Screen Gems | Release Date: January 20, 2006
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 536 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
463
Mixed:
37
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
HarryM.Jan 21, 2006
All i can say: PERFECT! Thank you Len for this masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JDnatorFeb 14, 2011
why are "professional critics" so dense?
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
SpunkyMonkeyMay 6, 2012
Firstly, you'll without doubt enjoy this movie far more if you have seen the first Underworld. As a film itself it's definately worth a watch and it has some real class in parts - the lead hero in Selene (Kate Beckinsale) and lead villainFirstly, you'll without doubt enjoy this movie far more if you have seen the first Underworld. As a film itself it's definately worth a watch and it has some real class in parts - the lead hero in Selene (Kate Beckinsale) and lead villain Marcus (Tony Curran) are both superb and really add some zing to the film. The first half of it builds nicely, with a great meld of action and plot sequences, and it starts to feel as if an awesome film is in the offing. Sadly, the second half of the film just feels a bit rushed and wishy washy - not bad by any means, but I found myself switching off at times and not as hooked as in the earlier section of the film. The climax doesn't disapoint though and, if you can ignore a few of the plot holes, there's definitely enough to sink your teeth into for it be worth a watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AaronS.Jan 21, 2006
I enjoyed it, although I admit that Beckinsale was a major drawcard in my decision to go see it in the first place. It was a real comic book movie & fine if you do I did & ignored all the inconsistencies with the first film and enjoyed the I enjoyed it, although I admit that Beckinsale was a major drawcard in my decision to go see it in the first place. It was a real comic book movie & fine if you do I did & ignored all the inconsistencies with the first film and enjoyed the ride. Len keeps a decent pace on the plot/action so you don't have too much time to get bogged down thinking anyway. I'm sure no critic will give this higher than a 7 out of 10 at best, as any "dark" comic book movie gets universally panned as far as I've ever seen (e.g. the first Underworld, Sin City etc.) Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrookeFeb 8, 2006
I thought the movie was great! It was exciting, and it kept you on the edge of your seat the entire time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeF.Mar 4, 2006
Perfect Vampire Movie. Great Action, good CGI Effects, great Score and again a sexy Kate Beckinsale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
H.P.Jan 21, 2006
Wow a lot better than i thought it would be!! Lots of violence, and a good ass kicking all around, i like how they kept it moving so you wouldnt have to endure the crappy acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonQ.Jan 21, 2006
I thought this movie was great! Although not as much of a story as in the first one. The ending left a little to be desired.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveJan 21, 2006
This movie falls off ever so slightly from the the first. There was not as much suspense in this movie. Leaving off from the first movie, you knew exactly what the movie had to do to deliver a quality second movie. This sequel thows in a This movie falls off ever so slightly from the the first. There was not as much suspense in this movie. Leaving off from the first movie, you knew exactly what the movie had to do to deliver a quality second movie. This sequel thows in a simple twist that you won't be able to predict from watching the first, but the twist is not so far fetched to be unbelievable. For the most part, you know exactly what the movie's story was going to be about, and it did deliver. If you can get past a few cheesy moments, and you liked the first movie, you'll enjoy this one just as much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickJan 22, 2006
It delivered. Much better than the critics said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TracyM.Jan 22, 2006
I would have given it a higher score if we weren't cursing the well place leg hiding the view of Speedman's bootie. Come on, it went so low on Kate's abs, I thought maybe Len was filming a home movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasRayJan 23, 2006
Perfect Vampire Movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinGJan 23, 2006
Normally I dont go to these sort of films so didnt go in with any expectations, never saw the first one and really enjoyed it... enough said really. The Critic are being far too harsh on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamGoodallJan 23, 2006
Excellent sequel. Anyone who liked the first film will find this one bigger faster and better. People who didn't like the first one will dislike this one even more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentH.Jan 24, 2006
This movie did exactly what it was supposed to, entertain me. Sure the critics (and those scattered few) hated it, it didn't make a political statement, break new ground in film making, or inspire us with art and culture, it's a This movie did exactly what it was supposed to, entertain me. Sure the critics (and those scattered few) hated it, it didn't make a political statement, break new ground in film making, or inspire us with art and culture, it's a vampire movie. The people who gave this a low rating must not have realized that going into it. What did they expect? If you want good stylish action, and entertainment, go see this movie. If you want compelling film making, then go see Munich. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonydannieJan 24, 2006
This one was as good if not a tad better then the original. Kate is still HOT sexy on her skin tight outfit and the flying Vampire would kick the crap out of Van Helsing's Dracula any day. Great popcorn flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CameronB.Jan 25, 2006
Bloody Awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulC.Jan 26, 2006
It was incredible.....I liked it more than the first, not to say the first one was bad, but with more gore, action and a story line that did make sense no matter what the boring critics say it was great. I saw it twice in the theatre and my It was incredible.....I liked it more than the first, not to say the first one was bad, but with more gore, action and a story line that did make sense no matter what the boring critics say it was great. I saw it twice in the theatre and my friends loved it too. Its a must see, and i hope they make another one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClongTTFeb 20, 2006
Great action packed movie. Great entertainment. Not for those looking for a Syriana or Constant Gardener.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanF.Feb 27, 2006
Although this movie has some really weird occurences: Why are they in another country and why is a 19 year old [whatever] having sex with a god-who-knows how old vampire. The heli scene at the end of the movie was action at its best. But, I Although this movie has some really weird occurences: Why are they in another country and why is a 19 year old [whatever] having sex with a god-who-knows how old vampire. The heli scene at the end of the movie was action at its best. But, I think I can only recommend this movie to people who have seen the first. I look forward to Underworld 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Mar 3, 2006
Good movie overall, but the action far overpowers the plot (which is actually a very good plot, if you can get to it well enough) and Kate's acting is mostly horrible - though she does look good in tight clothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RogerJun 19, 2006
Great storyline, special effects borderline great, acting was very good. Looking forward to rest of story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackS.Jun 7, 2006
Better than the first and better than I expected. They developed the history more which was nice but was still able to be inventive with the action. Overall a good popcorn flick. Don't take it too seriously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HansN.Aug 9, 2006
Awesome movie loved every minute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarenM.Jan 21, 2006
Just finished watching it on the biggest screen with the best surround in the theater. If you like the first one you'll like the second. They go into the family line, flash backs to fill in parts that were missing from the first one. Just finished watching it on the biggest screen with the best surround in the theater. If you like the first one you'll like the second. They go into the family line, flash backs to fill in parts that were missing from the first one. Lots of interesting plot twistst. The make out scene is poorly timed, didn't seem to fit in, but everyone I talked too still liked it. Comparable in timing as Neo & Trinity make out scene in the Matrix. This is a true Vampire / Warewolf action movie and it does have the feel of Matrix and Blade, but unique in and of it's own. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanW.Jan 21, 2006
Underworld: Evolution was a continuous of forbidden love. It explored all the elements of protecting that love, something Lucian and Sonja (Viktor's Daughter) weren't granted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewJan 20, 2006
Better than the first in evey way. Plus seeing Kate Beckinsale half naked was worth the price of admission in itself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveB.Jan 20, 2006
This movie was awesome. The best action movie i have in a long time. As with the first movie don't expect any Oscar's here......but if you go to movies to have a good time check this one out or go see Brokeback Mountain...your This movie was awesome. The best action movie i have in a long time. As with the first movie don't expect any Oscar's here......but if you go to movies to have a good time check this one out or go see Brokeback Mountain...your choice. Personally i'm sticking with Kate Beckinsale in all of her butt-kicking skin-tight outfit wearing glory!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VanM.Jan 20, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] It is in every way a lot better then the first one, but does lack some simple things. One there wasnt as much suspense as the first one. Even though there was a ton of action and gore, and ruthless violence it lacked that [***SPOILERS***] It is in every way a lot better then the first one, but does lack some simple things. One there wasnt as much suspense as the first one. Even though there was a ton of action and gore, and ruthless violence it lacked that feeling where you didnt know what was going to happen next. I am a huge fan of gore and werewolfs, and this proved a very worthy quincher for my appettite. The story was good, and the effects were great. Now the small thyings that made it a little cheesy. The eneding was a little wierd, we take the whole movie till we see the big bad ass werewolf and boom, he barely does anything, except sit there and get riddeled with bullet after bullet. And then came the helicopter crashing through the roof. Although cool, extremely cheesy, it reminded me of the ending from "Sudden Impact" that hockey, terroist Jean Claude-Van Damme movie. All in all it was a great sequel, with one kick ass opening that will sure to be great for years to come. I give great props to the director, to try something new, and if i were him being able to make a huge movie, i as well wouldve have proably crashed a helicopter threw the cieling as well. So if you like gore, violence, and monsters and good looking Lead Actress then def. go see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Jan 21, 2006
Great Movie. Marcus is very cool & Kate again sexy. The first one is nice, but to slow. The sequel is fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RickB.Jan 20, 2006
More exciting than the first and more interesting, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DarthCapricusJan 22, 2006
I liked it alot. The special effects were awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrettPJan 22, 2006
The critics want shakespere, I tell them go watch Interview with a Vampire... I wanted action, seamless cgi, and to see a phenomnialy good looking woman. I also wanted a movie that woke me up and I didn't have to strain to understand The critics want shakespere, I tell them go watch Interview with a Vampire... I wanted action, seamless cgi, and to see a phenomnialy good looking woman. I also wanted a movie that woke me up and I didn't have to strain to understand the finite details of the plot. If you didn't see the first one, don't complain if some of the elements are lost to you. This movie does well for a sci-fi/horror junkie, despite a few silly dialog choices... -brett Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaylorS.Jan 22, 2006
I wasn't a big fan of the first one, and I'm not just giving this a 10 because of my Kate, I believe this movie was EXTREMELY entertaining, and a great sequel at that. I really hope people say screw the critics because this is way I wasn't a big fan of the first one, and I'm not just giving this a 10 because of my Kate, I believe this movie was EXTREMELY entertaining, and a great sequel at that. I really hope people say screw the critics because this is way different than what they say...they said in the Toronto Start that it made no sense, yet I understood the whole thing, this is no Titanic storyline so give it a rest, it was never supposed to be, see this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
B-dawgD.Jan 22, 2006
Not quite as solid as the original. Story doesn't build as well, and scenes aren't as interesting or fun as the original. But you will love this if you liked the first one. I'd compare Underworld 1 and 2 to Resident Evil 1 and Not quite as solid as the original. Story doesn't build as well, and scenes aren't as interesting or fun as the original. But you will love this if you liked the first one. I'd compare Underworld 1 and 2 to Resident Evil 1 and 2. The first one has a better story, develops better and has better overall scenes. The second has more action and more creatures. I'd rate Underworld 1 9/10, I give part 2 8/10. Check this out also if you enjoy the Blade movies (which you should!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricY.Jan 22, 2006
I thought the movie was very entertaining. The effects were awesome. Usually effects like these look so fake, but in Underworld they looked very realistic. I couldn't figure out where the movie was supposed to take place. In the last I thought the movie was very entertaining. The effects were awesome. Usually effects like these look so fake, but in Underworld they looked very realistic. I couldn't figure out where the movie was supposed to take place. In the last movie, it seemed like they were in the U.S. Everyone spoke English. This time, all these people were running around speaking some other language and the cops were foreign. I don't know why they tried to make the plot look like it was in a foreign country. I guess because no Europeans lived in the U.S. 500 years ago. They just moved the story somewhere else to make up for it, I guess. Anyway, that really bothered me. I mean, Michael was a med student w/ other people and cops who all spoke english in the first movie and now everyone not associated with the main plot speaks a foreign language. That was kind of lame. I thought it was a wonderful movie for those of us who enjoy the genre (vampire flicks). Very exciting film. I loved the final battle! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MadelinemellerJan 23, 2006
Oh yes, this Movie was fantastic. Gory, bloody & sexy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
mvJan 23, 2006
If you liked the first you'll love this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DinuF.Jan 26, 2006
Not smart, but very entertaining for rainy sundays. We liked it and the only drawback was that its end came somewhat surprising.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidJan 26, 2006
great movie and very intense. I found nothing lacking in this movie and will be waiting for #3.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinS.Jan 26, 2006
I thought this was really good, it also added alot of action and gore to this one. also i dont get why every critic is saying this movie was bad. i cant wait till this one comes out on dvd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickBFeb 5, 2006
middle-aged non goth vampire-hating movie goer here, and I can safely say that I enjoyed Underworld Evolutions nearly as much as the first....and a bit more, since it manages to tighten up the pace of the action a bit while still sticking to middle-aged non goth vampire-hating movie goer here, and I can safely say that I enjoyed Underworld Evolutions nearly as much as the first....and a bit more, since it manages to tighten up the pace of the action a bit while still sticking to a convluted story that leaves you stratching your head, wondering "what the heck happened?" and "are there any vampires or werewolves left alive at the end of all this???" Nonetheless, a cut above all the other vampire flicks out there (Blade being very low on my list of decent vamp flicks) if you prefer style, action, and obtuse storylines to dished-out pablum. I imagine hardcore V:TR fans and goths might not appreciate this film as much since it tries to speak to a (slightly) larger audience with its hollywood over-the-top action.....but I enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonS.Feb 7, 2006
Critics are exactly what they sound like...too critical. They think too much and their rating of this movie is a good example of it. This dark vampire/werewolf movie sure doesn't come close to being one of the greatest movies of the Critics are exactly what they sound like...too critical. They think too much and their rating of this movie is a good example of it. This dark vampire/werewolf movie sure doesn't come close to being one of the greatest movies of the year, but it does do what most people want...it entertains! Scantily clad Beckinsale, bloody vampires and werewolves, superhuman beings that tear things apart...Good movie, not the best, but critics need to learn what NORMAL people look for in a movie. 90% of moviegoers want entertainment and "Underworld: Evolution" delivered just that! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulA.Mar 11, 2006
This movie was great. i think if the critics had watched ultraviolet first then maybe the critc score would have shot up another 20 points for this movie, it has style and action i like the story much better than the movies its being This movie was great. i think if the critics had watched ultraviolet first then maybe the critc score would have shot up another 20 points for this movie, it has style and action i like the story much better than the movies its being compared to(blade/matrix). overall this is just a fun movie nothing more nothing less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisH.Jul 13, 2006
Good movie. I got what I expected. Any idiot going into this expecting an amazing story and wonderful thespian acting was probably disappointed. If you go into an action movie about vampires expecting that you need to give your head a shake. Good movie. I got what I expected. Any idiot going into this expecting an amazing story and wonderful thespian acting was probably disappointed. If you go into an action movie about vampires expecting that you need to give your head a shake. If you go in expecting to see some good action, decent acting, and Kate being hot, then you'll enjoy this movie. I hate all of these wannabe movie critics getting on here and bashing movies for the incorrect reasons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmilyD.Jul 25, 2006
I loved this movie like i love the 1st one, though the 1st one stayed more to a capible theme more so, than the 2nd one it was still good! somethings were a lil off but it explaned the 1st one to me much better!...& it stayed w/n the same I loved this movie like i love the 1st one, though the 1st one stayed more to a capible theme more so, than the 2nd one it was still good! somethings were a lil off but it explaned the 1st one to me much better!...& it stayed w/n the same plot!..so i every much so enjoyed it & have seen it 5 or 6 times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenW.Apr 27, 2008
I cant help it. I loved the movie and of course Kate Beckinsale. I think with her accent, outstanding good looks, and charm she would make any movie enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PerE.Jul 7, 2008
Hello makers of Underworld Evolution! With a risk of being drowned in other posts, I have just finished Underworld Evolution and i just have to say: -Great work! :DDDDD I love this series because of the epic battle between good and evil, and Hello makers of Underworld Evolution! With a risk of being drowned in other posts, I have just finished Underworld Evolution and i just have to say: -Great work! :DDDDD I love this series because of the epic battle between good and evil, and with a twist :) The good guys and really evil themselves! Or sort of, just like us human beings :D I was aroused when the film ended and I though I could not wait to see the third film! Then I went online and discovered that Kate would not be in the third film... curtains down... I feel really sad that she will not be in another Underworld film because she is the film!!! It is her struggle towards becoming good again that is the essence of Underworld! Or so I thought! I understand that if she has other goals in life, she must of course be able to pursue them, and I wish her all the luck in the world! But still, egocentric as I am, I would be happy to see her continue as the Queen of the Underworld. And here is my point! There is no point of a third film if she is not in it! It is better to leave it as is, with Evolution ending with a question, rather with a tainted third, forth and fifth film decaying like the Police school series. That said, I thank the producers, actors and all involved personnel for a work well done! :D I hope she reconsiders, but if she is not, all power to her! Most humbled, Per Engstrom of Sweden! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregoryF.Jan 21, 2006
I give this movie and 8.5-9 because I really enjoted it. I Twas a fun, entertaining film. The special Fx for the most part were better and on par then first. The action was great. Marcus and Kate both did great jobs. If you like the orginal I give this movie and 8.5-9 because I really enjoted it. I Twas a fun, entertaining film. The special Fx for the most part were better and on par then first. The action was great. Marcus and Kate both did great jobs. If you like the orginal see this movie. I don't think critics give it enough credit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxC.Jan 21, 2006
The critics are NOT right. Just 35% for the Sequel of Underworld 2? Tsss, the user votes are RIGHT. This movie is great. I don't understand the critics. This is not a 3/10 movie, it's more. Great action, great cast, nice story ... The critics are NOT right. Just 35% for the Sequel of Underworld 2? Tsss, the user votes are RIGHT. This movie is great. I don't understand the critics. This is not a 3/10 movie, it's more. Great action, great cast, nice story ... Marcus was great. he's the real Dracula and not the kid of Blade 3. I loved this movie and i must see it again! 10 Points! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlexJan 21, 2006
I guess it would have helped if i had seen the first movie, but there were some parts of this movie that just didn't make sense. it was good, but not quite what i had expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GodComplexJan 21, 2006
Simply awesome.! Great action, and good flow from first movie to the second, sorta like LOTR. Stil....I feel that there has never been a movie that has captured a VtM esq storyline/powers, or the over all curse of vampirism very well. Even Simply awesome.! Great action, and good flow from first movie to the second, sorta like LOTR. Stil....I feel that there has never been a movie that has captured a VtM esq storyline/powers, or the over all curse of vampirism very well. Even Interview with the Vampire seemed lacking. The Underworld series has been a continued suprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatirckJan 22, 2006
first Off F..k the chritics ya they know some good movies but there people so we are just a good as they are! one word to discribe this movie: Breathtakeing! It's great first off it starts off where the first one left off great move to first Off F..k the chritics ya they know some good movies but there people so we are just a good as they are! one word to discribe this movie: Breathtakeing! It's great first off it starts off where the first one left off great move to keep the moumentiam going! One again selen brings us another action pack highly exciting movie with realy good elements like a really good story and the story of the romance of selen&michael the Cg was do really nicelie done and i can tell they put all the hard work to bring this charthers in there on ways with they pull off doing nicely one of my fav seens are the passion scen if u go see the movie u will see what i mean:} lets just say they both look good with there clothes off! They got realy good actors and well casted??sometimes sequels r better than the first but this one does pull it off note:few i think?? i cam out the theather seeing people smile and hearing people say that was worth the waith no bull! I can't wait for a sequel it will be better than this one or just as good as the this one???it just a great winning film in your mind that u r going to love. the chritics where do i start well i don't have to the name says it all:}! check this movie OUT! [Ed- Mikey, I think he likes it] Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanD.Jan 22, 2006
once again the critics know nothing, great sequel to a great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerT.Jan 23, 2006
In my Opinion its a very good movie perfect sequel the gore conetent is enough to keep someone watching, but the storyline is great too, visuals are stunning, the acting is great. My only problem with it is that i lvoed the firts one but In my Opinion its a very good movie perfect sequel the gore conetent is enough to keep someone watching, but the storyline is great too, visuals are stunning, the acting is great. My only problem with it is that i lvoed the firts one but this one ahs so much action in it watching eth first one again tends to amke it seem boring, so i cant wait for evolution to come out on DVD. P.S. - i read a comment saying that it took place in america in the first one but no it didnt, both movies take place in Budapest, Hungary. Micheal is an american intern working at the hospital, he moved to budapest after his g/f died in the car crash he talks about in the first one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Jan 24, 2006
It was thouroughly entertaining. I don't get why these film snobs that rate movies like this so low, even go in the first place. What the hell do you expect? It's a vampire movie. You don't go eat at Outback Steakhouse, order It was thouroughly entertaining. I don't get why these film snobs that rate movies like this so low, even go in the first place. What the hell do you expect? It's a vampire movie. You don't go eat at Outback Steakhouse, order caviar and Cristal, then act all surprised when you realize they don't have it. Come on, next time use a little comon sense before you walk in the theater. It had lots of action, it was stylish, and it had Kate Beckinsale, enough said. If you liked the first one, you won't be disapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianaJ.Jan 25, 2006
The movie was great, I hope there is another part to this, I love the scenes in this one, it was better than the first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanB.Feb 21, 2006
This movie is not the best movie but it is really good. The story is about vampires that go to war at each other because one vampire wanted a key to realese his brother from a prison that was stone in a small tight space. He gets the key and This movie is not the best movie but it is really good. The story is about vampires that go to war at each other because one vampire wanted a key to realese his brother from a prison that was stone in a small tight space. He gets the key and kills is father for it. Parts in this movie are hard to follow but near the middle to the end you should understand everything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KelvinL.Mar 15, 2006
Decent enough popcorn fantasy/action movie. And Ms.Beckinsale does look good doing her Lara Croft impressions. The film could do with a few more twist and suprises as you never really thought Ms.Beckinsale was ever in danger of losing her Decent enough popcorn fantasy/action movie. And Ms.Beckinsale does look good doing her Lara Croft impressions. The film could do with a few more twist and suprises as you never really thought Ms.Beckinsale was ever in danger of losing her fight against the main villain. I think that has to be one of the main critisms of both Underworld movies. The main villains are bigged up to be some indestructable, invincible beast but when they finally get it on with Serena they some how lose their destructive powers and Serena never seems to have to struggle THAT hard to overcome her main foes. Would like to see Serena take a lot more damage physically in her battles so that it adds a bit more grit to the proceedings. Still it was a sight more entertaining than a lot of so called "serious" films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleT.Sep 28, 2007
Underworld and Underworld:Evolution are the 2 best ever vampire movies. I and a buch of friends have been waiting for Underworld 3. If #3 is a prequil, then there must be a #4 also. You can't just end the 2nd one with Selene standing in Underworld and Underworld:Evolution are the 2 best ever vampire movies. I and a buch of friends have been waiting for Underworld 3. If #3 is a prequil, then there must be a #4 also. You can't just end the 2nd one with Selene standing in sunlight not getting fried, kissing Michael and finally in love and together. You can't end it that way!!!! These are the most beautifully shot and realistic vampire/warewolf movies made. All of the actors are brilliant! I don't care what the critics say, Vampire/Warewolf movies are extremely popular and always do well. Once a good one comes out, everyone goes to see it, or buys the DVD. This particular story-line could go on for many movies. PLEASE make at least two more!!!! The chemistry between all the character is great, The prequil would be the older characters, and #4 has got to have Scott(Michael) and Kate(Selene) in it. I'm sure you will come up with some new characters to join them. Len Wiseman is a creative perfectionist. I know he is rather busy these days, but if he can't direct it, he needs to write it and be closely involved with the movies. GO UNDERWORLD!! LOVE YA & THANKS!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TokyochuchuJul 24, 2012
Although inexplicably maligned by critics, Underworld: Evolution is a superior sequel. It builds upon the first movie's lore and mythos, adding layers of intrigue and mystery. Evolution also brings a wealth of exciting action scenes thatAlthough inexplicably maligned by critics, Underworld: Evolution is a superior sequel. It builds upon the first movie's lore and mythos, adding layers of intrigue and mystery. Evolution also brings a wealth of exciting action scenes that shoot right for the core of what makes monster movies such (admittedly) silly but compulsive fun. From start to finish, this Underworld sequel is a thunderously entertaining explosion of gothic horror and science-fiction fantasy. Highly recommended, snooty critical reaction or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheChaser1985Jun 10, 2012
I didn't not like this as much as the first but it was still very enjoyable. I didn't not like this as much as the first but it was still very enjoyable. I didn't not like this as much as the first but it was still very enjoyable. I didn'tI didn't not like this as much as the first but it was still very enjoyable. I didn't not like this as much as the first but it was still very enjoyable. I didn't not like this as much as the first but it was still very enjoyable. I didn't not like this as much as the first but it was still very enjoyable. I didn't not like this as much as the first but it was still very enjoyable. I didn't not like this as much as the first but it was still very enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LordOFlibertYFeb 19, 2012
My favourite in the franchise, too bad the critics couldn't see the good side of this film. I thought the story was better and more intense than the previous film, also the fight scenes are better and entertaining especially the final battleMy favourite in the franchise, too bad the critics couldn't see the good side of this film. I thought the story was better and more intense than the previous film, also the fight scenes are better and entertaining especially the final battle scene of Selene against Marcus and Michael versus William. That scene was pretty damn cool. PROS: Kate in cat suit, Kate in sex scene, Kate destroying two **** vamps, cool Hybrid design (though I think he should look more 'wolf' like), slightly better acting and writing than previous film
CONS: Was expecting a Hybrid vs Hybrid super epic end battle scene, needs more low angle shot on Kate's ass.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sindronianDec 7, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pretty much just as good as the first if not better in some areas. (+10)

Again, CGI just isn't impressive. (-1)

Reason I'm giving this an 8 instead of a 9 is because of Victor's death. It's not an objective critique, but to give such an interesting and powerful character and underwhelming and pathetic death just blows my mind. I suppose it's possible the film crew ran out of money or something. I refuse to believe the producers/director was satisfied with that. (-1).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Feb 26, 2013
While the first one had a little more bite to it (lol), this was a decent sequel with just as much Action and Horror Violence in it to keep the fans amused. The main players are back, this time joined by new villain Markus who we briefly metWhile the first one had a little more bite to it (lol), this was a decent sequel with just as much Action and Horror Violence in it to keep the fans amused. The main players are back, this time joined by new villain Markus who we briefly met in the last one. It had a few more dull moments I'll admit, but in order to really appreciate the next two films you need to understand what went on beforehand and thats where these come into play. Not the best the genre has to offer, but a decent film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
funnyhawk95Dec 23, 2013
I thought the film was alright after following up from the last film since the film is set very shortly after the last film.
But i have some problems with the lore of the films itself and in this film i see the problem being the biggest;
I thought the film was alright after following up from the last film since the film is set very shortly after the last film.
But i have some problems with the lore of the films itself and in this film i see the problem being the biggest;
Like for example, in many vampire lore's created by different films vampires can not drink the blood from themselves or other vampires because of how the blood is structured, meaning if they were to drink each others blood it would case no effect to there body. In the Underworld vampire lore if a vampire drinks another vampires blood he or she get said memory (which is a pretty cool addition) and their body's receive the energy needed.
The other problem i have is the name Lycans, though it is historical correct since the story of The Beast of Le Gevaduan which introduced the word, in the Underworld origin story of werewolf it does not fit, and here are some reasons.
The story tells that the first werewolf was William Corvinus, son of Alexander Corvinus who gave him the power. In the very first Werewolf tale which tells of King Lycaon who was a cruel person to his people, Zeus Greek God of gods came down to witness it himself and found it to be much more worse then he heard, when he revealed himself to King Lycaon, the king did not believe him at so he arranged a test for the god to prove himself (which was to kill him and if Zeus lives he is truly a god and if Zeus dies then he was lying). King Lycaon prepared a dinner and served the peasants that he has recently killed. Zeus knowing straight away transformed King Lycaon into a Werewolf.
Which is were the word Lycan came from, and since these events are not stated to have happened in these film, which would be useful for explaining the Lycan name.
The films was good despite the bad lore's but what always confused me was why Marcus the very first vampire was under Victor's command since the deal was that Marcus make Victor a vampire and not let him die and Victor would give Marcus an army to fight the werewolf's.In an normal situation back in that period Victor would be in second commend since he doesn't really own his army anymore and isn't the first vampire,
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeSep 4, 2016
Like most sequels, Underworld : Evolution is bloodier, more violent, more action packed but also, not as good as the first one. Event though it was a little bit too over the top at times and even though it was not as good as the firstLike most sequels, Underworld : Evolution is bloodier, more violent, more action packed but also, not as good as the first one. Event though it was a little bit too over the top at times and even though it was not as good as the first Underworld movie, it's still a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Reginafan1995Jul 29, 2015
I love Underworld! It is one of my favorite movies off all time. I still like Star Wars, Robocop, Terminator, Rocky, Rambo and other movies I've seen a bunch of times more but Underworld will always be one of my favorites film series of allI love Underworld! It is one of my favorite movies off all time. I still like Star Wars, Robocop, Terminator, Rocky, Rambo and other movies I've seen a bunch of times more but Underworld will always be one of my favorites film series of all time and Underworld: Evolution is actually my favorite film in the franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BatgamesJun 27, 2016
De todos os filmes da serie Underwold esse foi o melhor, gostei muito do clima sombrio do filme e com ótimas cenas de ação sem muita enrolação gostei muito de assisti esse filme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews