User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 223

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    4
    Predictable and cheesy acting. Almost feels like a bad 80's movie. The movie, moreover, had it's moments of suspense.
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    How this movie gets an average that pushes it into the green scores from the 'professional' critics makes me question exactly how corrupt they are; more than I thought, apparently. Swag must be good.
    I agree with JamesL that "Denzel has quit acting". I hope he gave his salary to charity. A-listers are responsible for what projects they choose, period. He's the most powerful person on
    this project, it's his fault.
    Stupid movies make everyone stupider, and our eye-holes are chock-full of them since I don't know when.
    Critics, I hope you soon join politicians and lawyers and wall street pirates as the most despised professionals, 'cause most of you are dirt.
    Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2010
    1
    The film occasionally keeps you on the edge of your seats, there are some good train shots on the bleak background of industrial Pennsylvania, but it's too predictable, has too much nonsense (how can you swiitch the leading engine to a side track but keep the runaway train going straight?...!), the acting is disappointing (except for Rosario Dawson) and the ending is incredibly lame.
  4. Nov 27, 2010
    3
    Just an ok movie. To me, it was a rip off of Akira Korosawa's Runaway Train, which is a far better movie in every aspect, especially acting and plot.
  5. Feb 22, 2011
    1
    I was hoping this movie might be accurate in depicting railroads as I have railroaded for over 30 years. This movie was terrible. Every cliche from the threatening boss, the rogue engineer, the kid winning his respect, the train clearly going about 15 mph when it is said to be going 70. Please. The spunky dispatcher, the lazy hostler. Trust me, when railroaders want to derail something, it gets derailed. My wife and I took 3 hours to watch this mess as I had to stop it so many times to laugh. It was insulting to railroaders and audiences. Denzel must have needed some money or was doing someone a favor. Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2012
    2
    Unbearable. Though I didn't expect much, the movie started off with some promise. But when we learned that Frank's' daughters worked at Hooters, I got a bad feeling. Tension was great until the blue engine started chasing the runaway train. Then things became predictable and manic. Some good actors were given some poor dialog and character motivation. Hard to believe such a situation reacted to and handled this way by railroad employees. And, Hooters...Really?? 04/08/12 Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Way too predictable. Before I watched the movie, I knew how it was going to end. They were going to stop the train and hug their families. Very disappointing. Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2010
    4
    The main problem I had with this movie is how dull the story line is. Sure its original enough, but common, a train? and too finish the movie was a predicitlbe ending, wasn't compelled at all.

    My advice; stick with pelam 123 if you want a good, compelling train movie.
  9. Jan 9, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its a very forgettable and predictable movie. Denzels the only reason people even heard about it...it dont keep you into it, its just way to easy to tell whats going to happen next, its a run away train and right away you can tell the future of it. You didnt actually think the train would cause a massive explosion and wreck if Denzels involved..;) Expand
  10. Apr 17, 2011
    3
    Maybe I was expecting too much from this movie, given what I was told, but I was very disappointed. Itâ
  11. Nov 2, 2012
    0
    I seen this movie in the cinema expecting a Thrill ride, what I got was Speed 4 (The Father Ted Episode Speed 3 was more exciting than this movie), but only even more predictable, boring, stale... if not for the acting... I would have filed a petition to metacritic attempting to get them to add a minus rating to the score system and this would be sitting at -5 at least, waste of time and money.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 14, 2010
    75
    I wouldn't want to see five movies like this one each week but it's a cheeky, madcap joyride.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 14, 2010
    75
    this is a straight-ahead ticking clock thriller, with the usual Tony S. trademarks - punchy dialogue and men doing what needs to be done.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 14, 2010
    63
    Scott shoots and edits Unstoppable with roller-coaster momentum and an eye (and ear) on that roaring tonnage of steel.