Focus Features | Release Date: May 13, 2005
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 157 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
141
Mixed:
8
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GodlessGODNov 20, 2011
Unleashed (a.k.a. Danny The Dog) is a gangster-fairytale-martial arts-drama about a man who not only was never given the chance to grow up, but was raised as a dog. I've seen hundreds of martial arts action films and I have no problem sayingUnleashed (a.k.a. Danny The Dog) is a gangster-fairytale-martial arts-drama about a man who not only was never given the chance to grow up, but was raised as a dog. I've seen hundreds of martial arts action films and I have no problem saying that Unleashed is easily one of the best English language martial arts action films of all-time! Not only was the action on point but the acting was actually good. Morgan Freeman does a decent enough job (not his best work) but Bob Hoskins blew me away as the wicked uncle! The biggest surprise though was the dramatic chops of Jet Li! He displays a childlike innocence in this role that makes you actually care what happens to him so you end up truly feeling for his character. He gives a stellar emotional and physical performance as an actor, everything from his posture to his emotionally expressive, soulful eyes. He takes you on a journey from animalistic pit-bull-like ferocity to docile puppy-like innocence, curiosity, and vulnerability. You experience moments of humor, drama, & edge of your seat-brutal action sequences! I know some people were put off by the quieter sections of the film when the studio marketed it as some sort of non-stop action flick, but the truth is this movie has heart... Which I find refreshing for this type of film. Simply put, Unleashed was off-the-chain! P.S. Just a WARNING: I own the dvd and when you first put it in it gives you a choice between the Unrated & Extended versions of the film... DO NOT WATCH the extended version for the first viewing! The extended sections ruin the fight scenes with poor video and audio quality, I don't even think they added sound effects. Collapse
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
shaftstrokerOct 5, 2014
Bringing together a full on fight fest coreographed by Yuen woo ping and a heartfelt story of love and loss, this is truly marked as one of the high lights of jet li's career. At nearly ten years old, it still feels fresh and dynamic, evokingBringing together a full on fight fest coreographed by Yuen woo ping and a heartfelt story of love and loss, this is truly marked as one of the high lights of jet li's career. At nearly ten years old, it still feels fresh and dynamic, evoking feelings of the old guy richie-esque style of cinemagrophy. The gritty realistic style of fighting combined with the warmth of innocence of welcoming family life, this truly is a movie that exceeds it's own frames and boundaries and manages to stake out a path of it's own. A definitive must watch. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
DanVDec 24, 2006
This was not a good movie...the fight scenes were hardly exciting and full of awkward scenes...i constantly squirmed watching the movie as so many scenes were just plain stupid...i really don't understand how ppl can give this movie This was not a good movie...the fight scenes were hardly exciting and full of awkward scenes...i constantly squirmed watching the movie as so many scenes were just plain stupid...i really don't understand how ppl can give this movie such a high rating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
CooterPatooterMar 3, 2012
Hands-down the best action scenes in any Jet Li movie ever. Hands-down the goofiest and least believable plot ever (and yes I'm counting Kiss of the Dragon and Once Upon a Time in China and America... they come in 2nd and 3rd :P). TheHands-down the best action scenes in any Jet Li movie ever. Hands-down the goofiest and least believable plot ever (and yes I'm counting Kiss of the Dragon and Once Upon a Time in China and America... they come in 2nd and 3rd :P). The result is quaint and reasonably watchable action-trash. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
avatar16Mar 19, 2012
Attention : production Besson étonnante! Et pour cause, Danny the Dog n'est pas un film entièrement tourné vers l'action. En effet, le long-métrage se veut touchant et naïfAttention : production Besson étonnante! Et pour cause, Danny the Dog n'est pas un film entièrement tourné vers l'action. En effet, le long-métrage se veut touchant et naïf question sentiment. Et quand on voit le personnage que je joue Jet Li (un orphelin transformé en chien d'attaque pour les comptes d'un mafieux), on se prette au jeu. On va même jusqu'à dire qu'il y a quelque chose dans ce Danny the Dog, qui provoque un certain intérêt. Mais bon, production Besson oblige, il y a donc des séquences d'action façon jeu vidéo, des invraisemblances scénaristiques et un casting inégal. Néanmoins, cela reste l'un des "Besson" les plus abordables (Louis Leterrier a quelque chose à montrer!). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JakeSep 25, 2005
Brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillS.Oct 20, 2005
I did not expect to like this movie, but boy was I surprised! Bob Hoskins is phenomenal as Danny's "owner", Morgan Freeman does his usual excellent job, and Jet Li can act (really!). The fighting scenes were good (but that is what I did not expect to like this movie, but boy was I surprised! Bob Hoskins is phenomenal as Danny's "owner", Morgan Freeman does his usual excellent job, and Jet Li can act (really!). The fighting scenes were good (but that is what you'd expect from a Jet Li movie), but the surprise is the tender, moving family scenes with Morgan Freeman. The contrast between the two worlds is effective, making this an excellent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveOct 22, 2005
I can't rate this movie high enoigh. Totally unexpected stuff from Jet Li. Combines the best martial arts seen in any Hollywood fllm with brilliant dramatic performances by Jet Li and Morgan Freeman. A rare gem and touching story... I can't rate this movie high enoigh. Totally unexpected stuff from Jet Li. Combines the best martial arts seen in any Hollywood fllm with brilliant dramatic performances by Jet Li and Morgan Freeman. A rare gem and touching story... this movie is hard to top. I give the movie and story 9/10, but 10/10 for effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
One of jet li's best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NoëlSNov 7, 2005
I think it's one of these action movies since years. Nice fighting scene's like we know from Jet Lee. And the acting lessons from Jet Lee to show more facial emotions are really paying off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
nathanh.Nov 16, 2005
Great movie i enjoyed it alot..had an awesome story line and was very interesting and thie fight scenes were great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxSNov 24, 2005
One of the best films I've seen recently, with a lovely mix of wonderfully-done action and an excellent storyline that's both substantially different and substantially superior to the average martial arts film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Dec 10, 2005
Definitely a strong action movie, and Yuen Mo Ping's work is always welcome. The biggest surprise, though, is the story. It's not totally new, but it's quite well done for this genre, giving the whole film a fresh, even epic Definitely a strong action movie, and Yuen Mo Ping's work is always welcome. The biggest surprise, though, is the story. It's not totally new, but it's quite well done for this genre, giving the whole film a fresh, even epic feel. THe premise of trying to fit in a new world and leaving the old behind also holds your interest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
finkDec 19, 2005
Judging by what a few critics say, I can tell not everyone knows what a strong movie is; what a powerful movie is. This one had power every step of the way and truely is a work of art quite possibly even the best role I have ever seen Jet Li Judging by what a few critics say, I can tell not everyone knows what a strong movie is; what a powerful movie is. This one had power every step of the way and truely is a work of art quite possibly even the best role I have ever seen Jet Li play. Absolutely, anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie, either has on the wrong pair of glasses and has their ears plugged or they just simply acting out of bias. Indeed, a most excellent film! It gets a 9 simply because of a few parts that were skipped, possibly due to keeping the movie to proper length. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BabaMar 1, 2007
I really liked the story.The fight scenes were brutal and exciting and sometimes disturbing which added to the movie's realism. Overall, I found this movie to be a very enjoyable piece of cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful