User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 233 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 233
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    Not my kind of vampire movie. Especially the fact that they've given them guns. Its not the worst though. It has the action packed thrill to it though.
  2. R0Y
    Dec 13, 2011
    9
    1st of the Underworld' trilogy.
    Not excellent but close to be one of the best Vampires/Lycans movie ever. A pitty that sometime it decline and can look like a B-movie.
  3. AbriannaM.
    Oct 14, 2006
    9
    This was a Spectacular movie I liked the action packed scenes and the forever rising climax. I also liked the special effects.
  4. johnf.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    Excellent movie.
  5. Jul 24, 2012
    7
    Underworld is an excellent horror / monster movie mash-up that makes great use of it's backstory and lore. The devil is in the details and the Underworld series spins a unique web of bloodlines, ancient traditions and old world betrayals. There's a lot in this franchise to sink your teeth into, if you so wish. This first Underworld effort is probably outdone by it's excellent sequel, ifUnderworld is an excellent horror / monster movie mash-up that makes great use of it's backstory and lore. The devil is in the details and the Underworld series spins a unique web of bloodlines, ancient traditions and old world betrayals. There's a lot in this franchise to sink your teeth into, if you so wish. This first Underworld effort is probably outdone by it's excellent sequel, if only by slim margin. Nether-the-less, the acting is great, the art design and effects are spot on and the action scenes are impressive. The movie has a great balance. Basically speaking, Underworld is the perfect start for a much underrated franchise. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    I LOVE Kate Beckinsale. She is amazing and the guy who plays Michael was a pretty good choice. As a matter of fact, it seems that all the actors played their characters well. The back story is pretty good and I love the way they filmed it, but I just wish there would have been better choreography and a better final battle.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    This is a good start to what ended up being a great series! The third fourth stand-out more than the first two, but here's where it all began. Kate Beckinsale leads the way as Selene, a vampire trying to protect a human being hunted by werewolves. There is plenty of Action going on and while it gets a little dull in the slower parts it picks up towards the end. As mentioned, its not theThis is a good start to what ended up being a great series! The third fourth stand-out more than the first two, but here's where it all began. Kate Beckinsale leads the way as Selene, a vampire trying to protect a human being hunted by werewolves. There is plenty of Action going on and while it gets a little dull in the slower parts it picks up towards the end. As mentioned, its not the best in the series but a good place to start as all four films are great! Overall well worth a look Expand
  8. Feb 19, 2012
    7
    Yea I know this review is a lil' late but I got to tell you, I'd rather watch this film ten times in one ago without breaks then sit through 1 film of the terribly Twilight Saga series. PROS: Kate in cat suit, Good acting, cool character design, an interesting intake in the Vampire vs Werewolf phenomenon and did I mention Kate in cat suit?
    CONS: Forgettable side characters, occasional
    Yea I know this review is a lil' late but I got to tell you, I'd rather watch this film ten times in one ago without breaks then sit through 1 film of the terribly Twilight Saga series. PROS: Kate in cat suit, Good acting, cool character design, an interesting intake in the Vampire vs Werewolf phenomenon and did I mention Kate in cat suit?
    CONS: Forgettable side characters, occasional effy writing especially in filler scenes, anti-climactic looking Hybrid. Seriously I expected something really awesome and cool but no its just a muscular guy with black skin and eyes, pretty simple and lame
    Expand
  9. Sep 29, 2012
    6
    For me I found the film somewhat dull however it delivered great visuals and the odd scene that captured my attention. Also very good voice over narration from the protagonist. It must be set clear that this is not the type of film that really appeals to me.
  10. Oct 1, 2011
    5
    "Underworld" decently presents the raging battle between the monstrous Lycans and blood-craving vampires. It's not scary thanks to its war-focusing plot, but at least the film's decently entertaining.
  11. EricM.
    Sep 17, 2003
    1
    Weak, stone-serious, childish, derivative, contrived, thieving, unoriginal, uncreative, dull, laughable, dumb, immature, lame. Atrociously acted. A stunning defeat for both style and substance. Decidedly not cool. Only a hair better than "Glitter."
  12. Namelessone
    Sep 20, 2003
    4
    Yawn. the dialogue was horrid. the first hour and a half was filler. the acting was non-existent. the fight scenes were tired. need i say more?
  13. JohnC.
    Sep 22, 2003
    1
    Don't get me started. Not an original character in the whole bunch. Plot holes that put Red Zone Cuba to shame, well maybe bot that bad but. I did like the overuse of three colors, white, black, and almost black blue. Very pretty movie which with less of that whole bad plot and horrid dialogue would be bad. With a name like Kraven, i'm a good guy, but urrr, i'm bad. Go see Don't get me started. Not an original character in the whole bunch. Plot holes that put Red Zone Cuba to shame, well maybe bot that bad but. I did like the overuse of three colors, white, black, and almost black blue. Very pretty movie which with less of that whole bad plot and horrid dialogue would be bad. With a name like Kraven, i'm a good guy, but urrr, i'm bad. Go see something else, shot, go watch Lifetime instead. Expand
  14. DanielC.
    Sep 20, 2003
    1
    Underworld, more like under"pants", this film was awful, for an alleged action film this really was pittiful. For a little over two hours i sat watching this film and the only time my addrenaline rushed was when my mate accidently broke wind. The acting, other than Kate Beckinsale, was appalling, especially head vampire 'Victor'. He was supposed to be a lord of the underworld Underworld, more like under"pants", this film was awful, for an alleged action film this really was pittiful. For a little over two hours i sat watching this film and the only time my addrenaline rushed was when my mate accidently broke wind. The acting, other than Kate Beckinsale, was appalling, especially head vampire 'Victor'. He was supposed to be a lord of the underworld though... he acted camper than a row of tents. I gave this film 1 because the special effects were good, but if it were for the plot, script, acting or action then this would have recieved nothing, perhaps even a minus if that were possible! oh and as for the comparisons to the matrix, well the only similarities were that they were both shown in a cinema. Expand
  15. Riren
    Jan 30, 2007
    1
    Atrocious, even for a popcorn flick. The action sequences and "plot twists" feel like the fat they cut off the Blade movies. Coincidentally, almost everyone in this world of eternal rainy nighttime dresses like they were expecting a walk-on on Blade II. You can't expect too much creativity from a movie that basically steals vampires, werewolves and leather - but this is still Atrocious, even for a popcorn flick. The action sequences and "plot twists" feel like the fat they cut off the Blade movies. Coincidentally, almost everyone in this world of eternal rainy nighttime dresses like they were expecting a walk-on on Blade II. You can't expect too much creativity from a movie that basically steals vampires, werewolves and leather - but this is still insultingly bad, especially with its generic soundtrack and poor acting. Expand
  16. JustinA.
    Oct 13, 2003
    1
    I deeply wanted to like this movie. Werewolves + Vampires + Romeo + Juliet sounded boneheaded enough to be fantastic. Unfortunately, The Matrix was added with disastrous effects. In that it became a very, very bad Matrix, and not a very very ridiculous retelling of a Shakespeare play, which would point out how funny anachronistic retellings are. The film forgets, too, that vampires and I deeply wanted to like this movie. Werewolves + Vampires + Romeo + Juliet sounded boneheaded enough to be fantastic. Unfortunately, The Matrix was added with disastrous effects. In that it became a very, very bad Matrix, and not a very very ridiculous retelling of a Shakespeare play, which would point out how funny anachronistic retellings are. The film forgets, too, that vampires and werewolves are monsters and as such, they should be scary. Vampires are totally powerful, not inept in all areas besides marksmanship. Werewolves are scary, not people we should try better to understand. It is a one step away from being an utter farce. If it took that step, more enjoyment would be had by all. Expand
  17. Aug 23, 2010
    5
    Vampires at war with Werewolves, man with rare blood type, in-fighting, Head Vampire gets awoken, general nonsense.
    I saw this about four years ago & thought it was ok & the Werewolves were very good. On this re-watch, it's not very good at all. The effects are pretty average, the acting terrible (even with Michael Sheen in it) & Kate Beckinsale spends most of her time pouting, flicking
    Vampires at war with Werewolves, man with rare blood type, in-fighting, Head Vampire gets awoken, general nonsense.
    I saw this about four years ago & thought it was ok & the Werewolves were very good. On this re-watch, it's not very good at all. The effects are pretty average, the acting terrible (even with Michael Sheen in it) & Kate Beckinsale spends most of her time pouting, flicking her hair & jumping around in slow motion.
    Tries so hard to be cult & cool but falls well short of the mark.
    Expand
  18. Dec 14, 2011
    2
    Underworld is a sloppy example of filmmaking. The acting is as wooden as a bed-side table, with a terrible script and ham-fisted direction by Len Wiseman. The effects and fight scenes might have been decent a few years ago, but they simply don't hold up today. What's more, the film is far too long - the story (what little there is) could have been told in half the time. The only savingUnderworld is a sloppy example of filmmaking. The acting is as wooden as a bed-side table, with a terrible script and ham-fisted direction by Len Wiseman. The effects and fight scenes might have been decent a few years ago, but they simply don't hold up today. What's more, the film is far too long - the story (what little there is) could have been told in half the time. The only saving graces are Bill Nighy and Michael Sheen, who both have an immense amount of fun as the leaders of the vampires and werewolves respectively, but don't get enough screen time to redeem the film. Underworld plays like it's trying to be somewhere between the Matrix and Blade, but in fact it's a poor imitation of both. Expand
  19. Dec 14, 2011
    0
    I was wrong. After watching Underworld again, I came to realise that not only is it the worst of the series, it has no redeeming features at all. It's garbage in the purest sense of the word. The acting is wooden with the best performances being ones from bit characters like Bill Nighy's Viktor and Michael Sheen's Lucian (probably why Rise of the Lycans is much more enjoyable). KateI was wrong. After watching Underworld again, I came to realise that not only is it the worst of the series, it has no redeeming features at all. It's garbage in the purest sense of the word. The acting is wooden with the best performances being ones from bit characters like Bill Nighy's Viktor and Michael Sheen's Lucian (probably why Rise of the Lycans is much more enjoyable). Kate Beckinsale lumbers from scene to scene in a sort of daze, spouting words with no semblance of feeling or thought. I can only imagine its because she is having a severe allergic reaction to the amount of leather shes wearing. Scott Speedman is tragically miscast as Michael not because he doesn't fit the character but because he is just a terrible actor. However the acting is just the beginning. Underworld is poorly directed with almost every scene being both poorly shot, framed and edited with them feeling like they are being rammed down your throat instead of neatly wrapped for your enjoyment. The main problem with the direction (by Len Wiseman) is that it is so remarkably unimaginative. It pushes no boundaries and doesn't try which carries over into the editing, sound mixing and everything else related to the film. The man behind the wheel should at least be able to steer. Len Wiseman got into the drivers seat drunk and everyone in the car held on for dear life.
    Summing up, its just rubbish.
    Expand
  20. Dec 26, 2011
    5
    The acting was pretty terrible (besides Michael Sheen's performance) and the action sequences sucked really hard. I did enjoy the plot though and it did keep me interested in it but it could have been told in a lot shorter time. I feel the 2+ hours run time pushes it far too much. Still, Underworld simply has something that makes me intersted in it. I was a bit disapointed in this film butThe acting was pretty terrible (besides Michael Sheen's performance) and the action sequences sucked really hard. I did enjoy the plot though and it did keep me interested in it but it could have been told in a lot shorter time. I feel the 2+ hours run time pushes it far too much. Still, Underworld simply has something that makes me intersted in it. I was a bit disapointed in this film but I still have hopes for the sequel. Expand
  21. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    It's not that it's a bad movie. There is a ton of potential here for a pretty good series due to the very interesting story. However, the special effects in this film are rather awful, So bad that it's laughable at times. The acting is on the weak side as well despite having an experianced cast. Overall, the potential is there but it's still a below average film.
  22. Apr 2, 2012
    1
    I watched this movie in a hotel room which I believe made it even worse. The movie has terrible acting and the action is dreadful to say the least. The movie was atrocious.
  23. Nov 8, 2012
    3
    It tries to be The Matrix with vampires, but fails to have an actual plot or any coherent characters.
  24. ChadS.
    Sep 20, 2003
    6
    Kraven should be menacing, alas, he is stupid. "Is that Michael?" this Trent Reznor via Christian Bale-wanna-be shouts at Selene, when he sees a very wet man on his video monitor, begging to be let back into the vampire compound. And Selene, she's no Mensa candidate herself. She seems genuinely surprised when Erika tells Michael that he has a Lychen bite, even though she was there Kraven should be menacing, alas, he is stupid. "Is that Michael?" this Trent Reznor via Christian Bale-wanna-be shouts at Selene, when he sees a very wet man on his video monitor, begging to be let back into the vampire compound. And Selene, she's no Mensa candidate herself. She seems genuinely surprised when Erika tells Michael that he has a Lychen bite, even though she was there when her human friend was fending off Lucian. "Underworld", as expected, features a lot of seen-it-before action executed by actors with very serious faces, redeemed somewhat by a story that's more engaging than "The Matrix: Reloaded". Some kudos, however, should be lavished upon the special effects team for the creation of Victor. His awakening reminds us that vampires should be scary and not brandishers of firearms. All those tubes of blood connected to a skinless, but recognizable Bill Nighy is a genuine contribution to vampire iconography. Expand
  25. DouglasH.
    Jan 10, 2004
    8
    Better than I thought it would be. It deserves a higher score.
  26. NateK
    Jan 8, 2004
    9
    This movie was one of my favorites of the year. I thought the special effects were good, and the story was really good in my opinion. It had a really good twist in it. I think the negative reviews from this movie are from people who like those boring documentries and artsy films. This movie is good if you like action and fantasy.
  27. TerryP.
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    Fun filled romp...enjoyable...dark with do the right thing attitude...Loved it...
  28. lyken
    Oct 10, 2005
    8
    Hey this film is good. the script is good and the effects very well done. one of the best vampire/werewolf films i've seen!
  29. RamG.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Very good. Special effects were incredible. Vampires fighting lycans (werewolves), what more can you ask for?
  30. PrincessT.
    Oct 7, 2003
    9
    I thought the storyline was intriguing...although the character development was thin, overall I was pleasantly surprised by this movie considering its mediocre ratings.
  31. Ventrue
    Oct 8, 2003
    9
    Okay people, first up, this movie is about enjoyment, not substance. You don't go to a movie about Vampire and Lychens and expect the worlds best plot. The actors don't really need to act. You want to see Vampires fighting Lychens! So, on a first note, the acting wasn't too bad. Hell, just watch a movie like Jesus Christ Vampire Hunter, or Glitter, or Jiggly, or some other Okay people, first up, this movie is about enjoyment, not substance. You don't go to a movie about Vampire and Lychens and expect the worlds best plot. The actors don't really need to act. You want to see Vampires fighting Lychens! So, on a first note, the acting wasn't too bad. Hell, just watch a movie like Jesus Christ Vampire Hunter, or Glitter, or Jiggly, or some other horrible tacky film. I didn't go to this movie to see a the worlds greatest acting. I wanted a plot with mild substance, amazing action-CGI scenes and good concept in both art/visualizations! Now a lot of you out their say it copies the Matrix, or The Crow. Bullsh.t. First of, could you picture a coven of Vampires wearing Abercrombie clothing and sporting brand new American Eagle shoes?? Or how could you confuse a film (The Crow) that focuses on redemption, and compare it to a movie like Underworld. Hell, then we could say Blade copies the Crow, and then the Matrix copies the Crow! I could find plenty of comparative bullsh.t to make any of these movies seem unimaginative, and copious at best. You people have to stop comparing it to other movies and look at what was imaginative and inspiring. This film pushed the envolope for the Vampire/Werewolf genre. So, what did Underworld have? Well, for starters, it had bad ass design. All the sets were awesome! The costume design was Gothic, and I'll leave it at that. The best was a subtle detailing in the eyes of both the Lychens and the Vampires. The Lychen transformation scenes were amazing, I mean if you really look, they grow an extra two ribs to protect the heart! This film has evolution! It took elements from different gonre's and tried to make it enjoyable for all people. I loved how they mixed it, and I wouldn't and couldn't ask them to change it! You want to see a Lychen smash through a wall? Or see an ancient bad ass Vampire crush that Lychen, than Underworld is for you! Just see it with an open mind. If any of you philistines really did your homework instead of lashing out blindly at something thats too "big" for your comprehension, then know this: it doesn't copy a movie, it copies a book series! Thats right, books! A table top RPG called Vampire the Masquerade! I know reading hard folks, but try it! Collapse
  32. ParmsB.
    Oct 8, 2003
    2
    What a load of rubbish. It had good effects, good actors and that head vampire who is awaken during the movie is excellent. The movie does not gel at all, fighting scenes are completely stupid, one minute things work, but on the next fighting scene they dont. The worst part is that that it could have been a masterpiece if the story was refined and the directing was a lot lot lot better. What a load of rubbish. It had good effects, good actors and that head vampire who is awaken during the movie is excellent. The movie does not gel at all, fighting scenes are completely stupid, one minute things work, but on the next fighting scene they dont. The worst part is that that it could have been a masterpiece if the story was refined and the directing was a lot lot lot better. Such a pity as with big budget hollywood movies, lots of money in the hands of uncreative people. Expand
  33. P.P.
    Oct 9, 2003
    1
    Ventrue gave it a 9: My god, were your paid to write this or do you have a relative or something in the movie that you just dont want to disappoint.
  34. BlancoA.
    Sep 20, 2003
    8
    Kate Beckinsale rocks pretty hard in this film. It's a good time, nothing more, nothing less. Go check it out. Speedman isn't nearly as embarrassing as I thought he might be, incidentally.
  35. OliverV.
    Sep 24, 2003
    5
    Kate Beckinsale is a hotty.
  36. TelyS.
    Sep 26, 2003
    4
    Light years ahead of The Matrix, huh? You don't realize the irony in that statement, do you? This movie was pitched as a "horror" version of The Matrix, so can be considered the offspring of the much superior films by the Wachowskis. A watered down and sillier offspring to say the least. It would take days to point out the failiures of Underworld, from the hideous acting from a cast Light years ahead of The Matrix, huh? You don't realize the irony in that statement, do you? This movie was pitched as a "horror" version of The Matrix, so can be considered the offspring of the much superior films by the Wachowskis. A watered down and sillier offspring to say the least. It would take days to point out the failiures of Underworld, from the hideous acting from a cast of zero charismas, to the amemic "action" scenes as generic and contrived as anything on TV these days, but I'll spare the easily offendable from further offence. Expand
  37. JeffreyK.
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    GREAT!!!!!
  38. JoshuaW.
    Sep 30, 2003
    9
    All things considered, for the type of movie this is, (action/horror/fetish) it was very well done. Whenever you have a film where main characters have other worldly powers and wear latex, you have to immediately regard such a film by a different standard than you would with a film like, let's say The Pianist. The Matrix of course is a a notable exception. Underworld was a fun movie, All things considered, for the type of movie this is, (action/horror/fetish) it was very well done. Whenever you have a film where main characters have other worldly powers and wear latex, you have to immediately regard such a film by a different standard than you would with a film like, let's say The Pianist. The Matrix of course is a a notable exception. Underworld was a fun movie, visually exciting, unabashedly bold and I can't wait for it's sequels. Expand
  39. Narrator
    Jan 28, 2004
    7
    Although the script was rather ordinary (although at least the plot went further than 'ooh look, there's vampires and warewolves together in the same film') and the special effects not all that special, underworld was also very watchable, mainly due to the postmodern gothic feel to the piece.
  40. ChrisM.
    Jan 29, 2004
    9
    I went in with extremely low expectations and walked out pleased. It's been a while since I've seen such an enjoyable action movie. Don't try to take the film to seriously because your wasting your time.
  41. BillytheKid
    Jan 30, 2004
    8
    I want to start off by saying that "Ninja Mafia" is a moron, because Romeo and Juliet is a play, not a book. Plus, the movie did have the basic concept of R&J because she defied the orders of her clan to be with him, who was turning into a vampire. As for the movie itself, the fight scenes were good, the gun scenes were bad, the movie had a cool look overall and was well made. It was very I want to start off by saying that "Ninja Mafia" is a moron, because Romeo and Juliet is a play, not a book. Plus, the movie did have the basic concept of R&J because she defied the orders of her clan to be with him, who was turning into a vampire. As for the movie itself, the fight scenes were good, the gun scenes were bad, the movie had a cool look overall and was well made. It was very hard to care about the characters or who won in the war between the two clans. It was promising, and hopefully a sequel will improve upon what has already been done. Expand
  42. TerryP.
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    Fun filled romp...enjoyable...dark with do the right thing attitude...Loved it...
  43. CarsonE
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    Underword is a great mix of action, horror, and good music. Plus, It gets tiring watching old fashioned monster movies where people go "O My F***ing God it's a Vampire or Werewolf. This movie ditch's that tired style of monster movie and gives you a high tech modern day monster war where vampires and lycans (werewolves) are duking it out in Matrix style fashion. Add to that Kate Underword is a great mix of action, horror, and good music. Plus, It gets tiring watching old fashioned monster movies where people go "O My F***ing God it's a Vampire or Werewolf. This movie ditch's that tired style of monster movie and gives you a high tech modern day monster war where vampires and lycans (werewolves) are duking it out in Matrix style fashion. Add to that Kate Becinsale in tigh leather what could be better in this genre? Expand
  44. AndrewL.
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    Excellent plot. Movie just kept getting better. Must see!
  45. PlayaD.
    Oct 6, 2003
    8
    I hate to critique the critics but I think some of you are missing the point. A movie with vampires dosen't HAVE to be sexy and a movie with werewolves dosen't HAVE to be spooky. Open your mind to a different take on FICTIONAL monsters. And while you're at it, open your eyes: this is an action movie. Love it or hate it but at least judge it as what it is: a supernatural I hate to critique the critics but I think some of you are missing the point. A movie with vampires dosen't HAVE to be sexy and a movie with werewolves dosen't HAVE to be spooky. Open your mind to a different take on FICTIONAL monsters. And while you're at it, open your eyes: this is an action movie. Love it or hate it but at least judge it as what it is: a supernatural action movie. Expand
  46. KeithE.
    Sep 19, 2003
    8
    Critics can be harsh. I think that this film was extremely exciting and thought provoking. As usual, I have found a movie that the critics loathe, yet that I enjoy. If you like the myths surrounding vampires and werewolves, this is a movie that you must see. Although I agree that the romance could have been made more real, the film was an excellent shoot em up thriller.
  47. RichardG.
    Sep 21, 2003
    7
    This is an ok movie. The washington post is right! it does play like a novel, but a good one. Its action filled and has many elements of a good action movie. It is a fun movie, but it seems that sometime the vampires and Liken (werewolves) have no special powers, especially on the part of the vampires. The movie has some cheezy dialogue and some bad accents, but the movie was well This is an ok movie. The washington post is right! it does play like a novel, but a good one. Its action filled and has many elements of a good action movie. It is a fun movie, but it seems that sometime the vampires and Liken (werewolves) have no special powers, especially on the part of the vampires. The movie has some cheezy dialogue and some bad accents, but the movie was well directed. Only the script and the acting can be blamed here. All around watchable movie. Expand
  48. MNib
    Sep 22, 2003
    1
    Hey beebs, underworld.....now what can i say about this film.......nothing really because for the middle hour and a half i was battling to keep my eyes open. now let me just ask you all a question, if i said to you there was a film about a centuries old war between vampires and werewolves that is then taken into the urban surroundings, wouldn't you expect a gritty, dark tale that Hey beebs, underworld.....now what can i say about this film.......nothing really because for the middle hour and a half i was battling to keep my eyes open. now let me just ask you all a question, if i said to you there was a film about a centuries old war between vampires and werewolves that is then taken into the urban surroundings, wouldn't you expect a gritty, dark tale that would attack all the senses that people go to the cinema to experience. well let me just let you into a little secret, i've had a more stimulating sensory experience watching "i love trouble" starring nick nolte and julia roberts (trust me that's bad). the only reason that this film warrants a one is kate beckinsale! the english rose that is stifled by the weeds that are the supporting cast, lifeless action sequences and script!! who wouldn't want to see kate in a black leather jumpsuit!! trust me people, either go to this movie high on caffiene and energy drinks and hope for the best or avoid it like a camp vampire overlord called victor who would look scarier if he wore fluffy slippers!!! Expand
  49. KennethB.
    Sep 23, 2003
    7
    Vey well- done. The special effects in Underworld were incrediable. It was very two-dimensional, but very goo. The story was pretty good, but not great, but Bekinsale has proven that she can kick butt. Very put together. Enjoyable yarn.
  50. Melissa
    Sep 28, 2003
    3
    I love these kinds of movies, but not this one. So-so, hum-drum. Maybe worth a DVD rental, but not $7.00.
  51. RedEric
    Jan 11, 2004
    8
    If you wanted deep then why did you pick up a vampire film? If you did want an action vampire film then you couldn't do much better. Plot, effects, action all pretty well done. No real surprises in the film but the journey from start to finish is very enjoyable.
  52. NicolaiS.
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    The movie is very good,the sound is great,so you must see it!
  53. Break
    Jan 24, 2004
    4
    Surprisingly, this movie has a semi-decent plot. It got a little out of hand towards the end and seemed labored at times. The biggest flaws in this movie are the acting and action scenes. The acting was mediocre, but that really came as no surprise to me. What did surprise me was how horribly the action scenes were done. The fighting scenes were either horribly directed or just ridiculous Surprisingly, this movie has a semi-decent plot. It got a little out of hand towards the end and seemed labored at times. The biggest flaws in this movie are the acting and action scenes. The acting was mediocre, but that really came as no surprise to me. What did surprise me was how horribly the action scenes were done. The fighting scenes were either horribly directed or just ridiculous to the point of being laughable. Adding guns to the mix didn't make it any better. If you're looking for a great plot, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a good action film, you'll definitely want to look somewhere else. The concept was interesting enough and the plot had potential, but it's a shame that it was executed so poorly. Expand
  54. TJ.M.
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    Amazing film... very good acting and very good story... i think the costumes in it are very well done... hope to see a second one coming out soon...
  55. MichaelC.
    Feb 5, 2004
    6
    This one was actually a whole lot better than I thought it would be, after seeing the reviews. The story, while somewhat ridiculous, was at least original. It's not for everyone, but if you like this sort of thing you'll probably be into it.
  56. KareeH.
    Feb 7, 2004
    7
    Look, this movie may be too long and contain dozens of stolen conventions from other films(Matrix, Blade etc.) but it isn't a terrible movie. Worth the rental.
  57. TristanB.
    Mar 4, 2004
    7
    This was a pretty good in the beginning. But once it got to the story of combinning the two species I just started to get tired of it. Kate Beckinsale did very well in the movie. The character designs were great. I really liked how they tried to use as little special effects as they could. The other problem was that the movie seemed like "The Matrix" except with werewolfs and vampires.
  58. JamesS.
    Jun 16, 2004
    8
    Kate Beckinsale was absolutely outstandingly sexy...she was the main reason i gave it an eight...the film was alright in places, but there was a bit to much story, and the action scenes werent all that great...kate rules.
  59. [Anonymous]
    Nov 5, 2005
    7
    Certainly stylish, and wears its gothic production well, but the constrained budget limits its potential. Action is good, but could be even better. Story actually is quite interesting. Hope Len Wiseman and Co. can grab a much higher budget for Underworld: Evolution. A 100+ million dollar budget could fix most problems in this series and unleash its full potential.
  60. JohnC
    Dec 30, 2005
    9
    Enticing and absorbing popcorn enterment with a sexy leading lady who puts out a good performance, or at least as good as you can get in the genre.
  61. swifty
    May 18, 2005
    9
    The best werewolf movie i have seen.
  62. ToniaR.
    May 23, 2006
    9
    I thought the movie was great! All the costumes and everything. I just wasn't into how the warewolves looked. I kind of have a different perspective on how they look. But all in all they looked pretty good.
  63. CarlosF
    Jul 18, 2009
    4
    The plot is too over-the-top, taking it self too seriously. Beckinsale doesn't really act a lot, but Speedman is completely irritating. This is a derivative movie, nothing is really happening, just a bit of fighting and some unespected "plot twists". However, is basically a CGI-action movie.
  64. GaborS.
    Nov 17, 2003
    9
    I think it is great for people who like roleplay games with Vampires and stuff like that. I believe the story was great, I am waiting for the next Underworld.
  65. NinjaMafia
    Nov 4, 2003
    6
    Ah Underworld, what a great idea for a movie. I mean, Vampires, Werewolves, and supposedley some Romeo and Juliet throne in there. Well first off, I didn't quite catch the Romeo and Juliet part. I mean, the werewolf guy wasn't a part of the werewolf clan so it really wasn't Romeo and juliet (plus Romeo and juliet had a better plot than this but then agian, it is a book and Ah Underworld, what a great idea for a movie. I mean, Vampires, Werewolves, and supposedley some Romeo and Juliet throne in there. Well first off, I didn't quite catch the Romeo and Juliet part. I mean, the werewolf guy wasn't a part of the werewolf clan so it really wasn't Romeo and juliet (plus Romeo and juliet had a better plot than this but then agian, it is a book and this is a movie.).The plot was -,at the beggining, horrible. The n, at the very end of the movie, the plot went out in full force trying to cram in as many plot twists as possible. The thing is, if they started to do the plot twists in the middle of the movies, it would have been alot smother.The action in this movie was so so. When I watched it, I liked the action a lot, however, when I walked out of the theatre, I couldn't remember one fight scene. That was the problem, you couldn't remember, or care, about any fight scene or character in this movie. I am given this movie a bonus point or two for a few things however. First, they called the werewolves Lycans, I thopught they would never use that term in a mainstream movie. Secondly, it is about VAMPIRES and WEREWOLVES what is there not to like about the both of them. Actually, the vampires had very little vampiric characteristics than their super human strength and stuff like that. i mean, they even walked out in the rain the first minute of the movie. However, without that rain, it wouldn't have been as dramatic (and you know I love those overly-dramatic scenes). Overall, Underworld isn't necesarily a BAD movie. Just Very forgetable. I didn't feel my night was ruined by it but I do think I could have seen something better. Don't even think about seeing this movies at your local run down peice of crap theatre that charges 1.99 for movies that are a month or two old without seeing Kill Bill which is a better action movie by far. Expand
  66. ScottS.
    Oct 17, 2003
    9
    This movie was good! In my mind there is no gettting around that. If you don't like vampires and werewolves (Lycans), then you probably won't like this movie. However, there was a terrific plot with lots of twists wrapped up in this movie. The first time I watched this movie I loved every bit of it. Then I went back w/my friends and started to notice a few things were over the This movie was good! In my mind there is no gettting around that. If you don't like vampires and werewolves (Lycans), then you probably won't like this movie. However, there was a terrific plot with lots of twists wrapped up in this movie. The first time I watched this movie I loved every bit of it. Then I went back w/my friends and started to notice a few things were over the top, and I kept looking to see if they liked the movie also. Which was stupid. Just do yourself a favor...take a night for yourself and fall into another world...an underworld if you will....sorry I couldn't resist. Expand
  67. JohnT.
    Sep 22, 2003
    3
    There was nothing good about it. Not a single good action sequence. Even Kate Beckinsale looked 2-dimensional. A shame.
  68. IanB.
    Sep 22, 2003
    7
    The only complaint that I have for this movie is the pacing. Other than that, this is light years ahead of "Matrix Reloaded" and would actually make a good franchise. Cant wait for the next one!
  69. SteveL.
    Sep 28, 2003
    8
    Very good film.
  70. KabootleS.
    Jan 11, 2004
    6
    Blade II was way better.
  71. TravisH.
    Dec 4, 2004
    8
    Good Idea, actually, a Great idea, but the presentation is somewhat lacking. Don't get me wrong, the ambience is great, but sometimes the story and acting is well, not so great.
  72. Sepharih
    May 19, 2004
    8
    Brilliant cinematography, and Kate Beckinsale is amazing as always. I gave the movie an eight because scott speedman just couldn't make me believe it no matter how hard I tried. If they had either A. Cast a better actor, or better yet B. Removed his character completley and focused more on Selene (I know it takes out the whole Romeo and Juliet concept but i think it would have worked Brilliant cinematography, and Kate Beckinsale is amazing as always. I gave the movie an eight because scott speedman just couldn't make me believe it no matter how hard I tried. If they had either A. Cast a better actor, or better yet B. Removed his character completley and focused more on Selene (I know it takes out the whole Romeo and Juliet concept but i think it would have worked better) If they had done one of those, this could have easily been a ten. I look forward to the prequel. Expand
  73. MitchM.
    Jan 29, 2006
    3
    Vampires vs. Werewolves. Abbott & Costello? No. Not even. But hey, they're all armed with arsenals of automatic weapons! I thought the point of being a monster was you didn't need any of that crap. But I guess it's cheaper to have cool looking, sexy model types firing off blank rounds harmlessly at each other than doing a complete CGI movie? The only drama here was whether Vampires vs. Werewolves. Abbott & Costello? No. Not even. But hey, they're all armed with arsenals of automatic weapons! I thought the point of being a monster was you didn't need any of that crap. But I guess it's cheaper to have cool looking, sexy model types firing off blank rounds harmlessly at each other than doing a complete CGI movie? The only drama here was whether I might throw my vote with the vampires ... or the werewolves. Tough choice. And no apparent reason to back either. Now, if Lon Chaney or Bela Lugosi had been in this ... Expand
  74. KevinL.
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    OK, Gone With the Wind it's not -- but stylish yet violent supernatural fun it is, in spades!
  75. IanG.
    Dec 30, 2008
    7
    This is an ambitious, great-looking, adequately acted piece of popcorn entertainment. Sure, it's terribly written, and some of the werewolves look more like Muppets than petrifying flesh-eaters, but 'Underworld' provides loads of fun for both our beer-swilling commonfolk (shit blows up) as well as serious cinemaphiles who are willing to sit back and have a blast with this This is an ambitious, great-looking, adequately acted piece of popcorn entertainment. Sure, it's terribly written, and some of the werewolves look more like Muppets than petrifying flesh-eaters, but 'Underworld' provides loads of fun for both our beer-swilling commonfolk (shit blows up) as well as serious cinemaphiles who are willing to sit back and have a blast with this fun-as-hell B-movie. Expand
  76. TommyS
    Jan 17, 2009
    9
    Very good vampire vs werewolf movie. If you like The Matrix you'll probably like this film.
  77. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    One of my favorite bad movie series. I like it better than the Resident Evil series. The story is way to convoluted for the subject matter and the lines are cheesy but man I love my hot women in leather shooting guns and kicking butt. I think the movie is good ol fun.
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 10 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    Takes itself so seriously that it never has fun with its shopworn genre elements.
  2. Reviewed by: Alex Pappademas
    20
    Speedman's such a nonentity here I worried that the theater air-conditioning would blow him off the screen.
  3. 40
    Beautiful in its dark, contrasting blues and blacks, Underworld is nonetheless a remarkably humorless movie, and not even the adroitly hammy Bill Nighy, as the vampire king, can leaven the overwrought seriousness of it all.