Unleashed

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 158

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BobG.
    May 11, 2005
    10
    This was a really good movie.
  2. RobertG.
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Loved It!! Best American Jet Li film to Date. Morgan Freeman great as always.
  3. JayH.
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Similar in pacing to The Professional. Fans of Luc Besson and Jet Li will undoubtedly enjoy this film, one of Jet Li's most rounded performances.
  4. Nelo.
    May 14, 2005
    10
    Jet Li puts on one hell of a performance, his action scenes are of the highest order and he nails the dramatic moments of the film with an emotional quality that reduced many of the fairer sex in the theatre to tears. You feel for him, you cheer for him and more than anything you want him to win what he deserves most: a normal life. The film starts with a bang, the adrenaline is pumping Jet Li puts on one hell of a performance, his action scenes are of the highest order and he nails the dramatic moments of the film with an emotional quality that reduced many of the fairer sex in the theatre to tears. You feel for him, you cheer for him and more than anything you want him to win what he deserves most: a normal life. The film starts with a bang, the adrenaline is pumping the action is terrific then suddenly the dramatic element is introduced as Danny starts living a somewhat normal existance for the first time. I had immagined that this slower paced segment of the film would bog it down but really it was quite enjoyable to watch the transformation of Li's character and as always Freeman is exceptional. I'm still a bit undecided as to whether I liked Kerry Condon's character or not, as a goofy akward teenager she was a bit annoying at times but I can see why she was cast. A georgeous, glamourous starlet would have been easier for the audience to take but would most certainly have detracted from the real world charm that the film produces. All in all this is the perfect date movie, plenty of kung-fu for the boys and a few jerked tears for the girls. Even if you don't have a date I would still very much recommend catching it as you wont see very many pictures quite like it in the cinema this year. Expand
  5. FemaleX
    May 14, 2005
    10
    I'm not a film snob, but I usually like independent or foreign films better. The boyfriend likes action, as men tend to do. So we'll see my movies and then we'll see his. Sometimes, I like his kind of films, if they're well done and stray from the normal formula. What some critics label "salty tear-jerking", I label "character development". The fact that an a**-kicking I'm not a film snob, but I usually like independent or foreign films better. The boyfriend likes action, as men tend to do. So we'll see my movies and then we'll see his. Sometimes, I like his kind of films, if they're well done and stray from the normal formula. What some critics label "salty tear-jerking", I label "character development". The fact that an a**-kicking movie actually can be said to have character development is important. Jet Li may be just about the best action actor I've ever seen. He made me believe in and care about Danny. Morgan Freeman and Bob Hoskins made me believe, despite the incredibly goofy implausibilities. I didn't care about that. I saw this as a modern fairy tale. And it works. I even like the fight scenes, because they fit and because, well, Jet Li is so cool, I want to have his babies. See this movie if you like action films. See this movie is you want characters you can care about. Be amazed that you can see them in one film. Expand
  6. MS
    May 16, 2005
    10
    An achievement for Luc Besson. The film is much more than I expected. A brilliant performance by Hoskins, superb fighting choreography, and a story that has significantly more depth than many other action flicks. I wouldn't be surprised if Hoskins gets a nomination for this.
  7. JeffD.
    May 18, 2005
    10
    What made this movie so amazing is they finally gave Jet Li the opportunity to really express himself. In all of his earlier movies Jet never get a real opportunity to show his true range of emotions. Here your can actually feel the empathy as he very delicately emulates fear, surprise, shyness, caring, etc. as though he was a young dog/infant learning for the first time. The martial arts What made this movie so amazing is they finally gave Jet Li the opportunity to really express himself. In all of his earlier movies Jet never get a real opportunity to show his true range of emotions. Here your can actually feel the empathy as he very delicately emulates fear, surprise, shyness, caring, etc. as though he was a young dog/infant learning for the first time. The martial arts fights were impecably done with a great deal of fluidness to the action. The coreography of the fights were extremely interesting, especially the fight in close quarters, which I have never witnesses so well to that degree. Expand
  8. Dave
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    I can't rate this movie high enoigh. Totally unexpected stuff from Jet Li. Combines the best martial arts seen in any Hollywood fllm with brilliant dramatic performances by Jet Li and Morgan Freeman. A rare gem and touching story... this movie is hard to top. I give the movie and story 9/10, but 10/10 for effort.
  9. stanleyh.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    One of jet li's best.
  10. MaxS
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    One of the best films I've seen recently, with a lovely mix of wonderfully-done action and an excellent storyline that's both substantially different and substantially superior to the average martial arts film.
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Unleashed (a.k.a. Danny The Dog) is a gangster-fairytale-martial arts-drama about a man who not only was never given the chance to grow up, but was raised as a dog. I've seen hundreds of martial arts action films and I have no problem saying that Unleashed is easily one of the best English language martial arts action films of all-time! Not only was the action on point but the acting wasUnleashed (a.k.a. Danny The Dog) is a gangster-fairytale-martial arts-drama about a man who not only was never given the chance to grow up, but was raised as a dog. I've seen hundreds of martial arts action films and I have no problem saying that Unleashed is easily one of the best English language martial arts action films of all-time! Not only was the action on point but the acting was actually good. Morgan Freeman does a decent enough job (not his best work) but Bob Hoskins blew me away as the wicked uncle! The biggest surprise though was the dramatic chops of Jet Li! He displays a childlike innocence in this role that makes you actually care what happens to him so you end up truly feeling for his character. He gives a stellar emotional and physical performance as an actor, everything from his posture to his emotionally expressive, soulful eyes. He takes you on a journey from animalistic pit-bull-like ferocity to docile puppy-like innocence, curiosity, and vulnerability. You experience moments of humor, drama, & edge of your seat-brutal action sequences! I know some people were put off by the quieter sections of the film when the studio marketed it as some sort of non-stop action flick, but the truth is this movie has heart... Which I find refreshing for this type of film. Simply put, Unleashed was off-the-chain! P.S. Just a WARNING: I own the dvd and when you first put it in it gives you a choice between the Unrated & Extended versions of the film... DO NOT WATCH the extended version for the first viewing! The extended sections ruin the fight scenes with poor video and audio quality, I don't even think they added sound effects. Expand
  12. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    Bringing together a full on fight fest coreographed by Yuen woo ping and a heartfelt story of love and loss, this is truly marked as one of the high lights of jet li's career. At nearly ten years old, it still feels fresh and dynamic, evoking feelings of the old guy richie-esque style of cinemagrophy. The gritty realistic style of fighting combined with the warmth of innocence of welcomingBringing together a full on fight fest coreographed by Yuen woo ping and a heartfelt story of love and loss, this is truly marked as one of the high lights of jet li's career. At nearly ten years old, it still feels fresh and dynamic, evoking feelings of the old guy richie-esque style of cinemagrophy. The gritty realistic style of fighting combined with the warmth of innocence of welcoming family life, this truly is a movie that exceeds it's own frames and boundaries and manages to stake out a path of it's own. A definitive must watch. Expand
  13. SarahB.
    May 11, 2005
    9
    Kick ass and unique. Go with the flow and you'll have a great time . Far and away Jet Li's best english-language film to date (not that there's been a lot of competition).
  14. VictoriaT.
    May 12, 2005
    9
    I almost did not see this movie. The title sounded like a straight fight film. However, hubby and brother wanted to see it. It was much better than i expected. I should have known that with Morgan Freedman, the script would be a gem. Of course, Li does his kicking and punching, which was cheered. This is my new jet Li favorite. However "Danny the Dog' is a much more appropriate title I almost did not see this movie. The title sounded like a straight fight film. However, hubby and brother wanted to see it. It was much better than i expected. I should have known that with Morgan Freedman, the script would be a gem. Of course, Li does his kicking and punching, which was cheered. This is my new jet Li favorite. However "Danny the Dog' is a much more appropriate title - it conveys that there is a story and some very "artistic" fight scenes. Expand
  15. NathanG.
    May 15, 2005
    9
    Unleashed gets everything right: superbly choreographed and original fight scenes, rich character development -- including Li's Danny, a great role for him -- and a unexpectedly moving story. It was also amusing how the bad guys kept coming back for more punishment!
  16. JohnB.
    May 22, 2005
    9
    I am a big jet li fan and I think he did a very good job in this movie acting as well as the fighting sceens.
  17. Jake
    Sep 25, 2005
    9
    Brilliant!
  18. BillS.
    Oct 20, 2005
    9
    I did not expect to like this movie, but boy was I surprised! Bob Hoskins is phenomenal as Danny's "owner", Morgan Freeman does his usual excellent job, and Jet Li can act (really!). The fighting scenes were good (but that is what you'd expect from a Jet Li movie), but the surprise is the tender, moving family scenes with Morgan Freeman. The contrast between the two worlds is I did not expect to like this movie, but boy was I surprised! Bob Hoskins is phenomenal as Danny's "owner", Morgan Freeman does his usual excellent job, and Jet Li can act (really!). The fighting scenes were good (but that is what you'd expect from a Jet Li movie), but the surprise is the tender, moving family scenes with Morgan Freeman. The contrast between the two worlds is effective, making this an excellent movie. Expand
  19. nathanh.
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    Great movie i enjoyed it alot..had an awesome story line and was very interesting and thie fight scenes were great.
  20. fink
    Dec 19, 2005
    9
    Judging by what a few critics say, I can tell not everyone knows what a strong movie is; what a powerful movie is. This one had power every step of the way and truely is a work of art quite possibly even the best role I have ever seen Jet Li play. Absolutely, anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie, either has on the wrong pair of glasses and has their ears plugged or they just simply Judging by what a few critics say, I can tell not everyone knows what a strong movie is; what a powerful movie is. This one had power every step of the way and truely is a work of art quite possibly even the best role I have ever seen Jet Li play. Absolutely, anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie, either has on the wrong pair of glasses and has their ears plugged or they just simply acting out of bias. Indeed, a most excellent film! It gets a 9 simply because of a few parts that were skipped, possibly due to keeping the movie to proper length. Expand
  21. Baba
    Mar 1, 2007
    9
    I really liked the story.The fight scenes were brutal and exciting and sometimes disturbing which added to the movie's realism. Overall, I found this movie to be a very enjoyable piece of cinematography.
  22. NoëlS
    Nov 7, 2005
    8
    I think it's one of these action movies since years. Nice fighting scene's like we know from Jet Lee. And the acting lessons from Jet Lee to show more facial emotions are really paying off.
  23. [Anonymous]
    Dec 10, 2005
    8
    Definitely a strong action movie, and Yuen Mo Ping's work is always welcome. The biggest surprise, though, is the story. It's not totally new, but it's quite well done for this genre, giving the whole film a fresh, even epic feel. THe premise of trying to fit in a new world and leaving the old behind also holds your interest.
  24. ChadS.
    May 14, 2005
    7
    If only Jet Li was at least ten years younger, that high-spirited montage of himself and Victoria running around Glascow would've been an excellent prelude to an interracial love affair. But Li is forty-one, and Victoria (Kerry Condon) is supposed to be around seventeen, so we really shouldn't be rooting for that. Victoria is such a charming creation, it's a shame she If only Jet Li was at least ten years younger, that high-spirited montage of himself and Victoria running around Glascow would've been an excellent prelude to an interracial love affair. But Li is forty-one, and Victoria (Kerry Condon) is supposed to be around seventeen, so we really shouldn't be rooting for that. Victoria is such a charming creation, it's a shame she doesn't get a boyfriend. "Unleashed" tries to tell a story; it's not just a mix-and-match melange of situations for Yuen Wo Ping to work his usually resplendent choreography upon. And even though Danny's indoctrination into family life and ability to grasp language feels a little rushed, the casting-director-must-be-on-crack notion of putting Jet Li and Morgan Freeman, works like gangbusters because Li can act, a bit, this time. Woof! Woof! Woof! Woof! Woof! Woof! Woof! Expand
  25. SusanM.
    May 17, 2005
    7
    Not bad...lots of action and some decent acting.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. 63
    Li is action poetry in motion. Damn them for spoiling our popcorn fun with salty tear-jerking.
  2. 10
    Cloying dreck.
  3. Bounding out of the gate like a greyhound, Unleashed needs only its first 30 seconds or so to elevate itself well above the average action potboiler.