User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 343 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 343
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    This is one of the finest movies I've ever seen. The only thing bad I have to say of this film is the way it was filmed. It seems like anyone with a hand held video camera could have filmed this movie. Other than that it tells the story of the flight passengers and crew preventing the deaths of so many more.
  2. Nov 9, 2014
    9
    United 93 recreates the events of 9/11 in a movie that is marked by seriousness and sincerity. Even when the outcome is already known, it is still extremely tense and emotionally wrenching. Kudos to the actors/actresses too.
  3. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    Not as good as trainspeircer 3d it was SO GOOD

    Oh please! NO one survived! How does anyone really know what happened or what was said? Sure let's make believe but no one actually knows! Right down to the hair and makeup? Really? This was factual? NOPE!
  4. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    United 93 is one of the most emotionally moving, powerful films about 9/11; maybe even one of the most powerful, emotionally moving movies ever.

    Greengrass carefully avoids airplane movie clichés, as this would've taken away from the authenticity of the movie. Every moment of the movie is tense, and the last 10 minutes are masterfully crafted, intense shots. But the best part of the
    United 93 is one of the most emotionally moving, powerful films about 9/11; maybe even one of the most powerful, emotionally moving movies ever.

    Greengrass carefully avoids airplane movie clichés, as this would've taken away from the authenticity of the movie. Every moment of the movie is tense, and the last 10 minutes are masterfully crafted, intense shots. But the best part of the movie is how it is in no way exploitive; rather, it honors the victims of 9/11, and proves that the people on this flight were heroes.
    Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    A tensely suspenseful movie with a smashing ending(literally), United 93 is a amazing movie to behold. the film weaves an intricate story about the infamous Flight 93, and what happened on it. Set against the backdrop of 9/11, United 93 follows the bravery and heroism of the deceased passengers of the fateful flight, as they fight a tense and suicidal battle against Al Qaeda hijackers.A tensely suspenseful movie with a smashing ending(literally), United 93 is a amazing movie to behold. the film weaves an intricate story about the infamous Flight 93, and what happened on it. Set against the backdrop of 9/11, United 93 follows the bravery and heroism of the deceased passengers of the fateful flight, as they fight a tense and suicidal battle against Al Qaeda hijackers. With skilled cinematography by Barry Ackroyd, and incredible directing by Paul Greengrass, United 93 is exciting, tense, and heartbreaking at the same time. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2014
    4
    First off i would like to point out that i mean no disrespect to anyone in this review, because i'm here to review the movie not the events that it based on.
    the movie isn't about the united airline 93 until 55 long minutes, the movie is loud and the camera work was down right terrible and that's coming from the director of the wonderful captain Phillips and the Bourne trilogy, and i do
    First off i would like to point out that i mean no disrespect to anyone in this review, because i'm here to review the movie not the events that it based on.
    the movie isn't about the united airline 93 until 55 long minutes, the movie is loud and the camera work was down right terrible and that's coming from the director of the wonderful captain Phillips and the Bourne trilogy, and i do realize it should be a movie inside an airplane, but i felt dizzy watching this.
    and the movie isn't informative at all, i've seen a documentary called "ZERO An Investigation Into 9-11" that almost as long as this movie and it explained everything that happened that day.
    for instance, the whole air traffic noise and buzz was absolutely useless, all what we learned is that the guys were doing their job, the president is the only person who can issue a military strike on possible hijacked airplanes and the military didn't do anything even after the president gave it a GO.
    for me i would like to see the details including the fact that every airplane was forced to land immediately and how they closed their air space without any accidents, but i didn't get to see that.
    also the movie did so little on characters, it's not memorable at all, and the only reason that it is critically acclaimed is the fact that it remind us of a tragedy, but the movie was terrible and could have been way better than this.
    Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    United 93 recreates the events of 9/11 in a movie that is marked by seriousness and sincerity. Even when the outcome is already known, it is still extremely tense and emotionally wrenching. Kudos to the actors/actresses too.
  8. Aug 25, 2013
    6
    This movie is ok. When the film goes to the people in the United 93 airplane is really good. But when it shows what happens down it's really boring and it ruins the whole movie. In the ground the story is solid and seriously when the events happened it's like nobody really cared. But when we see the characters in the plane there is action and suspense
  9. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    United 93 is filmmaking at its absolute finest. By giving every detail of the events that unfolded that day, Greengrass creates and intense atmosphere like you were right there along side. Brilliantly executed, thoroughly engrossing and chilling as it builds to its inevitable conclusion. United 93 will go down as one of the most intensely powerful films I have ever seen.
  10. May 27, 2013
    10
    United 93 took place on flight United 93 and counted down to its demise on September 11, 2001. A topic most writers jump through hoops to avoid. United 93 personally touched my heart and gave me emotions of extreme melancholy. It flawlessly describes the tragedy that the events during 9/11 were. I wouldn't say It was uplifting because in my opinion it wasn't, it was dark, senseless,United 93 took place on flight United 93 and counted down to its demise on September 11, 2001. A topic most writers jump through hoops to avoid. United 93 personally touched my heart and gave me emotions of extreme melancholy. It flawlessly describes the tragedy that the events during 9/11 were. I wouldn't say It was uplifting because in my opinion it wasn't, it was dark, senseless, tragic, and awful. However, the heroism of the passengers seemed quite impressive and uplifting, until you find out their lives ended so abruptly. You will feel for the characters, due to the fact that they died for no apparent reason, however, they did sacrifice their lives in order to protect the lives of thousands of other people. So in the end I say United 93 is by far one of the most emotional 9/11 movies out there, its beautiful, well acted, well directed and bold (topic wise). Expand
  11. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    Director Paul Greengrass really boosts it up in this horrorific fact-based epidemic. It's an engaging and sad movie about the true story of a plane called Flight 93 that got hijacked by terrorists on 9/11. This is a tremendous way to show that normal citizens chose to stand for what is right and tried to stop the terrorists plan. Even though this movie is a true story, it's just amazingDirector Paul Greengrass really boosts it up in this horrorific fact-based epidemic. It's an engaging and sad movie about the true story of a plane called Flight 93 that got hijacked by terrorists on 9/11. This is a tremendous way to show that normal citizens chose to stand for what is right and tried to stop the terrorists plan. Even though this movie is a true story, it's just amazing to see how the people on Flight 93 chose to take action. I love how there are no big well-known hollywood actors in this movie. It just shows that you don't need Tom Hanks or Liam Neeson or any well-known actor to help make a big and deep movie like this one. Plus, this movie is deep and riveting. It's just so sad yet intense at the same time. And at the end when the plane crashes and the screen goes pitch black, my heart just stopped. I never a story like this could be told like the way it was. Overall, it's a true dedication to those who lost their lives on 9/11. May those who lost there lives on that dreadful day remain in peace. Expand
  12. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The question synonymous with days like September 11th 2001 is not what, who or why, but where; as in where were you when the planes hit the WTC, where were you when the Pentagon was hit and where were you when the towers fell? This film tells the 'Where were you?' story of the people on board flight United 93, the hijacked plane headed towards the White House and the story of those on the ground in air traffic control watching the events of the day unfold.
    The movie is gripping, emotional and well written so that it doesn't come across as offensive but it does come across as uncomfortable. The major criticisms I have with the film is the poor and unbeleiveable acting and poor camerawork on the plane sections. Of course shooting inside a space as small as that couldn't have been easy but when the film really picks up within the last 20 minutes or so its just hard to tell what on earth is actually going on because the camera is so shaky.
    A film that shouldn't be missed about an event that certainly wont be forgotten
    Expand
  13. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    This movie should have been a tribute to the heroes who gave their lives to save so many others on 9/11. Instead, they are portrayed as vigilantes who killed themselves. All they had to go on was the black boxes and the phone calls made from the plane, the rest is conjecture and, in my humble opinion, complete and absolute bull Nothing like this happened on that plane. They took a tragicThis movie should have been a tribute to the heroes who gave their lives to save so many others on 9/11. Instead, they are portrayed as vigilantes who killed themselves. All they had to go on was the black boxes and the phone calls made from the plane, the rest is conjecture and, in my humble opinion, complete and absolute bull Nothing like this happened on that plane. They took a tragic story and hollywoodized it until it became a mockery. I was not impressed. Expand
  14. Aug 29, 2011
    1
    Oh please! NO one survived! How does anyone really know what happened or what was said? Sure let's make believe but no one actually knows! Right down to the hair and makeup? Really? This was factual? NOPE!
  15. D.J.Skippen
    Sep 16, 2008
    5
    Good.
  16. JamesE
    Oct 15, 2007
    2
    I don't know if official raters were scared of giving a bad rating in case of being shunned by the public. Don't get me wrong i still think that 911 was a terrible tragedy, but hollywood have exploited this fear and turned it into a film that in no way corresponds with what actually happened. They never made it into the cockpit, There was one less terroist. They insult muslimsI don't know if official raters were scared of giving a bad rating in case of being shunned by the public. Don't get me wrong i still think that 911 was a terrible tragedy, but hollywood have exploited this fear and turned it into a film that in no way corresponds with what actually happened. They never made it into the cockpit, There was one less terroist. They insult muslims and turn them into a sterotype of lunatics who want to kill americans. I live in Dubai and all muslims are kind and just want peace . No offence to any families but they make these guys heros. They make the guys heros. All they did was try and save themselves. This movie was made to make money, upset people and generally give a bad name to muslims. Why the two, the scenes were realisic enough and some details were correct. Expand
  17. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 10, 2007
    2
    Propaganda at its best, compelling but so full of bull it make Bush look intelligent! I reckon most of the 10/10 posters are the same people who cheered on CBS midweek, when they showed pictures of dead muslims. Its so sad that so many people are so brain dead/washed, that they only see the world from an Western view point. Next time you fill up your GMC, ask yourself how many EasternPropaganda at its best, compelling but so full of bull it make Bush look intelligent! I reckon most of the 10/10 posters are the same people who cheered on CBS midweek, when they showed pictures of dead muslims. Its so sad that so many people are so brain dead/washed, that they only see the world from an Western view point. Next time you fill up your GMC, ask yourself how many Eastern people died just to get your gas in that tank? And I bet many of you don't care, as American blood is worth more than the world put together! You, are truly the oppressed ones! Expand
  18. IanB.
    Aug 27, 2007
    5
    Absolutely Boring the first 60 minutes of the film. The last 30 minutes make up for most of the film.
  19. NickA.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Paul Greengrass, acclaimed director of 'Bloody Sunday' and 'The Bourne Supremacy,' provides this film with intensity beyond climax; tautly and intoxicating retelling the events of the ill-fated journey of United Airlines flight 93, which would cease its travel in a field near Shanksville, Pennsylvania. Breaching my personal list of the "100 Greatest Movies Ever Made," Paul Greengrass, acclaimed director of 'Bloody Sunday' and 'The Bourne Supremacy,' provides this film with intensity beyond climax; tautly and intoxicating retelling the events of the ill-fated journey of United Airlines flight 93, which would cease its travel in a field near Shanksville, Pennsylvania. Breaching my personal list of the "100 Greatest Movies Ever Made," Greengrass' '93' is easily the most emotionally strenuous film in a decade, leaving its viewers shocked and still and utterly silenced in horror by its conclusion, which, despite being a film of unparalleled quality, couldn Collapse
  20. JasonJ.
    May 29, 2007
    10
    This movie has been playing non-stop on HBO lately and I cannot turn the channel once it's on. The old saying, "the truth has a certain ring to it" is fully applicable to this movie. It is so real, that you can't take your eyes off of it. The only viewers who would not be moved by this movie are those who really don't get, care, or are too scared about what happened on This movie has been playing non-stop on HBO lately and I cannot turn the channel once it's on. The old saying, "the truth has a certain ring to it" is fully applicable to this movie. It is so real, that you can't take your eyes off of it. The only viewers who would not be moved by this movie are those who really don't get, care, or are too scared about what happened on 9/11. For the rest of us, this movie is nothing short of a real-life, real-time evesdrop upon one of the most heart-wrenching things to ever happen to a group of human beings. I'm not the type of person who watches a movie more than once, but I've sat through this movie at least 4 times start to finish within the past month or two. This movie belongs in the national history archive and in any "top" list of movies. Truth is stranger than fiction and this movie certainly beats anything that's made-up. Watch it and remember. Expand
  21. MikeG.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Probably the most terrifying film ever made and certainly the best film of 2006. The pacing here is nothing short of demonic, but what elevates this film to the level of "masterpiece" is that it contains a stunning veracity that is as lyrical as it is painstakingly real. By not sensationalizing, by refusing to exploit, it stands in direct opposition to the glorified manipulations of the Probably the most terrifying film ever made and certainly the best film of 2006. The pacing here is nothing short of demonic, but what elevates this film to the level of "masterpiece" is that it contains a stunning veracity that is as lyrical as it is painstakingly real. By not sensationalizing, by refusing to exploit, it stands in direct opposition to the glorified manipulations of the post-9/11 experience. This is a truly great film. Expand
  22. LuisR.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    The most important and, quite possibly, the very best film of the year.
  23. RG
    Feb 21, 2007
    9
    Paul Greengrass is one of the best directors in the world right now. It should come as no surprise that he made a movie like this; if anyone saw his previous fictionally documetary film Bloody Sunday. Both movies are very similar in style and content. Both events have a significant place in history. we all knw how big 9/11 was and its place in history, even though its relatively fresh. Paul Greengrass is one of the best directors in the world right now. It should come as no surprise that he made a movie like this; if anyone saw his previous fictionally documetary film Bloody Sunday. Both movies are very similar in style and content. Both events have a significant place in history. we all knw how big 9/11 was and its place in history, even though its relatively fresh. That reason alone rejects ppls notion that its too early to tackle this. there is no exploitation, cheap thrills or any other Hollywood marketing scheme. Greengrass just commemorates. His portrayal of every character is hauntingly normal, and their vulnerability hints at that any of them could have been any of us who are still alive. it is in the end a choice for ppl who watch, to relive this vulnerability and face their feelings about this event. Expand
  24. MartinB.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    When I went to the cinema to see this movie, I did not know who directed it. But whithin the first five minutes I realized the documentary, intense style an directly compared it with "Bloody Sunday", a former movie directed by Paul Greengrass. I thought: If this movie is any way like "Bloody Sunday" with this topic, it will be very amazing... And it took my breath away.
  25. ReidF.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    No, this is not sensationalizing 9/11. It is also not an in-depth character study of the poor souls who crashed in Pennsylvania. It is a very well-constructed movie, shot in real time and featuring several of the real people who manned the Air Traffic Control center. It starts slowly in a large airport and ends rapidly in a cramped cockpit. For two hours, it builds to that point, and No, this is not sensationalizing 9/11. It is also not an in-depth character study of the poor souls who crashed in Pennsylvania. It is a very well-constructed movie, shot in real time and featuring several of the real people who manned the Air Traffic Control center. It starts slowly in a large airport and ends rapidly in a cramped cockpit. For two hours, it builds to that point, and keeps you riveted. United 93 is a superb film. Expand
  26. MitchT.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    One of the most heart-wrenching movies I have ever seen. We all knew the fates of all on board, but everyone kept hoping for something else, something that didn't come.
  27. Nadie
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    Very well done. You forget that is a movie and start seeing it as documentary.
  28. se
    Dec 27, 2006
    8
    Powerful movie. my heart was racing from the opening credits till the end. no glorification, no over acting, just the minute by minute of the events of 9/11. watch it.
  29. AlecR.
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    United 93 was an incredible movie from start to finish. Many people are saying its too early for this kind of movie, and that Hollywood wants money off a horrible disaster. Well, those people have wrapped themselves into that protective cocoon that we had done to ourselves before 9/11. And who cares if some guys acting is bad? In real life people aren't acting. The flight controller United 93 was an incredible movie from start to finish. Many people are saying its too early for this kind of movie, and that Hollywood wants money off a horrible disaster. Well, those people have wrapped themselves into that protective cocoon that we had done to ourselves before 9/11. And who cares if some guys acting is bad? In real life people aren't acting. The flight controller didn't act on 9/11! This movie was well made, and very scary, but I didn't freak out that it showed the Towers getting hit. That actually happened people. Don't act like it didn't. Over all, everyone over the age of 15 should watch this movie so they can really understand what really happened. Incredible movie. Expand
  30. KipM.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    Here's a twist: a highly political movie with no biased agenda of its own. This moving film is packed with far more truth than your average documentary. Using a cast of unknowns, Paul Greengrass has put a human face on a national tragedy, and doesn't make the hijackers out to be cold-blooded murderers but rather steadfast believers in their faith. And it still doesn't make Here's a twist: a highly political movie with no biased agenda of its own. This moving film is packed with far more truth than your average documentary. Using a cast of unknowns, Paul Greengrass has put a human face on a national tragedy, and doesn't make the hijackers out to be cold-blooded murderers but rather steadfast believers in their faith. And it still doesn't make light of the horrific events. This is a film about heroism, not about who did what right or wrong. The best movie of 2006. Expand
  31. JotaG.
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    Fantastic and real.
  32. RobA.
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant movie. Greengrass made all the right choices, I think, from the documentary feel to the casting of unknowns (not allowing us the comfort of "make believe" that stars might have provided). Besides the subject matter, the movie is so disturbing because it feels so raw and real, a power that may have been drained if Greengrass had gone for the more traditional Hollywood Absolutely brilliant movie. Greengrass made all the right choices, I think, from the documentary feel to the casting of unknowns (not allowing us the comfort of "make believe" that stars might have provided). Besides the subject matter, the movie is so disturbing because it feels so raw and real, a power that may have been drained if Greengrass had gone for the more traditional Hollywood storytelling ideas like "character development," which for me is a dicey term anyway. And the movie's final image is so haunting I still can't shake it. The rare movie that is both smart and tremendously moving without trying too hard to be either one. Expand
  33. TimJ.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    A tour de force of modern American docudrama. Many people claiming it as exploitative are missing the point. This movie is one which Hollywood does not usually make, and that it precisely what makes it so haunting.
  34. AshrafA.
    Nov 24, 2006
    5
    This is a great way for movie producers to exploit a tragedy! Decently made movie, but the message seems like it has been repeated...hundreds of times.
  35. BillFi.
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    Best of the year, no lie. i can't believe others rated it lower. What do you think is good? Pirates of the Caribbean?
  36. SteveC
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    An inspiring and beautiful film, a moving tribute to the victims of 9/11. I was really surprised how interesting this film was.
  37. MaineM.
    Oct 23, 2006
    8
    A brilliant film that I could not give a 10, because it is painful to watch at times, as it probably should be. The film unfolds in almost real-time, focusing only on the events over US airspace on that morning. The first half of the movie mostly deals with the frenzied disbelief of those controlling and protecting the airspace, and gradually works it way down to the mesmerizing, and A brilliant film that I could not give a 10, because it is painful to watch at times, as it probably should be. The film unfolds in almost real-time, focusing only on the events over US airspace on that morning. The first half of the movie mostly deals with the frenzied disbelief of those controlling and protecting the airspace, and gradually works it way down to the mesmerizing, and painful final 30 minutes on board flight 93. It is a small movie about a huge event, and that's what makes it work. It is a well-crafted, and tightly knit thriller, with excellent pacing, and, even though you know what will happen, you'll still watch with both anticipation and horror. Other reviews complain about a lack of context and character development, but, I think we all have a context for these events, and the whole point of the film is that these were just people doing what they needed to do. The smattering of personal information is still enough, that when the passengers make those final cell-phone calls to their families, it remains gut-wrenching. Their final decision to storm the terrorists is a simple one, made from circumstance, and highlights the fact that heroic actions are not those of grand plans and designs, but of necessity, to prevent harm to others. If you are not ready to re-live that day from another perspective, then don't see this film, but if you are, you will likely experience some painful emotions, but you may well be rewarded with some greater understanding. Expand
  38. PatC.
    Oct 16, 2006
    8
    No character development, and key elements of plot development for a well-told story are also lacking. But it's not a documentary either. It's more like a scene from a play where the viewer provides what came before and after. But it must rate well from an emotional viewpoint. It puts us dead center in the eye of the storm where we have no idea what is happening or will happen No character development, and key elements of plot development for a well-told story are also lacking. But it's not a documentary either. It's more like a scene from a play where the viewer provides what came before and after. But it must rate well from an emotional viewpoint. It puts us dead center in the eye of the storm where we have no idea what is happening or will happen next. And for that, though the film proceeds more & more into conjecture, is probably as close to the truth as we are likely to see captured on film. It honors the dead by totally refraining from the melodramatic elements of their situations, so the movie is more about them than what the film makers would like us to feel about them. Expand
  39. LesPaul
    Oct 12, 2006
    4
    I give it a 4 for it's portrayl of humanity. However, the facts are so unclear of what actually happened that I consider this an irresponsible film for anyone to make. An event of this magnitude and relevance to the world should only be made into a documentary at most, otherwise it could be looked back upon in the future as propoganda or careless film making. If you haven'tI give it a 4 for it's portrayl of humanity. However, the facts are so unclear of what actually happened that I consider this an irresponsible film for anyone to make. An event of this magnitude and relevance to the world should only be made into a documentary at most, otherwise it could be looked back upon in the future as propoganda or careless film making. If you haven't seen "Loose Change" you should, to get hard facts that support a very different, but at least equally plausible portrayl of what happened to this flight. Expand
  40. BlisterfishCafe
    Sep 27, 2006
    0
    Impossible to say if it is historically accurate. It turns out they never reached cockpit. Just too soon.
  41. AaronS
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    I won't see a better film this year. Masterful filmmaking-the most visceral and intense film I've seen in nearly 25 years of serious film-going.
  42. AaronM.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    This film is ridiculously good. It's so well made, thought provoking, and tear-wrenching. Although people may not like the fact that a movie was made about 9/11, this is the best one that possibly could have been made.
  43. [Anonymous]
    Sep 18, 2006
    8
    A decent and well-crafted movie that eludes the trap of Hollywood-ization and maintains strict political neutrality, while zooming in on the human aspects of the tragic drama of people who found themselves in the wrong place at the wrong time..
  44. BobB
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Alan P. gave it a2:
    A film I left with the feeling I had been cheated. There could be no involvement with any character, the situation or activity. A film made to cash in on the desire for emotional self flagellation over an event few really understand or comprehend. I was was left with the question why bother making such a film.
    Whoever wrote this is a frickin idiot. I know that
    Alan P. gave it a2:
    A film I left with the feeling I had been cheated. There could be no involvement with any character, the situation or activity. A film made to cash in on the desire for emotional self flagellation over an event few really understand or comprehend. I was was left with the question why bother making such a film.

    Whoever wrote this is a frickin idiot. I know that sounds harsh, but it's the truth. No character development...I wonder why...maybe because that was the point!

    Here's a message for you Alan P., When you're giving a film a 2 and you're surrounded by 9s and 10s, either you've proved hundreds of people wrong or you're too intellectually shallow to comprehend even a minute of this masterpiece.
    Expand
  45. NickyB.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Fan-freaking-tastic. After watching this movie I almost went to sign up for the Marine Corps...but I
  46. EricK.
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    This movie brings into prospective what a humanist we all are...whether who's right or wrong we should strive for everyone's peace and happiness on our planet.
  47. KimH.
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    This was an amazing film. Paul Greengrass created a brilliant movie without using human interest as motivation. This movie was made to reflect life at that exact time, even though we all know how it will end, you are still on the edge of your seat as if it were happening for the first time. I dreaded seeing this movie for obvious reasons, but I am very glad that I did!
  48. Laury
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Incredibly powerful. That movie stirs up so much emotion that it's almost painful. It moved me way more that World Trade Center did (although it was a good movie too). Needless to say, this isn't the kind of film that you watch more than once. But believe me, that one time is totally worth it.
  49. SarahT.
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    Brilliantly executed, thoroughly engrossing and chilling as it builds to its inevitable conclusion. A film that looks at the chaos of the day without slipping into a political agenda or an exploitative tug at the heartstrings.
  50. OMG
    Sep 6, 2006
    0
    Faux News...

    "Riveting propaganda at its finest..." - Time

    "4 Stars...." - Newsweek

    "This type of propaganda shouldn't be shown on the big screen, but should be shown on the lawn of the whitehouse"

    - Entertainment Weekly

    ""Explosive. Almost like a missle just blew it out of the sky..." - Variety
    "You would laugh if it were true... " - The New York Times
  51. Gary
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    The most upsetting film I have ever sat through. But perhaps also the best.
  52. AlanP.
    Aug 26, 2006
    2
    A film I left with the feeling I had been cheated. There could be no involvement with any character, the situation or activity. A film made to cash in on the desire for emotional self flagellation over an event few really understand or comprehend. I was was left with the question why bother making such a film.
  53. shanekelly
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    I have not spoken to anyone (who actually saw the movie) that did not truly admire the film. the different angles the film is viewed from, along with the gripping performances made me proud to honor these victims and their families. Put your thoughts of how "wrong" you think the idea of profiting from this tragedy is and go see this movie with an open mind. You will be blown away andI have not spoken to anyone (who actually saw the movie) that did not truly admire the film. the different angles the film is viewed from, along with the gripping performances made me proud to honor these victims and their families. Put your thoughts of how "wrong" you think the idea of profiting from this tragedy is and go see this movie with an open mind. You will be blown away and awarded with an amazing experience. Expand
  54. DavidP.
    Aug 7, 2006
    10
    United 93 is a mesmerizng look into the tragedy that fell upon us on 9/11. Free of all hollywood BS, Greengrass looks to evoke emotion in viewers, emotions most haven't felt since that day. And for all the haters, open your minds a little bit. This as much of a cash-in as the news stories covering the event itself. So get your heads out of your asses, and give some respect. This United 93 is a mesmerizng look into the tragedy that fell upon us on 9/11. Free of all hollywood BS, Greengrass looks to evoke emotion in viewers, emotions most haven't felt since that day. And for all the haters, open your minds a little bit. This as much of a cash-in as the news stories covering the event itself. So get your heads out of your asses, and give some respect. This movie isn't about history, so it's not trying to give a recout of the event, it's about survival, and how people just like you and me can rise in our darkest hours to fight, and live. Never before has a movie been so inspiring to me, or brought out as much emotion as this one. It was brutal. I couldn't satnd to watch, but I couldn't look away. I saw the movie alone, and I almost left the theatre because I couldn't take it. This is probably the one movie that everybody MUST see, but not everyone will. Expand
  55. Andrew
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    One of the best. Really engaged.
  56. Josue
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    The best film of the year!. United 93 deliver us a powerful testament of survival that haunts and leave you stunned and breathless for several minutes after the film ends.
  57. Ed
    Aug 5, 2006
    10
    An Unforgettable Masterpiece! Inspiring, touching and powerful. United 93 is unmissable!
  58. GeorgeW.
    Jul 27, 2006
    0
    sorry guys. the worst kind of propaganda. very slick. but let us not forget that what is being presented in an emotionally masterfully manipulating manner as hard historical fact is at best speculative storytelling. however, it is fully understandable that people want to believe this tragic and heroic version of the story.
  59. RobertN.
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    This is NOT a Hollywood-like production. Weather fact or fiction, this movie portrays a very real, life or death struggle between men. United 93 demonstrates the crude, human emotion that drives us to live
  60. GeraldP.
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    An absolutely riveting, involving film. No other motion picture I have seen this year is as strong as this one. Even-handed to the end, it will raise strong emotions that you cannot surpress.
  61. RachelS.
    Jul 20, 2006
    2
    It feels like hollywood waits for something disastrous to happen just so they can make some money out of it.
  62. AndrewH.
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    I watched this one last night and I wasn't impressed. What's the point of the film? What is the message of the film? Perhaps the point is to be a historical document in which case a message isn't necessarily appropriate. But if it's a historical document, (and I found myself thinking this during it) how much of it is actually historical? Was hot water really used as a I watched this one last night and I wasn't impressed. What's the point of the film? What is the message of the film? Perhaps the point is to be a historical document in which case a message isn't necessarily appropriate. But if it's a historical document, (and I found myself thinking this during it) how much of it is actually historical? Was hot water really used as a weapon? Why, in a film supposedly about Flight 93, does more than half of it deal with the WTC? If the writer had simply accepted that his movie was not a documentary, he might've felt more liberated to engage in exploration of the some the rivettingly interesting dynamics that another director (like Oliver Stone) would be glad to have the opportunity to use to say something. As it is, we are left with a film that has either a completely distinct location from any film ever shot or a film with no location at all. Frankly, after watching it, I don't care which. I remember 9/11 and it hurt me. Watching this film at times allowed me to remember that pain, but not to deal with it, not to understand it in a different way, and not to feel it more deeply than I originally had, so I say phooey. Well, now we know that tragedy plus time plus a bad writer/director equals boring. Expand
  63. ReelWorld
    Jul 17, 2006
    0
    Pure speculation about an event that supposedly took place. After seeing all the proof against flight 93, it was near impossible to sit thru this fiction. Trying to drum up emotions and create the "Rah, Rah, USA" vibe to add a feel-good story to a tragic day. Hollywood and anyone who praises this film should be ashamed of themselves.
  64. AndyG.
    Jul 5, 2006
    0
    Exploitation at its most shameless.
  65. AndrewH.
    Jun 28, 2006
    0
    I watched this one last night and I wasn't impressed. What's the point of the film? What is the message of the film? Perhaps the point is to be a historical document in which case a message isn't necessarily appropriate. But if it's a historical document, (and I found myself thinking this during it) how much of it is actually historical? Was hot water really used as a I watched this one last night and I wasn't impressed. What's the point of the film? What is the message of the film? Perhaps the point is to be a historical document in which case a message isn't necessarily appropriate. But if it's a historical document, (and I found myself thinking this during it) how much of it is actually historical? Was hot water really used as a weapon? Why, in a film supposedly about Flight 93, does more than half of it deal with the WTC? If the writer had simply accepted that his movie was not a documentary, he might've felt more liberated to engage in exploration of the some the rivettingly interesting dynamics that another director (like Oliver Stone) would be glad to have the opportunity to use to say something. As it is, we are left with a film that has either a completely distinct location from any film ever shot or a film with no location at all. Frankly, after watching it, I don't care which. I remember 9/11 and it hurt me. Watching this film at times allowed me to remember that pain, but not to deal with it, not to understand it in a different way, and not to feel it more deeply than I originally had, so I say phooey. Well, now we know that tragedy plus time plus a bad writer/director equals boring. Expand
  66. TiffanyV.
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    The entire film was riveting from beginning to end and left you feeling breathless and stunned. We all know the story, but living it with those that were on the front-line was shocking and moving.
  67. Trix
    Jun 18, 2006
    6
    It was a little too real. It felt more like a historical document than a movie. Maybe it IS too soon, for me, anyway. I've never felt such sadness, frustration and anger watching a movie before. But in a good way. I should rate it higher, but United 93 was the opposite of escapism. If anything, it woke me up even further into stark reality. I don't need that right now.
  68. ColinB.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    Paul Greengrass does it again with the most powerful, gutwrenching film I've ever seen! The film was incredibly realistic and brilliant. It leaves you thinking about the hurt and the paim caused by Sept. 11 for weeks after you see it. One of the things so impressive about it was how he portrayed the terrorists. He didn't create them to be evil goons who were out to destroy the Paul Greengrass does it again with the most powerful, gutwrenching film I've ever seen! The film was incredibly realistic and brilliant. It leaves you thinking about the hurt and the paim caused by Sept. 11 for weeks after you see it. One of the things so impressive about it was how he portrayed the terrorists. He didn't create them to be evil goons who were out to destroy the world; he showed how emotional they became and also showed how they prayed and conversed with their Muslim Gods. They strongly believed that they were doing the right thing. It was a mentally draining film, but one of the greatest triumphs in movie-making history. Expand
  69. AnonymousMC
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    This is the most powerful movie I have ever seen. It kept me fidgeting and on the edge of my seat the whole movie. I appreciate the fact that it was not politically driven. I felt more knowledgable about 911 after seeing this film. I highly recomend it.

    THIS MOVIE SHOULD BE SHOWN IN ALL HISTORY CLASSES IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS FROM NOW UNTIL THE END OF TIME.
  70. PaulH.
    Jun 15, 2006
    4
    This is a pretty moving picture to sit through, absolutely heart-breaking at times and yet reflecting a few days afterwards i find myself feeling a bit conned...Firstly as a re-enactment based on true life it looks way too slick and shiny,way too edited and staged..But i guess this is a Hollywood treatment and what would one expect.Has the look and feel of a made-for-tv film.Will be This is a pretty moving picture to sit through, absolutely heart-breaking at times and yet reflecting a few days afterwards i find myself feeling a bit conned...Firstly as a re-enactment based on true life it looks way too slick and shiny,way too edited and staged..But i guess this is a Hollywood treatment and what would one expect.Has the look and feel of a made-for-tv film.Will be forgotten about immediately. Does not make you think at all about anything. A crass example of manipulating audiences emotions Expand
  71. JamesM.
    Jun 14, 2006
    8
    ~Quite a powerful film, although i think the ending should have been filmed more conclusively. Thought the head boss in the Boston avaiation centre was great. A lot of what happened in the plane was speculation but you have to piece things together from somewhere.
  72. TheElusivePossom
    Jun 12, 2006
    2
    I'll admit from the start (as it's probably a factor in my score) I took my seat before the screening of United 93 expecting to hate it. I left the same thatre angry that anyone would like it: a possible good idea completely shat all over by dire, dire acting. In a poor attempt at the mockumentary style, we see GI Joe dishing out orders in the only way Hollywood understands, I'll admit from the start (as it's probably a factor in my score) I took my seat before the screening of United 93 expecting to hate it. I left the same thatre angry that anyone would like it: a possible good idea completely shat all over by dire, dire acting. In a poor attempt at the mockumentary style, we see GI Joe dishing out orders in the only way Hollywood understands, with information being relayed by Britney Spears, who had clearly never heard of the word 'scans' before filming. The film also attempts to rape the viewers sympathy, with every passenger on the fateful trip the parent of several children, or focusing attention on a smiley granny pleading for a glass of water. I'm sorry if this means I have a heart of stone (I DID cry at the end of Titanic) but I won't buy in to the fad of exploiting tragic historical events and shock people into giving praise. I'm aware of this film's apparent universal acclaim by critics, so to me, this review marks the triumph of freedom in opinion. Woo. Expand
  73. ErwinK.
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    Unbelievable. No film has nailed me to my seat for five minutes after the end credits started rolling. I didn't think it was possible to make movies like this.
  74. ShaneK.
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    The best film since 'Crash'. Simply a must-see. Will grab you by the heart and hold on 'til the very end.
  75. KevinD.
    May 29, 2006
    10
    Incredible. Thought provoking. One of the best this year.
  76. Jake
    May 24, 2006
    10
    One of the most powerful films I have ever seen. If you are ready to relive these events, you should absolutely see it.
  77. AnonymousMC
    May 23, 2006
    0
    Before watching this movie you should do a google video search for a movie called Loose Change and watch that. It pretty much proves that (among other things) flight 93 never crashed. I'm not rating this on entertainment value or anything, I just don't think a movie should have a crazy high score like this when its just feeding off peoples false conceptions about what happened onBefore watching this movie you should do a google video search for a movie called Loose Change and watch that. It pretty much proves that (among other things) flight 93 never crashed. I'm not rating this on entertainment value or anything, I just don't think a movie should have a crazy high score like this when its just feeding off peoples false conceptions about what happened on september 11, 2001. Expand
  78. StefanoF.
    May 22, 2006
    10
    If you only want entertainment this movie is not for you. If you want to thoughtfullly remember that day and the sacrifice these Americans made please see this movie. From the first moment I watched this film till the end I felt quesy to my stomach. Not just becasue it reminded me of that painfuil day but because the movie was so realistic you felt like you were watching live video. The If you only want entertainment this movie is not for you. If you want to thoughtfullly remember that day and the sacrifice these Americans made please see this movie. From the first moment I watched this film till the end I felt quesy to my stomach. Not just becasue it reminded me of that painfuil day but because the movie was so realistic you felt like you were watching live video. The director did not lean on too much mood music or big shot names but instead made a film that honored the spirits that were released from flight 93 on 9/11. Expand
  79. CharlieN.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    Amazing! The best movie of the year so far!
  80. Wile
    May 17, 2006
    0
    All due respect intended to those who died and lost loved ones on 9/11/01, this is a really awful movie. As mentioned in other reviews, not only is there terrible acting, directing, producing, etc but there are conflicting reports as to what really happened. So this movie is part legend and part fiction. Some witnesses saw two military jets fly by, then hear an explosion and see what wasAll due respect intended to those who died and lost loved ones on 9/11/01, this is a really awful movie. As mentioned in other reviews, not only is there terrible acting, directing, producing, etc but there are conflicting reports as to what really happened. So this movie is part legend and part fiction. Some witnesses saw two military jets fly by, then hear an explosion and see what was left fall directly out of the sky. A real crash would have spread debris and (sorry) body parts for miles. Instead, coroners gave up after 20 minutes realizing this wasn't a crash and there was nothing left. But then we have the legend told to us by the government and media. If this movie were about anything else, it would have gone straight to video. Expand
  81. TommyGriffin
    May 16, 2006
    10
    Missing from all but one review is the subtle, recurring religious undertone of four men apparently driven by their need to appease their God and seek heavenly reward by the brutal, suicidal killing of innocent civilians, contrasted by Christian victims praying to a God who chose to be the sacrifice Himself thru His son. We have seen the very basic, frontline elements of jihad at itsMissing from all but one review is the subtle, recurring religious undertone of four men apparently driven by their need to appease their God and seek heavenly reward by the brutal, suicidal killing of innocent civilians, contrasted by Christian victims praying to a God who chose to be the sacrifice Himself thru His son. We have seen the very basic, frontline elements of jihad at its rawest. Although there was great fear, bravery, confusinon and sadness there was also an awakening to a new type of war in which the enemy become the weapons. The only heros are dead heros. Expand
  82. MarkB.
    May 16, 2006
    10
    If you don't think you're ready to see this flawlessly conceived but necessarily wrenching, almost unbearable recreation of the heroic but tragic September 11, 2001 plane crash, in which passengers successfully prevented terrorists from taking a hijacked plane to its intended destination but everyone perished in the process, you probably shouldn't. But for anybody--critics, If you don't think you're ready to see this flawlessly conceived but necessarily wrenching, almost unbearable recreation of the heroic but tragic September 11, 2001 plane crash, in which passengers successfully prevented terrorists from taking a hijacked plane to its intended destination but everyone perished in the process, you probably shouldn't. But for anybody--critics, pundits and others--to cry "Too soon!" is completely misguided: if it isn't too soon for Scary Novie 4 to include a joke about George W. Bush's initial reaction to the attacks while reading "My Pet Goat" in a classroom, it isn't too soon for Paul Greengrass to provide his scrupulously responsible, consummately researched tribute to the United 93 heroes both airborne and on the ground. Given how tricky his task was and how easy it would've been to trivialize the subject matter any step along the way, it's amazing not only that Greengrass never steps wrong but how completely right ALL his decisions were, from not casting any recognizable "name" actors at all (which in complex historical dramas like JFK is a perfectly honorable technique for allowing audiences to easily tell characters apart, but would be completely out of place here) to his avoidance of backstories, his use of real time, his employment of subtitles only when the terrorists are talking to one another (so we get a real feel of how terrifying it was for the passengers to be screamed at and threatened in a language they don't understand) , and the dynamic visual equivalent of Greengrass's honest admission that neither he nor anyone else will precisely know what happened in the flight's last few minutes. Greengress's sensitivity and restraint extends to his use of the famous "Let's roll" quote, which is muted but not omitted (how could it be?); it's heard here at least three times but in each case it's difficult to tell who said it. And while Greengrass doesn't milk the human dramas, what we do get is triply unforgettable and heartbreaking, especially in the beginning when we hear pilots and flight attendants chatting about kids, crushes and vacation time. We don't witness ALL the doomed passengers saying a final goodbye to their loved ones, but what we do see and hear reminded me indelibly of what I believe is 9/11's greatest (and all too quickly forgotten) human lesson: never let a day go by without letting the most important people in your life know how much you love them, and never leave an argument with one of them unresolved. Due ironically to 9/11 and its aftermath, not since the early 1950s have we been confronted so frequently (sometimes for the right reasons but mostly for the wrong ones) on what it truly means to be a good American, and it's fascinating to note that 2006's two best films thus far, this and the joyous spelling bee drama Akeelah and the Bee (which I strongly advise seeing AFTER you see this one), though obviously and vastly different in tone, both provide such tremendously inspiring depictions and examples of Americans at their very best. Expand
  83. SteveA
    May 15, 2006
    9
    What a powerful movie! My only complaint is why remove the children passengers? Why make the youngest passengers in their 20s? I felt this was a little whitewashing. Still a great movie. Extremely realistic.
  84. DaveH.
    May 14, 2006
    10
    One of the most intensely powerful and moving films I have ever seen. Hands down this is the best film of the decade to date.
  85. NathanS.
    May 14, 2006
    7
    First of all, I want to first mention that any criticism towards the movie is not suposed to be meant negatively as I realize the events actually happened and it is a very serious matter. I'm trying to analyze the movie for that - just a movie- nothing more. It's hard to criticize movies like this because they are not really meant to entertain - how can someone be entertained by First of all, I want to first mention that any criticism towards the movie is not suposed to be meant negatively as I realize the events actually happened and it is a very serious matter. I'm trying to analyze the movie for that - just a movie- nothing more. It's hard to criticize movies like this because they are not really meant to entertain - how can someone be entertained by terroism? They are more ment to inform, to make us remember. First off I saw the rave reviews and thought "I gatta see that!" I even had to do some convincing with a friend for a week or so before she agreed to go with me. Well, to sum it up, I was very disappointed. The first hour plus was extremely borning (on an entertainment level) with people in command centers calling one another, and a whole lot of people pointing to small little X's on screens going "Possible hijack! Possible hijack!" I probably heard that phrase 100 times in that hour, no joke. Well, maybe a little exaduration. Anyhow, the good part was when the people actually overtook the plane and made it crash. Well, not good that it crashed, just that was the exciting and thrilling part. Let's just say I didn't leave the movie with joy in my heart, but It did make me remember what our country has gone through and ALMOST make my cry (no movie has ever made me cry). If you want to leave a movie sad, be reminded of terrorism, but at the same time pay your tribute to those who gave yoru lives, see this movie. If you want to go to a movie for entertainment, to go with your girl, to leave happy, to feel entertained, etc, go see something else and wait until maybe 9/11/06 and watch it in a dark room with some kleenex as you remember those who lost their lives. Expand
  86. sk.
    May 13, 2006
    10
    Outstanding movie on a difficult topic. One can't exactly have a happy ending. Also, all the main characters, of course, die. This was a movie about the heroism of the passengers on one flight. Some of them were more important than others in the action, but nothing was contrived, nobody was larger than life. Even the sound track was good, as were the special effects (though this was Outstanding movie on a difficult topic. One can't exactly have a happy ending. Also, all the main characters, of course, die. This was a movie about the heroism of the passengers on one flight. Some of them were more important than others in the action, but nothing was contrived, nobody was larger than life. Even the sound track was good, as were the special effects (though this was not a "special effects movie"). Signficantly, a number of the participants on the ground acted their real-life parts. Expand
  87. EdS.
    May 13, 2006
    10
    The most intense movie going experience for me. This re-creation might have worked as a stand-alone thriller, but we know it's more than that. It's a tribute to those heroes who prevented what might have been the worst disaster on that day.
  88. BenS.
    May 13, 2006
    1
    Give me a break! This pathetic attempt at government propaganda was just stomach-churning for those of us who know what REALLY happened that day.....that plane was shot down, which is why there were pieces of the plane up to 8 MILES from the crash site. This flight, and the rest of the flights, were CONTROLLED BY REMOTE BEACON, NOT HI-JACKED by "Muslims" (why are 8 of the 19 "hi-jackers"Give me a break! This pathetic attempt at government propaganda was just stomach-churning for those of us who know what REALLY happened that day.....that plane was shot down, which is why there were pieces of the plane up to 8 MILES from the crash site. This flight, and the rest of the flights, were CONTROLLED BY REMOTE BEACON, NOT HI-JACKED by "Muslims" (why are 8 of the 19 "hi-jackers" STILL ALIVE, and why are their names NOT on the final flight compliments of any of the airliners? Hmmmm?). They're trying to convince you that the people's cellphones actually WORKED at that altitude? Pleeeease. Oh, and a bunch of passengers charged the "Muslim Hi-jackers" with "box-cutters"? Riiiiiiiight. This movie was so factually inaccurate it was almost hilarious. Many will scream that I am "dishonoring the memories of the victims" by writing this. On the contrary, I'm honoring them by asking some very disturbing questions and seeking answers. "United 93" is a LIE, people. Get the facts before you make an emotional judgement. Expand
  89. JayC
    May 12, 2006
    8
    I left outragged at the lack of coordination and decision making of everyone except the head traffic control leader. Where were all of the military aircraft? Where were our leaders when we needed a fast decision? I expected the ending verbage to say "we have fixed our system of command and control so this won't happen again"
  90. DylanS.
    May 12, 2006
    10
    Great!
  91. matta.
    May 10, 2006
    5
    I was not impressed. Very messy direction, bad acting, and I even found the writing (was it mostly improvised?) to be shoddy. It just didn't resonate with me emotionally. I would say that Slate's critic is the only one that has the balls to be honest and admit that this movie kind of sucked. All of the other critics just don't want to put down a movie about 9/11.
  92. michellec.
    May 10, 2006
    10
    Without a doubt the best movie I have seen this year!!! Being prepared with a box of kleenex was simply not enough. I simply could not anticipate the pit in my stomach. It was amazing how real this was and how it triggered the emotions of that very day. The cast of unknowns was phenonmenal and direction was brillant. This truly speaks to the heroism the country witnessed during and Without a doubt the best movie I have seen this year!!! Being prepared with a box of kleenex was simply not enough. I simply could not anticipate the pit in my stomach. It was amazing how real this was and how it triggered the emotions of that very day. The cast of unknowns was phenonmenal and direction was brillant. This truly speaks to the heroism the country witnessed during and following this tragedy. Expand
  93. R.Rikard
    May 8, 2006
    10
    As the credits roll and the term "starring" appears it should read "us." Greengrass powerfully, unapologetically places us on that flight. It is a flight we need to take. This film, created in a documentary fashion, reminds us that the wounds of that day are far from healed. Our vulnerability becomes more evident as each minute of viewing passes. I left the theater with a wound believed As the credits roll and the term "starring" appears it should read "us." Greengrass powerfully, unapologetically places us on that flight. It is a flight we need to take. This film, created in a documentary fashion, reminds us that the wounds of that day are far from healed. Our vulnerability becomes more evident as each minute of viewing passes. I left the theater with a wound believed to be healed ripped forcefully open. Now the healing process can begin again. Expand
  94. BradB.
    May 8, 2006
    9
    Grenngrass knows how to get the most out of his actors - using real world air traffic controllers and military personnel has added a depth to the dimension of the tragedy that day.
  95. Chele
    May 8, 2006
    7
    Not like the TV A & E movie-- better for the families to watch this one....and a lot was about the Air Traffic controllers and no names were really mentioned on the plane of who was who- but you know them if you've followed the story. I did not cry at this but did on Flight 93. Very respectful movie.
  96. PaulFratianni
    May 7, 2006
    10
    I'm not embellishing when I say this was either a perfect movie or very close to it. From the first moment I started watching I felt a queasy feeling in my stomach. This movie had power. I would not call this an entertaining movie but I do not think that was the point. There was very little mood music, the terrorists did not come across as desiring to be evil but rather zealous aboutI'm not embellishing when I say this was either a perfect movie or very close to it. From the first moment I started watching I felt a queasy feeling in my stomach. This movie had power. I would not call this an entertaining movie but I do not think that was the point. There was very little mood music, the terrorists did not come across as desiring to be evil but rather zealous about their beliefs. There was an interesting point of dueling prayers. This was an essential movie to help reawaken an America falling back into its slumber ***Spoiler*** One thing that gave me more respect for these passengers and less for the readiness of the American political and military system, is without their actions the Capital Building would in all probability have been hit with who knows how many other causalities. Thank You all for your willingness to fight your fear and sacrifice for our right to be free. Do not let anyone kid you, this is not about some vast conspiracy drawn up by George W. Bush, Secret Societies, And the Oil Companies. This is about a particular brand of Islam (and not too uncommon in the middle-east) whose goal is a one World Islam. In this world there is no room for freedom of thought. Dissent is met with among many other things death. Just watch what they are doing to each other in the middle-east. Realize we are at war and still are. We are fighting an enemy whose methods are unscrupulous and difficult to tract with the end goal ill virtued among other things. I will not preach as to what needs to be done but this movie relit the fire of knowledge for me that this issue needs constant attention. When we let ourselves sleep and not see the writing on the wall events like 9/11 happen. I encourage all who read this to educate yourselves. One thing I am disheartened about in America, which thankfully on 9/11 we weren Expand
  97. TomD.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Emotionally distant in one scene and then nose-deep in shaking, powerful drama the next. I can't say I enjoyed it, but I highly recommend it.
  98. PrudenceKhillers
    May 7, 2006
    0
    I really despise this film. I brought kleenex, because I thought I would cry during this. Well, I certainly did not... didn't capture anything of what I remember from the day. Extreme disappointment. The entire "film" was EXACTLY like a TV movie. Pathetic. The story is sad... but I knew what was going to happen. Didn't pay any respect for the real heroes and nearly offends me.
  99. Mase
    May 6, 2006
    8
    Not an easy movie to watch, this movie challenges what exactly you are looking for from the cinema. All aside when if you get it, this movie will punch you in the gut.
  100. DavidZ.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Wonderful telling of a story we all know but need to remember. The notion that it has no overt moral to my mind is a tribute to the moviemakers. We don't need to be preached at. It simply shows the truth.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 80
    Best understood as a memorial…Like most memorials, it is respectful, premised on competing obligations to the dead and the living, and eager to stress that the deaths were not in vain. It not only tells us we should never forget but also illustrates how we should remember.
  2. Pulling the bandage of sentiment cleanly away from oozing concepts like ''heroism'' and ''our nation's war on terror'' in the aftermath of recent wounds, here's a drama about the most politically charged crisis of our time that grants the dignity of autonomy to every soul involved.
  3. Greengrass has made not only a thoroughly fact-checked film but a film that uncontrovertibly comes from the heart.