Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 28, 2006
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 373 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
278
Mixed:
39
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JackS.Apr 29, 2006
This was an exhaustive movie, and I really didn't want to watch it, but I'm glad I did. I was forgetting about the purpose of this war.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiannS.Apr 29, 2006
Our family went to see this movie together, and I recommend that others consider this. It is very emotional, and you leave the theatre in tears.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.May 16, 2006
If you don't think you're ready to see this flawlessly conceived but necessarily wrenching, almost unbearable recreation of the heroic but tragic September 11, 2001 plane crash, in which passengers successfully prevented terrorists If you don't think you're ready to see this flawlessly conceived but necessarily wrenching, almost unbearable recreation of the heroic but tragic September 11, 2001 plane crash, in which passengers successfully prevented terrorists from taking a hijacked plane to its intended destination but everyone perished in the process, you probably shouldn't. But for anybody--critics, pundits and others--to cry "Too soon!" is completely misguided: if it isn't too soon for Scary Novie 4 to include a joke about George W. Bush's initial reaction to the attacks while reading "My Pet Goat" in a classroom, it isn't too soon for Paul Greengrass to provide his scrupulously responsible, consummately researched tribute to the United 93 heroes both airborne and on the ground. Given how tricky his task was and how easy it would've been to trivialize the subject matter any step along the way, it's amazing not only that Greengrass never steps wrong but how completely right ALL his decisions were, from not casting any recognizable "name" actors at all (which in complex historical dramas like JFK is a perfectly honorable technique for allowing audiences to easily tell characters apart, but would be completely out of place here) to his avoidance of backstories, his use of real time, his employment of subtitles only when the terrorists are talking to one another (so we get a real feel of how terrifying it was for the passengers to be screamed at and threatened in a language they don't understand) , and the dynamic visual equivalent of Greengrass's honest admission that neither he nor anyone else will precisely know what happened in the flight's last few minutes. Greengress's sensitivity and restraint extends to his use of the famous "Let's roll" quote, which is muted but not omitted (how could it be?); it's heard here at least three times but in each case it's difficult to tell who said it. And while Greengrass doesn't milk the human dramas, what we do get is triply unforgettable and heartbreaking, especially in the beginning when we hear pilots and flight attendants chatting about kids, crushes and vacation time. We don't witness ALL the doomed passengers saying a final goodbye to their loved ones, but what we do see and hear reminded me indelibly of what I believe is 9/11's greatest (and all too quickly forgotten) human lesson: never let a day go by without letting the most important people in your life know how much you love them, and never leave an argument with one of them unresolved. Due ironically to 9/11 and its aftermath, not since the early 1950s have we been confronted so frequently (sometimes for the right reasons but mostly for the wrong ones) on what it truly means to be a good American, and it's fascinating to note that 2006's two best films thus far, this and the joyous spelling bee drama Akeelah and the Bee (which I strongly advise seeing AFTER you see this one), though obviously and vastly different in tone, both provide such tremendously inspiring depictions and examples of Americans at their very best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieN.May 17, 2006
Amazing! The best movie of the year so far!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StefanoF.May 22, 2006
If you only want entertainment this movie is not for you. If you want to thoughtfullly remember that day and the sacrifice these Americans made please see this movie. From the first moment I watched this film till the end I felt quesy to my If you only want entertainment this movie is not for you. If you want to thoughtfullly remember that day and the sacrifice these Americans made please see this movie. From the first moment I watched this film till the end I felt quesy to my stomach. Not just becasue it reminded me of that painfuil day but because the movie was so realistic you felt like you were watching live video. The director did not lean on too much mood music or big shot names but instead made a film that honored the spirits that were released from flight 93 on 9/11. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryAug 28, 2006
The most upsetting film I have ever sat through. But perhaps also the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricK.Sep 12, 2006
This movie brings into prospective what a humanist we all are...whether who's right or wrong we should strive for everyone's peace and happiness on our planet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KipM.Dec 19, 2006
Here's a twist: a highly political movie with no biased agenda of its own. This moving film is packed with far more truth than your average documentary. Using a cast of unknowns, Paul Greengrass has put a human face on a national Here's a twist: a highly political movie with no biased agenda of its own. This moving film is packed with far more truth than your average documentary. Using a cast of unknowns, Paul Greengrass has put a human face on a national tragedy, and doesn't make the hijackers out to be cold-blooded murderers but rather steadfast believers in their faith. And it still doesn't make light of the horrific events. This is a film about heroism, not about who did what right or wrong. The best movie of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
seDec 27, 2006
Powerful movie. my heart was racing from the opening credits till the end. no glorification, no over acting, just the minute by minute of the events of 9/11. watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
csw12Jun 7, 2013
United 93 is filmmaking at its absolute finest. By giving every detail of the events that unfolded that day, Greengrass creates and intense atmosphere like you were right there along side. Brilliantly executed, thoroughly engrossing andUnited 93 is filmmaking at its absolute finest. By giving every detail of the events that unfolded that day, Greengrass creates and intense atmosphere like you were right there along side. Brilliantly executed, thoroughly engrossing and chilling as it builds to its inevitable conclusion. United 93 will go down as one of the most intensely powerful films I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Mar 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The question synonymous with days like September 11th 2001 is not what, who or why, but where; as in where were you when the planes hit the WTC, where were you when the Pentagon was hit and where were you when the towers fell? This film tells the 'Where were you?' story of the people on board flight United 93, the hijacked plane headed towards the White House and the story of those on the ground in air traffic control watching the events of the day unfold.
The movie is gripping, emotional and well written so that it doesn't come across as offensive but it does come across as uncomfortable. The major criticisms I have with the film is the poor and unbeleiveable acting and poor camerawork on the plane sections. Of course shooting inside a space as small as that couldn't have been easy but when the film really picks up within the last 20 minutes or so its just hard to tell what on earth is actually going on because the camera is so shaky.
A film that shouldn't be missed about an event that certainly wont be forgotten
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 23, 2013
Director Paul Greengrass really boosts it up in this horrorific fact-based epidemic. It's an engaging and sad movie about the true story of a plane called Flight 93 that got hijacked by terrorists on 9/11. This is a tremendous way to showDirector Paul Greengrass really boosts it up in this horrorific fact-based epidemic. It's an engaging and sad movie about the true story of a plane called Flight 93 that got hijacked by terrorists on 9/11. This is a tremendous way to show that normal citizens chose to stand for what is right and tried to stop the terrorists plan. Even though this movie is a true story, it's just amazing to see how the people on Flight 93 chose to take action. I love how there are no big well-known hollywood actors in this movie. It just shows that you don't need Tom Hanks or Liam Neeson or any well-known actor to help make a big and deep movie like this one. Plus, this movie is deep and riveting. It's just so sad yet intense at the same time. And at the end when the plane crashes and the screen goes pitch black, my heart just stopped. I never a story like this could be told like the way it was. Overall, it's a true dedication to those who lost their lives on 9/11. May those who lost there lives on that dreadful day remain in peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UtopianStuffMay 27, 2013
United 93 took place on flight United 93 and counted down to its demise on September 11, 2001. A topic most writers jump through hoops to avoid. United 93 personally touched my heart and gave me emotions of extreme melancholy. It flawlesslyUnited 93 took place on flight United 93 and counted down to its demise on September 11, 2001. A topic most writers jump through hoops to avoid. United 93 personally touched my heart and gave me emotions of extreme melancholy. It flawlessly describes the tragedy that the events during 9/11 were. I wouldn't say It was uplifting because in my opinion it wasn't, it was dark, senseless, tragic, and awful. However, the heroism of the passengers seemed quite impressive and uplifting, until you find out their lives ended so abruptly. You will feel for the characters, due to the fact that they died for no apparent reason, however, they did sacrifice their lives in order to protect the lives of thousands of other people. So in the end I say United 93 is by far one of the most emotional 9/11 movies out there, its beautiful, well acted, well directed and bold (topic wise). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysMar 17, 2014
United 93 is one of the most emotionally moving, powerful films about 9/11; maybe even one of the most powerful, emotionally moving movies ever.

Greengrass carefully avoids airplane movie clichés, as this would've taken away from the
United 93 is one of the most emotionally moving, powerful films about 9/11; maybe even one of the most powerful, emotionally moving movies ever.

Greengrass carefully avoids airplane movie clichés, as this would've taken away from the authenticity of the movie. Every moment of the movie is tense, and the last 10 minutes are masterfully crafted, intense shots. But the best part of the movie is how it is in no way exploitive; rather, it honors the victims of 9/11, and proves that the people on this flight were heroes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviematthewFeb 11, 2014
A tensely suspenseful movie with a smashing ending(literally), United 93 is a amazing movie to behold. the film weaves an intricate story about the infamous Flight 93, and what happened on it. Set against the backdrop of 9/11, United 93A tensely suspenseful movie with a smashing ending(literally), United 93 is a amazing movie to behold. the film weaves an intricate story about the infamous Flight 93, and what happened on it. Set against the backdrop of 9/11, United 93 follows the bravery and heroism of the deceased passengers of the fateful flight, as they fight a tense and suicidal battle against Al Qaeda hijackers. With skilled cinematography by Barry Ackroyd, and incredible directing by Paul Greengrass, United 93 is exciting, tense, and heartbreaking at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMar 20, 2017
It was a very powerful movie. The acting was good, the cinematography was very good and the movie was, overall, very intense. It was interesting to see the behind of the hijack and how the controllers reacted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
United 93 recreates the events of 9/11 in a movie that is marked by seriousness and sincerity. Even when the outcome is already known, it is still extremely tense and emotionally wrenching. Kudos to the actors/actresses too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
This is one of the finest movies I've ever seen. The only thing bad I have to say of this film is the way it was filmed. It seems like anyone with a hand held video camera could have filmed this movie. Other than that it tells the story ofThis is one of the finest movies I've ever seen. The only thing bad I have to say of this film is the way it was filmed. It seems like anyone with a hand held video camera could have filmed this movie. Other than that it tells the story of the flight passengers and crew preventing the deaths of so many more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoApr 24, 2017
"United 93" was an exceptional film, although the rhythm in the first part was very slow, the second part was too intense, including the end, is a very good story told in the events of September 11, 2001, And the hijacking of planes by the"United 93" was an exceptional film, although the rhythm in the first part was very slow, the second part was too intense, including the end, is a very good story told in the events of September 11, 2001, And the hijacking of planes by the Arabs, and the United 93 flight the last of the hijacked planes, the director Paul Greengrass, transmitted a great message and enigmas that we did not see in the tragedy that shook the United States. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 25, 2016
United 93 brings in excitement and never ends that exciting point. If you watched several other movies, don't forget to watch United 93 everywhere you go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
Okay, there is a lot of controversy surrounding Paul Greengrass' 2006 masterwork ''United 93'' and i get why, sure i do, but i read a great deal of ignorant commenters pulling arguments out of their asses to have a reason to hate on thisOkay, there is a lot of controversy surrounding Paul Greengrass' 2006 masterwork ''United 93'' and i get why, sure i do, but i read a great deal of ignorant commenters pulling arguments out of their asses to have a reason to hate on this movie which is just plain ridiculous. They're saying things like ''It's bad because its unrealistic, the United 93 plane was shot down, they never reached the cabin, they didnt even have telephones to call, and things like that, which pisses me off, because if anyone does the slightest bit of research in what went on in and around the United 93 plane, they can figure out this movie is very close to the truth. (How far it is legitimately known ofcourse)
Calls were made, they have exact timestamps of when, they did reach the cabin there is proof of that from the sound from the Blackbox, the plane was not shot down, but crashed as depicted, because where it crashed it left like a 28m deep crater, and you dont get that by being shot down, you create that by flying into the ground with 900 km/h.

Now i have that out of the way i just want to say that ''United 93'' is an incredible film, it is realistic, visceral, pulse-pounding, gut wrenching, heartbreaking, emotionally heavy film. People might say ''Why choose this subject matter to entertain people and make money off of'' well my reply to those is, if there is one thing this movie isnt, it is entertaining, this movie is far from entertaining, its a heavy and visceral movie experience that you wont like, but it will move you. This isnt a movie you'd want to pop in on a Friday night to have a good time with your pal's. No it defenitly isnt.
As for the money making aspect, i dont think this movie made much money and it wasnt intended to do so (Unlike 'World Trade Center' which is also a very known 9/11 movie, that is most sertainly a bad film, United 93 is a harrowing chronicle and has scarcely a hint of Hollywood. ) , it treated it subject matter meticulously and paid respect to the victims of the horrible attacks.

United 93 is by far the best movie about terrorism, and certainly the best movie tackeling the heavy subject of the 9/11 attacks.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews