Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Feb 16, 2011
    50
    Beyond the occasional plot frissons and juicy supporting turns, it's an emotionally and psychologically threadbare exercise.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Feb 15, 2011
    50
    As with its protagonist, Unknown boasts tantalizing issues buried deep beneath its frantic exterior, but little idea how to unlock or address them.
  3. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Feb 24, 2011
    40
    This is no more (but no less?) than what we have rather oddly come to expect from Neeson in his late period (Taken, The A-Team).
  4. Reviewed by: Elvis Mitchell
    Feb 17, 2011
    40
    That's eventually what Unknown is - violent, impersonal and comforting.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 16, 2011
    40
    There are a couple of intriguing ideas floating around here and there, but that's all they do - float around, unmoored by any sense of reality and, thus, suspense.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Feb 17, 2011
    38
    Trying to decipher all the convoluted pathways could drive you mad. Mostly, though, it is so ludicrous that it will unintentionally inspire laughter.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 17, 2011
    30
    All of the nonsense piled on nonsense does provide some measure of pleasure. Unknown gets better by getting worse.
  8. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 15, 2011
    25
    Unknown makes no sense at all, so you not only worry about Liam Neeson's judgment in movies, but you begin to wonder if he's forgotten how to read.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 77
  2. Negative: 13 out of 77
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    I do not expect this movie to win any awards. However, this movie was very entertaining. It kept my attention from start to finish. TheI do not expect this movie to win any awards. However, this movie was very entertaining. It kept my attention from start to finish. The acting was good. The plot was interesting. There were several "twists" in the story that were interesting and understandable. It is my opinion that a few of the "action" scenes were exorbitant, but in 2011 it is probably expected by a majority of the audience. I recommend this film. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2011
    8
    Very entertaining movie. Lots of action but not overdone and good plot. I went in thinking the plot was going to be ridiculous but itVery entertaining movie. Lots of action but not overdone and good plot. I went in thinking the plot was going to be ridiculous but it wasn't, it was reasonable. Enjoyable actors to watch. Overall a fun time at a movie. Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Enjoyed the movie until the ending. Not as much action for something that is advertised as action packed. Had more then one occasion where moments that should have been surprising were not. Diane Kruger kicked more butt then Neeson. Spoilers:

    How a terrorist can plant a bomb, admit to planting it to a room filled with people, have it explode, then stroll away without a whole country searching for him is crazy. Yes, the guy saved some people's lives, but he still blew up a hotel! The ending was absolutely unrealistic. The writing was trying so hard to be smart and then made such a stupid mistake in the end.
    Full Review »