Underworld: Evolution

Underworld: Evolution Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 521 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Underworld: Evolution continues the saga of war between the aristocratic Death Dealers and the barbaric Lycans (werewolves). The film traces the beginnings of the ancient feud between the two tribes as the beautiful vampire heroine Selene (Beckinsale) discovers that she has been betrayed byUnderworld: Evolution continues the saga of war between the aristocratic Death Dealers and the barbaric Lycans (werewolves). The film traces the beginnings of the ancient feud between the two tribes as the beautiful vampire heroine Selene (Beckinsale) discovers that she has been betrayed by her own kind and seeks her revenge. (Screen Gems) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 9 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    70
    Overall package is potent. A few rock-the-house scenes of slam-bang derring-do -- are nothing short of sensationally exciting.
  2. A monster chiller sequel that is visually spectacular but rather overburdened with story.
  3. 50
    They're still fighting in this sequel. But this is a more visually inspired, muscularly made movie than its predecessor.
  4. 40
    The plot is so convoluted that missing even five minutes at a stretch won't make any difference in your comprehension of the story.
  5. The fascist undercurrents of this battle remain unexplored. Maybe one day, Hollywood will figure out that pouring acting-challenged starlets into black neoprene and sticking them in front of a blue screen do not a movie make. We can but hope.
  6. 30
    With her long, black coat and midair karate-chop skills, Selene is more Matrix-y Neo than Count Dracula, which may explain why this movie is so brutally un-fun.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephen Metcalf
    20
    Beckinsale is an elegant woman—before she was the Emma Peel of the undead, she was Jane Austen's Emma, and before she was Emma, she was passing A levels in German, French, and Russian literature—and all her stalking and seething keep the movie from being totally unwatchable.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 99
  2. Negative: 20 out of 99
  1. MikeW.
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    Great Movie. Marcus is very cool & Kate again sexy. The first one is nice, but to slow. The sequel is fantastic!
  2. KevinS.
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    I thought this was really good, it also added alot of action and gore to this one. also i dont get why every critic is saying this movie wasI thought this was really good, it also added alot of action and gore to this one. also i dont get why every critic is saying this movie was bad. i cant wait till this one comes out on dvd. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    why are "professional critics" so dense?
  4. ChrisH.
    Jul 13, 2006
    8
    Good movie. I got what I expected. Any idiot going into this expecting an amazing story and wonderful thespian acting was probably Good movie. I got what I expected. Any idiot going into this expecting an amazing story and wonderful thespian acting was probably disappointed. If you go into an action movie about vampires expecting that you need to give your head a shake. If you go in expecting to see some good action, decent acting, and Kate being hot, then you'll enjoy this movie. I hate all of these wannabe movie critics getting on here and bashing movies for the incorrect reasons. Expand
  5. May 6, 2012
    7
    Firstly, you'll without doubt enjoy this movie far more if you have seen the first Underworld. As a film itself it's definately worth a watchFirstly, you'll without doubt enjoy this movie far more if you have seen the first Underworld. As a film itself it's definately worth a watch and it has some real class in parts - the lead hero in Selene (Kate Beckinsale) and lead villain Marcus (Tony Curran) are both superb and really add some zing to the film. The first half of it builds nicely, with a great meld of action and plot sequences, and it starts to feel as if an awesome film is in the offing. Sadly, the second half of the film just feels a bit rushed and wishy washy - not bad by any means, but I found myself switching off at times and not as hooked as in the earlier section of the film. The climax doesn't disapoint though and, if you can ignore a few of the plot holes, there's definitely enough to sink your teeth into for it be worth a watch. Expand
  6. RyanD.
    Jan 21, 2006
    5
    There were far too many flash backs in this movie to maintain any fluidity. There were also far too many errors, Lycans and Vampires went There were far too many flash backs in this movie to maintain any fluidity. There were also far too many errors, Lycans and Vampires went from being almost impossible to kill, to being as fragile as mortals. And worst of all the two original brothers were killed with any of the myths holding true. Expand
  7. Mott
    Jan 22, 2006
    0
    The movie is about a 2 or 3, but I am giving it a zero because its stupid people that go to these movies and rate it 8s and 10s that make The movie is about a 2 or 3, but I am giving it a zero because its stupid people that go to these movies and rate it 8s and 10s that make someone in hollywood make worse sequels off of already terrible movies. Expand

See all 99 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.