Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 14, 2010
    100
    Who knew that Unstoppable would be sensational? Talk about well-kept- and welcome-surprises. Tony Scott's latest thriller turns out to be pure cinema in the classic sense of the term. It's a motion picture about motion, an action symphony that gives new meaning to the notion of a one-track mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Dec 14, 2010
    90
    The best blue collar action movie in who knows how long, this tense, narrowly focused thriller about a runaway freight train has a lean and pure simplicity to it that is satisfying in and of itself.
  3. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 14, 2010
    90
    A runaway train drama that never slows down, it fashions familiarity into a virtue and shows why old-school professionalism never goes out of style.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 14, 2010
    88
    The photography and sound here are very effective in establishing that a train is an enormously heavy thing, and once in motion wants to continue. We knew that. But Scott all but crushes us with the weight of the juggernaut. We are spellbound.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 14, 2010
    85
    The thrill of Tony Scott's Unstoppable, in which a runaway freight train hurtles through rural - and toward not-so-rural - Pennsylvania, is that its setup asks us to believe only in human ineptitude.
  6. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Dec 14, 2010
    83
    Director Tony Scott's runaway-train action flick Unstoppable is semi-remarkable for what it doesn't contain.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 14, 2010
    83
    The real star here is the big, unmanned freight train sparking through Pennsylvania at 70 m.p.h. while carrying hazardous cargo. Best of all, the train doesn't have any dialogue.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 71
  2. Negative: 10 out of 71
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    7
    The movie "Unstoppable" is a train itself. It frantically speeds up with a powerful pace and a active engine. Its......Unstoppable.
  2. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    4
    Predictable and cheesy acting. Almost feels like a bad 80's movie. The movie, moreover, had it's moments of suspense.
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    How this movie gets an average that pushes it into the green scores from the 'professional' critics makes me question exactly how corrupt they are; more than I thought, apparently. Swag must be good.
    I agree with JamesL that "Denzel has quit acting". I hope he gave his salary to charity. A-listers are responsible for what projects they choose, period. He's the most powerful person on this project, it's his fault.
    Stupid movies make everyone stupider, and our eye-holes are chock-full of them since I don't know when.
    Critics, I hope you soon join politicians and lawyers and wall street pirates as the most despised professionals, 'cause most of you are dirt.
    Full Review »