Strand Releasing | Release Date: March 4, 2011
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 43 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
8
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
Probably the weirdest film I've ever watched but it is because of this unusual weirdness that constructs the most unique and remarkable movie in Thai film's industry. it also shows downfall of Thai morality- how temptations were seen asProbably the weirdest film I've ever watched but it is because of this unusual weirdness that constructs the most unique and remarkable movie in Thai film's industry. it also shows downfall of Thai morality- how temptations were seen as ordinary compensation. How humans are now living in 2 totally different world - the world of their own selves and the world that has been built by society which highly provokes the sense of importance of self-notification, nothing is true unless you've experienced with it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
filmtrashreviewAug 5, 2011
I understand asian culture and how they relate to death and ghosts in a whole other way. However, I just can't get pass this simple fact. How can your dead daughter appear next to you and you not be shocked and then your dead son turn into aI understand asian culture and how they relate to death and ghosts in a whole other way. However, I just can't get pass this simple fact. How can your dead daughter appear next to you and you not be shocked and then your dead son turn into a monkey and you act as if that isn't a big deal either. What the hell is going on in asia!!! Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
LightMar 17, 2011
My favorite part of this movie came when I needed to go to the bathroom during a sequence when the main characters are walking through a forest. Music is playing, they are walking through the forest saying nothing, and I thought, "This movieMy favorite part of this movie came when I needed to go to the bathroom during a sequence when the main characters are walking through a forest. Music is playing, they are walking through the forest saying nothing, and I thought, "This movie is really slow and that diet coke has worked it's way to my bladder - time to go." So I went to the bathroom, checked my e-mail, listened to my phone messages, then walked back in to the theatre. They were still walking. I'm not kidding. Now, I'm a fan of Buddhism, I've been to Thailand...but this movie bored me to pieces. It has ten minutes of interesting spiritual/conceptual stuff, stuck in a loooong, sloooow, movie. Pretentious people will love this movie, because it will make them feel smart for liking it. Smart people will rent the dvd and watch it at ten times speed. Collapse
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
10
ThunderWalrusJan 2, 2012
These other users don't know what they're talking about. This movie is a cinematic marvel. Every scene feels natural even though many of them are surreal, and it leaves you with a great feeling. It's beautiful.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
konkMay 6, 2011
I have nothing against well made philosophical movies, but this is similar to some of the so called modern art pieces, like a shoe nailed on the wall, in front of which some snobbish â
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
MichaelDNOct 21, 2012
Although, this isn't the reason I had a problem with it, this movie is very slow moving, and very artsy. There are people who hate movies like this no matter what, and there are people who love movies like this no matter what. I think theAlthough, this isn't the reason I had a problem with it, this movie is very slow moving, and very artsy. There are people who hate movies like this no matter what, and there are people who love movies like this no matter what. I think the former is generally more mindful, and able to think for themselves. For me personally, like with any type of movie, a slow moving artistic movie has to be well made, and be able to achieve what it is intending to accomplish more me to like it. This was not that movie. The premise basically gives you every piece of philosophical insight this movie has to offer. A man is dying, and looks back on his past lives. That's it. It doesn't go anywhere from there. It just shows what happens in this guy's past lives, without any sort of insight into this character's mind, and what he's going through, or any sort of commentary on life and death, which you might have expected from the premise. Usually, if a movie is slow moving, it is to provoke emotion, not to make a two hour movie out of 30 minutes worth of script. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
makrtik2Apr 15, 2012
This movie is one of the worst I have ever seen, and we generally like art films. It is so poorly done it would get a failing grade as a junior high school video project (and they'd have to delete the fish... don;t ask, it;s boring too). InThis movie is one of the worst I have ever seen, and we generally like art films. It is so poorly done it would get a failing grade as a junior high school video project (and they'd have to delete the fish... don;t ask, it;s boring too). In retrospect I wish I had made at least one trip to the restroom, as another reviewer said they wisely did, to relieve the boredom. For me the highlight of the movie (weak though it was) was the ridiculous black shag rug costumes (which zipped up the front) with ridiculous glow-in-the-dark red eyes that the "monkey ghosts" wore. A truly unrelieved snoozer, without a scrap of interest or socially redeeming merit to be had. Save you time and your money! Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
Andys_ReviewsNov 21, 2012
All the performances are very good (with my usual caveat that it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cabritaJun 15, 2012
A hypnotic beautiful film that is very simple. In a film like this however I believe simplicity is not what is should be shooting for. Worth the time invested in it though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MusicxxAddictedMay 18, 2014
I read the bad reviews and I simply had to write one myself to clear up some things: THIS IS A METAFILM. Yes, it's a movie about movies. You can see it in the different style of cinema the scenes were shot, the multiple kinds of lighting,I read the bad reviews and I simply had to write one myself to clear up some things: THIS IS A METAFILM. Yes, it's a movie about movies. You can see it in the different style of cinema the scenes were shot, the multiple kinds of lighting, acting, etc. The dead son is an obvious reference to film which is losing its grounds to digital with the monkey suit as a symbol that refers to another movie, you probably know which one. He symbolizes the hybrid era which we're in, one foot in the analog, one in the digital, meandering what is superior when we look for quality not speed. The aunt is cripple, she comes from modern civilization which can be argued to cripple the human mind as well. Boonmee has a failing kidney and gets a stoma, even when the doctor said he'll be better he won't because technology simply cannot make man immortal. Man must learn to accept its fate but technology blinds us, as seen throughout the film. Nature will always remind us that we are mammals and nothing more.

The film hypnotizes you in its slow paced story, just like the cow it takes patience to tame the beast and bring it back home. If you're simply complaining about how slow a film goes, you go to the bathroom and start checking your emails and phone calls I think you're not the right kind of person to watch these sorta films because you're obviously too busy with the material world and cannot comprehend the patience it takes to deepen your well of consciousness. Namaste and please enjoy this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews