User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 240

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    I do not expect this movie to win any awards. However, this movie was very entertaining. It kept my attention from start to finish. The acting was good. The plot was interesting. There were several "twists" in the story that were interesting and understandable. It is my opinion that a few of the "action" scenes were exorbitant, but in 2011 it is probably expected by a majority ofI do not expect this movie to win any awards. However, this movie was very entertaining. It kept my attention from start to finish. The acting was good. The plot was interesting. There were several "twists" in the story that were interesting and understandable. It is my opinion that a few of the "action" scenes were exorbitant, but in 2011 it is probably expected by a majority of the audience. I recommend this film. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    I can see now that I will never be a professional movie reviewer. The pros have lost the simple pleasure of just being a spectator and taking the ride. I suppose the premise was a bit unbelievable but not beyond plausibility. The action was intense but largely within the bounds of Newtonian physics. Hero's hanging off helicopters by one pinky toe while curving bullets is a sure way toI can see now that I will never be a professional movie reviewer. The pros have lost the simple pleasure of just being a spectator and taking the ride. I suppose the premise was a bit unbelievable but not beyond plausibility. The action was intense but largely within the bounds of Newtonian physics. Hero's hanging off helicopters by one pinky toe while curving bullets is a sure way to suspend my suspension of disbelief. I don't recall a single instance during Unknown that triggered my b.s. alarm. (And it has a hair trigger!) Like the cabbies bumper sticker says "get in, shut up, hang on... and enjoy the ride." I did and am grateful for the experience. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I thought the twists we're good, and it was very suspenseful. I cant really see why the critics have given this movie such a bad rating, it makes absolutely no sense at all. Take a look at true grit...... it was incredibly boring, plot lacking, etc,etc. Critics gave that one an +80% rating, while this movie which kept me entertained, and actually did its job as a movie got atrociousI thought the twists we're good, and it was very suspenseful. I cant really see why the critics have given this movie such a bad rating, it makes absolutely no sense at all. Take a look at true grit...... it was incredibly boring, plot lacking, etc,etc. Critics gave that one an +80% rating, while this movie which kept me entertained, and actually did its job as a movie got atrocious reviews. I don't really see where Unknown failed, its plausibility of story line? Thats not what makes a great film.... Everything was very well put, and i had the same feeling i got from watching the Bourne series, which somehow also got bad reviews. Ive come to realize that if avatar can get a ridiculously high score, while having a recycled plot line, that the reviewing system is broken. Reviewers have lost touch in what makes movies very good. The true reviews come from the users which are the ones who actually experience the cinema unbiased. This movie gets a 9/10 from based on entrainment, suspense, twists, and action..... F movie critics. Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Unknown looks extremely awesome and Liam Neeson could kick any ass in the movie,since Taken which is okay. But this epic thriller looks groundbreaking clever film that is so dark and deeply suspenseful.
  5. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    You all know because of the trailers that there's a man how is a doctor
    and travels to Gewrmany with his wife. Then there's a car accident,
    after then he remember who he is, but no one seem to know him, including his wife, and there's a new ''him'' replacing him. Then it gets kinda weird when you see the other woman related (Diane Kruger) telling something like ''you shouldn't be here'' of
    You all know because of the trailers that there's a man how is a doctor
    and travels to Gewrmany with his wife. Then there's a car accident,
    after then he remember who he is, but no one seem to know him,
    including his wife, and there's a new ''him'' replacing him. Then it
    gets kinda weird when you see the other woman related (Diane Kruger)
    telling something like ''you shouldn't be here'' of some kind of
    advice. You start to think it's more than a problem of memory... or
    whatever. Starting with this there's a lot of possibilities. Maybe he's
    crazy, maybe the've replaced him for something else, maybe not. Is in
    some way related to Flightplan starting with a daughter missing and
    people saying that she have never existed. You don't know what to think
    or where to take your mind to. If I said more I'd spoil it. So... you
    have the trailer, the idea and a relation with another movie. A good
    movie, with good visual effects, music, catching, perturbing... it has
    you always in action, waiting for something to happen, and then happens
    another thing, it doesn't give you a break, always running from someone
    of something else. Interesting ending, really good.
    Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Excellent cerebral movie with good character building, story & action. Perfectly acted though a few times predictable outcome. Would go see again just to make sure I didn't miss anything.
  7. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    I honestly don't understand the negative reviews for this film. It is a very good thriller, and although the plot is 'out there', it is fully credible. Plus, the casting was great, the twists and turns were unexpected, and the reveals were both shocking and fun. Liam was very good, as was January Jones. It was nice to see her in a deeper role than her Betty Draper role on Mad Men, plusI honestly don't understand the negative reviews for this film. It is a very good thriller, and although the plot is 'out there', it is fully credible. Plus, the casting was great, the twists and turns were unexpected, and the reveals were both shocking and fun. Liam was very good, as was January Jones. It was nice to see her in a deeper role than her Betty Draper role on Mad Men, plus it was fun to watch the depth of her role progress as more was revealed. Great Job. Those who panned this may well have a genetic flaw. Expand
  8. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Didn't see anything wrong with it, good twist along with good acting.
  9. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    I agree that the movie was overblown at times and there were too many "coincidences" and episodes where the bad guys seemed to know where everyone was going to be at all times, but much of that makes sense at the end when we discover the true history of the Liam Neeson character. I thought it was fun guessing at the motivations of the characters and the action sequences were filmed in aI agree that the movie was overblown at times and there were too many "coincidences" and episodes where the bad guys seemed to know where everyone was going to be at all times, but much of that makes sense at the end when we discover the true history of the Liam Neeson character. I thought it was fun guessing at the motivations of the characters and the action sequences were filmed in a way that put you right in the middle of the action. So, I'm usually a tougher critic, but I think it was an entertaining couple of hours. Expand
  10. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    Liam continues his awesome Taken streak of total action in this movie. The suspense lasts through out the whole move and the car chases are extreme! I can easily say one of the best actions movies in a long time! I rarely get any time to relax or do anything recreational, and I can easily say- this was time well invested. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who likes any kind of actionLiam continues his awesome Taken streak of total action in this movie. The suspense lasts through out the whole move and the car chases are extreme! I can easily say one of the best actions movies in a long time! I rarely get any time to relax or do anything recreational, and I can easily say- this was time well invested. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who likes any kind of action movie, Mercedes car chases, and intense suspense! Expand
  11. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    I went to see the acting of Liam Neesom. He never disappoints. However, he cannot write or direct, so the movie is really mostly enjoyable if you are a fan of the lead actor. The direction does throw a nice curve ball towards the end, and there are some supporting character actors that do nicely. However, January Jones doesn't impress at all, in an ice queen Grace Kelly type role. TheI went to see the acting of Liam Neesom. He never disappoints. However, he cannot write or direct, so the movie is really mostly enjoyable if you are a fan of the lead actor. The direction does throw a nice curve ball towards the end, and there are some supporting character actors that do nicely. However, January Jones doesn't impress at all, in an ice queen Grace Kelly type role. The girl cab driver role played by Diane Kruger is memorable as is an old man who assists Neesom and a couple of men in the villain roles. Some good acting and a nice twist but not enough to be successful because of the writing makes the story leave you with too many questions. Not very realistic or believable. Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    It manages to not be boring, but very little else. It's rare a movie this dumb this itself this seriously. There isn't a grain of camp or even a slight chuckle to counter the serious insipidness.
  13. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    Please if you want to read good reviews go to CriticSpot - http://criticspot.blogspot.com.
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Haven't seen a good movie like this in a while. Regardless of the amount of plot twisting, it still keeps you on track and everything is explained smoothly. Definitely a movie worth watching!
  15. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    Thriller muy interesante, en el que se mantiene en todo momento el interés por saber por qué Liam Nesson está siendo engañado. Historia muy bien construída. Nos enseña el poder de la mente, y cómo nuestra ética puede cambiar cuando nuestra mente no nos dirige. Buenos personajes, Nesson, su esposa, la taxista, el detective, losThriller muy interesante, en el que se mantiene en todo momento el interés por saber por qué Liam Nesson está siendo engañado. Historia muy bien construída. Nos enseña el poder de la mente, y cómo nuestra ética puede cambiar cuando nuestra mente no nos dirige. Buenos personajes, Nesson, su esposa, la taxista, el detective, los "malos".
    Muy recomendable.
    Expand
  16. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    A great thriller that will have you intrigued until the end.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Feb 28, 2011
    50
    Not even Neeson, with his strength and his wounded-giant vulnerability, can prevent our interest in Unknown from sliding into contempt.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Feb 24, 2011
    40
    This is no more (but no less?) than what we have rather oddly come to expect from Neeson in his late period (Taken, The A-Team).
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Feb 21, 2011
    60
    It is the rare conspiracy thriller that ripens as the villains' organization and motives are gradually revealed.