User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 265

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2015
    6
    Unknown is the first of three unrelated collaborations between Liam Neeson and Jaume Collet-Serra. I have to say that this is the weakest of the three. Unknown draws you in during the first half and really makes you think but its easy for a few points to go by unnoticed that become more important as the movie goes on. I like that Liam Neeson is basically a normal person to start out theUnknown is the first of three unrelated collaborations between Liam Neeson and Jaume Collet-Serra. I have to say that this is the weakest of the three. Unknown draws you in during the first half and really makes you think but its easy for a few points to go by unnoticed that become more important as the movie goes on. I like that Liam Neeson is basically a normal person to start out the film so he's easier to get behind and you don't feel like he is invincible. My big problem with Unknown is that there is just too much going on and its easy to get lost. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2015
    5
    Liam Neeson is Dr. Martin Harris, a man who has a very particular set of memories he has acquired over a very long career in biochemistry. Or is he? After arriving in Berlin with his wife – played by Betty from Mad Men – for a biotechnology conference, he’s involved in a car crash and gets a bonk on the head. After staggering back to the hotel he left his wife in, he finds her at aLiam Neeson is Dr. Martin Harris, a man who has a very particular set of memories he has acquired over a very long career in biochemistry. Or is he? After arriving in Berlin with his wife – played by Betty from Mad Men – for a biotechnology conference, he’s involved in a car crash and gets a bonk on the head. After staggering back to the hotel he left his wife in, he finds her at a drinks reception for the conference with some sciencey types and a man who is not played by Liam Neeson, but yet claims to be Dr. Martin Harris. Two Martin Harrises, buuuhhhh?

    It’s a solid enough premise for what should be a perfectly daft, mediocre thriller. It never quite reaches those heights, although it comes close....Some of the decent supporting cast is underused, notably Betty/January Jones who spends an awful lot of her screen time doing little more than delivering ambiguous looks towards Neeson and others are miscast – stand up Oliver Schneider as a skulking assassin who gives off as much menace as a nettled business studies teacher hunting for a bloody board marker that works in this place.

    Full review at ponderflix on wordpress.
    Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2015
    8
    Liam Nesson e Diane Kruger arrasam no seus papeís, um bom roteiro,com boas cenas de ação. Jaume Collet Serra entra perfeitamente no gênero suspense de ação.
  4. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Unknown takes some ludicrous turns on its way to the final act, but because Neeson's so totally convincing as this amnesiac desperately searching for the truth, you can overlook a lot of the illogical leaps taken along the way. Add in director Jaume Collet-Serra's staging of the action scenes (including one of the most impressive car chases of the past few years), some particularly brutalUnknown takes some ludicrous turns on its way to the final act, but because Neeson's so totally convincing as this amnesiac desperately searching for the truth, you can overlook a lot of the illogical leaps taken along the way. Add in director Jaume Collet-Serra's staging of the action scenes (including one of the most impressive car chases of the past few years), some particularly brutal fight sequences, and the atmosphere provided by actually filming in and around Berlin, and Unknown's a fairly intriguing and well-paced thriller. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2013
    5
    The trailer seemed good. The movie was Ok. I didn't really like the ending. It was predictable and it didn't really make any sense. That's sad as the plot is not that bad( expect the ending)
  6. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    Unknown is a cleaver thrill ride that makes you think and keeps you entertained from start to finish. The key to these kinds of movies is the explanation, can't be to extreme and can't be stupid. I say Unknown sits right in the middle.
  7. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    A great thriller that will have you intrigued until the end.
  8. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    Very well made with some very slick editing keeping the pace pretty high all the way through. It did feel a little like a travelogue in parts, giving us all the iconic views of Berlin whenever the plot brings the action outside. To be fair though, there are a few seedier parts of the city shown as well. All the main cast played their parts well with Liam Neeson and Diane Kruger standingVery well made with some very slick editing keeping the pace pretty high all the way through. It did feel a little like a travelogue in parts, giving us all the iconic views of Berlin whenever the plot brings the action outside. To be fair though, there are a few seedier parts of the city shown as well. All the main cast played their parts well with Liam Neeson and Diane Kruger standing out. I also enjoyed the performance of Bruno Ganz as the ageing former Stazi agent and it was nice to see Frank Langella as Martin Expand
  9. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    I really liked this. After Liam Neeson's work in Taken, I was excited for his next action movie...he's become quite the action star. Unknown did not disappoint, even despite some annoying flaws. There are really only 3 things that bothered me about this film: 1) January Jones cannot act. She's as wooden as a board in every scene...same as her role X-Men First Class. 2) Some of the thingsI really liked this. After Liam Neeson's work in Taken, I was excited for his next action movie...he's become quite the action star. Unknown did not disappoint, even despite some annoying flaws. There are really only 3 things that bothered me about this film: 1) January Jones cannot act. She's as wooden as a board in every scene...same as her role X-Men First Class. 2) Some of the things Neeson's character forgets and remembers is silly and "convenient" for my taste. I get that he had memory loss, but I don't like it when films take advantage of that fact to force an interesting plot. 3) The ending was a bit much...if I can forgive a "convenient" story line, the least you can do is give me a strong, original ending. I've seen it before. Other than those things I thoroughly enjoyed this film. The action was great; the locations were great. I liked most of the actors. A pretty solid action thriller...I recommend it! Expand
  10. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    Even the eternally awesome Liam Neeson only just saves this pretty pointless film and its eventual disappoint of a twist from complete failure.
  11. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    Thriller muy interesante, en el que se mantiene en todo momento el interés por saber por qué Liam Nesson está siendo engañado. Historia muy bien construída. Nos enseña el poder de la mente, y cómo nuestra ética puede cambiar cuando nuestra mente no nos dirige. Buenos personajes, Nesson, su esposa, la taxista, el detective, losThriller muy interesante, en el que se mantiene en todo momento el interés por saber por qué Liam Nesson está siendo engañado. Historia muy bien construída. Nos enseña el poder de la mente, y cómo nuestra ética puede cambiar cuando nuestra mente no nos dirige. Buenos personajes, Nesson, su esposa, la taxista, el detective, los "malos".
    Muy recomendable.
    Expand
  12. Nov 7, 2012
    3
    America seems pretty hellbent on watching Liam Neeson kill foreigners. This thriller doesn't have any thrills, that's for sure. What it does have is an incoherent plot worsened by sloppy execution.
  13. Aug 31, 2012
    7
    The movie was solid up until the ending which I was dissatisfied with. I enjoyed the characters. It was one of the much better mystery suspense thrillers I have seen though.
  14. Aug 22, 2012
    6
    An interesting plot, and a somewhat original delivery in what I expected to be a standard action-thriller. Liam Neeson is as good as ever, but in all honesty I unwound the plot in my head within the first 15 minutes. Without intending to demean intelligence, but if you are a very logical thinker you probably will have a similar experience as I did. Other people may enjoy this movie, ifAn interesting plot, and a somewhat original delivery in what I expected to be a standard action-thriller. Liam Neeson is as good as ever, but in all honesty I unwound the plot in my head within the first 15 minutes. Without intending to demean intelligence, but if you are a very logical thinker you probably will have a similar experience as I did. Other people may enjoy this movie, if only once. Expand
  15. Aug 21, 2012
    5
    A poor Bourne rip off, with bad writing, weak plot and generally cheesy acting.

    Some okay action, and mystery keeps the viewers attention. But overall I was just waiting for it to finish.
  16. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    A very entertaining thriller that keeps you guessing about motives until the very end. Liam Neeson puts in a fine performance and there is enough action to keep just about every movie goer amused.
  17. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    This is alot like Taken, but in my opinion not as good. If you liked Taken you will like Unknown, and vise-versa.
  18. Jan 17, 2012
    1
    God awful drag of a movie. Slow, static, one dimensional characters you don't care about. 2 hours I'll never get back. I read a critic called this film stylish too. What? Stylish like a European Hooker?
  19. Jan 7, 2012
    6
    I can't help but feeling that this film was made to cash in the success of "Taken". And although there were elements to make it interesting, in isolation this film would seem less significant.
  20. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    In my opinion this is a good movie, but nothing more than that. The beginning of the film goes perfect, it has a great flow, but that flow dissapears after a while. The story seemed to be new, original, but it didn't have a surprising end which I regret badly. Ofcourse there isn't much to say about the actors. A top cast, good playing, especially January Jones. I guess she will be seenIn my opinion this is a good movie, but nothing more than that. The beginning of the film goes perfect, it has a great flow, but that flow dissapears after a while. The story seemed to be new, original, but it didn't have a surprising end which I regret badly. Ofcourse there isn't much to say about the actors. A top cast, good playing, especially January Jones. I guess she will be seen often in the future. I really liked the music, it suited the film perfectly, lifted up the tempo when needed. Despite the fact that the plot is a litte bit cliché, this film, is quite good. Expand
  21. Dec 8, 2011
    7
    While Unknown ultimately relies on several action movie cliches to make its way to the conclusion, it also manages to become less of a cliche than most action films being produced today. Slick and interesting camera angles, terrific use of different colors and lighting schemes to perfectly match the tone, and all around outstanding special effects bring some of the most thrilling carWhile Unknown ultimately relies on several action movie cliches to make its way to the conclusion, it also manages to become less of a cliche than most action films being produced today. Slick and interesting camera angles, terrific use of different colors and lighting schemes to perfectly match the tone, and all around outstanding special effects bring some of the most thrilling car chases and most expertly edited flashback scenes in recent memory. With a grand performance by Liam Neesson, this film is a rare treat: an action movie that is more than just cheap thrills, but dramatic and character oriented with a wonderful twist ending to boot. Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Haven't seen a good movie like this in a while. Regardless of the amount of plot twisting, it still keeps you on track and everything is explained smoothly. Definitely a movie worth watching!
  23. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    It manages to not be boring, but very little else. It's rare a movie this dumb this itself this seriously. There isn't a grain of camp or even a slight chuckle to counter the serious insipidness.
  24. Oct 28, 2011
    7
    Good movie! The plot seemed similar to Arnold Schwarzenegger's 1990 science - fiction action movie, Total Recall. If you were to change sci-fi action thriller to foreign intrigued mystery action thriller, change locations, Mars to Berlin, change Ronny Cox to Frank Langella, change free oxygen for all on Mars to lower cost corn development on Earth and change revolutionary hero, Quato toGood movie! The plot seemed similar to Arnold Schwarzenegger's 1990 science - fiction action movie, Total Recall. If you were to change sci-fi action thriller to foreign intrigued mystery action thriller, change locations, Mars to Berlin, change Ronny Cox to Frank Langella, change free oxygen for all on Mars to lower cost corn development on Earth and change revolutionary hero, Quato to revolutionary scientist, Dr. Bessler. As for Unknown.....the plot is so full of huge holes it simply falls apart, but if you are not a keen viewer; you would simple enjoy whats going on... and in the end I still enjoy it and can quote "Good thriller, but don't go in expecting more than Taken" Expand
  25. Oct 2, 2011
    5
    "Unknown" presents a profound problem to its subject, a man whose life was stolen; how can you claim that you yourself is you? The question molds the movie into somewhat a french noir for the moment, but it ends up as a action movie with a decent plot twist. However I'm surprised that Liam Neeson, a man whose almost 60 now, can still be a (tall) badass with a pistol fighting with skills."Unknown" presents a profound problem to its subject, a man whose life was stolen; how can you claim that you yourself is you? The question molds the movie into somewhat a french noir for the moment, but it ends up as a action movie with a decent plot twist. However I'm surprised that Liam Neeson, a man whose almost 60 now, can still be a (tall) badass with a pistol fighting with skills. Meh, he'll get old soon. R) 5.4 Expand
  26. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Il est dommage de faire la comparaison avec Jason Bourne dès la bande-annonce, tant ce détail peut gâcher le suspense. Et bien qu'il soit inférieur à la trilogie et à Taken, Sans Identité s'en sort quand même avec un scénario déjà vu (pour lesIl est dommage de faire la comparaison avec Jason Bourne dès la bande-annonce, tant ce détail peut gâcher le suspense. Et bien qu'il soit inférieur à la trilogie et à Taken, Sans Identité s'en sort quand même avec un scénario déjà vu (pour les grosses ficelles) mais intelligent, prenant et palpitant; de bons acteurs et surtout une mise en scène dynamique. Expand
  27. Aug 20, 2011
    6
    The ending is unsatisfying, the pacing is off at points, and there is a lack of excitement to some degree, but Unknown's strong cast, including Liam Neeson, thrilling action, and second half to make up for some of its shortcomings. This movie is recommendable, but only a very small recommendation.
  28. Aug 19, 2011
    8
    It was awesome ! Liam Neeson did it again ! A suspense full thriller just as i thought it would be ! The whole movie is a combination of every thing what a film needs . Story was good , directing was very good , acting was Top class . Diane did a very good job . and Liam was like always ! Story : 1.6/2 [Good story]
    Directing : 1.6/2 [Well directed]
    Acting :1.8/2 [Liam and Diane was
    It was awesome ! Liam Neeson did it again ! A suspense full thriller just as i thought it would be ! The whole movie is a combination of every thing what a film needs . Story was good , directing was very good , acting was Top class . Diane did a very good job . and Liam was like always ! Story : 1.6/2 [Good story]
    Directing : 1.6/2 [Well directed]
    Acting :1.8/2 [Liam and Diane was amazing]
    Sound :1.5/2 [Good]
    Edit & Effect :1.5/2 [Good]
    OVERALL : 8/10
    Expand
  29. Aug 1, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is yet another story of how a well made trailer can trick you into thinking itâ Expand
  30. Jul 31, 2011
    3
    I created a user name just to speak publicly about a movie that, I feel, is a cheap and mindless pile of garbage. The "Unknown" viewing experience goes like this: Liam Neeson flails around Berlin for about 1.5 hours telling everyone within five feet that he is who he says he his, then there is 0.5 hours worth of mildly discernible plot, then the movie ends. While those things happen, weI created a user name just to speak publicly about a movie that, I feel, is a cheap and mindless pile of garbage. The "Unknown" viewing experience goes like this: Liam Neeson flails around Berlin for about 1.5 hours telling everyone within five feet that he is who he says he his, then there is 0.5 hours worth of mildly discernible plot, then the movie ends. While those things happen, we hear Neeson deliver lines like "I'M DOCTOR MARTIN HARRIS" and "THIS MAN IS NOT DOCTOR MARTIN HARRIS" and "I remember how to kill you, **** We watch Frank Langella play Frank Langella. We watch January Jones use her brain to create sound with her throat and mouth, then explode (the highlight of the film, far and away, is watching January Jones explode). It's a crappy movie! Rating: Not Very Good! Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Feb 28, 2011
    50
    Not even Neeson, with his strength and his wounded-giant vulnerability, can prevent our interest in Unknown from sliding into contempt.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Feb 24, 2011
    40
    This is no more (but no less?) than what we have rather oddly come to expect from Neeson in his late period (Taken, The A-Team).
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Feb 21, 2011
    60
    It is the rare conspiracy thriller that ripens as the villains' organization and motives are gradually revealed.