Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 28, 2006
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 376 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
281
Mixed:
39
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
MaseMay 6, 2006
Not an easy movie to watch, this movie challenges what exactly you are looking for from the cinema. All aside when if you get it, this movie will punch you in the gut.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PrudenceKhillersMay 7, 2006
I really despise this film. I brought kleenex, because I thought I would cry during this. Well, I certainly did not... didn't capture anything of what I remember from the day. Extreme disappointment. The entire "film" was EXACTLY like aI really despise this film. I brought kleenex, because I thought I would cry during this. Well, I certainly did not... didn't capture anything of what I remember from the day. Extreme disappointment. The entire "film" was EXACTLY like a TV movie. Pathetic. The story is sad... but I knew what was going to happen. Didn't pay any respect for the real heroes and nearly offends me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomD.May 7, 2006
Emotionally distant in one scene and then nose-deep in shaking, powerful drama the next. I can't say I enjoyed it, but I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulFratianniMay 7, 2006
I'm not embellishing when I say this was either a perfect movie or very close to it. From the first moment I started watching I felt a queasy feeling in my stomach. This movie had power. I would not call this an entertaining movie but II'm not embellishing when I say this was either a perfect movie or very close to it. From the first moment I started watching I felt a queasy feeling in my stomach. This movie had power. I would not call this an entertaining movie but I do not think that was the point. There was very little mood music, the terrorists did not come across as desiring to be evil but rather zealous about their beliefs. There was an interesting point of dueling prayers. This was an essential movie to help reawaken an America falling back into its slumber ***Spoiler*** One thing that gave me more respect for these passengers and less for the readiness of the American political and military system, is without their actions the Capital Building would in all probability have been hit with who knows how many other causalities. Thank You all for your willingness to fight your fear and sacrifice for our right to be free. Do not let anyone kid you, this is not about some vast conspiracy drawn up by George W. Bush, Secret Societies, And the Oil Companies. This is about a particular brand of Islam (and not too uncommon in the middle-east) whose goal is a one World Islam. In this world there is no room for freedom of thought. Dissent is met with among many other things death. Just watch what they are doing to each other in the middle-east. Realize we are at war and still are. We are fighting an enemy whose methods are unscrupulous and difficult to tract with the end goal ill virtued among other things. I will not preach as to what needs to be done but this movie relit the fire of knowledge for me that this issue needs constant attention. When we let ourselves sleep and not see the writing on the wall events like 9/11 happen. I encourage all who read this to educate yourselves. One thing I am disheartened about in America, which thankfully on 9/11 we weren Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.RikardMay 8, 2006
As the credits roll and the term "starring" appears it should read "us." Greengrass powerfully, unapologetically places us on that flight. It is a flight we need to take. This film, created in a documentary fashion, reminds us that the As the credits roll and the term "starring" appears it should read "us." Greengrass powerfully, unapologetically places us on that flight. It is a flight we need to take. This film, created in a documentary fashion, reminds us that the wounds of that day are far from healed. Our vulnerability becomes more evident as each minute of viewing passes. I left the theater with a wound believed to be healed ripped forcefully open. Now the healing process can begin again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TheElusivePossomJun 12, 2006
I'll admit from the start (as it's probably a factor in my score) I took my seat before the screening of United 93 expecting to hate it. I left the same thatre angry that anyone would like it: a possible good idea completely shat I'll admit from the start (as it's probably a factor in my score) I took my seat before the screening of United 93 expecting to hate it. I left the same thatre angry that anyone would like it: a possible good idea completely shat all over by dire, dire acting. In a poor attempt at the mockumentary style, we see GI Joe dishing out orders in the only way Hollywood understands, with information being relayed by Britney Spears, who had clearly never heard of the word 'scans' before filming. The film also attempts to rape the viewers sympathy, with every passenger on the fateful trip the parent of several children, or focusing attention on a smiley granny pleading for a glass of water. I'm sorry if this means I have a heart of stone (I DID cry at the end of Titanic) but I won't buy in to the fad of exploiting tragic historical events and shock people into giving praise. I'm aware of this film's apparent universal acclaim by critics, so to me, this review marks the triumph of freedom in opinion. Woo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PaulH.Jun 15, 2006
This is a pretty moving picture to sit through, absolutely heart-breaking at times and yet reflecting a few days afterwards i find myself feeling a bit conned...Firstly as a re-enactment based on true life it looks way too slick and This is a pretty moving picture to sit through, absolutely heart-breaking at times and yet reflecting a few days afterwards i find myself feeling a bit conned...Firstly as a re-enactment based on true life it looks way too slick and shiny,way too edited and staged..But i guess this is a Hollywood treatment and what would one expect.Has the look and feel of a made-for-tv film.Will be forgotten about immediately. Does not make you think at all about anything. A crass example of manipulating audiences emotions Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TiffanyV.Jun 22, 2006
The entire film was riveting from beginning to end and left you feeling breathless and stunned. We all know the story, but living it with those that were on the front-line was shocking and moving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RachelS.Jul 20, 2006
It feels like hollywood waits for something disastrous to happen just so they can make some money out of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndyG.Jul 5, 2006
Exploitation at its most shameless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdAug 5, 2006
An Unforgettable Masterpiece! Inspiring, touching and powerful. United 93 is unmissable!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidP.Aug 7, 2006
United 93 is a mesmerizng look into the tragedy that fell upon us on 9/11. Free of all hollywood BS, Greengrass looks to evoke emotion in viewers, emotions most haven't felt since that day. And for all the haters, open your minds a United 93 is a mesmerizng look into the tragedy that fell upon us on 9/11. Free of all hollywood BS, Greengrass looks to evoke emotion in viewers, emotions most haven't felt since that day. And for all the haters, open your minds a little bit. This as much of a cash-in as the news stories covering the event itself. So get your heads out of your asses, and give some respect. This movie isn't about history, so it's not trying to give a recout of the event, it's about survival, and how people just like you and me can rise in our darkest hours to fight, and live. Never before has a movie been so inspiring to me, or brought out as much emotion as this one. It was brutal. I couldn't satnd to watch, but I couldn't look away. I saw the movie alone, and I almost left the theatre because I couldn't take it. This is probably the one movie that everybody MUST see, but not everyone will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurySep 10, 2006
Incredibly powerful. That movie stirs up so much emotion that it's almost painful. It moved me way more that World Trade Center did (although it was a good movie too). Needless to say, this isn't the kind of film that you watch Incredibly powerful. That movie stirs up so much emotion that it's almost painful. It moved me way more that World Trade Center did (although it was a good movie too). Needless to say, this isn't the kind of film that you watch more than once. But believe me, that one time is totally worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronSSep 18, 2006
I won't see a better film this year. Masterful filmmaking-the most visceral and intense film I've seen in nearly 25 years of serious film-going.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Sep 18, 2006
A decent and well-crafted movie that eludes the trap of Hollywood-ization and maintains strict political neutrality, while zooming in on the human aspects of the tragic drama of people who found themselves in the wrong place at the wrong time..
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BlisterfishCafeSep 27, 2006
Impossible to say if it is historically accurate. It turns out they never reached cockpit. Just too soon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MitchT.Jan 15, 2007
One of the most heart-wrenching movies I have ever seen. We all knew the fates of all on board, but everyone kept hoping for something else, something that didn't come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NadieJan 15, 2007
Very well done. You forget that is a movie and start seeing it as documentary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
No, this is not sensationalizing 9/11. It is also not an in-depth character study of the poor souls who crashed in Pennsylvania. It is a very well-constructed movie, shot in real time and featuring several of the real people who manned the No, this is not sensationalizing 9/11. It is also not an in-depth character study of the poor souls who crashed in Pennsylvania. It is a very well-constructed movie, shot in real time and featuring several of the real people who manned the Air Traffic Control center. It starts slowly in a large airport and ends rapidly in a cramped cockpit. For two hours, it builds to that point, and keeps you riveted. United 93 is a superb film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinB.Feb 13, 2007
When I went to the cinema to see this movie, I did not know who directed it. But whithin the first five minutes I realized the documentary, intense style an directly compared it with "Bloody Sunday", a former movie directed by Paul When I went to the cinema to see this movie, I did not know who directed it. But whithin the first five minutes I realized the documentary, intense style an directly compared it with "Bloody Sunday", a former movie directed by Paul Greengrass. I thought: If this movie is any way like "Bloody Sunday" with this topic, it will be very amazing... And it took my breath away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RGFeb 21, 2007
Paul Greengrass is one of the best directors in the world right now. It should come as no surprise that he made a movie like this; if anyone saw his previous fictionally documetary film Bloody Sunday. Both movies are very similar in style Paul Greengrass is one of the best directors in the world right now. It should come as no surprise that he made a movie like this; if anyone saw his previous fictionally documetary film Bloody Sunday. Both movies are very similar in style and content. Both events have a significant place in history. we all knw how big 9/11 was and its place in history, even though its relatively fresh. That reason alone rejects ppls notion that its too early to tackle this. there is no exploitation, cheap thrills or any other Hollywood marketing scheme. Greengrass just commemorates. His portrayal of every character is hauntingly normal, and their vulnerability hints at that any of them could have been any of us who are still alive. it is in the end a choice for ppl who watch, to relive this vulnerability and face their feelings about this event. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonJ.May 29, 2007
This movie has been playing non-stop on HBO lately and I cannot turn the channel once it's on. The old saying, "the truth has a certain ring to it" is fully applicable to this movie. It is so real, that you can't take your eyes off This movie has been playing non-stop on HBO lately and I cannot turn the channel once it's on. The old saying, "the truth has a certain ring to it" is fully applicable to this movie. It is so real, that you can't take your eyes off of it. The only viewers who would not be moved by this movie are those who really don't get, care, or are too scared about what happened on 9/11. For the rest of us, this movie is nothing short of a real-life, real-time evesdrop upon one of the most heart-wrenching things to ever happen to a group of human beings. I'm not the type of person who watches a movie more than once, but I've sat through this movie at least 4 times start to finish within the past month or two. This movie belongs in the national history archive and in any "top" list of movies. Truth is stranger than fiction and this movie certainly beats anything that's made-up. Watch it and remember. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoséS.Apr 24, 2006
best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikePeronApr 26, 2006
Great movie - but still - tragey happens every day. Seems a little selfish to single out this one and ignore the everyday heros.

Personaly i think what the passengers did was heroic - but obvious to anyone who was in their situation. Why
Great movie - but still - tragey happens every day. Seems a little selfish to single out this one and ignore the everyday heros.

Personaly i think what the passengers did was heroic - but obvious to anyone who was in their situation. Why would anyone let a few thugs with boxcutters control their lives
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherApr 28, 2006
I had to holdback the tears at the end of the movie. To go back to that day and experience it all over again was hard to do, but this film recaptures this event respectfully. Oliver Stone's World Trade Center is going to be hardpressedI had to holdback the tears at the end of the movie. To go back to that day and experience it all over again was hard to do, but this film recaptures this event respectfully. Oliver Stone's World Trade Center is going to be hardpressed to come even close to the emotional impact this movie has had on me or many of the viewers that have already seen this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
larrystoneApr 28, 2006
9's and 10's. Give me a break! Put the flag away and evaluate the movie on it's merits, not on the subject of the movie. I saw a 5 star review in a local paper today. Why don't we just give it the Oscar right now .....9's and 10's. Give me a break! Put the flag away and evaluate the movie on it's merits, not on the subject of the movie. I saw a 5 star review in a local paper today. Why don't we just give it the Oscar right now ..... why wait. Let's keep it in perspective and do a fair job of reviewing the film regardless of the topic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateApr 28, 2006
Reading the 911 commission's report does not prepare you for this movie. It's quite intense when the passengers rush the cockpit. I had to pull myself back a bit. While there is some conjecture as to how the events played out onReading the 911 commission's report does not prepare you for this movie. It's quite intense when the passengers rush the cockpit. I had to pull myself back a bit. While there is some conjecture as to how the events played out on board, this movie accurately reflects what we know to be true: that if those men hadn't acted, we would be rebuilding the capital. Excellent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PrintNinjaApr 29, 2006
This is simply a disgrace.

No matter how good a film this may be, I would never go see it. It never should have been made. I don't need a film full of conjecture to know that the passengers of United 93 were heros. That is a fact.
This is simply a disgrace.

No matter how good a film this may be, I would never go see it. It never should have been made. I don't need a film full of conjecture to know that the passengers of United 93 were heros. That is a fact. No American, no human being, with a conscious should be making money off one of the worst events in our Country's history. Not one dime. That includes the theaters, the concession stands, the parking attendents, whomever. I don't care how great the film is. I don't care if the victim's families endorsed it. You want to make a memorial, then make a memorial, but I'll be dam*ed before I'll give someone $10 of my money because some filmmaker felt five years was enough of a cooling off period to revisit this horrible event theatrically. Maybe living in NY and having tears spontaneously run down my cheeks for months has hardened me to the filmmakers "good intentions", but as far as I'm concerned, unless this film is being shown for free as a public service, and the filmmakers are providing free therapy for all the people who will be traumatized from seeing it (and there certainly will be some), then America simply doesn't need this. Let me say it again... AMERICA DOESN'T NEED THIS!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomO.Apr 29, 2006
I was conflicted about seeing this film at all, but two reviews I read in the last several days tipped the balance. For me the subject is very painful and unsettling, as it is for many. If Paul Greengrass and his creative team succeeded in I was conflicted about seeing this film at all, but two reviews I read in the last several days tipped the balance. For me the subject is very painful and unsettling, as it is for many. If Paul Greengrass and his creative team succeeded in telling this awful story really well, I reasoned, it would be all the more harrowing. I think many others may feel as ambivalent as I, because my theater had only three or four customers on the opening day of the film. That Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeApr 29, 2006
emotional,wrenching, powerful. makes you proud of the common man and mystified by the undertones of religiousity from opposing views.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilA.Apr 29, 2006
This film may not be the greatest story ever told. It may not have any CGI. It may not have any A-list celebrity actors, but it's got one thing that makes it better than any film that has all of those things...a true story about REAL This film may not be the greatest story ever told. It may not have any CGI. It may not have any A-list celebrity actors, but it's got one thing that makes it better than any film that has all of those things...a true story about REAL AMERICAN HEROES. This film paints an unvarnished view of how one piece of the terrorist plot on 9/11 was thwarted by a plane load of average Americans. Everybody needs to see this film and be reminded of the threat America is facing by the militant fundamentalist Islamo-facists in the Middle-East. If you want a portrait of evil on earth, this film will bring it home. Thank you Paul Greengrass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChachiKruelApr 29, 2006
The movie is based completely on cockpit recordings, conversations with families that were talking to their loved ones on the plane, and includes people who play themselves such as the FAA administrator and the NORAD general that dealt withThe movie is based completely on cockpit recordings, conversations with families that were talking to their loved ones on the plane, and includes people who play themselves such as the FAA administrator and the NORAD general that dealt with the situation as it happened. Very little is speculation. Every American should watch this movie. We're facing an evil enemy and we should all stand up to them or they'll try to kill us all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisApr 29, 2006
Brilliant, masterful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenT.Apr 29, 2006
It is impossible not to flash back, when the military and air traffic control people are screaming "Where's the President?" on Michael Moore's footage of our leader sitting in that Florida classroom. It is Greengrass' genius It is impossible not to flash back, when the military and air traffic control people are screaming "Where's the President?" on Michael Moore's footage of our leader sitting in that Florida classroom. It is Greengrass' genius that he lets us make that connection, rather than force it upon us. This is bravura film making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredG.Apr 29, 2006
This film did justice to a historic tragedy of which we hope to never experience again. Its impact left the theater I was in silent, somber and reflective - rightly so. The fact that there were heroes on that plane serves as a necessary This film did justice to a historic tragedy of which we hope to never experience again. Its impact left the theater I was in silent, somber and reflective - rightly so. The fact that there were heroes on that plane serves as a necessary reminder to all of us. Because of their courage, the plane did not get where the hijackers intended it to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackS.Apr 29, 2006
This was an exhaustive movie, and I really didn't want to watch it, but I'm glad I did. I was forgetting about the purpose of this war.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiannS.Apr 29, 2006
Our family went to see this movie together, and I recommend that others consider this. It is very emotional, and you leave the theatre in tears.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.May 16, 2006
If you don't think you're ready to see this flawlessly conceived but necessarily wrenching, almost unbearable recreation of the heroic but tragic September 11, 2001 plane crash, in which passengers successfully prevented terrorists If you don't think you're ready to see this flawlessly conceived but necessarily wrenching, almost unbearable recreation of the heroic but tragic September 11, 2001 plane crash, in which passengers successfully prevented terrorists from taking a hijacked plane to its intended destination but everyone perished in the process, you probably shouldn't. But for anybody--critics, pundits and others--to cry "Too soon!" is completely misguided: if it isn't too soon for Scary Novie 4 to include a joke about George W. Bush's initial reaction to the attacks while reading "My Pet Goat" in a classroom, it isn't too soon for Paul Greengrass to provide his scrupulously responsible, consummately researched tribute to the United 93 heroes both airborne and on the ground. Given how tricky his task was and how easy it would've been to trivialize the subject matter any step along the way, it's amazing not only that Greengrass never steps wrong but how completely right ALL his decisions were, from not casting any recognizable "name" actors at all (which in complex historical dramas like JFK is a perfectly honorable technique for allowing audiences to easily tell characters apart, but would be completely out of place here) to his avoidance of backstories, his use of real time, his employment of subtitles only when the terrorists are talking to one another (so we get a real feel of how terrifying it was for the passengers to be screamed at and threatened in a language they don't understand) , and the dynamic visual equivalent of Greengrass's honest admission that neither he nor anyone else will precisely know what happened in the flight's last few minutes. Greengress's sensitivity and restraint extends to his use of the famous "Let's roll" quote, which is muted but not omitted (how could it be?); it's heard here at least three times but in each case it's difficult to tell who said it. And while Greengrass doesn't milk the human dramas, what we do get is triply unforgettable and heartbreaking, especially in the beginning when we hear pilots and flight attendants chatting about kids, crushes and vacation time. We don't witness ALL the doomed passengers saying a final goodbye to their loved ones, but what we do see and hear reminded me indelibly of what I believe is 9/11's greatest (and all too quickly forgotten) human lesson: never let a day go by without letting the most important people in your life know how much you love them, and never leave an argument with one of them unresolved. Due ironically to 9/11 and its aftermath, not since the early 1950s have we been confronted so frequently (sometimes for the right reasons but mostly for the wrong ones) on what it truly means to be a good American, and it's fascinating to note that 2006's two best films thus far, this and the joyous spelling bee drama Akeelah and the Bee (which I strongly advise seeing AFTER you see this one), though obviously and vastly different in tone, both provide such tremendously inspiring depictions and examples of Americans at their very best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WileMay 17, 2006
All due respect intended to those who died and lost loved ones on 9/11/01, this is a really awful movie. As mentioned in other reviews, not only is there terrible acting, directing, producing, etc but there are conflicting reports as to whatAll due respect intended to those who died and lost loved ones on 9/11/01, this is a really awful movie. As mentioned in other reviews, not only is there terrible acting, directing, producing, etc but there are conflicting reports as to what really happened. So this movie is part legend and part fiction. Some witnesses saw two military jets fly by, then hear an explosion and see what was left fall directly out of the sky. A real crash would have spread debris and (sorry) body parts for miles. Instead, coroners gave up after 20 minutes realizing this wasn't a crash and there was nothing left. But then we have the legend told to us by the government and media. If this movie were about anything else, it would have gone straight to video. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieN.May 17, 2006
Amazing! The best movie of the year so far!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StefanoF.May 22, 2006
If you only want entertainment this movie is not for you. If you want to thoughtfullly remember that day and the sacrifice these Americans made please see this movie. From the first moment I watched this film till the end I felt quesy to my If you only want entertainment this movie is not for you. If you want to thoughtfullly remember that day and the sacrifice these Americans made please see this movie. From the first moment I watched this film till the end I felt quesy to my stomach. Not just becasue it reminded me of that painfuil day but because the movie was so realistic you felt like you were watching live video. The director did not lean on too much mood music or big shot names but instead made a film that honored the spirits that were released from flight 93 on 9/11. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewH.Jun 28, 2006
I watched this one last night and I wasn't impressed. What's the point of the film? What is the message of the film? Perhaps the point is to be a historical document in which case a message isn't necessarily appropriate. But I watched this one last night and I wasn't impressed. What's the point of the film? What is the message of the film? Perhaps the point is to be a historical document in which case a message isn't necessarily appropriate. But if it's a historical document, (and I found myself thinking this during it) how much of it is actually historical? Was hot water really used as a weapon? Why, in a film supposedly about Flight 93, does more than half of it deal with the WTC? If the writer had simply accepted that his movie was not a documentary, he might've felt more liberated to engage in exploration of the some the rivettingly interesting dynamics that another director (like Oliver Stone) would be glad to have the opportunity to use to say something. As it is, we are left with a film that has either a completely distinct location from any film ever shot or a film with no location at all. Frankly, after watching it, I don't care which. I remember 9/11 and it hurt me. Watching this film at times allowed me to remember that pain, but not to deal with it, not to understand it in a different way, and not to feel it more deeply than I originally had, so I say phooey. Well, now we know that tragedy plus time plus a bad writer/director equals boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ReelWorldJul 17, 2006
Pure speculation about an event that supposedly took place. After seeing all the proof against flight 93, it was near impossible to sit thru this fiction. Trying to drum up emotions and create the "Rah, Rah, USA" vibe to add a feel-good storyPure speculation about an event that supposedly took place. After seeing all the proof against flight 93, it was near impossible to sit thru this fiction. Trying to drum up emotions and create the "Rah, Rah, USA" vibe to add a feel-good story to a tragic day. Hollywood and anyone who praises this film should be ashamed of themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GaryAug 28, 2006
The most upsetting film I have ever sat through. But perhaps also the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricK.Sep 12, 2006
This movie brings into prospective what a humanist we all are...whether who's right or wrong we should strive for everyone's peace and happiness on our planet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AshrafA.Nov 24, 2006
This is a great way for movie producers to exploit a tragedy! Decently made movie, but the message seems like it has been repeated...hundreds of times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KipM.Dec 19, 2006
Here's a twist: a highly political movie with no biased agenda of its own. This moving film is packed with far more truth than your average documentary. Using a cast of unknowns, Paul Greengrass has put a human face on a national Here's a twist: a highly political movie with no biased agenda of its own. This moving film is packed with far more truth than your average documentary. Using a cast of unknowns, Paul Greengrass has put a human face on a national tragedy, and doesn't make the hijackers out to be cold-blooded murderers but rather steadfast believers in their faith. And it still doesn't make light of the horrific events. This is a film about heroism, not about who did what right or wrong. The best movie of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
seDec 27, 2006
Powerful movie. my heart was racing from the opening credits till the end. no glorification, no over acting, just the minute by minute of the events of 9/11. watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
csw12Jun 7, 2013
United 93 is filmmaking at its absolute finest. By giving every detail of the events that unfolded that day, Greengrass creates and intense atmosphere like you were right there along side. Brilliantly executed, thoroughly engrossing andUnited 93 is filmmaking at its absolute finest. By giving every detail of the events that unfolded that day, Greengrass creates and intense atmosphere like you were right there along side. Brilliantly executed, thoroughly engrossing and chilling as it builds to its inevitable conclusion. United 93 will go down as one of the most intensely powerful films I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Mar 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The question synonymous with days like September 11th 2001 is not what, who or why, but where; as in where were you when the planes hit the WTC, where were you when the Pentagon was hit and where were you when the towers fell? This film tells the 'Where were you?' story of the people on board flight United 93, the hijacked plane headed towards the White House and the story of those on the ground in air traffic control watching the events of the day unfold.
The movie is gripping, emotional and well written so that it doesn't come across as offensive but it does come across as uncomfortable. The major criticisms I have with the film is the poor and unbeleiveable acting and poor camerawork on the plane sections. Of course shooting inside a space as small as that couldn't have been easy but when the film really picks up within the last 20 minutes or so its just hard to tell what on earth is actually going on because the camera is so shaky.
A film that shouldn't be missed about an event that certainly wont be forgotten
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ZavaroSep 13, 2014
Not as good as trainspeircer 3d it was SO GOOD

Oh please! NO one survived! How does anyone really know what happened or what was said? Sure let's make believe but no one actually knows! Right down to the hair and makeup? Really? This was
Not as good as trainspeircer 3d it was SO GOOD

Oh please! NO one survived! How does anyone really know what happened or what was said? Sure let's make believe but no one actually knows! Right down to the hair and makeup? Really? This was factual? NOPE!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Oct 16, 2017
I don't think people understand just how tremendous of an undertaking this was for writer-director Paul Greengrass. Crafting a cinematic interpretation of one of the most harrowing events in recent human history is no small task, and it comesI don't think people understand just how tremendous of an undertaking this was for writer-director Paul Greengrass. Crafting a cinematic interpretation of one of the most harrowing events in recent human history is no small task, and it comes with its fair share of risks. You could end up turning the event in question into some kind of romanticized Hollywood wet dream, in effect bastardizing the memories of the deceased in the process. You could get important facts wrong, potentially misinforming hundreds of thousands - if not millions - of people. You could seemingly reignite all the pain, horror, and anguish that audience members felt on that day for the sole purpose of personal profit. But with "United 93," Paul Greengrass does none of these things. He displays an achingly powerful, honest, and unforgettable cinematic retelling of what happened in the air that fateful day, and he does it without bombast or aggrandizement. He simply tells the story to the best of his ability, and he does so in masterful fashion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 23, 2013
Director Paul Greengrass really boosts it up in this horrorific fact-based epidemic. It's an engaging and sad movie about the true story of a plane called Flight 93 that got hijacked by terrorists on 9/11. This is a tremendous way to showDirector Paul Greengrass really boosts it up in this horrorific fact-based epidemic. It's an engaging and sad movie about the true story of a plane called Flight 93 that got hijacked by terrorists on 9/11. This is a tremendous way to show that normal citizens chose to stand for what is right and tried to stop the terrorists plan. Even though this movie is a true story, it's just amazing to see how the people on Flight 93 chose to take action. I love how there are no big well-known hollywood actors in this movie. It just shows that you don't need Tom Hanks or Liam Neeson or any well-known actor to help make a big and deep movie like this one. Plus, this movie is deep and riveting. It's just so sad yet intense at the same time. And at the end when the plane crashes and the screen goes pitch black, my heart just stopped. I never a story like this could be told like the way it was. Overall, it's a true dedication to those who lost their lives on 9/11. May those who lost there lives on that dreadful day remain in peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UtopianStuffMay 27, 2013
United 93 took place on flight United 93 and counted down to its demise on September 11, 2001. A topic most writers jump through hoops to avoid. United 93 personally touched my heart and gave me emotions of extreme melancholy. It flawlesslyUnited 93 took place on flight United 93 and counted down to its demise on September 11, 2001. A topic most writers jump through hoops to avoid. United 93 personally touched my heart and gave me emotions of extreme melancholy. It flawlessly describes the tragedy that the events during 9/11 were. I wouldn't say It was uplifting because in my opinion it wasn't, it was dark, senseless, tragic, and awful. However, the heroism of the passengers seemed quite impressive and uplifting, until you find out their lives ended so abruptly. You will feel for the characters, due to the fact that they died for no apparent reason, however, they did sacrifice their lives in order to protect the lives of thousands of other people. So in the end I say United 93 is by far one of the most emotional 9/11 movies out there, its beautiful, well acted, well directed and bold (topic wise). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysMar 17, 2014
United 93 is one of the most emotionally moving, powerful films about 9/11; maybe even one of the most powerful, emotionally moving movies ever.

Greengrass carefully avoids airplane movie clichés, as this would've taken away from the
United 93 is one of the most emotionally moving, powerful films about 9/11; maybe even one of the most powerful, emotionally moving movies ever.

Greengrass carefully avoids airplane movie clichés, as this would've taken away from the authenticity of the movie. Every moment of the movie is tense, and the last 10 minutes are masterfully crafted, intense shots. But the best part of the movie is how it is in no way exploitive; rather, it honors the victims of 9/11, and proves that the people on this flight were heroes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviematthewFeb 11, 2014
A tensely suspenseful movie with a smashing ending(literally), United 93 is a amazing movie to behold. the film weaves an intricate story about the infamous Flight 93, and what happened on it. Set against the backdrop of 9/11, United 93A tensely suspenseful movie with a smashing ending(literally), United 93 is a amazing movie to behold. the film weaves an intricate story about the infamous Flight 93, and what happened on it. Set against the backdrop of 9/11, United 93 follows the bravery and heroism of the deceased passengers of the fateful flight, as they fight a tense and suicidal battle against Al Qaeda hijackers. With skilled cinematography by Barry Ackroyd, and incredible directing by Paul Greengrass, United 93 is exciting, tense, and heartbreaking at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMar 20, 2017
It was a very powerful movie. The acting was good, the cinematography was very good and the movie was, overall, very intense. It was interesting to see the behind of the hijack and how the controllers reacted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
United 93 recreates the events of 9/11 in a movie that is marked by seriousness and sincerity. Even when the outcome is already known, it is still extremely tense and emotionally wrenching. Kudos to the actors/actresses too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
This is one of the finest movies I've ever seen. The only thing bad I have to say of this film is the way it was filmed. It seems like anyone with a hand held video camera could have filmed this movie. Other than that it tells the story ofThis is one of the finest movies I've ever seen. The only thing bad I have to say of this film is the way it was filmed. It seems like anyone with a hand held video camera could have filmed this movie. Other than that it tells the story of the flight passengers and crew preventing the deaths of so many more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoApr 24, 2017
"United 93" was an exceptional film, although the rhythm in the first part was very slow, the second part was too intense, including the end, is a very good story told in the events of September 11, 2001, And the hijacking of planes by the"United 93" was an exceptional film, although the rhythm in the first part was very slow, the second part was too intense, including the end, is a very good story told in the events of September 11, 2001, And the hijacking of planes by the Arabs, and the United 93 flight the last of the hijacked planes, the director Paul Greengrass, transmitted a great message and enigmas that we did not see in the tragedy that shook the United States. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 25, 2016
United 93 brings in excitement and never ends that exciting point. If you watched several other movies, don't forget to watch United 93 everywhere you go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
Okay, there is a lot of controversy surrounding Paul Greengrass' 2006 masterwork ''United 93'' and i get why, sure i do, but i read a great deal of ignorant commenters pulling arguments out of their asses to have a reason to hate on thisOkay, there is a lot of controversy surrounding Paul Greengrass' 2006 masterwork ''United 93'' and i get why, sure i do, but i read a great deal of ignorant commenters pulling arguments out of their asses to have a reason to hate on this movie which is just plain ridiculous. They're saying things like ''It's bad because its unrealistic, the United 93 plane was shot down, they never reached the cabin, they didnt even have telephones to call, and things like that, which pisses me off, because if anyone does the slightest bit of research in what went on in and around the United 93 plane, they can figure out this movie is very close to the truth. (How far it is legitimately known ofcourse)
Calls were made, they have exact timestamps of when, they did reach the cabin there is proof of that from the sound from the Blackbox, the plane was not shot down, but crashed as depicted, because where it crashed it left like a 28m deep crater, and you dont get that by being shot down, you create that by flying into the ground with 900 km/h.

Now i have that out of the way i just want to say that ''United 93'' is an incredible film, it is realistic, visceral, pulse-pounding, gut wrenching, heartbreaking, emotionally heavy film. People might say ''Why choose this subject matter to entertain people and make money off of'' well my reply to those is, if there is one thing this movie isnt, it is entertaining, this movie is far from entertaining, its a heavy and visceral movie experience that you wont like, but it will move you. This isnt a movie you'd want to pop in on a Friday night to have a good time with your pal's. No it defenitly isnt.
As for the money making aspect, i dont think this movie made much money and it wasnt intended to do so (Unlike 'World Trade Center' which is also a very known 9/11 movie, that is most sertainly a bad film, United 93 is a harrowing chronicle and has scarcely a hint of Hollywood. ) , it treated it subject matter meticulously and paid respect to the victims of the horrible attacks.

United 93 is by far the best movie about terrorism, and certainly the best movie tackeling the heavy subject of the 9/11 attacks.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews