User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 115
  2. Negative: 13 out of 115

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2014
    7
    44? You're kidding right?

    This movie has a clichè plot and story, but its fun anyways, and with stunning performances by Bill Nighy, Michael Sheen and Rhona Mitra, you won't regret watching it. It's a really good prequel to the series, and is definitively recommended to watch. It's maybe not the best movie out there, but it deserves at least 70/100. I mean, c'mon. It's a good
    werewolf/vampire movie, and definitively the best in the Underworld series so far! Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    Certainly the best of the Underworld movies but that's not really saying anything because the previous films were not that good at all. Acting was a little on the poor side, The story is ok but there is no real plot to it. Action is a little below average and not that satisfying either. Overall, It was an ok movie, At least it was watchable, Unlike the other Underworld films.
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    7
    Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is a very amusing fantasy/science-fiction (albeit the least science-fictitious in the series) flick with everyone's favourite mythological creatures: werewolves and vampires. No Kate Beckinsale in a tight outfit this time as we'll have to do with Rhona Mitra (As Sonja) who does just as good a job. They chose Michael Sheen (As Lucien) to portray the werewolf protagonist but this struck me as odd as he has this sort of innate clueless look on his face which is more comedic than it is fearsome. Good fights, lots of heads being chopped off, a good supporting cast and epic locations make for an enjoyable, underrated action movie. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Definitely the best of the bunch (which may change when I re-watch Evolution) but this was more enjoyable to watch than the first two as it was much more involved. You got to learn a lot more about the history and, as the title says, the Rise of the Lycans who turn on their Vampire owners. Beckinsale is absent but is replaced by the equally as stunning Rhona Mitra, and its also great to see Michael Sheen back playing a more likable Lucian. Overall an enjoyable film and fans will be pleased Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2013
    7
    First off, this is the first Underworld movie I've watched, and for a medieval vampire movie it's pretty epic, and story-line wise pretty interesting. If you're a first-timer to Underworld movies then the ending will leave you confused, but it also leaves you wanting to watch the previous movies to understand it, which in my book is a plus. Watch it
  6. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    Altough I'm a little late with the review.. After watching U: Awakening, U:RotL seem's like a treat to the eyes. The era in which it takes place, the story behind the entire UW realm makes this 3rd installment one of the best in the series. UW, was great. U:E was so so. U:RotL rises above the others (including U:A). The acting by Bill Nighy is just amazing, to his character. In most scenes.. There was something to focus on. In Viktors (Bill Nighys), I couldn't overt my eyes from his character for nothing. Those gazing stares, that amazing accent and the over-all UMF he puts in every one of his scenes, was simply awesome. Micheal Sheen held the second best character of Lucian. His acting was flawless as well. You could really tell he put his heart into it, as well as Bill Nighy. Both set the stage for an awesome flick for those die-hard fans of the UW saga. And last but not the least, Rhona Mitra as Sonja was great. She held the character well and did her part to make this an epic addition to the UW series. A must watch and definite see on Blu-Ray! Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Underworld - Rise of the Lycans is a 2009 horror film directed by Patrick Tatopoulos. The film is about the beginning of the feud between vampires and Lycans Lucian came when he decided to rebel against the tyranny of vampires. The film is the prequel to the first two and could also be considered the best in the Underworld saga. With a great cast, dark atmosphere, great fights and good special effects, the film manages to entertain the audience well and never bored. Expand
  8. Sep 7, 2012
    4
    I'm very disappointed at Underworld: Rise of the Lycans. The script is just not looking too good and I was feeling emptied on why Kate Beckinsale didn't return as the sexy vampire hunter, Seline. I thought the series were going to be dead on arrival, but thanks to her comeback in Awakening, I feel like I'm in heaven for more of that wickedly kick-ass moves and killing more vampires. Nothing new for Lycans, however, Martin Sheen's performance look pretty good, I might say. So in conclusion, Rise of the Lycans, rather safe than sorry, but this is one of the worst sequels in the Underworld series. Expand
  9. Aug 27, 2012
    6
    Eh, it's really not the same with Kate Beckinsale. I understand the fact that it's a prequel and it's supposed to explain back story, but it just doesn't have the same feeling or level of enjoyment that the first Underworld movie had. The film itself is just okay, I'll give it that. It's not boring and it has some cool moments, but the obvious CGI blood is a bit distracting at times and it lacks the kind of energy that the first 2 Underworld movies had. Expand
  10. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is a very good prequel that delivers a lot of payoff moments for longtime fans. The movie goes deep into the lore and history of the franchise, imbuing itself with an excellent atmosphere of old-world horror-fantasy. With the emotions fixed center stage (it is ultimately a film about star crossed lovers) and some fantastic performances from the series' staple's Michael Sheen & Bill Nighy, Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is a movie that will delight Underworld fans and entertain most other people as well. Expand
  11. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    It's a decent movie and it's nice to know more of the back story to the rest of the Underworld series. I love Rhona Mitra, sexy sexy sexy sexy. Pretty good action in this one.
  12. Dec 13, 2011
    5
    While nowhere near as bad as the 2nd installment of the Underworld series it is still a toothless, soul sucking experience. The change in setting and time period actually help with the return of menacingly good villain Bill Nighy. The loss of Kate Beckinsale can only be seen as a positive (although she does bookend the film) with a prequel story which knows how to have fun. Rise of the Lycans doesn't take itself seriously which is one of the main reasons its enjoyable. However they have gone from one wooden female lead to another with Rhona Mitra's Sonja being just as useless and tiresome as Beckinsale's Selene. While bringing back Michael Sheen and making it an origins story does add a certain gravitas, it fails to wow or at least entertain mainly due to its clearly reduced budget, wooden female lead and depressingly bleak design. Not awful but nowhere near great. Expand
  13. Oct 1, 2011
    4
    "Underworld: Rise of the Lycans" is the same tedious vampire vs werewolf movie. There's nothing new, but its Michael Sheen's brilliant performance that will keep you entertaining.
  14. Mar 12, 2011
    0
    I liked the first one. This one...well...it is SO bad that it really doesn't deserve the words to review it. There is absolutely nothing good to say about this movie. Don't they screen these things before finally releasing it ? Somebody, anybody, must have noticed that it sucks on each and every level. Simply appalling !
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    20
    A needless threequel. Note to director: avoid 'rise of the' titles.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    50
    The enterprise is sluggish when it's not grinding toward the preposterous.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    70
    First-time helmer Patrick Tatopoulos (who designed creatures for all three pics) offers a satisfyingly exciting monster rally that often plays like a period swashbuckler.