Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Dr. Martin Harris awakens after a car accident in Berlin to discover that his wife suddenly doesn't recognize him and another man has assumed his identity. Ignored by disbelieving authorities and hunted by mysterious assassins, he finds himself alone, tired and on the run. Aided by anDr. Martin Harris awakens after a car accident in Berlin to discover that his wife suddenly doesn't recognize him and another man has assumed his identity. Ignored by disbelieving authorities and hunted by mysterious assassins, he finds himself alone, tired and on the run. Aided by an unlikely ally, Martin plunges headlong into a deadly mystery that will force him to question his sanity, his identity, and just how far he's willing to go to uncover the truth. (Warner Bros. Pictures)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Feb 17, 2011
    90
    A stylish and muscular thriller with some nifty twists and turns, a wicked sense of humor, several terrific performances and not one or even two but three of the best car chases in recent action-flick history.
  2. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Feb 17, 2011
    75
    The weakest link in Unknown - okay, other than the utter preposterousness of its entire premise - is Jones, who as a modern-day version of Hitch's ice queens can't hold her own with the likes of Kim Novak, Grace Kelly and Eva Marie Saint.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Feb 18, 2011
    70
    Though cinematographer Flavio Labiano turns the city into an alien maze of steel and glass, his chilling work is undercut by a script with more logical craters than Martin's.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Feb 15, 2011
    60
    Unknown is probably the movie "The Tourist" wanted to be, if it had a pulse. Its sheer momentum makes Neeson and Kruger more attractive than even Johnny Depp and Angelina Jolie.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    Feb 19, 2011
    50
    The snow and haze that Spanish director Jaume Collet-Serra (Orphan) keeps pumping into the street scenes seem to have drifted into the script as well.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Feb 17, 2011
    50
    Tacked onto a perfectly respectable thriller, Unknown's mass of unlikely turns and implausible reveals make the whole film seem retroactively less sophisticated.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 15, 2011
    25
    Unknown makes no sense at all, so you not only worry about Liam Neeson's judgment in movies, but you begin to wonder if he's forgotten how to read.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 80
  2. Negative: 13 out of 80
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    I do not expect this movie to win any awards. However, this movie was very entertaining. It kept my attention from start to finish. TheI do not expect this movie to win any awards. However, this movie was very entertaining. It kept my attention from start to finish. The acting was good. The plot was interesting. There were several "twists" in the story that were interesting and understandable. It is my opinion that a few of the "action" scenes were exorbitant, but in 2011 it is probably expected by a majority of the audience. I recommend this film. Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I thought the twists we're good, and it was very suspenseful. I cant really see why the critics have given this movie such a bad rating, itI thought the twists we're good, and it was very suspenseful. I cant really see why the critics have given this movie such a bad rating, it makes absolutely no sense at all. Take a look at true grit...... it was incredibly boring, plot lacking, etc,etc. Critics gave that one an +80% rating, while this movie which kept me entertained, and actually did its job as a movie got atrocious reviews. I don't really see where Unknown failed, its plausibility of story line? Thats not what makes a great film.... Everything was very well put, and i had the same feeling i got from watching the Bourne series, which somehow also got bad reviews. Ive come to realize that if avatar can get a ridiculously high score, while having a recycled plot line, that the reviewing system is broken. Reviewers have lost touch in what makes movies very good. The true reviews come from the users which are the ones who actually experience the cinema unbiased. This movie gets a 9/10 from based on entrainment, suspense, twists, and action..... F movie critics. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    8
    A very entertaining thriller that keeps you guessing about motives until the very end. Liam Neeson puts in a fine performance and there isA very entertaining thriller that keeps you guessing about motives until the very end. Liam Neeson puts in a fine performance and there is enough action to keep just about every movie goer amused. Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2011
    6
    An interesting yet intriguing film. Having seen how tremendous Taken turned out to be and how superb Liam Neeson was I had high expectationsAn interesting yet intriguing film. Having seen how tremendous Taken turned out to be and how superb Liam Neeson was I had high expectations heading into Unknown. The plot was enticing - Doctor Martin Harris (Neeson) awakes from a coma having been in a car crash only to discover that his wife (January Jones) doesn't recognize him and that another man has assumed his identity. A clever idea and one which initially plays out pretty well. Harris on the search to find out exactly who he is and what happened. This builds up the intense and mystery elements within the film. Along the way Diane Krugers character Gina becomes more involved and her performance is fantastic as an illegal immegrant caught up amongst Harris' troubles. Unfortunately the work done to add the mystery and intense side become overshadowed as the film loses its way at times and there are some sequences that just don't quite fit in with the way the film was planning out. The ending for me was rather cheap in what what overall a fairly decent thriller. It made it into yet another conspiracy theory with a secret organization but somewhat confusing given the fact that Neeson's character hadn't shown any signs or had any incline to believe he was an assassin, it was trying to pull a Bourne Identity on the viewer and i'm sure I wasn't the only person left feeling disappointed with the ending. Overall, Unknown is by no means a bad film its an enjoyable and interesting film that starts off promising good things but gradually loses its way and even Liam Neeson at his best at times cannot get away from the disappointment it was a missed oppertunity. Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2011
    6
    The ending is unsatisfying, the pacing is off at points, and there is a lack of excitement to some degree, but Unknown's strong cast,The ending is unsatisfying, the pacing is off at points, and there is a lack of excitement to some degree, but Unknown's strong cast, including Liam Neeson, thrilling action, and second half to make up for some of its shortcomings. This movie is recommendable, but only a very small recommendation. Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2011
    5
    Unknown is an alright film. The story can be interesting and some scens are really cool. Problems with this film is alot of things in the filmUnknown is an alright film. The story can be interesting and some scens are really cool. Problems with this film is alot of things in the film didnt really make senese at all and there are films that ive seen that are better then this. I would give this film a high rental. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    0
    Very poorly conceived plot with gaping holes and poor dialogue. It had all the required car chases, assassins, etc. but not worth theVery poorly conceived plot with gaping holes and poor dialogue. It had all the required car chases, assassins, etc. but not worth the celluloid in the end. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews

Trailers