Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: March 19, 2008
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 43 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
6
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ArturoS.Mar 23, 2008
Great movie ,wish to have more kinda, and less stupid comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Ramb.Apr 16, 2008
If this movie is about immigration, then Star Wars is a documentary about outer space exploration. This is a shameless tearjerker about family, friendship, love, and transformation. The movie is predictable. But in this unpredictable world, If this movie is about immigration, then Star Wars is a documentary about outer space exploration. This is a shameless tearjerker about family, friendship, love, and transformation. The movie is predictable. But in this unpredictable world, it what makes it also fun and comfortable to watch. Message: although the world out there is ugly, still there is some love... Is what you want to watch once in a while after reading the news? Also the kid's acting is amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Apr 6, 2008
We love plucky children. And Carlitos(Adrian Alonso) has pluck. We also love to sympathize with mothers who make sacrifices for their children. Carlitos was five the last time Rosario(Kate del Castillo) tucked her son into bed. He's We love plucky children. And Carlitos(Adrian Alonso) has pluck. We also love to sympathize with mothers who make sacrifices for their children. Carlitos was five the last time Rosario(Kate del Castillo) tucked her son into bed. He's nine, now. "Misma luna, La" speaks to our love for plucky kids and their self-sacrificing moms. It sidesteps, however, our attitude towards illegal border crossers who aren't cute and charismatic cherubs, or milfs with smoldering eyes. If "Misma luna, La" was serious about making its case about a Mexican's right to live in the states, Enrique(Eugenio Derbez) should've just walked on by. You like him, yes, because he performed a heroic deed. Your moviegoing-self might even be a little sad about his impending departure. Meanwhile, your real world-self feels a sense of satisfaction that this unskilled laborer will be deported back to the other Los Angeles on the other side of our country. A film such as Ken Loach's "Bread and Roses", or a novel like "Highwire Days" by Susan Straight, doesn't make hypocrites out of its viewers, or readers. With little, or no shameless manipulation, both movie and book made you confront your actual capacity for clemency, or none to speak of, in some cases, towards our neighbors to the south. But "Misma luna, La" shouldn't be penalized for what it isn't. It's just a crowd-pleaser. And does it please? Yes. Bottom line: we're rooting for a mother and child reunion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexH.Mar 29, 2008
This was much, much better than I had expected based on the reviews and trailers. It's extremely moving, very well-acted and surprisingly funny at times. Some may find the politics of the film 'didactic' or preachy but This was much, much better than I had expected based on the reviews and trailers. It's extremely moving, very well-acted and surprisingly funny at times. Some may find the politics of the film 'didactic' or preachy but personally I found it refreshing that it wasn't apologetic or 'nuanced' in its compassion for migrant workers. Unlike some critics, I also thought the plot was realistic enough, and certainly more believable and authentic than most Hollywood dramas. As the Premiere review mentioned, it's very reminiscent of classic neo-realist films, and I was often reminded of "The Bicycle Thief", one of my all-time favorite movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyP.D.Apr 4, 2008
I can see some critics give a low rate altough they express many good things they found in the movie... a teerjerker movie is somthing bad?, they want more blood?, violent movies?, more "no happy endings " finals to give awards?...anyway, I I can see some critics give a low rate altough they express many good things they found in the movie... a teerjerker movie is somthing bad?, they want more blood?, violent movies?, more "no happy endings " finals to give awards?...anyway, I enjoyed a lot this great movie, I love it!. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregD.Apr 5, 2008
It may be a "gratuitous" tear-jerker, but as those movies go, it's fantastic. Adrian Alonso is positively incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThatMovieGuyRocksMar 23, 2008
Undoubtedly one of the best movies of the year. Heavy handed at times - mostly when you hastily categorize it about a tale of immigration - it's a simple - well told - story about the powerful bond between a mother and child. Undoubtedly one of the best movies of the year. Heavy handed at times - mostly when you hastily categorize it about a tale of immigration - it's a simple - well told - story about the powerful bond between a mother and child. Here's to great story telling! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayT.Mar 29, 2008
I am completely agree with Alex N... Si no sales del cine con el corazón en tu garganta considerate emocionalmente muerto, " If you don't leave the theater with your heart in your throat consider yourself emotionally dead", I am completely agree with Alex N... Si no sales del cine con el corazón en tu garganta considerate emocionalmente muerto, " If you don't leave the theater with your heart in your throat consider yourself emotionally dead", besides that this movie remind us how many people is suffering for giving the people they love the best they can. Stop reading, run and go to see it !. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulieR.Apr 14, 2008
I don't care if I was a bit emotionally manipulated. I loved this movie with a happy ending. The audience at the theatre clapped at the end - that says a lot!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GloriaG.Apr 7, 2008
Surely one of my favorites for this 2008 !, a smart script, good actings, bravo México!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexNMar 22, 2008
A true tear jerker! If you don't leave the theater with your heart in your throat consider yourself emotionally dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Mar 24, 2008
I don't know where the critics are on this one. I mean, yes this movie is contrived, but all movies are to a degree. Under The Same Moon just suffers from having a script that is somewhat obvious. It's a feel good movie which won I don't know where the critics are on this one. I mean, yes this movie is contrived, but all movies are to a degree. Under The Same Moon just suffers from having a script that is somewhat obvious. It's a feel good movie which won the audience award at the Denver Film Fest last November and at the screening I saw this past weekend, the small audience applauded at the end. So some will say this is a "crowd pleaser", which may be condescending, but it's appropriate. The acting is impeccable and Adrian Alonso who plays Carlitos easily carries this film. The emotion he generates is palpable. The final frame is understated, but brilliant in it's simplicity revealing a subtle, but powerful ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TottoMar 29, 2008
Excellent script, good actings, a moving story that is more honest than most of movies that we have in theaters today, it goes straight to your heart!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChellyV.Mar 31, 2008
Hi !, I just wanna add that this movie worths every minute you pay for see it, like no one other movie did it last year ( except ratatouille ) this touch your heart in a special way, is completely honest and you want to see more when u you Hi !, I just wanna add that this movie worths every minute you pay for see it, like no one other movie did it last year ( except ratatouille ) this touch your heart in a special way, is completely honest and you want to see more when u you see...the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SuzanSep 22, 2017
Under The Same Moon was a real masterpiece. Of course, depending on the audience, each viewer will perceive this. film very differently. As for myself the film was very emotional. The acting was incredible. This film reflects realities andUnder The Same Moon was a real masterpiece. Of course, depending on the audience, each viewer will perceive this. film very differently. As for myself the film was very emotional. The acting was incredible. This film reflects realities and truths of many latino individuals, who believe the U.S is the key to a better future. Either for themselves or their family. In all, very touching and thought provoking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews