Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: February 18, 2011
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 291 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
168
Mixed:
94
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
lkusaMar 12, 2011
I honestly don't understand the negative reviews for this film. It is a very good thriller, and although the plot is 'out there', it is fully credible. Plus, the casting was great, the twists and turns were unexpected, and the reveals wereI honestly don't understand the negative reviews for this film. It is a very good thriller, and although the plot is 'out there', it is fully credible. Plus, the casting was great, the twists and turns were unexpected, and the reveals were both shocking and fun. Liam was very good, as was January Jones. It was nice to see her in a deeper role than her Betty Draper role on Mad Men, plus it was fun to watch the depth of her role progress as more was revealed. Great Job. Those who panned this may well have a genetic flaw. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
scrieciuMar 11, 2011
Very intelligent movie. It kept me thinking what will happen next. I was so into it that I wanted so badly to see the ending. Liam Neeson delivered a great performance and he was awesome. There were some twists in the plot that surprised me,Very intelligent movie. It kept me thinking what will happen next. I was so into it that I wanted so badly to see the ending. Liam Neeson delivered a great performance and he was awesome. There were some twists in the plot that surprised me, which I haven't saw for a long time in a movie. But I still feel like there's something missing in the movie, I'm not sure what. Anyway, it's a good one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
wishmasterMar 16, 2011
emm good movie not the best, the worst movie either, entertaining but not memorable ... I found it a good movie in the end of normal, it reminded me Burn trilogy .. only highlight is the dismal performance of January Jones
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FDT44Jul 6, 2011
A cross-breed of "Taken" meets 'Bourne' who later meets "Seven Pounds" are the array of sorts we see from this conspiracy theory/psychological thriller that keeps you on pace for so long, diverts, returns, then leaves you guessing again tilA cross-breed of "Taken" meets 'Bourne' who later meets "Seven Pounds" are the array of sorts we see from this conspiracy theory/psychological thriller that keeps you on pace for so long, diverts, returns, then leaves you guessing again til the last 15 minutes. "Unknown" is packed with surprising depth that leaves the viewer in shambles, and back to the drawing board in making sense of it all. Even more fascinating, minutes after watching, lies a dark, sulleness that lingers in the film's ambiance; the reliance and fragility of our own identity. The film makes it seem all the more plausible. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Nadim_BasnaMar 17, 2011
Stylish, sexy and witty, till you realize "Hey, I've seen this before"
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
2PIN-1STINMar 4, 2011
I went to see the acting of Liam Neesom. He never disappoints. However, he cannot write or direct, so the movie is really mostly enjoyable if you are a fan of the lead actor. The direction does throw a nice curve ball towards the end, andI went to see the acting of Liam Neesom. He never disappoints. However, he cannot write or direct, so the movie is really mostly enjoyable if you are a fan of the lead actor. The direction does throw a nice curve ball towards the end, and there are some supporting character actors that do nicely. However, January Jones doesn't impress at all, in an ice queen Grace Kelly type role. The girl cab driver role played by Diane Kruger is memorable as is an old man who assists Neesom and a couple of men in the villain roles. Some good acting and a nice twist but not enough to be successful because of the writing makes the story leave you with too many questions. Not very realistic or believable. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
helpsosMar 27, 2011
diane kruger was great in this movie. she did her accent very well.
however, the plot was similar to the bourne series, which was a bit disappointing....
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
boxenford92May 14, 2011
Don't listen to critics. I dont know why they think they are right about every film. This movie is terrific entertainment. The twist wasn't complicated and the action was well done. Its only meant to be a action movie. Its not trying to be anDon't listen to critics. I dont know why they think they are right about every film. This movie is terrific entertainment. The twist wasn't complicated and the action was well done. Its only meant to be a action movie. Its not trying to be an academy award winner Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Bama72Feb 21, 2011
Very entertaining movie. Lots of action but not overdone and good plot. I went in thinking the plot was going to be ridiculous but it wasn't, it was reasonable. Enjoyable actors to watch. Overall a fun time at a movie.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
Justp94Feb 22, 2011
Was a very good movie with suspense that really made you think hard to figure out what was going on. The movie started out very slow and dull, but made up for the slow start with an overall great showing of events. I highly recommend thisWas a very good movie with suspense that really made you think hard to figure out what was going on. The movie started out very slow and dull, but made up for the slow start with an overall great showing of events. I highly recommend this film to anyone who likes suspenseful movies with an interesting story. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ajs101Feb 19, 2011
I do not expect this movie to win any awards. However, this movie was very entertaining. It kept my attention from start to finish. The acting was good. The plot was interesting. There were several "twists" in the story that wereI do not expect this movie to win any awards. However, this movie was very entertaining. It kept my attention from start to finish. The acting was good. The plot was interesting. There were several "twists" in the story that were interesting and understandable. It is my opinion that a few of the "action" scenes were exorbitant, but in 2011 it is probably expected by a majority of the audience. I recommend this film. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
9
gunnyartFeb 18, 2011
I can see now that I will never be a professional movie reviewer. The pros have lost the simple pleasure of just being a spectator and taking the ride. I suppose the premise was a bit unbelievable but not beyond plausibility. The action wasI can see now that I will never be a professional movie reviewer. The pros have lost the simple pleasure of just being a spectator and taking the ride. I suppose the premise was a bit unbelievable but not beyond plausibility. The action was intense but largely within the bounds of Newtonian physics. Hero's hanging off helicopters by one pinky toe while curving bullets is a sure way to suspend my suspension of disbelief. I don't recall a single instance during Unknown that triggered my b.s. alarm. (And it has a hair trigger!) Like the cabbies bumper sticker says "get in, shut up, hang on... and enjoy the ride." I did and am grateful for the experience. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
xishnik100Feb 19, 2011
I thought the twists we're good, and it was very suspenseful. I cant really see why the critics have given this movie such a bad rating, it makes absolutely no sense at all. Take a look at true grit...... it was incredibly boring, plotI thought the twists we're good, and it was very suspenseful. I cant really see why the critics have given this movie such a bad rating, it makes absolutely no sense at all. Take a look at true grit...... it was incredibly boring, plot lacking, etc,etc. Critics gave that one an +80% rating, while this movie which kept me entertained, and actually did its job as a movie got atrocious reviews. I don't really see where Unknown failed, its plausibility of story line? Thats not what makes a great film.... Everything was very well put, and i had the same feeling i got from watching the Bourne series, which somehow also got bad reviews. Ive come to realize that if avatar can get a ridiculously high score, while having a recycled plot line, that the reviewing system is broken. Reviewers have lost touch in what makes movies very good. The true reviews come from the users which are the ones who actually experience the cinema unbiased. This movie gets a 9/10 from based on entrainment, suspense, twists, and action..... F movie critics. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
dianadonnaFeb 26, 2011
Liam continues his awesome Taken streak of total action in this movie. The suspense lasts through out the whole move and the car chases are extreme! I can easily say one of the best actions movies in a long time! I rarely get any time toLiam continues his awesome Taken streak of total action in this movie. The suspense lasts through out the whole move and the car chases are extreme! I can easily say one of the best actions movies in a long time! I rarely get any time to relax or do anything recreational, and I can easily say- this was time well invested. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who likes any kind of action movie, Mercedes car chases, and intense suspense! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DarkCriticFeb 19, 2011
Unknown looks extremely awesome and Liam Neeson could kick any ass in the movie,since Taken which is okay. But this epic thriller looks groundbreaking clever film that is so dark and deeply suspenseful.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
FLCricketFeb 22, 2011
Excellent cerebral movie with good character building, story & action. Perfectly acted though a few times predictable outcome. Would go see again just to make sure I didn't miss anything.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
MalasawasFeb 19, 2011
You all know because of the trailers that there's a man how is a doctor
and travels to Gewrmany with his wife. Then there's a car accident,
after then he remember who he is, but no one seem to know him, including his wife, and there's a new
You all know because of the trailers that there's a man how is a doctor
and travels to Gewrmany with his wife. Then there's a car accident,
after then he remember who he is, but no one seem to know him,
including his wife, and there's a new ''him'' replacing him. Then it
gets kinda weird when you see the other woman related (Diane Kruger)
telling something like ''you shouldn't be here'' of some kind of
advice. You start to think it's more than a problem of memory... or
whatever. Starting with this there's a lot of possibilities. Maybe he's
crazy, maybe the've replaced him for something else, maybe not. Is in
some way related to Flightplan starting with a daughter missing and
people saying that she have never existed. You don't know what to think
or where to take your mind to. If I said more I'd spoil it. So... you
have the trailer, the idea and a relation with another movie. A good
movie, with good visual effects, music, catching, perturbing... it has
you always in action, waiting for something to happen, and then happens
another thing, it doesn't give you a break, always running from someone
of something else. Interesting ending, really good.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
MatthewXploderMar 13, 2011
Didn't see anything wrong with it, good twist along with good acting.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
bonniej55Feb 23, 2011
I agree that the movie was overblown at times and there were too many "coincidences" and episodes where the bad guys seemed to know where everyone was going to be at all times, but much of that makes sense at the end when we discover the trueI agree that the movie was overblown at times and there were too many "coincidences" and episodes where the bad guys seemed to know where everyone was going to be at all times, but much of that makes sense at the end when we discover the true history of the Liam Neeson character. I thought it was fun guessing at the motivations of the characters and the action sequences were filmed in a way that put you right in the middle of the action. So, I'm usually a tougher critic, but I think it was an entertaining couple of hours. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
supersigyOct 31, 2011
It manages to not be boring, but very little else. It's rare a movie this dumb this itself this seriously. There isn't a grain of camp or even a slight chuckle to counter the serious insipidness.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
2GUI2Feb 27, 2011
Please if you want to read good reviews go to CriticSpot - http://criticspot.blogspot.com.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
shaunmedApr 22, 2011
entertaining, interesting, keeps your attention. critics suck because they pay attention to things that don't matter. if you want to watch a movie that's fun and fast paced, this is a good one. it's not earth shattering but it's definitelyentertaining, interesting, keeps your attention. critics suck because they pay attention to things that don't matter. if you want to watch a movie that's fun and fast paced, this is a good one. it's not earth shattering but it's definitely worth your time if you like action thrillers. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
moviekretikOct 28, 2011
Good movie! The plot seemed similar to Arnold Schwarzenegger's 1990 science - fiction action movie, Total Recall. If you were to change sci-fi action thriller to foreign intrigued mystery action thriller, change locations, Mars to Berlin,Good movie! The plot seemed similar to Arnold Schwarzenegger's 1990 science - fiction action movie, Total Recall. If you were to change sci-fi action thriller to foreign intrigued mystery action thriller, change locations, Mars to Berlin, change Ronny Cox to Frank Langella, change free oxygen for all on Mars to lower cost corn development on Earth and change revolutionary hero, Quato to revolutionary scientist, Dr. Bessler. As for Unknown.....the plot is so full of huge holes it simply falls apart, but if you are not a keen viewer; you would simple enjoy whats going on... and in the end I still enjoy it and can quote "Good thriller, but don't go in expecting more than Taken" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
aggiefanatic95Feb 6, 2012
This is alot like Taken, but in my opinion not as good. If you liked Taken you will like Unknown, and vise-versa.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
jgzegerFeb 7, 2012
A very entertaining thriller that keeps you guessing about motives until the very end. Liam Neeson puts in a fine performance and there is enough action to keep just about every movie goer amused.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Andys_ReviewsJan 20, 2013
Very well made with some very slick editing keeping the pace pretty high all the way through. It did feel a little like a travelogue in parts, giving us all the iconic views of Berlin whenever the plot brings the action outside. To be fairVery well made with some very slick editing keeping the pace pretty high all the way through. It did feel a little like a travelogue in parts, giving us all the iconic views of Berlin whenever the plot brings the action outside. To be fair though, there are a few seedier parts of the city shown as well. All the main cast played their parts well with Liam Neeson and Diane Kruger standing out. I also enjoyed the performance of Bruno Ganz as the ageing former Stazi agent and it was nice to see Frank Langella as Martin Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
allystewMay 26, 2011
I really enjoyed this movie. If you like the "Bourne" series or "Taken" with a bit less action then this is for you. I don't understand why it has not got higher ratings. The story starts well then goes a bit slower in the middle but II really enjoyed this movie. If you like the "Bourne" series or "Taken" with a bit less action then this is for you. I don't understand why it has not got higher ratings. The story starts well then goes a bit slower in the middle but I enjoyed the twists and the ending. Liam Neeson is again on form and its worth watching for his performance alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
harlthegr8Jun 17, 2011
While not Liam Neeson's best, the role does suit him well. A mysterious thriller movie, I definitely was pretty stunned by the outcome of the conflict. The movie did a great job of keeping details skewed enough but not too vague in order toWhile not Liam Neeson's best, the role does suit him well. A mysterious thriller movie, I definitely was pretty stunned by the outcome of the conflict. The movie did a great job of keeping details skewed enough but not too vague in order to keep the watcher hooked. Although some of the details didn't add up once the secret was revealed, most of the movie was actually pretty believable. Definitely recommend watching at least once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Kallins3122Jun 25, 2011
Very entertaining movie. The filming reminds me of the movie ''Taken'' (also with Liam Neeson). Very intriguing plot with superb actor screenplay. Do not expect the movie of the year but it's worth the listening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AkkharAug 19, 2011
It was awesome ! Liam Neeson did it again ! A suspense full thriller just as i thought it would be ! The whole movie is a combination of every thing what a film needs . Story was good , directing was very good , acting was Top class . DianeIt was awesome ! Liam Neeson did it again ! A suspense full thriller just as i thought it would be ! The whole movie is a combination of every thing what a film needs . Story was good , directing was very good , acting was Top class . Diane did a very good job . and Liam was like always ! Story : 1.6/2 [Good story]
Directing : 1.6/2 [Well directed]
Acting :1.8/2 [Liam and Diane was amazing]
Sound :1.5/2 [Good]
Edit & Effect :1.5/2 [Good]
OVERALL : 8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avatar16Aug 23, 2011
Il est dommage de faire la comparaison avec Jason Bourne dès la bande-annonce, tant ce détail peut gâcher le suspense. Et bien qu'il soit inférieur à la trilogie etIl est dommage de faire la comparaison avec Jason Bourne dès la bande-annonce, tant ce détail peut gâcher le suspense. Et bien qu'il soit inférieur à la trilogie et à Taken, Sans Identité s'en sort quand même avec un scénario déjà vu (pour les grosses ficelles) mais intelligent, prenant et palpitant; de bons acteurs et surtout une mise en scène dynamique. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
iAGRNov 16, 2011
Haven't seen a good movie like this in a while. Regardless of the amount of plot twisting, it still keeps you on track and everything is explained smoothly. Definitely a movie worth watching!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Alexander_FredDec 8, 2011
While Unknown ultimately relies on several action movie cliches to make its way to the conclusion, it also manages to become less of a cliche than most action films being produced today. Slick and interesting camera angles, terrific use ofWhile Unknown ultimately relies on several action movie cliches to make its way to the conclusion, it also manages to become less of a cliche than most action films being produced today. Slick and interesting camera angles, terrific use of different colors and lighting schemes to perfectly match the tone, and all around outstanding special effects bring some of the most thrilling car chases and most expertly edited flashback scenes in recent memory. With a grand performance by Liam Neesson, this film is a rare treat: an action movie that is more than just cheap thrills, but dramatic and character oriented with a wonderful twist ending to boot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DongangstarDec 29, 2011
In my opinion this is a good movie, but nothing more than that. The beginning of the film goes perfect, it has a great flow, but that flow dissapears after a while. The story seemed to be new, original, but it didn't have a surprising endIn my opinion this is a good movie, but nothing more than that. The beginning of the film goes perfect, it has a great flow, but that flow dissapears after a while. The story seemed to be new, original, but it didn't have a surprising end which I regret badly. Ofcourse there isn't much to say about the actors. A top cast, good playing, especially January Jones. I guess she will be seen often in the future. I really liked the music, it suited the film perfectly, lifted up the tempo when needed. Despite the fact that the plot is a litte bit cliché, this film, is quite good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Feb 17, 2013
Unknown is a cleaver thrill ride that makes you think and keeps you entertained from start to finish. The key to these kinds of movies is the explanation, can't be to extreme and can't be stupid. I say Unknown sits right in the middle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Aug 31, 2012
The movie was solid up until the ending which I was dissatisfied with. I enjoyed the characters. It was one of the much better mystery suspense thrillers I have seen though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jordiNov 16, 2012
Thriller muy interesante, en el que se mantiene en todo momento el interés por saber por qué Liam Nesson está siendo engañado. Historia muy bien construída. Nos enseña el poder de la mente, yThriller muy interesante, en el que se mantiene en todo momento el interés por saber por qué Liam Nesson está siendo engañado. Historia muy bien construída. Nos enseña el poder de la mente, y cómo nuestra ética puede cambiar cuando nuestra mente no nos dirige. Buenos personajes, Nesson, su esposa, la taxista, el detective, los "malos".
Muy recomendable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RikiegeJan 22, 2013
A great thriller that will have you intrigued until the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonDec 7, 2013
Unknown takes some ludicrous turns on its way to the final act, but because Neeson's so totally convincing as this amnesiac desperately searching for the truth, you can overlook a lot of the illogical leaps taken along the way. Add inUnknown takes some ludicrous turns on its way to the final act, but because Neeson's so totally convincing as this amnesiac desperately searching for the truth, you can overlook a lot of the illogical leaps taken along the way. Add in director Jaume Collet-Serra's staging of the action scenes (including one of the most impressive car chases of the past few years), some particularly brutal fight sequences, and the atmosphere provided by actually filming in and around Berlin, and Unknown's a fairly intriguing and well-paced thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LoRevisorJan 16, 2015
Liam Nesson e Diane Kruger arrasam no seus papeís, um bom roteiro,com boas cenas de ação. Jaume Collet Serra entra perfeitamente no gênero suspense de ação.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscAug 14, 2015
"Unknown" is a stylish galvanize thriller that shocks you by it's twists and turns, while Liam Neeson uses strength as this vigilante, wounded-giant character under the direction by Jaume Collet-Serra (Orphan). Doctor Martin Harris (played by"Unknown" is a stylish galvanize thriller that shocks you by it's twists and turns, while Liam Neeson uses strength as this vigilante, wounded-giant character under the direction by Jaume Collet-Serra (Orphan). Doctor Martin Harris (played by Neeson) an American Bio-technologist, arrives in Berlin, with his blonde wife Elizabeth (January Jones) to attend a biotechnology presentation. On reaching the hotel he finds out his luggage is missing, he takes a cab and goes straight back to the airport to get it, before he can inform his wife the cab meets for accident and falls into a bridge. The female cab driver (Diane Kruger) saves him. Then, Dr. Harris is taken to a hospital spent four days suffering a coma and finally regains consensus. He also recovers amnesia remembers his wife also why he is there. He leaves the hospital and tries to unite with his wife, but when he is there at the hotel he tries to the security to arrange for a meeting with his wife. He believes his identity was stolen and token by someone else, even his own wife refuses to recognizes him. Now his only hope is his taxi driver named Gina, who is the only witness of the car accident can help him. Him and Gina set out to prove who he really is. When the big finale was finally revealed it was silly and it was confusing, as it finally revealed I said to myself "really? I spent two hours waiting for this?". The film did lose points for a reckless finale but the screenplay was thought provoking and the performances were great. Grade B Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeSep 6, 2015
Well… Liam Neeson did not gave his best performance but it was still decent.This is not the biggest action movie you will find but it's still entertaining.The movie is pretty good even though the overused of CGI for the car crash wasWell… Liam Neeson did not gave his best performance but it was still decent.This is not the biggest action movie you will find but it's still entertaining.The movie is pretty good even though the overused of CGI for the car crash was absolutely horrible.Overall a good decent movie that will entertain you but nothing really impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
tethysdustFeb 14, 2017
Entertaining thriller that took some turns I did not expect. It seems very standard for the Liam-Neeson-action-movie genre, so it's a lot of fun if that's what you want to see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews