Screen Gems | Release Date: September 19, 2003
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 532 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
461
Mixed:
46
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
cabritaSep 29, 2012
For me I found the film somewhat dull however it delivered great visuals and the odd scene that captured my attention. Also very good voice over narration from the protagonist. It must be set clear that this is not the type of film thatFor me I found the film somewhat dull however it delivered great visuals and the odd scene that captured my attention. Also very good voice over narration from the protagonist. It must be set clear that this is not the type of film that really appeals to me. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Oct 1, 2011
"Underworld" decently presents the raging battle between the monstrous Lycans and blood-craving vampires. It's not scary thanks to its war-focusing plot, but at least the film's decently entertaining.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
NamelessoneSep 20, 2003
Yawn. the dialogue was horrid. the first hour and a half was filler. the acting was non-existent. the fight scenes were tired. need i say more?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Vampires at war with Werewolves, man with rare blood type, in-fighting, Head Vampire gets awoken, general nonsense.
I saw this about four years ago & thought it was ok & the Werewolves were very good. On this re-watch, it's not very good at
Vampires at war with Werewolves, man with rare blood type, in-fighting, Head Vampire gets awoken, general nonsense.
I saw this about four years ago & thought it was ok & the Werewolves were very good. On this re-watch, it's not very good at all. The effects are pretty average, the acting terrible (even with Michael Sheen in it) & Kate Beckinsale spends most of her time pouting, flicking her hair & jumping around in slow motion.
Tries so hard to be cult & cool but falls well short of the mark.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
spadenxDec 26, 2011
The acting was pretty terrible (besides Michael Sheen's performance) and the action sequences sucked really hard. I did enjoy the plot though and it did keep me interested in it but it could have been told in a lot shorter time. I feel the 2+The acting was pretty terrible (besides Michael Sheen's performance) and the action sequences sucked really hard. I did enjoy the plot though and it did keep me interested in it but it could have been told in a lot shorter time. I feel the 2+ hours run time pushes it far too much. Still, Underworld simply has something that makes me intersted in it. I was a bit disapointed in this film but I still have hopes for the sequel. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobNov 9, 2012
It's not that it's a bad movie. There is a ton of potential here for a pretty good series due to the very interesting story. However, the special effects in this film are rather awful, So bad that it's laughable at times. The acting is on theIt's not that it's a bad movie. There is a ton of potential here for a pretty good series due to the very interesting story. However, the special effects in this film are rather awful, So bad that it's laughable at times. The acting is on the weak side as well despite having an experianced cast. Overall, the potential is there but it's still a below average film. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
ChadS.Sep 20, 2003
Kraven should be menacing, alas, he is stupid. "Is that Michael?" this Trent Reznor via Christian Bale-wanna-be shouts at Selene, when he sees a very wet man on his video monitor, begging to be let back into the vampire compound. And Selene, Kraven should be menacing, alas, he is stupid. "Is that Michael?" this Trent Reznor via Christian Bale-wanna-be shouts at Selene, when he sees a very wet man on his video monitor, begging to be let back into the vampire compound. And Selene, she's no Mensa candidate herself. She seems genuinely surprised when Erika tells Michael that he has a Lychen bite, even though she was there when her human friend was fending off Lucian. "Underworld", as expected, features a lot of seen-it-before action executed by actors with very serious faces, redeemed somewhat by a story that's more engaging than "The Matrix: Reloaded". Some kudos, however, should be lavished upon the special effects team for the creation of Victor. His awakening reminds us that vampires should be scary and not brandishers of firearms. All those tubes of blood connected to a skinless, but recognizable Bill Nighy is a genuine contribution to vampire iconography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
OliverV.Sep 24, 2003
Kate Beckinsale is a hotty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TelyS.Sep 26, 2003
Light years ahead of The Matrix, huh? You don't realize the irony in that statement, do you? This movie was pitched as a "horror" version of The Matrix, so can be considered the offspring of the much superior films by the Wachowskis. A Light years ahead of The Matrix, huh? You don't realize the irony in that statement, do you? This movie was pitched as a "horror" version of The Matrix, so can be considered the offspring of the much superior films by the Wachowskis. A watered down and sillier offspring to say the least. It would take days to point out the failiures of Underworld, from the hideous acting from a cast of zero charismas, to the amemic "action" scenes as generic and contrived as anything on TV these days, but I'll spare the easily offendable from further offence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BreakJan 24, 2004
Surprisingly, this movie has a semi-decent plot. It got a little out of hand towards the end and seemed labored at times. The biggest flaws in this movie are the acting and action scenes. The acting was mediocre, but that really came as no Surprisingly, this movie has a semi-decent plot. It got a little out of hand towards the end and seemed labored at times. The biggest flaws in this movie are the acting and action scenes. The acting was mediocre, but that really came as no surprise to me. What did surprise me was how horribly the action scenes were done. The fighting scenes were either horribly directed or just ridiculous to the point of being laughable. Adding guns to the mix didn't make it any better. If you're looking for a great plot, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a good action film, you'll definitely want to look somewhere else. The concept was interesting enough and the plot had potential, but it's a shame that it was executed so poorly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelC.Feb 5, 2004
This one was actually a whole lot better than I thought it would be, after seeing the reviews. The story, while somewhat ridiculous, was at least original. It's not for everyone, but if you like this sort of thing you'll probably This one was actually a whole lot better than I thought it would be, after seeing the reviews. The story, while somewhat ridiculous, was at least original. It's not for everyone, but if you like this sort of thing you'll probably be into it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CarlosFJul 18, 2009
The plot is too over-the-top, taking it self too seriously. Beckinsale doesn't really act a lot, but Speedman is completely irritating. This is a derivative movie, nothing is really happening, just a bit of fighting and some unespected The plot is too over-the-top, taking it self too seriously. Beckinsale doesn't really act a lot, but Speedman is completely irritating. This is a derivative movie, nothing is really happening, just a bit of fighting and some unespected "plot twists". However, is basically a CGI-action movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NinjaMafiaNov 4, 2003
Ah Underworld, what a great idea for a movie. I mean, Vampires, Werewolves, and supposedley some Romeo and Juliet throne in there. Well first off, I didn't quite catch the Romeo and Juliet part. I mean, the werewolf guy wasn't a Ah Underworld, what a great idea for a movie. I mean, Vampires, Werewolves, and supposedley some Romeo and Juliet throne in there. Well first off, I didn't quite catch the Romeo and Juliet part. I mean, the werewolf guy wasn't a part of the werewolf clan so it really wasn't Romeo and juliet (plus Romeo and juliet had a better plot than this but then agian, it is a book and this is a movie.).The plot was -,at the beggining, horrible. The n, at the very end of the movie, the plot went out in full force trying to cram in as many plot twists as possible. The thing is, if they started to do the plot twists in the middle of the movies, it would have been alot smother.The action in this movie was so so. When I watched it, I liked the action a lot, however, when I walked out of the theatre, I couldn't remember one fight scene. That was the problem, you couldn't remember, or care, about any fight scene or character in this movie. I am given this movie a bonus point or two for a few things however. First, they called the werewolves Lycans, I thopught they would never use that term in a mainstream movie. Secondly, it is about VAMPIRES and WEREWOLVES what is there not to like about the both of them. Actually, the vampires had very little vampiric characteristics than their super human strength and stuff like that. i mean, they even walked out in the rain the first minute of the movie. However, without that rain, it wouldn't have been as dramatic (and you know I love those overly-dramatic scenes). Overall, Underworld isn't necesarily a BAD movie. Just Very forgetable. I didn't feel my night was ruined by it but I do think I could have seen something better. Don't even think about seeing this movies at your local run down peice of crap theatre that charges 1.99 for movies that are a month or two old without seeing Kill Bill which is a better action movie by far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KabootleS.Jan 11, 2004
Blade II was way better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SpangleNov 20, 2016
Based on her role selections in the 2000s, I feel it is fair to conclude that Kate Beckinsale exclusively sought out roles that had her wearing black spandex while shooting mythical beasts. Underworld certainly fits that bill and reallyBased on her role selections in the 2000s, I feel it is fair to conclude that Kate Beckinsale exclusively sought out roles that had her wearing black spandex while shooting mythical beasts. Underworld certainly fits that bill and really started this trend for Beckinsale. In this film, she is a vampire who kills lycans (werewolves) for a living, as part of the long war between the two factions. Directed by Beckinsale's husband as of 2004, Len Wiseman, and co-starring her partner as of 2003, Michael Sheen, Underworld is cited as the film where she left Sheen for Wiseman. Oddly enough, she was the one who wanted Sheen to be cast in the film. Awkward. That aside, however, Underworld is a thoroughly entertaining fantasy shoot 'em up with great mythology and stylish action sequences that make up for its lesser elements.

With great mythology and background to the issues afflicting the vampires and the werewolves in this world, Underworld really takes its time and develops the hatred. Throughout, the film manages to nimbly switch between the two sides and have the audience develop sympathy for both sides. As many critics cited upon its release in 2003, this is really the film's greatest asset. Its success with it is up for debate, but what is not up for debate is the depth and scope of its mythology and how truly intriguing it shapes up to be. By the end of the film, it truly becomes a shame that all of the sequels are seen as being so bad, because spending more time in this world would be a truly captivating exercise.

Another strength here is the action. The whole film is seemingly shot through a blue filter, which is actually quite appealing and really does work with these action sequences. Cited as a rip-off of The Matrix by some for its use of trenchcoats and slow motion action scenes, Underworld's action is hardly attractive. It is also quite nonsensical with endless magazines and shootouts in public that hit nobody. This does not mean it is not slick as all get out, however. Very well shot and quite visually appealing, the action's style really hides up its blemishes nicely. In particular, there is a scene where Selene (Kate Beckinsale) spins around and shoots out the floor around her to create a hole in the floor, allowing her to drop down to the next floor. Obviously, this is very stupid. Yet, it does look very good.

In terms of acting, it can be quite hammy. However, who does not want to see Beckinsale, Michael Sheen, and Bill Nighy, ham it up? Plus, their characters are actually quite good, allowing them to have a lot to chew on in the roles. In particular, the character of Viktor, played by Nighy, is great. An elder vampire who is awoken by Selene upon the discovery of a conspiracy within their midst, Viktor is a towering figure. Instilling terror and fear wherever he goes, Viktor is a truly menacing vampire and Nighy captures this terrifically. Sheen was also very good in his role as Lucien, a werewolf. The leader of the werewolves, Sheen is both strict, tyrannical, and highly sympathetic in his role, especially once we begin to learn more-and-more about him. Quite well-written, Sheen really makes the most of the role from an emotional standpoint.

On the negative, Underworld is simply absurd. As mentioned before, it is quite fantastical with a lot of action movie cliches. With missed shots abounding, the film's mythology saves it from becoming just a run-of-the-mill action movie, but that does mean the film does not still come close to being the furthest thing from original. It compounds this problem with a terrible romance element between Selene and Michael (Scott Speedman). Unconvincing and greatly rushed, the romance merely distracts from the plot, rather than helping advance it. For many Hollywood action movies, this is a problem and it is certainly one in Underworld.

Entertaining and easy to digest, Underworld is hardly the most challenging film ever released. However, it is a fun watch with great mythology that proves to be an worthy diversion and popcorn film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeMar 17, 2016
When vampires attack werewolves, the vampires had to prepare themselves for the werewolves' next attack. Sadly, this one (and its sequels) is not it. You'll possibly find another one that's obviously better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews