Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: September 26, 2003
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
7
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
1
MargaretD.Feb 8, 2004
Just saw this on DVD with a friend. We're both gals in our forties and divorced, so as members of the target demographic, we were supposed to have swooned over it. But as every whooper of hugely unlikely scenario was put over on us Just saw this on DVD with a friend. We're both gals in our forties and divorced, so as members of the target demographic, we were supposed to have swooned over it. But as every whooper of hugely unlikely scenario was put over on us (such as, for starters, her staggering expenditures on a writer-who-never-writes' income), and every cliche and flattery of 40-something vanity was heaped on to the point of utter derangement, our outrage mounted. What an imbecilic, pandering fraud this movie is! So smug and enraptured with its brilliance and Use of Symbols. But a reviewer above kindly supplied the adjective I was groping for as gratefully shut down the screen: "godawful." No wonder guys think we're aliens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobM.May 28, 2004
I would have rather tried to have all of my fingernails and toenails removed instead of sitting through this awful movie. Poorest movie of its kind. Yuck!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FrankOct 22, 2003
Worthless Hollywood trash. An insult to Frances Mayes as it is not even REMOTELY close to the book. I'm surprised that she would let her name be associated with it? She must need the money. I did enoy Diane Lane. She deserves star Worthless Hollywood trash. An insult to Frances Mayes as it is not even REMOTELY close to the book. I'm surprised that she would let her name be associated with it? She must need the money. I did enoy Diane Lane. She deserves star billing in more films. But the lesbian baby thing and that flaky, burned out, decadent older woman were very awkward devices. Not a very good Chick Flick, as it engaged in silly stereotypes about Italian men and horny American women looking for a lover in Italy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ThomasS.Oct 25, 2003
Beautiful scenery of Italy. Not much on substance as this is a movie only women can like. As for being a critic, and a negative one at that, wonder what would have happened if she gave positive reviews? There would have been no movie and I Beautiful scenery of Italy. Not much on substance as this is a movie only women can like. As for being a critic, and a negative one at that, wonder what would have happened if she gave positive reviews? There would have been no movie and I wouldn't have had to sit through this crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BethanyS.Mar 21, 2004
18 million dollars to make this crap? This movie typifies why we don't attend, rent, or buy them. We thought, great concept, who wouldn't like to buy a house in Italy, rebuild a life. Dialogue insipid, characters laughable, 18 million dollars to make this crap? This movie typifies why we don't attend, rent, or buy them. We thought, great concept, who wouldn't like to buy a house in Italy, rebuild a life. Dialogue insipid, characters laughable, shallow, stupid, insulting. When are "directors " going to be accountable for the millions they waste every year? My god, feed the starving people of Ethiopia for 18 million! Shame on "hollywood." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
shannonp.Jul 30, 2005
Just really, really bad. It's like whoever wrote this script is a Martian whose only exposure to human life is TV sitcoms retreived from a time capsule . . . then the Martian tries to write a movie script about life on earth. Every Just really, really bad. It's like whoever wrote this script is a Martian whose only exposure to human life is TV sitcoms retreived from a time capsule . . . then the Martian tries to write a movie script about life on earth. Every person associated with this movie should be locked in a room together for a month and be made to watch it over and over and over with a laugh track added following every cliche. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LarryL.Nov 10, 2003
I think that I want throw up after watching this predicatable chick flick. Too complicated and boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WhitneyP.Nov 12, 2003
Italy was beautiful but as for the movie the storyline was pretty lame. Everything was predictable in this sterotype chick flick. It is an insult to women everywhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BeckyP.Dec 10, 2003
To call this movie a "chick flick" is an insult to women everywhere... in fact to call this a "movie" is an insult to movies. Everything about this movie is bad. The dialog, the acting, the directing, the story. How it can say it was based To call this movie a "chick flick" is an insult to women everywhere... in fact to call this a "movie" is an insult to movies. Everything about this movie is bad. The dialog, the acting, the directing, the story. How it can say it was based on the novel is beyond me. In the novel the woman moves to Italy with her husband. In the movie she's divorced by her cheating husband who takes alimony... and the house to boot. She goes on a gay tour of Italy given to her by her pregnant lesbian friend who later gets dumped during the end of her pregnancy. This movie was clearly written for divorced, lonely women in their 40s. What makes this even more pathetic is Diane Lane's performance. After Unfaithful I was really happy to see that she was getting her own movie. I only hope the Director was to blame for the overacting, not only from Diane, but the rest of the stereotypical cast (especially from the god awful hat lady). The only good actor was the Grandmother "Niente Posta!", and the only person on set who seemed to know what they were doing was the cinematographer. The dialog should have been written on toilet paper because it's complete crap. I hate when characters in movies are supposed to be accomplished writer's and then the voice over sounds like... well, let me quote the movie "Ding Dang Dong go the bells." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PatrickF.Dec 20, 2003
This movie insulted my intelligence as an audience. I don't know if it is worse to not have potential or to have potential and see it go terribly terribly wrong. The latter describes under the tuscan sun, a total mess of a chick flick, This movie insulted my intelligence as an audience. I don't know if it is worse to not have potential or to have potential and see it go terribly terribly wrong. The latter describes under the tuscan sun, a total mess of a chick flick, which has lazy cliched performances within a lazy cliched script, which is only destroyed by lazy cliched editing. This is the kind of movie that only people who don't see many movies can love Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GeorgeW.Oct 22, 2003
Chick Flick Alert! Guys run for the hills. Boooring!
0 of 0 users found this helpful