Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 3, 2011
    100
    A moving, gently reassuring tale that softens the boundaries between humanity and nature, life and the afterlife.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Mar 2, 2011
    100
    The magic of Uncle Boonmee is that it makes all viewers feel like the strange ones.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Feb 28, 2011
    100
    What you see and hear always seems perfectly natural, even if you can't exactly say why. Who needs words when you have cinema?
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Mar 1, 2011
    95
    If anything, Joe's sense of dream logic is more naturalistic than Lynch's, more grounded in the knowable world - as much, that is, as we can know about nature - and the luminous Uncle Boonmee is no exception.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Mar 2, 2011
    91
    Spirit, animal, and human worlds coexist in dreamy harmony in this remarkable drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Mar 4, 2011
    90
    Animism, apparitions, out-of-body experiences, sex with a catfish -- there's all that and more in Apichatpong Weerasethakul's wonderfully nutty Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives.
  7. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 4, 2011
    90
    Encountered in an appropriately exploratory frame of mind, it can produce something close to bliss.
  8. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Mar 3, 2011
    90
    You don't have to believe in the transmigration of souls to fall languorously in love with the Thai film that won the Palme d'Or at last year's Cannes Film Festival.
  9. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Mar 3, 2011
    90
    What is clear is that this is a director with a great sense of the magical and the mystical residing in the everyday.
  10. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 3, 2011
    90
    I can't pretend to understand the intricacies of the Buddhist belief system that informs the surreal story, or the fantasy system in which Boonmee, embodying Thailand, recalls his nation's history and shimmering myths. Yet no effort of understanding is needed to be moved by Boonmee's descent into a limestone cave shaped like a womb.
  11. Reviewed by: J. Hoberman
    Mar 1, 2011
    90
    A work of unostentatious beauty and uncloying sweetness, at once sophisticated and artless, mysterious and matter-of-fact, cosmic and humble, it asks only a measure of Boonmeevian acceptance: The movie doesn't mean anything-it simply is.
  12. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 16, 2011
    88
    If you are open, even in fancy, to the idea of ghosts who visit the living, this film is likely to be a curious but rather bemusing experience.
  13. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Apr 7, 2011
    88
    As Apichatpong erases, once again, the barriers between the celestial and terrestrial, he also does away with the cordons between film genres - this is sci-firomancefamilyreligiousthrillercomedyporn. No video service has a section for that. The only suitable shelf is the one in your soul.
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 28, 2011
    88
    As Joe blurs the line between reality and the supernatural, his haunting and hypnotic film exerts a hold you don't want to break. It's a beauty.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    3
    My favorite part of this movie came when I needed to go to the bathroom during a sequence when the main characters are walking through a forest. Music is playing, they are walking through the forest saying nothing, and I thought, "This movie is really slow and that diet coke has worked it's way to my bladder - time to go." So I went to the bathroom, checked my e-mail, listened to my phone messages, then walked back in to the theatre. They were still walking. I'm not kidding. Now, I'm a fan of Buddhism, I've been to Thailand...but this movie bored me to pieces. It has ten minutes of interesting spiritual/conceptual stuff, stuck in a loooong, sloooow, movie. Pretentious people will love this movie, because it will make them feel smart for liking it. Smart people will rent the dvd and watch it at ten times speed. Full Review »
  2. Aug 5, 2011
    5
    I understand asian culture and how they relate to death and ghosts in a whole other way. However, I just can't get pass this simple fact. How can your dead daughter appear next to you and you not be shocked and then your dead son turn into a monkey and you act as if that isn't a big deal either. What the hell is going on in asia!!! Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2012
    1
    Although, this isn't the reason I had a problem with it, this movie is very slow moving, and very artsy. There are people who hate movies like this no matter what, and there are people who love movies like this no matter what. I think the former is generally more mindful, and able to think for themselves. For me personally, like with any type of movie, a slow moving artistic movie has to be well made, and be able to achieve what it is intending to accomplish more me to like it. This was not that movie. The premise basically gives you every piece of philosophical insight this movie has to offer. A man is dying, and looks back on his past lives. That's it. It doesn't go anywhere from there. It just shows what happens in this guy's past lives, without any sort of insight into this character's mind, and what he's going through, or any sort of commentary on life and death, which you might have expected from the premise. Usually, if a movie is slow moving, it is to provoke emotion, not to make a two hour movie out of 30 minutes worth of script. Full Review »