Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Jan 20, 2012
    70
    The entire production is single-mindedly, earnestly devoted to serving up feats of BADASS, and it succeeds in this devotion to the exclusion of everything else. Allegedly in 3-D, though I didn't notice at the time.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jan 20, 2012
    70
    Not quite in the class of the first film, Underworld 4 is still the most enlightened girl-power film of the week, nosing out Gina Carano's "Haywire" by the length of Pinocchio's proboscis.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 20, 2012
    70
    Once again, Beckinsale brings an impressive physicality and subzero cool to her portrayal of Selene.
  4. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Jan 20, 2012
    67
    Why are they fighting again? Never you mind. Just sit tight till the next action sequence (it won't be long), and get ready to laugh - with equal parts scorn and fanboy joy - as Beckinsale strikes another Rodinesque pose under a slo-mo shower of inhuman innards.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jan 21, 2012
    63
    There's not much to this movie beyond a slick procession of dark, gleaming violence. But Selene lovers would pay good 3D money to see her fight a parking ticket.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Whipp
    Jan 21, 2012
    60
    A brisk creature-feature that ditches the series' dreary mythology in favor of a more direct, action-oriented approach.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jan 21, 2012
    50
    A sequel seemingly eager to assert that monster mashes are about B-movie chills not "Twilight'' melodrama. Eager to a fault, ultimately.
  8. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jan 20, 2012
    50
    More aggressively violent and thankfully less mythology driven than previous installments, Underworld: Awakening is strictly for the converted.
  9. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jan 20, 2012
    50
    Anyway, "Children of Men" this ain't, though the inert directing of Len Wiseman (who helmed the first two films and has a producer credit here) has thankfully been replaced by Mans Marlind and Bjorn Stein, who seem to have a lot more verve and even some visual whimsy.
  10. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Jan 20, 2012
    40
    Not a complete disaster, but also not the vampire / werewolf mash we've always wanted.
  11. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jan 20, 2012
    35
    Murky and perpetually bluish in tinge, Underworld: Awakening does and gets little with the 3-D in which it's being offered, and ends by shamelessly setting up a further and fatally unnecessary installment.
  12. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jan 21, 2012
    30
    Kate Beckinsale can still fill out a skin-tight leather bodysuit, but with Awakening, the vampires-vs-werewolves Underworld franchise has finally decayed beyond the point of repair.
  13. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 25, 2012
    20
    There is running, hiding, fighting, shooting, bleeding, biting, slicing, dicing, and damnably little entertainment value in any of it.
  14. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Jan 20, 2012
    20
    Also missing: the series' reliable camp heavies, Bill Nighy and Michael Sheen, and most of the so-called Lycans who, their appearance in a few respectable action sequences notwithstanding, are now nearly extinct. So is this franchise.
  15. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jan 20, 2012
    16
    Watching the film is strangely like looking at the same three still frames of supernatural battles over and over for 90 minutes.
  16. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Jan 20, 2012
    12
    The only thing that manages to outpace Underworld: Awakening's ineptitude is its utter soullessness.
  17. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 20, 2012
    0
    Latest, dreadful entry in the vampires-battling-werewolves franchise.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 72
  2. Negative: 13 out of 72
  1. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    I loved this movie. I thought it was better than the last 2. I really enjoyed the 3rd movie(Rise of the Lycans), but I was left wanting way more action scenes. So I was very happy with (Awakening), I don't understand at all why it got such bad reviews on meta-critic. I saw this with a small group of friends and we all thought it was awesome! I mean it had a ton of great action, Selene(Kate) was bad azzzzz! and Hott!, as usual. We got to meet some cool new characters. I will admit that we were a group of 5 guys though, and I think guys tend to look more for action than romance and story, for the most part. This 1 may have been lacking a little in story and lot in the romance dept. compared to all the other ones but if your a true fan of the "Underworld" series, than I think your going to enjoy this movie anyways. =) Full Review »
  2. Mar 18, 2012
    2
    Plot holes, a man paid to rip his shirt off and that's all he did in the movie, a three way war that isn't. What have you done this series is now beyond repair. DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE. Full Review »
  3. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    I think that they did a great job with this movie. Action is simply amazing, even comparable to Matrix. Selene (Kate) is beautiful and badass as always. I'm a big fan of Underworld series and I hope that they will make more, prequel would be awesome because Lucian and Raze are great characters and they need more screen time. All in all, nice and exciting movie. Full Review »