal need of comfort. Alas, our true society will A must see. An estrangement of characters compiles a thoughtfully crafted, well directed theme of life and strengths. This film accuretly portays a society's clash of morals with a personal need of comfort. Alas, our true society will see this as nothing more than a falure due to its lack of blood and intellectual ending. Love this, and learn from it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamMay 8, 2006
Despite the dissapointing but surprising ending, Unbreakable is a triumph, a glorious film that will make you grin with delight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateBDec 2, 2007
This is a great, in-depth movie. While it mostly appeals to people with knowledge about comic books, I think most people can appreciate this film if they're willing to go into it with an open mind and want to actively pay attention to This is a great, in-depth movie. While it mostly appeals to people with knowledge about comic books, I think most people can appreciate this film if they're willing to go into it with an open mind and want to actively pay attention to its many story telling devices (e.g. not just dialog, since there's not a lot of it in this movie). A lot of people say the ending is unexpected, but maybe that's because they didn't pay attention. There were many foreshadowing moments like when the color blue was used for both the train ride (even the little girl had bright blue eyes) and for scenes involving a certain someone. Even Elijah's mom tells you straight up, "...this one has a surprise ending." The number 1 standout in this movie, though, is the camera work. Not only does it physically mirror comic book framing, but also mirrors how the framing of a comic book can often times be its own character and story telling device. I think a lot of directors lose sight of this in movies. The show "24" is a good example of how camera work can play a significant role in story telling, especially in seasons 1 and 5. If you like character development, use of colors, cinematography, comic books and are tired of the trashy and overly loud Hollywood marketing junk then give this movie a spin in your DVD player. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BusterAug 31, 2007
Undoubtedly Shyamalan's most underrated masterpiece. It's brilliant in every way possible. Jackson and Willis probably should have gotten nominated for an Oscar or at least a Golden Globe. It's even better than The Sixth Undoubtedly Shyamalan's most underrated masterpiece. It's brilliant in every way possible. Jackson and Willis probably should have gotten nominated for an Oscar or at least a Golden Globe. It's even better than The Sixth Sense, which is beyond overrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonT.Jun 27, 2008
One of Shyamalan's best. Unbreakable is a tale which will appeal to all. A slight touch of a superhero tale mixed with the cunning mind of its director and writer make this movie an excellent addition to any thriller collection. The One of Shyamalan's best. Unbreakable is a tale which will appeal to all. A slight touch of a superhero tale mixed with the cunning mind of its director and writer make this movie an excellent addition to any thriller collection. The twist and superb acting are what makes this movie a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanKMay 31, 2009
Well structured and the usee of complicated cinematic techniques was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BadsniperAug 4, 2011
This is one of the better films by M. Night. Good stuff; compelling idea and great twist. Just overall good acting, plot, and flow. I really hope they make an "Unbreakable 2".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
iluvmoviesJan 15, 2011
This movie is amazing. It is a true story of opposites coming together to separate. Great acting by Bruce Willis and Samuel L Jackson, and great directing by Night. The end leaves you thinking why? why? why? This movie is even better than theThis movie is amazing. It is a true story of opposites coming together to separate. Great acting by Bruce Willis and Samuel L Jackson, and great directing by Night. The end leaves you thinking why? why? why? This movie is even better than the sixth sense! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonApr 12, 2014
Having been involved in a terrible train crash David Dunn awakes in hospital to find that, not only is he is the sole survivor, but that he is completely unharmed. He is soon confronted by an odd stranger who has some peculiar claims aboutHaving been involved in a terrible train crash David Dunn awakes in hospital to find that, not only is he is the sole survivor, but that he is completely unharmed. He is soon confronted by an odd stranger who has some peculiar claims about why he was able to survive the crash leading David on a journey to fulfil his destiny.

Making a follow up to the universally acclaimed Sixth Sense was always going to be a difficult task but M. Night Shyamalan fully delivers here. Davids transformation from lowly security guard to something much bigger (I wont spoil what) is both fascinating and yet still believable in part thanks to the understated performance of Bruce Willis in the lead role and Samuel L Jackson is as watchable as ever. This of course would not be an M. Night Shyamalan movie if it didn’t have a twist at the end and, while perhaps not quite as clever as The Sixth Sense, it again certainly comes as a surprise.

Often unfairly compared to M. Night Shyamalans debut Unbreakable is an excellent film in its own right that will entertain most who watch it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
j30Nov 9, 2011
Very underrated film and probably M. Night Shymalan's best film (in which, I know is not saying much). The story is very compelling and thought provoking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bram29Oct 2, 2011
i really liked where the plot of this movie went. it gives a realistic approach of typical superhero cliché's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrandonBonaseraJan 15, 2017
With a compelling premise, strong performances, and a well developed script, Unbreakable is effective and fascinating, and unlike any other film of its kind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sLmFeb 15, 2013
Awesome
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineJan 10, 2014
M. Night Shyamalan is filming boring movies with really good ideas, nice actors and awesome ending twists. This movie is a perfect example of my statement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"Unbreakable" is a 2000 M. Night Shyamalan film about David Dunne (Willis), an everyman, who becomes involved in a train wreck that leaves him mysteriously unscathed. With the help of a mysterious man (Jackson), Dunne soon learns that he is,"Unbreakable" is a 2000 M. Night Shyamalan film about David Dunne (Willis), an everyman, who becomes involved in a train wreck that leaves him mysteriously unscathed. With the help of a mysterious man (Jackson), Dunne soon learns that he is, in fact, an extraordinary man with superhuman attributes. Now, I know that the first mention of the name "Shyamalan" nowadays leads many people to think, ". . .ew 'The Last Airbender' ". However, there was a time when Shyamalan actually made pretty good movies. This, thankfully, is one of the only 3 he has made. "Unbreakable" is a truly compelling study of the narrative mechanics of comic books. I, being a big nerd who loves comic books, found this movie to be intensely interesting to watch because it clued me into things which I didn't know about them. Like the fact that a villains eyes are always portrayed to slightly bigger than the hero's because it shows that his view on the world is slightly more off-kilter than the hero's. And the fact that the hero's origin is often tied/interconnected with the villain's origin. These are just two of the many interesting concepts of comic book writing that are discussed throughout "Unbreakable". Now make no mistake - this movie isn't a documentary. Yes, it does discuss a lot of the methods comic book writers utilize to convey their very distinct messages, but it does this verbally and nonverbally. This movie maintains a very quiet, yet intensely brooding tone. This tone is amplified by the really somber and mesmerizing performance from Bruce Willis. The cinematography is really intelligently executed, as I found myself saying, "oh that was pretty cool/clever", to a very large amount of this film's shots. The ending could've used some work, but I'm sure with time I can learn to appreciate it. In the end, I found "Unbreakable" to be a very good film that delves deeply into some really cool subject matter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Shyamalan brings back his good directing skills as he creates yet another awesome film. Sixth Sense was better, but there is no doubt that Unbreakable is an unforgettable film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Andyr62Jan 30, 2013
Like all Shymalan movies Unbreakable moves along at a steady pace, if you are looking for fast paced action then this is not the movie for you. However if you are wanting something that changes and keeps you guessing without being confusingLike all Shymalan movies Unbreakable moves along at a steady pace, if you are looking for fast paced action then this is not the movie for you. However if you are wanting something that changes and keeps you guessing without being confusing then I would highly recomend this movie.
Excellent performance from SLJ, Willis plays a similar role to the Sixth Sense.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJul 10, 2013
My favorite M. Night Shyamalan movie. This film has the same chilling tone as The Sixth Sense with another great performance by Bruce Willis and an equally strong performance by Samuel L. Jackson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Movie1997Sep 7, 2015
If there is anything to be said about M. Night Shyamalan, it should be said that he is not a one trick pony. "Unbreakable", while not as impressive as "The Sixth Sense" is still a rather originally intriguing superhero movie in disguise.If there is anything to be said about M. Night Shyamalan, it should be said that he is not a one trick pony. "Unbreakable", while not as impressive as "The Sixth Sense" is still a rather originally intriguing superhero movie in disguise. First off, Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson give great, subtle performances. I thought Bruce Willis was better in "Unbreakable" as opposed to "The Sixth Sense" in almost every way. I felt him more as a character rather than just trying to deliver a performance. Samuel L. Jackson is probably at his most subtle. Don't get a me wrong, I love the usual performances he gives in Tarantino movies or pretty much anything else he is in. But you could feel he was going for something completely different from his other roles. It felt personal, absorbing and honestly unforgettable. The concept of this movie was genius, but it felt more like setup than an actually story. I guess I just wished this movie had something more than what I got, especially since it truly is a superhero movie in disguise. As for the big twist, I actually bought it. Like the one in "The Sixth Sense", when you go back and watch it, it all works. Overall, even though I wished there was more to this movie, it was still rather intriguing. I give "Unbreakable" a B+! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "LittleMovieBoy" for more reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SuperheroMoviesAug 1, 2013
The film develops a tense and engaging atmosphere that seizes the attention of its audience. One major quality the film has is the element of unpredictability which in some instances, creates moments of sheer awe. Also, Willis and JacksonThe film develops a tense and engaging atmosphere that seizes the attention of its audience. One major quality the film has is the element of unpredictability which in some instances, creates moments of sheer awe. Also, Willis and Jackson give fantastic performances together, partnering five years after doing so in Die Hard With A Vengeance, and this time, in a more serious and collected measure that works to perfection. Unbreakable is an entertaining superhero origin tale and the type of film that director M. Night Shyamalan needs to return back to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticMay 27, 2014
It lacks the suspense and creepiness that gives 'The Sixth Sense' its captivating thrills, but this is no way a stepdown. I dare to say it almost matches up with 'Sixth Sense'. The pacing is perfect, the eeriness (a trademark technique of M.It lacks the suspense and creepiness that gives 'The Sixth Sense' its captivating thrills, but this is no way a stepdown. I dare to say it almost matches up with 'Sixth Sense'. The pacing is perfect, the eeriness (a trademark technique of M. Night Shyamalan) succeeds in drawing us in, and the subtle yet alluring acting (particularly Samuel L. Jackson) all adds up to be one of smartest of superhero movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Feb 15, 2017
Saw Split so I decided to give Unbreakable a look to further understand where Split was coming from and from where I stand, Unbreakable is a refreshing take on superheros and the comic book genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews