User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 196
  2. Negative: 29 out of 196
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    5
    As a fan of the series, I remain mixed on this film. Indeed, the action was great, and the effects were good, but there was very little substance present in this addition. I love action, gore, and fast pacing, but this film lacked everything that made Underworld mysterious, subtle, and provoking. I've said it before, and I'll say it again, without Bill Nighy's Victor, the series willAs a fan of the series, I remain mixed on this film. Indeed, the action was great, and the effects were good, but there was very little substance present in this addition. I love action, gore, and fast pacing, but this film lacked everything that made Underworld mysterious, subtle, and provoking. I've said it before, and I'll say it again, without Bill Nighy's Victor, the series will continue to slag. Nighy had a presence that improved each film with a sense of mystique. This addition indeed welcomes back Beckinsale, but this whole "hybrid daughter" thing is a tired concept. Can't it get a tad more interesting than that? Part of what made the first film so great was it's devotion to old-style vamps and wolves, with a couple contemporary twists to make them fresh. This film is pumped so full with steroids and action that it becomes boring.......as a fan of action, gore, etc, that's a pretty big statement for me. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    5
    I am a fan of the series: in this movie, the focus os the story shifts a little - the humans has discovered the other 2 "new" species, and begin to purge from Earth both Vampires and Lycans. Selene and Michael attempt to escape, but are captured: 12 years latter, Selen awakes in a cryo chamber (Subject 1), in a research facility, and sees another chamber, the Subject 2, beliving this isI am a fan of the series: in this movie, the focus os the story shifts a little - the humans has discovered the other 2 "new" species, and begin to purge from Earth both Vampires and Lycans. Selene and Michael attempt to escape, but are captured: 12 years latter, Selen awakes in a cryo chamber (Subject 1), in a research facility, and sees another chamber, the Subject 2, beliving this is Micheals one - only to discover latter that in this chamber, was a Hybrid 12 years child, her daughter, that is being pursued by surviving Lycans... the rest of the story gets around this: has a lot of action, but a think the focus is too narrow, only in this event, and the movies ends with a direct hook to a 5th movie. Its a enjoyable sequence, filled with action, but I think it's the poorer one. My score: 5,0 / 10,0. Expand
  3. Jan 21, 2012
    4
    For the fans who've seen the previous Underworld movies, be ready for a shift of plot. The movie is 70% action with unnecessary violence and 30% flavorless screenplay. The consolation for the viewer is the undeniably eye-candy visual effects working with the 3D format. movienotesbook.blogspot.com
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    5
    Dawdling to cinema, hoping that vampire movies haven't died yet after Twilight abused them, I came across Underworld : Awakening, or more precisely I looked happily at Kate Beckinsale's poster. Underworld franchise isn't always that good, it does provide some form of entertainment of blood loving undead. Sadly this movie isn't forgiving to your eyes, literally. Just to prove no matter howDawdling to cinema, hoping that vampire movies haven't died yet after Twilight abused them, I came across Underworld : Awakening, or more precisely I looked happily at Kate Beckinsale's poster. Underworld franchise isn't always that good, it does provide some form of entertainment of blood loving undead. Sadly this movie isn't forgiving to your eyes, literally. Just to prove no matter how cool your protagonist is, a movie doesn't depend on them alone.



    Underworld : Awakening is dark, I don't mean the vibe or atmosphere, but the whole movie is seemingly shot with dimmed lights, flickering lights, flashlights and unpaid electricity bill. I understand the need to get the theme gritty, but there is no reason why almost every light source in the movie is flickering. Some of the scenes are off putting due to the lack of clarity while being fast paced and 3D, and it's unfortunate because it has better action sequences that its predecessors. It also hampers the sense of uniqueness on most the settings, the set pieces aren't memorable and desperate for personality.

    And then there's the bane of 3D, the camera angle. Majority of the scenes are Selene pointing gun or throwing stuffs at the screen, werewolves jumping at the audience, all in so recently cliched "Ohh, grenades are coming at youuu..." fashion. I'm so over that **** It should be noted that sequences are better to unfold organically than being tossed at my face. Granted there are few good ones without forced 3D, but they didn't appear after half of the movie.

    Story is your typical humans versus vampires versus werewolves, if you've seen previous installments, you'd pretty much predict what's going to happen next. It's superficial and the relationships between characters could be portrayed better. Narrative isn't its strong suit, it kind of reminded me of Resident Evil frankly. Dialogues are not bad, with some childish taunts and remarks, not that witty but oddly fit the movie.



    If you're looking for action, it won't disappoint. This is the bloodiest of the series, honestly it's bordering on unnecessary yet gleefully gory. It has some of the best kills I've seen for a while. The hits, bites and shots have good brutality and creativity as well. It slowly builds up and gets better throughout, but the ending might leave you hanging. That being said, I rather have them add more choreography than CG, it's more fluid that way.

    Kate Beckinsale is a good choice for main protagonist. She has great physique, slender and also athletic in tightly wrapped black suit. It's quite impressive to see her in action and she also oozes calm confidence in her role. I think the directors made good use of her skinny body and seeming glittering suit to create elegant scene. While it's not a good movie, but at the very least, you can view Kate's lovely lithe body in 3D, that's gotta count for something. 5/10
    Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2012
    6
    Underworld: Awakening picks up 12 years after Evolution. The war between the Vampires and Lycans has changed. For the worse. The human race has caught on to these warring factions and, like the annoying white blood cells we are, seek to eradicate both sides leaving us the lone victor. Our dear Selene wakes up only to find the world around her has changed and her darling Michael is absent.Underworld: Awakening picks up 12 years after Evolution. The war between the Vampires and Lycans has changed. For the worse. The human race has caught on to these warring factions and, like the annoying white blood cells we are, seek to eradicate both sides leaving us the lone victor. Our dear Selene wakes up only to find the world around her has changed and her darling Michael is absent. She begins her journey to find answers and to try and do what she can...survive. U:A went into a correct direction for the series, yet, does not provide enough story and character development to make it work. The action, as always, is entertaining and delivers a visceral attack to the senses making you smile. Yet, with the absence of strong supporting character Michael (Scott Speedman sat this one out...it is a body double) it is as if Selene (played once again by the wonderful Kate Beckinsale) wonders around with a purpose but a script that provides little to no support of that purpose. With out giving spoilers this can be said, while not the best of the series, it is not the worst. A good addition and hopefully the next installment will take a lesson from this one and do better.

    Thanks again for another addition to a great series, keep them coming.
    Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    6
    A good movie, but how humans found out about the supernatural is never explained. Overall it seemed more than anything to be rushed, or maybe its just in my opinion the pacing was off. Anyway the good things about this movie were some pretty cool fight sequences and Selene is being the BA she normally is. Bad things about this movie are the pacing seems off and the plot a little cliche. IA good movie, but how humans found out about the supernatural is never explained. Overall it seemed more than anything to be rushed, or maybe its just in my opinion the pacing was off. Anyway the good things about this movie were some pretty cool fight sequences and Selene is being the BA she normally is. Bad things about this movie are the pacing seems off and the plot a little cliche. I would recommend it for rental. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    See this movie if you love the Underworld universe. It is a fun romp, but it was my least favorite of the series so far. If you see it in theaters you may be left a little wanting, however it is a great movie to target as a renter.
  8. Feb 17, 2012
    4
    My score? 4 / 10 It's pretty hard to mess up werewolves fighting vampires with machine guns as far as guy movies go but Underworld Awakening managed to do it. This movie was a step backwards in every way possible other than Kate Beckinsale's hotness. I liked the story in the last Underworld movie. The initial scene where a group of vampires fought with werewolves in a medieval settingMy score? 4 / 10 It's pretty hard to mess up werewolves fighting vampires with machine guns as far as guy movies go but Underworld Awakening managed to do it. This movie was a step backwards in every way possible other than Kate Beckinsale's hotness. I liked the story in the last Underworld movie. The initial scene where a group of vampires fought with werewolves in a medieval setting was amazing, Awakening never had one of those moments. Watchable, not much more. Expand
  9. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    The effects, the fight scenes and the stunt-work is all of a very high quality and I can
  10. Mar 3, 2012
    4
    A script a bit loose and does not escape its parts ridiculous abuse of the illumination intermittent obseviso you make the movie a bit uncomfortable to the eye, the good: Excellent sound editing is very good and excellent for blood lover , because the scenes are well Gore.
  11. May 13, 2012
    5
    This movie was okay . It did have a lot of action but the plot was horrible I hope they stop making these underworld movies. And this movie is way too short. Maybe it they made it longer and add some good story to it it would have been a very great movie.
  12. Jun 16, 2012
    4
    As you can see by the score I didn't like this, and maybe that's just because I didn't see the other movies, but I highly doubt it because the movie explained all I needed to know to get into the movie, vampires and lycans are at war, Selene and Michael are in love, and humans have now entered the war. I don't really think I needed to know any of the series deep secrets (like the originsAs you can see by the score I didn't like this, and maybe that's just because I didn't see the other movies, but I highly doubt it because the movie explained all I needed to know to get into the movie, vampires and lycans are at war, Selene and Michael are in love, and humans have now entered the war. I don't really think I needed to know any of the series deep secrets (like the origins and what not) to get in on it. The action is gory and what the movie focuses on instead of plot, which is obvious because the plot is simple, bland, and somewhat forgettable. Some of the special effects also looked dated in the film. I might watch the other movies in the series to see if they change my opinion of the movie, and if they do I will update my review if I need to, but after watching this the other movies are low on to watch list. If your a fan of the series you'll probably get enjoyment from it, but if your not this most likely wont change your mind. And me being a newcomer, it did little to interest me. Expand
  13. Jul 17, 2012
    5
    Underworld: Awakening is the weakest of the franchise to date. It doesn't delve deeply enough into the series's rich mythos, which is a big disappointment for Underworld aficionados. Other faults include giant plot-holes, eyebrow-arching Aliens xeroxing and a smattering of new, utterly mundane characters (the human cop... why?) who no-body could care less about. What this installment doesUnderworld: Awakening is the weakest of the franchise to date. It doesn't delve deeply enough into the series's rich mythos, which is a big disappointment for Underworld aficionados. Other faults include giant plot-holes, eyebrow-arching Aliens xeroxing and a smattering of new, utterly mundane characters (the human cop... why?) who no-body could care less about. What this installment does provide is a series of descent action scenes. As a big fan of the franchise, Underworld: Awakening ultimately made for fun, compulsive viewing... That said, it's very much a film that should forever be labeled "For Fans Only". Expand
  14. Feb 29, 2012
    4
    What did you expect when you were buying the ticket? To see Kate Beckinsale back in tight latex outfit? You got it! To see ferocious werewolf comes to alive in latest Special Effects? You got it! Or to feast your eyes with more absurd gunfighting Actions? You got it too! Concisely, if you are a true fan of thiz saga, you will not have a problem to watch thiz installment one more time. ItWhat did you expect when you were buying the ticket? To see Kate Beckinsale back in tight latex outfit? You got it! To see ferocious werewolf comes to alive in latest Special Effects? You got it! Or to feast your eyes with more absurd gunfighting Actions? You got it too! Concisely, if you are a true fan of thiz saga, you will not have a problem to watch thiz installment one more time. It is another exact extension from the previous movies. But if you ask me, thiz movie is one of long excruciating experiences I have ever had. I mean please to be frankly honest, in every character of every scene in thiz movie, you may have some feelings about how many times you have ever seen these elements in other movies. They take a little from here and a little from that and then they put it together in one screen. It is a boring copycat. Everything seems so cliche. My Heart is not cold, it is broken. The Duo Directors who are responsible for all of thiz, Måns Mårlind and Björn Stein. Previously, they are well-known for SHELTER (2010). Beckinsale performance as Selene has two angles and an opposite side. On one side, she looks cool in some time. On the other side, she seems so frail and delicate. Meanwhile, the supporting Casts like: Stephen Rea, Michael Ealy, Theo James and India Eisley give typical mediocre performance. Selene the vampire knight has been fighting the lycans (werewolf) since the first UNDERWORLD (2003), UNDERWORLD: EVOLUTION (2006) include one prequel UNDERWORLD: RISE OF THE LYCANS (2009). The mastermind behind thiz saga is Len Wiseman, the real-life husband of Kate Beckinsale. Here is an interesting fact. In 2002, there was another couple had met and now they had become husband and wife as well. They are Milla Jovovich (Actress) and Paul W.S. Anderson (Director). They also made four installments of their own so far. It was called RESIDENT EVIL. I have a bad hunch about thiz franchise itself. There is no doubt. Thiz UNDERWORLD franchise has become a successful gold mine for the filmmakers. They will keep awakening thiz franchise as long as money keeps coming. Making matters worse, the vampires do live long! It is very clear. You do not need the brain when you got the gain.

    Visit My Blog on JONNYâ
    Expand
  15. Mar 4, 2012
    6
    Underworld Awakening, the director and producers did a great job, bringing back Selene with a new partner to help her defeat the Lycans that are stronger and with a large helping of technology
  16. Oct 15, 2012
    5
    This is what you call your typical January junk. We usually get one or two of these productions every January. I have never seen any of the Underworld movies prior to this one, I've only caught parts of them on tv. After seeing this movie, I don't think it really matters if you've never seen any of them. They give a 2 minute summary of what happened in the previous installments and thenThis is what you call your typical January junk. We usually get one or two of these productions every January. I have never seen any of the Underworld movies prior to this one, I've only caught parts of them on tv. After seeing this movie, I don't think it really matters if you've never seen any of them. They give a 2 minute summary of what happened in the previous installments and then goes it's own. direction. Even though I've never seen any of the previous installments, based on the 2 minute recap in the beginning of this movie and the parts I've seen on TV of the other movies this movie seems like it has nothing to do with the franchise at all. I guess that explains why I was never lost, because it's completely different from it's predecessors. It makes this whole movie seem pointless. I guess the other reason why I was never lost was because the story and plot are piss poor. There's barely anything. The characters are flat and I didn't really give a Crap about any of them. There's barely any dialogue, I don't know if that's a good or bad thing. Despite all of this, there's some fun to be had. The filmmakers obviously decided to just drop story and plot in favor of more vapid action. In that case they don't disappoint. The action scenes are nice and well staged. The movie has some style to spare and is sleek. There plenty of Gore to spare for you Gore hounds out there like me and hey, at least there's no **** love story or sparkling vampires which is always a plus. The movie also feels like one giant videogame. It certainly plays out that way, like first Selena and the other vampires fight this pack of wolves then after the giant wolf comes out like your typical boss in a videogame. Whatever the case it was fun. I'm not quite sure what to make of the acting since the actors don't have to say much. Kate Beckinsale is either angry or depressed throughout the movie. It looks like she almost had enough with this series and I don't blame her. The rest of the cast is just okay, nothing great, but nothing truly awful either. Overall, this is what you'd pretty much expect from your typical January junk. There's no story or plot, minimal dialogue, and has nothing to do with the series as far as I can tell. However, it's sleek and stylish, there's Gore to go around, the action scenes are nicely done and entertaining and the acting is okay. Since I haven't seen any of the other films I can't say weather this is a good edition to the series, but from a moviegoers perspective who hasn't seen any of the prior installments this is junk. No story and all action. Based on the box office performance expect more of these. Expand
  17. Jul 4, 2012
    4
    Very good and original action cool costumes but without any plot. What little there was was a tease. Cmon it cant be hard to make a better movie. Seriously I rented it. It was like playing a single player pc game. It might have been fun to play but watching a movie with so little plot was heartburn. A good cast but where were they?2 lines of plot between 10 minute action sequences. Is thatVery good and original action cool costumes but without any plot. What little there was was a tease. Cmon it cant be hard to make a better movie. Seriously I rented it. It was like playing a single player pc game. It might have been fun to play but watching a movie with so little plot was heartburn. A good cast but where were they?2 lines of plot between 10 minute action sequences. Is that what people go to the movies to see these days. Perhaps in 3D or imax it might have been fun. But any movie sacrificing drama should be called something else. The drama was the mood and the characters will to survive. It could have been a lot better. Action chase scenes. Very repetitive. The first two were really good. The third was too much a battle between Vampires and Lycans it went no where just backstory. Very disappointed Expand
  18. Sep 26, 2013
    5
    Compared to the other Underworld films, It's the best in the series in my opinion. Well done action scenes that were interesting to watch. Yes the story sort of sucked but not surprising considering the stories in the previous films were not that good in the first place. Overall, May not be perfect but it's at least watchable.
  19. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    After learning of their existence, the humans have set out to destroy all vampires and werewolves, save for a few specimens that they plan to use for biological testing. Selene, the vampire death-dealer, awakens 12 years after being captured to discover that she now has a daughter, a vampire/werewolf hybrid who is the last of the Covinus line. Together, they are the only hope for survivalAfter learning of their existence, the humans have set out to destroy all vampires and werewolves, save for a few specimens that they plan to use for biological testing. Selene, the vampire death-dealer, awakens 12 years after being captured to discover that she now has a daughter, a vampire/werewolf hybrid who is the last of the Covinus line. Together, they are the only hope for survival for their dying breed! 'UNDERWHELMING' is a better title for the third entry in this struggling series, which places action and special effects ahead of story and character in another pointless chapter. AWAKENING is the least favorable of any of the sequels, boasting the worst looking computerized creatures yet in a tiring display of cartoon violence. The mythology between the two clans that once captivated audiences seems like an afterthought now as the direction of the series becomes increasingly unclear. The addition of teen star India Eisley as Eve seems questionable in a hard "R" Horror film, especially if she is to become the focus of future entries. Kate Beckinsale may look good in black, but she phones in another emotionless performance as Selene. Måns Mårlind and Björn Stein successfully maintain the same style and tone as the other films, but their eye for action is found lacking. While UNDERWORLD: AWAKENING may not be the end of the series, another sequel like this will surely bury it. -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Expand
  20. Aug 18, 2012
    6
    Although we're glad to have Kate back I have to say that they shifted very heavily to the Action genre (probably coz it was released in 3D). In the first 2 mins you get a quick recap of the other Kate-Underworld films, then a very quick exp
    lanation of the current story situation and then you get thrown into the action which rarely ever stops. Very little time is taken out for story,
    Although we're glad to have Kate back I have to say that they shifted very heavily to the Action genre (probably coz it was released in 3D). In the first 2 mins you get a quick recap of the other Kate-Underworld films, then a very quick exp
    lanation of the current story situation and then you get thrown into the action which rarely ever stops. Very little time is taken out for story, character development or background exposistion. This movie only lasts 88 mins, 10 of which are credits, so if you don't count the intro that leaves you about 75 mins of actual film of which 850 shots are VFX (which aren't bad but also not exeptional). It's nice entertainment and if you've seen the other Underworld films you'll probably also see this one but I'm not fond of the direction they've taken...
    Expand
  21. Feb 4, 2013
    6
    Entertaining movie with lots of special effects (some poorly made). If you liked the previous parts of the series is going to like you.
  22. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first I have to admit that I'm no Underworld Fan of the first hour, I actually didn't even hear of the first film when it came out in 2003. It must have been one afternoon in 2007 when I saw a TV trailer announcing the airing of Underworld in the late evening the upcoming weekend. I didn't know what it was all about and was actually like "What the F...?!?" when I saw the skull of the vamire lord awaking in the underground (actually thought it was some kind of zombie then) and thought it might be some kind of cool horror movie, so I marked it for watching. But what I actually watched on this particular evening was one of the best vampire movies of all time (for me personally at least):

    Already that first jump of Selene down from that Church and directly walking on in the first scene caught my attention. Then there was the first contact between Selene, the super cool death merchant with centuries of experience in hunting down lycans, and Michael, who stumbled into this century-old war between the two supernatural races with no idea what is actually going on. Then there was this mythology of how the Vampires and Lycans actually arised and which both of them (Michael & Selene) need to investigate much deeper than they are supposed to by the Vampire lords, Michael to survive, Selene to solve the riddles of her past, while both of them begin to understand that they not only need each other to survive, but also begin to develop feelings for the other one.

    The whole Mythology and Background story created within this first movie was so huge and deep that it was rightfully followed by "Underworld: Evolution" and "Underworld: Rise of the Lycans" in the folowing years. I personally think "Rise of the Lycans" actually fits very good into the storyline while "Evolution", still a good movie and clearly belonging rightfully to the series, had it's weaknesses, altough I can't really tell what it was that I felt missing in this one. And now we finally have "Underworld: Awakening" finally here.

    So let's summarize my overall Impressions on this one: Yay, Selene's back! Okay, Humans suddently noticed Vs and Ls (why actually?), and why do they actually posses the Vampire/Lycan Weaponry so fast (there is clearly a movie called "Underworld: The Purge" missing somewhere). But okay, let's focus on the storyline again. Selene is held captive by the humans in some laboratory but someone helped her to wake up. And of course all of her gear is stored right at the location where she has been held in cryostasis for all this time (12 years). To get out of the laboratory she has to fight her way through the complex, which of cours is not that much of a challenge of a skilled death merchant like her. Later on she meets a little girl named "Subject 2" (if there was actually a scene when she was renamed to "Eve" I must have missed that). This girl is a human-vampire-lycan-hybrid (like Michael) and (surprise, surprise) the daughter of Selene and Michael.

    Considering the way she finds her daughter, which she has never seen before, and the circumstances under which she finds her and what Eve is capable of, I would have expected either that Selene would mistrust Eve at the beginning or directly feel that she is no harm and show more warmth for her daughter. Actually there could have been a development from suspicious mistrust towards an arising mothers instinct towards Eve. But neither of these two happens. Also, the way Eve was given birth or how she was created isn't a topic in the whole move. She is there and she is Selene's daughter. No backtalk! And oh, look: there are bad guys, no time, let's Rumble!

    And this partucular situation could be viewed as an allegory to EACH character in this movie. As an "Underworld"-Veteran, I might get the one or other thing a little easier than a casual viewer, but there is still so much potential in this movie, if they only added much more dialogs properly acted by the cast. Okay, there is actually not much time that Selene has to get to know her Daughter, but I actually didn't feel any kind of relationship developing between both of them, and when Eve thanked Selene in one of the final scenes for coming back for her, and Selene replied "I promised it", it actually feels more like Selene rescued Eve to keep word rather than saving her daughter.

    The CGI effects might could have been better at some point, but they are ok for my opinion. The lycan-decimating death merchant Selene is cool as always, altough she has to struggle with unsteady fitness at some points (One time she cracks through concrete roofs between two laboratories within a second, the other time she has to struggle with obstacles that I wouldn't have guessed to be suchlike for her). The big issue remains the plot / character development. The first Underworld movie had 128/116 Minutes, this one 88, which makes 40/28 Minutes difference. And I got the feeling, that "Underworld" had as much action scenes as "Awakening", too, plus Story.
    Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 25, 2012
    20
    There is running, hiding, fighting, shooting, bleeding, biting, slicing, dicing, and damnably little entertainment value in any of it.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Whipp
    Jan 21, 2012
    60
    A brisk creature-feature that ditches the series' dreary mythology in favor of a more direct, action-oriented approach.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jan 21, 2012
    63
    There's not much to this movie beyond a slick procession of dark, gleaming violence. But Selene lovers would pay good 3D money to see her fight a parking ticket.