Unknown

Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Feb 17, 2011
    90
    A stylish and muscular thriller with some nifty twists and turns, a wicked sense of humor, several terrific performances and not one or even two but three of the best car chases in recent action-flick history.
  2. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Feb 19, 2011
    75
    It works as designed.
  3. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Feb 18, 2011
    75
    Unknown actually has enough of a sense of humor to admit what it is: hybrid corn. But it's been crossbred from Hitchcockian stock.
  4. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 17, 2011
    75
    Neeson has a way of getting upset - a frantic purposefulness - that fills viewers with both empathy and anticipation: He's so miserable that we care.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Feb 17, 2011
    75
    The weakest link in Unknown - okay, other than the utter preposterousness of its entire premise - is Jones, who as a modern-day version of Hitch's ice queens can't hold her own with the likes of Kim Novak, Grace Kelly and Eva Marie Saint.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 17, 2011
    75
    It's all very Hitchcockian, at least for a while. And clever and exciting, too, even if the convergences begin to strain credulity, and, when you think about it, defy logic, too.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Feb 17, 2011
    75
    Sleek and, until a stupidly violent climax, very entertaining, Unknown is the opposite of "Memento."
  8. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 16, 2011
    75
    Unknown is finely tuned pulp filmmaking, a dumb movie with a smart veneer, which is nothing to sneeze at.
  9. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Feb 18, 2011
    70
    Though cinematographer Flavio Labiano turns the city into an alien maze of steel and glass, his chilling work is undercut by a script with more logical craters than Martin's.
  10. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Feb 17, 2011
    70
    You could do worse than this fast-paced, cheerfully ridiculous, generally satisfying romp.
  11. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Despite its A-movie aspirations, as the chases continue and the plot holes widen, Unknown quickly settles into the familiar B-movie comfort zone.
  12. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Feb 17, 2011
    70
    A nifty international thriller of the "what if?" variety.
  13. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Feb 16, 2011
    70
    Jones delivers her line readings so robotically that even her truths sound like lies. She's got the look of a Hitchcock blonde, and the movements of a deer in the headlights. Even her kisses look fake.
  14. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    Feb 16, 2011
    70
    Director Jaume Collet-Serra provides a steady flow of suspense and a very Polanski-esque feeling of paranoia.
  15. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 18, 2011
    63
    On a minute-to-minute level, it's an engaging mystery, the kind that rewards our participation with eye candy and adrenaline shots. But when we pull back for an overview, we see that it's flat and that pieces are missing.
  16. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Feb 17, 2011
    63
    Neeson is much better suited to the loneliness and self-doubt of Martin's crisis than he was for the thuggery of the previous movie.
  17. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Feb 16, 2011
    63
    Unknown is never boring, and Collet-Serra mostly keeps up a lively pace, but he doesn't do the movie any favors with the flat, dull way he films the scene in which we finally learn what's going on.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 83
  2. Negative: 13 out of 83
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    I do not expect this movie to win any awards. However, this movie was very entertaining. It kept my attention from start to finish. TheI do not expect this movie to win any awards. However, this movie was very entertaining. It kept my attention from start to finish. The acting was good. The plot was interesting. There were several "twists" in the story that were interesting and understandable. It is my opinion that a few of the "action" scenes were exorbitant, but in 2011 it is probably expected by a majority of the audience. I recommend this film. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2011
    8
    Very entertaining movie. Lots of action but not overdone and good plot. I went in thinking the plot was going to be ridiculous but itVery entertaining movie. Lots of action but not overdone and good plot. I went in thinking the plot was going to be ridiculous but it wasn't, it was reasonable. Enjoyable actors to watch. Overall a fun time at a movie. Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Enjoyed the movie until the ending. Not as much action for something that is advertised as action packed. Had more then one occasion where moments that should have been surprising were not. Diane Kruger kicked more butt then Neeson. Spoilers:

    How a terrorist can plant a bomb, admit to planting it to a room filled with people, have it explode, then stroll away without a whole country searching for him is crazy. Yes, the guy saved some people's lives, but he still blew up a hotel! The ending was absolutely unrealistic. The writing was trying so hard to be smart and then made such a stupid mistake in the end.
    Full Review »