User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 343 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 343
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    4
    First off i would like to point out that i mean no disrespect to anyone in this review, because i'm here to review the movie not the events that it based on.
    the movie isn't about the united airline 93 until 55 long minutes, the movie is loud and the camera work was down right terrible and that's coming from the director of the wonderful captain Phillips and the Bourne trilogy, and i do
    First off i would like to point out that i mean no disrespect to anyone in this review, because i'm here to review the movie not the events that it based on.
    the movie isn't about the united airline 93 until 55 long minutes, the movie is loud and the camera work was down right terrible and that's coming from the director of the wonderful captain Phillips and the Bourne trilogy, and i do realize it should be a movie inside an airplane, but i felt dizzy watching this.
    and the movie isn't informative at all, i've seen a documentary called "ZERO An Investigation Into 9-11" that almost as long as this movie and it explained everything that happened that day.
    for instance, the whole air traffic noise and buzz was absolutely useless, all what we learned is that the guys were doing their job, the president is the only person who can issue a military strike on possible hijacked airplanes and the military didn't do anything even after the president gave it a GO.
    for me i would like to see the details including the fact that every airplane was forced to land immediately and how they closed their air space without any accidents, but i didn't get to see that.
    also the movie did so little on characters, it's not memorable at all, and the only reason that it is critically acclaimed is the fact that it remind us of a tragedy, but the movie was terrible and could have been way better than this.
    Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    1
    Oh please! NO one survived! How does anyone really know what happened or what was said? Sure let's make believe but no one actually knows! Right down to the hair and makeup? Really? This was factual? NOPE!
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    This movie should have been a tribute to the heroes who gave their lives to save so many others on 9/11. Instead, they are portrayed as vigilantes who killed themselves. All they had to go on was the black boxes and the phone calls made from the plane, the rest is conjecture and, in my humble opinion, complete and absolute bull Nothing like this happened on that plane. They took a tragicThis movie should have been a tribute to the heroes who gave their lives to save so many others on 9/11. Instead, they are portrayed as vigilantes who killed themselves. All they had to go on was the black boxes and the phone calls made from the plane, the rest is conjecture and, in my humble opinion, complete and absolute bull Nothing like this happened on that plane. They took a tragic story and hollywoodized it until it became a mockery. I was not impressed. Expand
  4. OMG
    Sep 6, 2006
    0
    Faux News...

    "Riveting propaganda at its finest..." - Time

    "4 Stars...." - Newsweek

    "This type of propaganda shouldn't be shown on the big screen, but should be shown on the lawn of the whitehouse"

    - Entertainment Weekly

    ""Explosive. Almost like a missle just blew it out of the sky..." - Variety
    "You would laugh if it were true... " - The New York Times
  5. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 10, 2007
    2
    Propaganda at its best, compelling but so full of bull it make Bush look intelligent! I reckon most of the 10/10 posters are the same people who cheered on CBS midweek, when they showed pictures of dead muslims. Its so sad that so many people are so brain dead/washed, that they only see the world from an Western view point. Next time you fill up your GMC, ask yourself how many EasternPropaganda at its best, compelling but so full of bull it make Bush look intelligent! I reckon most of the 10/10 posters are the same people who cheered on CBS midweek, when they showed pictures of dead muslims. Its so sad that so many people are so brain dead/washed, that they only see the world from an Western view point. Next time you fill up your GMC, ask yourself how many Eastern people died just to get your gas in that tank? And I bet many of you don't care, as American blood is worth more than the world put together! You, are truly the oppressed ones! Expand
  6. JJJ.
    May 1, 2006
    2
    This movie left me with the feeling that America does anything for cash, a media whore who will take advantage of ANY situation for money. The acting and script left me with an empty feeling since the exact events are not known and to fill in the gaps to make money seems so Hollywood. I went into it will a bad feeling and tried to make the best of it but it was just a bad movie that was This movie left me with the feeling that America does anything for cash, a media whore who will take advantage of ANY situation for money. The acting and script left me with an empty feeling since the exact events are not known and to fill in the gaps to make money seems so Hollywood. I went into it will a bad feeling and tried to make the best of it but it was just a bad movie that was made way too soon. After watching the movie and seeing all the 100s in the scrore it leads me to believe that less than half of the reviewers were unbiased. Maybe a rental or better yet wait for regular cable. Expand
  7. JohnSimpson
    Apr 25, 2006
    0
    More Hollywood propaganda to keep the lies alive. This plane was shot out of the air with a missile, the debris was scattered over several miles which is not conducive in the slightest to a plane crashing in one place. Watch this film if you want to continue to be duped into believing that there are hairy terrorists out to get us all, rather than our own government. This movie has beenMore Hollywood propaganda to keep the lies alive. This plane was shot out of the air with a missile, the debris was scattered over several miles which is not conducive in the slightest to a plane crashing in one place. Watch this film if you want to continue to be duped into believing that there are hairy terrorists out to get us all, rather than our own government. This movie has been 'okayed' by all the agitprop govt dept's so watch at your own risk. Expand
  8. DjAlpha
    Apr 27, 2006
    2
    I just saw a press screening of this movie. I didn't like it at all. It plays off the emotions of the day and you see everything from an American piont of view. It never gets into why the event actually took place or why the terrorists were doing what they were doing. It brings nothing to society, it just takes us deeper into the Arab-American-hating hole. Terrible.
  9. BenS.
    May 13, 2006
    1
    Give me a break! This pathetic attempt at government propaganda was just stomach-churning for those of us who know what REALLY happened that day.....that plane was shot down, which is why there were pieces of the plane up to 8 MILES from the crash site. This flight, and the rest of the flights, were CONTROLLED BY REMOTE BEACON, NOT HI-JACKED by "Muslims" (why are 8 of the 19 "hi-jackers"Give me a break! This pathetic attempt at government propaganda was just stomach-churning for those of us who know what REALLY happened that day.....that plane was shot down, which is why there were pieces of the plane up to 8 MILES from the crash site. This flight, and the rest of the flights, were CONTROLLED BY REMOTE BEACON, NOT HI-JACKED by "Muslims" (why are 8 of the 19 "hi-jackers" STILL ALIVE, and why are their names NOT on the final flight compliments of any of the airliners? Hmmmm?). They're trying to convince you that the people's cellphones actually WORKED at that altitude? Pleeeease. Oh, and a bunch of passengers charged the "Muslim Hi-jackers" with "box-cutters"? Riiiiiiiight. This movie was so factually inaccurate it was almost hilarious. Many will scream that I am "dishonoring the memories of the victims" by writing this. On the contrary, I'm honoring them by asking some very disturbing questions and seeking answers. "United 93" is a LIE, people. Get the facts before you make an emotional judgement. Expand
  10. TomW.
    May 3, 2006
    3
    Very "respectful", but ultimately I don't know what this movie accomplished. Rhetorically, it seems it has nothing to say. No viewpoint, no politics, no real moral. Artistically, it also accomplished very little. Yes, it was directed with a great deal of research and skill, but the final product feels more like the work of a great recreatist or archivist, not an artist and certainly Very "respectful", but ultimately I don't know what this movie accomplished. Rhetorically, it seems it has nothing to say. No viewpoint, no politics, no real moral. Artistically, it also accomplished very little. Yes, it was directed with a great deal of research and skill, but the final product feels more like the work of a great recreatist or archivist, not an artist and certainly not an entertainer. I left feeling like the movie was exactly what I expected, yet also realizing that MetaCritic scores made me think what I expected would be worth seeing. I can't say I would recommend this to anyone, even if I respect the craft Paul Greengrass used to bring it to fruition. Expand
  11. JamesE
    Oct 15, 2007
    2
    I don't know if official raters were scared of giving a bad rating in case of being shunned by the public. Don't get me wrong i still think that 911 was a terrible tragedy, but hollywood have exploited this fear and turned it into a film that in no way corresponds with what actually happened. They never made it into the cockpit, There was one less terroist. They insult muslimsI don't know if official raters were scared of giving a bad rating in case of being shunned by the public. Don't get me wrong i still think that 911 was a terrible tragedy, but hollywood have exploited this fear and turned it into a film that in no way corresponds with what actually happened. They never made it into the cockpit, There was one less terroist. They insult muslims and turn them into a sterotype of lunatics who want to kill americans. I live in Dubai and all muslims are kind and just want peace . No offence to any families but they make these guys heros. They make the guys heros. All they did was try and save themselves. This movie was made to make money, upset people and generally give a bad name to muslims. Why the two, the scenes were realisic enough and some details were correct. Expand
  12. AlanP.
    Aug 26, 2006
    2
    A film I left with the feeling I had been cheated. There could be no involvement with any character, the situation or activity. A film made to cash in on the desire for emotional self flagellation over an event few really understand or comprehend. I was was left with the question why bother making such a film.
  13. LesPaul
    Oct 12, 2006
    4
    I give it a 4 for it's portrayl of humanity. However, the facts are so unclear of what actually happened that I consider this an irresponsible film for anyone to make. An event of this magnitude and relevance to the world should only be made into a documentary at most, otherwise it could be looked back upon in the future as propoganda or careless film making. If you haven'tI give it a 4 for it's portrayl of humanity. However, the facts are so unclear of what actually happened that I consider this an irresponsible film for anyone to make. An event of this magnitude and relevance to the world should only be made into a documentary at most, otherwise it could be looked back upon in the future as propoganda or careless film making. If you haven't seen "Loose Change" you should, to get hard facts that support a very different, but at least equally plausible portrayl of what happened to this flight. Expand
  14. JohnL.
    Apr 30, 2006
    2
    This movie sucks!! I mean I feel for what happened on Sept 11 but that doesnt make for good entertainment....The camera was so shaky it made me sick, I was so bored throughout the whole thing....I hope this movie bombs....Its already heading in that direction, at the multiplex where I went to see it (on the first Sat it came out) it was showing at the way back of the theater...Which is This movie sucks!! I mean I feel for what happened on Sept 11 but that doesnt make for good entertainment....The camera was so shaky it made me sick, I was so bored throughout the whole thing....I hope this movie bombs....Its already heading in that direction, at the multiplex where I went to see it (on the first Sat it came out) it was showing at the way back of the theater...Which is usually reserved for garbage or for movies that have been out for weeks .There were less then ten people in the theater!!! I only went to see it bcuz it was my girlfriends choice...Although I hated it I could see why it was made and why it will affect people the way it does...Trust me watch it on dvd and save your money for popcorn movies like mission impossible or the davinci code. Expand
  15. JohnB.
    May 2, 2006
    2
    Way overrated! Dramatic and well directed, but, honestly, there was nothing new or worthwhile here for anyone who knows what happened (which is everyone) on Flight 93 on 9/11. The acting was good, except for the air traffic controller who played himself. I've seen better acting in my kids school play. Enough is enough on 9/11. Let's get on with life.
  16. AnonymousMC
    May 23, 2006
    0
    Before watching this movie you should do a google video search for a movie called Loose Change and watch that. It pretty much proves that (among other things) flight 93 never crashed. I'm not rating this on entertainment value or anything, I just don't think a movie should have a crazy high score like this when its just feeding off peoples false conceptions about what happened onBefore watching this movie you should do a google video search for a movie called Loose Change and watch that. It pretty much proves that (among other things) flight 93 never crashed. I'm not rating this on entertainment value or anything, I just don't think a movie should have a crazy high score like this when its just feeding off peoples false conceptions about what happened on september 11, 2001. Expand
  17. Mobius
    May 4, 2006
    0
    im giving this a 0 on the grounds that the hollywood have now gone to the lowest of lows. with hollywood running out of material to make films with. this all started at the "lets make a sequel and maybe part 3 part 4 and so on, then they moved into the lets do movies about all the super hero comics then they moved to the lets make a remake of all those old films that made money mabe if weim giving this a 0 on the grounds that the hollywood have now gone to the lowest of lows. with hollywood running out of material to make films with. this all started at the "lets make a sequel and maybe part 3 part 4 and so on, then they moved into the lets do movies about all the super hero comics then they moved to the lets make a remake of all those old films that made money mabe if we re do them we can fleese Jo Public, then as they thought that they had ripped off everthing some bright spark thought "hey lets make movies about computer games". now that they have done all of the above lets make a movie about 9/11 hey no one has done that. maybe we could do a sequel to it aswell like the bombing of some mountains and the ousting of the taliban so they can make some oil pie run through it to saddams palace. Expand
  18. GeorgeW.
    Jul 27, 2006
    0
    sorry guys. the worst kind of propaganda. very slick. but let us not forget that what is being presented in an emotionally masterfully manipulating manner as hard historical fact is at best speculative storytelling. however, it is fully understandable that people want to believe this tragic and heroic version of the story.
  19. GerrickChrosse
    Apr 29, 2006
    0
    I think a movie made to rehearse 9/11 is a load of garbage and displays absolute disrespect to the families who lost loved ones. I don't care how good it might be, but anyone who is patriotic and has any respect for that day in American history shouldn't see it.
  20. mss
    Apr 29, 2006
    4
    To be honest I felt a little nervous while spilling my opinions into this review. One reason is because I am aware of how terrible this event was and I am aware that many people feel strongly about it. I do not mean to offend any of the other reviewers here. Just to get that out of the way. As a story goes, this would have been uneventful and generic had it not been based on actual events.To be honest I felt a little nervous while spilling my opinions into this review. One reason is because I am aware of how terrible this event was and I am aware that many people feel strongly about it. I do not mean to offend any of the other reviewers here. Just to get that out of the way. As a story goes, this would have been uneventful and generic had it not been based on actual events. I get what the film maker is doing here...replicating fear, drama, and all the other things you need in a highjacking movie. I was awed by the performances, however, despite how this movie would be nothing without the tragedy it refers to. It must have been hard for some of them to act out things like this, and I respect that. But a lousy film is a lousy film. I felt no sense of true sympathy, enthrallment, sadness, or any emotion for that matter. It was sort of a heoic film that came across as more of a "Just so you know, these people risked their lives and yada yada yada..." no. When I see a film I don't like to feel as if someone is trying to prove that an event was great. The event stands on its own. It's only five years old. Which might be why some of the kick is gone because it will never forget 9/11. Some might say I'm unpatriotic for not being entertained or enlightened by a film that is so obviously going to have impact...I'm sorry but we don't need a reminder as to how terrible 9/11 was and we don't need another plane movie. It's just a movie to me...a very boring and a very strained movie. Expand
  21. PrudenceKhillers
    May 7, 2006
    0
    I really despise this film. I brought kleenex, because I thought I would cry during this. Well, I certainly did not... didn't capture anything of what I remember from the day. Extreme disappointment. The entire "film" was EXACTLY like a TV movie. Pathetic. The story is sad... but I knew what was going to happen. Didn't pay any respect for the real heroes and nearly offends me.
  22. TheElusivePossom
    Jun 12, 2006
    2
    I'll admit from the start (as it's probably a factor in my score) I took my seat before the screening of United 93 expecting to hate it. I left the same thatre angry that anyone would like it: a possible good idea completely shat all over by dire, dire acting. In a poor attempt at the mockumentary style, we see GI Joe dishing out orders in the only way Hollywood understands, I'll admit from the start (as it's probably a factor in my score) I took my seat before the screening of United 93 expecting to hate it. I left the same thatre angry that anyone would like it: a possible good idea completely shat all over by dire, dire acting. In a poor attempt at the mockumentary style, we see GI Joe dishing out orders in the only way Hollywood understands, with information being relayed by Britney Spears, who had clearly never heard of the word 'scans' before filming. The film also attempts to rape the viewers sympathy, with every passenger on the fateful trip the parent of several children, or focusing attention on a smiley granny pleading for a glass of water. I'm sorry if this means I have a heart of stone (I DID cry at the end of Titanic) but I won't buy in to the fad of exploiting tragic historical events and shock people into giving praise. I'm aware of this film's apparent universal acclaim by critics, so to me, this review marks the triumph of freedom in opinion. Woo. Expand
  23. PaulH.
    Jun 15, 2006
    4
    This is a pretty moving picture to sit through, absolutely heart-breaking at times and yet reflecting a few days afterwards i find myself feeling a bit conned...Firstly as a re-enactment based on true life it looks way too slick and shiny,way too edited and staged..But i guess this is a Hollywood treatment and what would one expect.Has the look and feel of a made-for-tv film.Will be This is a pretty moving picture to sit through, absolutely heart-breaking at times and yet reflecting a few days afterwards i find myself feeling a bit conned...Firstly as a re-enactment based on true life it looks way too slick and shiny,way too edited and staged..But i guess this is a Hollywood treatment and what would one expect.Has the look and feel of a made-for-tv film.Will be forgotten about immediately. Does not make you think at all about anything. A crass example of manipulating audiences emotions Expand
  24. RachelS.
    Jul 20, 2006
    2
    It feels like hollywood waits for something disastrous to happen just so they can make some money out of it.
  25. AndyG.
    Jul 5, 2006
    0
    Exploitation at its most shameless.
  26. BlisterfishCafe
    Sep 27, 2006
    0
    Impossible to say if it is historically accurate. It turns out they never reached cockpit. Just too soon.
  27. PrintNinja
    Apr 29, 2006
    0
    This is simply a disgrace.

    No matter how good a film this may be, I would never go see it. It never should have been made. I don't need a film full of conjecture to know that the passengers of United 93 were heros. That is a fact. No American, no human being, with a conscious should be making money off one of the worst events in our Country's history. Not one dime. That
    This is simply a disgrace.

    No matter how good a film this may be, I would never go see it. It never should have been made. I don't need a film full of conjecture to know that the passengers of United 93 were heros. That is a fact. No American, no human being, with a conscious should be making money off one of the worst events in our Country's history. Not one dime. That includes the theaters, the concession stands, the parking attendents, whomever. I don't care how great the film is. I don't care if the victim's families endorsed it. You want to make a memorial, then make a memorial, but I'll be dam*ed before I'll give someone $10 of my money because some filmmaker felt five years was enough of a cooling off period to revisit this horrible event theatrically. Maybe living in NY and having tears spontaneously run down my cheeks for months has hardened me to the filmmakers "good intentions", but as far as I'm concerned, unless this film is being shown for free as a public service, and the filmmakers are providing free therapy for all the people who will be traumatized from seeing it (and there certainly will be some), then America simply doesn't need this. Let me say it again... AMERICA DOESN'T NEED THIS!
    Expand
  28. Wile
    May 17, 2006
    0
    All due respect intended to those who died and lost loved ones on 9/11/01, this is a really awful movie. As mentioned in other reviews, not only is there terrible acting, directing, producing, etc but there are conflicting reports as to what really happened. So this movie is part legend and part fiction. Some witnesses saw two military jets fly by, then hear an explosion and see what wasAll due respect intended to those who died and lost loved ones on 9/11/01, this is a really awful movie. As mentioned in other reviews, not only is there terrible acting, directing, producing, etc but there are conflicting reports as to what really happened. So this movie is part legend and part fiction. Some witnesses saw two military jets fly by, then hear an explosion and see what was left fall directly out of the sky. A real crash would have spread debris and (sorry) body parts for miles. Instead, coroners gave up after 20 minutes realizing this wasn't a crash and there was nothing left. But then we have the legend told to us by the government and media. If this movie were about anything else, it would have gone straight to video. Expand
  29. AndrewH.
    Jun 28, 2006
    0
    I watched this one last night and I wasn't impressed. What's the point of the film? What is the message of the film? Perhaps the point is to be a historical document in which case a message isn't necessarily appropriate. But if it's a historical document, (and I found myself thinking this during it) how much of it is actually historical? Was hot water really used as a I watched this one last night and I wasn't impressed. What's the point of the film? What is the message of the film? Perhaps the point is to be a historical document in which case a message isn't necessarily appropriate. But if it's a historical document, (and I found myself thinking this during it) how much of it is actually historical? Was hot water really used as a weapon? Why, in a film supposedly about Flight 93, does more than half of it deal with the WTC? If the writer had simply accepted that his movie was not a documentary, he might've felt more liberated to engage in exploration of the some the rivettingly interesting dynamics that another director (like Oliver Stone) would be glad to have the opportunity to use to say something. As it is, we are left with a film that has either a completely distinct location from any film ever shot or a film with no location at all. Frankly, after watching it, I don't care which. I remember 9/11 and it hurt me. Watching this film at times allowed me to remember that pain, but not to deal with it, not to understand it in a different way, and not to feel it more deeply than I originally had, so I say phooey. Well, now we know that tragedy plus time plus a bad writer/director equals boring. Expand
  30. ReelWorld
    Jul 17, 2006
    0
    Pure speculation about an event that supposedly took place. After seeing all the proof against flight 93, it was near impossible to sit thru this fiction. Trying to drum up emotions and create the "Rah, Rah, USA" vibe to add a feel-good story to a tragic day. Hollywood and anyone who praises this film should be ashamed of themselves.
  31. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    Not as good as trainspeircer 3d it was SO GOOD

    Oh please! NO one survived! How does anyone really know what happened or what was said? Sure let's make believe but no one actually knows! Right down to the hair and makeup? Really? This was factual? NOPE!
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 80
    Best understood as a memorial…Like most memorials, it is respectful, premised on competing obligations to the dead and the living, and eager to stress that the deaths were not in vain. It not only tells us we should never forget but also illustrates how we should remember.
  2. Pulling the bandage of sentiment cleanly away from oozing concepts like ''heroism'' and ''our nation's war on terror'' in the aftermath of recent wounds, here's a drama about the most politically charged crisis of our time that grants the dignity of autonomy to every soul involved.
  3. Greengrass has made not only a thoroughly fact-checked film but a film that uncontrovertibly comes from the heart.