Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 12, 2010
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 274 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
185
Mixed:
74
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LizStraussFeb 21, 2011
Denzel is lower key until the role calls for action. Every character is perfectly cast and the movie is well edited to avoid the usual long soapy scenes. The lead character is definitely the train, but I bet that was so when a similarDenzel is lower key until the role calls for action. Every character is perfectly cast and the movie is well edited to avoid the usual long soapy scenes. The lead character is definitely the train, but I bet that was so when a similar incident happened. It was edge of the seat action. Held our attention and kept us engaged. Great fun - everything it should be. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
The movie "Unstoppable" is a train itself. It frantically speeds up with a powerful pace and a active engine. Its......Unstoppable.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesDec 23, 2010
Yes, it's predictable. No, there will be no academy awards for acting. But, if you want a good time at the movies it is totally successful. I think the best part of the film was actually the soundtrack and of course the special effects.Yes, it's predictable. No, there will be no academy awards for acting. But, if you want a good time at the movies it is totally successful. I think the best part of the film was actually the soundtrack and of course the special effects. These trains SOUND like trains and the wrecks look realistic. Really a fun movie and definitely not boring. I will purchase this one on blu-ray when it's released because it looks and sounds great. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleNov 13, 2010
It's no work of art, but it's great fun from start to finish. Denzel is absolutely perfect for the part, and Chris Pine's part is very well-written, and well executed. I also have to say that Rosario Dawson does an incredibly good job in herIt's no work of art, but it's great fun from start to finish. Denzel is absolutely perfect for the part, and Chris Pine's part is very well-written, and well executed. I also have to say that Rosario Dawson does an incredibly good job in her role - why she isn't an A-list star these days is beyond me. Also, the guy who plays the lead welder is a revelation. He needs larger parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ColossusNov 14, 2010
Good movie, does the action movie justice. It has class to it, not the normal mindless action films that have came out recently. Over dramatized from the actual real life story which the movie is based on, but this makes it more fast pacedGood movie, does the action movie justice. It has class to it, not the normal mindless action films that have came out recently. Over dramatized from the actual real life story which the movie is based on, but this makes it more fast paced and interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sreekiranMar 19, 2011
Script: a runaway train named 777 is heading at a rapid speed towards the city of Stanton. Meanwhile as it goes on, two persons frank and will are undertaking a locomotive named 1206. As they come to know about the unstoppable , frank devisesScript: a runaway train named 777 is heading at a rapid speed towards the city of Stanton. Meanwhile as it goes on, two persons frank and will are undertaking a locomotive named 1206. As they come to know about the unstoppable , frank devises a plan through which there are chances of stopping it. What is the plan frank devises ? how they stop the train is the movie about!
Execution: the two questions are been effectively answered. The movie ran for 92 minutes with perfect execution without any boring scenes. Right from the start till the end , the movie had adrenaline rush. Thanks for the crisp editing for the thrill to keep alive at regular intervals. Direction and screenplay: tony scott had done a commendable job. Though the script is in one line , the movie is definitely a catchy one. Screenplay is very fast without any slowness.
Casting: densel Washington and chris pine are the main characters of the movie. They have done a good job. An equal support by Rosario dawson and galvin gives the movie equal benefit. Rest characters fit well.
Background score: the rustling train sounds right from the start till the stopping of the engine , the train roars. Set in a perfect soundscape , the train 777 will rustle and roar in the cinema halls. A perfect movie for home theatres also. The score is soothing , scintillating and sometimes picks up at right intervals. The sound editing is awesome. Editing: the editing of the movie is crisp and standard. The movie ran for 90 minutes and it seemed that the runtime was still far better. But due to crisp editing , the movie was perfectly driven with the train on board and 2 people on its way.
Cinematography: the visuals in the movie are good. But cannot say they are awesome. The train moves and the surrounding scenaries of various towns across pensylvennia are captured. Nice view from the helicopters. It looked decent.
VFX: the visual effects in the movie are not there to that extent. Few crashes and explosions are there. It moves off very quickly. But anyway , the scenes had good visual effects.
Action episodes : there are 3-4 action episodes and stunt scenes performed by the lead cast. Not in terms of bashing of goons , but in terms of jumping onto the train. They are good enough. Camera zooming is good and the thrill during jumping , is intense.
Production values: the movie has a good budget. Nicely taken and it deserves
Entertainment value: the movie is entertaining. It is a perfect adrenaline rush movie. The viewers are hooked to the seats right from the title and the start of the 777. Till the climax scene everyone are hooked and this is a perfect treat for the weekend night along with the family. Rating: 3.5/5.0
Final word: unstoppable is well packed action entertainer. It is a good movie. A sure hit. It deserves 4 stars but , due to lack of startling graphics and interesting cast , the movie stays with 3 ½ stars.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MetalMan95Nov 13, 2010
this was intense! I was on the edge of my seat throughout. I was amazed. It was a little slow at the beginning and it took a little while to get going, but once it got going, it was GOING! And throughout this intense action, they added inthis was intense! I was on the edge of my seat throughout. I was amazed. It was a little slow at the beginning and it took a little while to get going, but once it got going, it was GOING! And throughout this intense action, they added in some comedy that was funny and it worked. This movie deserves your money. If you're seeing skyline, forget about skyline, Unstoppable is where its at! This script is solid! The acting is phenominal! the visuals, dear lord they are awesome. Although a slow, and somewhat long start, this movie is great fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
libnoApr 25, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We live in a world where, unless someone sucks it up and makes a sad, tradgedy, you will be able to predict what will happen. Therefore, it's the stuff that happens in the middle that really matters. And Unstoppable does a good job with that. The characters are all dealing with their personal problems (except for the guy in the pickup truck) and little personality tugs (except, once again, for the guy in the pickup truck). Most of the plot holes were filled except for: why not just keep chasing the train down in a pickup truck instead of a bunch of crazy other options. And of course, I wish it was a sadder story. Probably wouldn't even have picked it up the shelf ifit wasn't. I mean, why would there be a train with toxic chemicals running off and crashing into things!? They explained that nicely with the fat guy that ended up in the fast food industry. And I think the school children should have died. But it was still one of the best movies I've ever seen (and it's competing with The Dark Knight, Inception, Gladiator, Lord of the Rings, Batman Begins, and IRobot (at least one of these names has to mean something to you)). And to criticmike: the train that was "unstoppable" was going to fast to sidetrack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grindhouse83Nov 26, 2010
The best popcorn thriller of the year - I was on the edge of my seat for the duration. The direction and pacing is tight, the plot is kept to a minimum, and the cinematography (although exactly the same as all other recent Tony Scott films)The best popcorn thriller of the year - I was on the edge of my seat for the duration. The direction and pacing is tight, the plot is kept to a minimum, and the cinematography (although exactly the same as all other recent Tony Scott films) keeps the momentum and tension on track. Much of the credit has to go to Washington and Pine for their easy chemistry and considerable everyman charm (and their bravery in tackling the stunts). Rosario Dawson too, is perfect and fresh in her role, effectively representing the voice of reason. All three are likeable despite very little backstory and demand real empathy from the audience. The only downside is that some minor characters are underwhelming and their reactions at times are insufficient (particularly when their loved ones are in serious peril). In saying that, simplicity is the key to this films success, and all aspects result in a fun frenetic experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lukesnookNov 12, 2010
This is a movie I walked in thinking hey, good actors, good director, and a ok plot. Half way into the film I was like who I am kidding, this is the BEST plot ever. It had way better action scenes than I expected, plus It had amazing actingThis is a movie I walked in thinking hey, good actors, good director, and a ok plot. Half way into the film I was like who I am kidding, this is the BEST plot ever. It had way better action scenes than I expected, plus It had amazing acting from Denzel and the young Chris Pine. It will leave you sweating and on the edge of your seat for the whole movie! It was so good I might have to see a second time with my friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mrcriticNov 14, 2010
An amazing flick with lots of action and even some comedy. Recommended to everyone, young or old, this is a future legend... it's unstoppable!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Forrestgump1Dec 11, 2010
"As Implausible the film maybe its still an entertaining truly original edge of your seatl non-stop thrill ride that never lets up. With outstanding lead performances from Denzel Washington and Chris Pine , this just may well be Tony Scott's"As Implausible the film maybe its still an entertaining truly original edge of your seatl non-stop thrill ride that never lets up. With outstanding lead performances from Denzel Washington and Chris Pine , this just may well be Tony Scott's best film in years!" .. B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryNov 13, 2010
It starts as another day in the locomotive for Denzel Washington and Chris Pine, but when an unmanned runaway train is on a collision course with disaster, it's their mission to stop it. There's nothing unpredictable about this solid script,It starts as another day in the locomotive for Denzel Washington and Chris Pine, but when an unmanned runaway train is on a collision course with disaster, it's their mission to stop it. There's nothing unpredictable about this solid script, just a nonstop level of nail-biting tension (I lost 2 nails). Thanks to director Tony Scott's dazzling direction and spectacular setups, this is they type of slick entertainment that Hollywood does best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
brewcrewprideNov 18, 2010
Despite its simple plot, Tony Scott managed to make this into a full length feature film and resulted in probably making one of his best films in over the past ten years. Certainly there were some glitches but in the end this film resulted inDespite its simple plot, Tony Scott managed to make this into a full length feature film and resulted in probably making one of his best films in over the past ten years. Certainly there were some glitches but in the end this film resulted in something that is worth-while entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ESS180Dec 2, 2010
Unstoppable is a pretty good movie.

The first half is slow and boring but in the second half it was great.

There were actually a few little jokes in there as well.

Great action movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndrewUltimateNov 28, 2010
This considerably short movie, that zips through its length even though it's short, is very amusing. It is quite suspenseful & you are never waiting for something to happen, because it is never dragging. Denzel Washington also is great forThis considerably short movie, that zips through its length even though it's short, is very amusing. It is quite suspenseful & you are never waiting for something to happen, because it is never dragging. Denzel Washington also is great for the part that he has, & with a little humor added in, you won't want to miss this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EthanPeterNov 16, 2010
I'd prefer to give it a 94 or 95. This isn't without its flaws in the grand scheme of movies. But as an action film, I can't recall anything recent that comes close to this kind of perfection: engrossing and suspenseful, effortless, andI'd prefer to give it a 94 or 95. This isn't without its flaws in the grand scheme of movies. But as an action film, I can't recall anything recent that comes close to this kind of perfection: engrossing and suspenseful, effortless, and memorable only because it's an hour and a half of something awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
skanteaDec 23, 2010
As always, part of the movie experieince is the mood or attitude you bring as a viewer. For whatever reason my mood was perfect for enjoying Unstoppable. It started as can be expected, a train that can't be stopped, wooh, how will it end.As always, part of the movie experieince is the mood or attitude you bring as a viewer. For whatever reason my mood was perfect for enjoying Unstoppable. It started as can be expected, a train that can't be stopped, wooh, how will it end. But at some point in the first hour you suddenly realize that the director isn't phoning it in. Every smart idea you can think of to stop that train, they actually try, and everything fails. The director does a great job of staying one step ahead of the audience which allows control freaks like me to relax and just follow. At one point when things started getting particularly heroic, I had an emotional flash back to 9/11 and felt like chanting, "AMERICA!"
Great job guys, well worth our time and dime.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beelzie14Aug 25, 2011
I'll admit I know less about the railways and railroading than Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock combined! So whether this was factually or technically accurate in reflecting the true nuances of railroading, I will never know and neither do II'll admit I know less about the railways and railroading than Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock combined! So whether this was factually or technically accurate in reflecting the true nuances of railroading, I will never know and neither do I give a hoot. And it is probably for those reasons that I enjoyed this film.
Denzel was his usual wily, knowledgeable character who plays the underdog who comes out smelling like champagne and roses.
Chris Pine is proving himself to be an actor of class who brings a believable feel to his character.
Beyond the obligatory America-centric fist pumping and show of corporate negligence, the film rolls on at a consistently fast pace with some novel ideas.
This is no Speed - because it is better due to credible actors keeping this "on track" and making it a very enjoyable few hours of entertainment.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adriceyNov 16, 2010
Finally a 21st century Tony Scott film that I really loved watching! None of that false-colour, jumping-camera stuff he did in Domino, Deja Vu, Man on Fire and other movies. The story isn't that deep but extremely effective. Chris Pine does aFinally a 21st century Tony Scott film that I really loved watching! None of that false-colour, jumping-camera stuff he did in Domino, Deja Vu, Man on Fire and other movies. The story isn't that deep but extremely effective. Chris Pine does a solid job, as does Rosario Dawson. Denzel is, well, Denzel. The film picks up early and doesn't let up until the closing scenes. Well done on all fronts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AerthosNov 17, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unstoppable is inevitably one of those films that will be undervalued because it is so succinctly a solid film with very little fluff.

The premise is very simple: there is a runaway freight train carrying hazardous chemicals set to derail in a heavily populated area and create a catastrophe. If you have seen the trailer, you have also met the three characters who play the largest roles--Frank (Denzel Washington), Will (Chris Pine), and Connie (Rosario Dawson). What you do not realize from the trailer is that these characters are fillers, they are superfluous--they are not even credited with having last names! (When was the last time that happened to leading characters in a November release?) The real star of the show is the TENSION, which is simple and doesn't pretend to have any kind of outrageous complexity to it, which also makes it feel much more real.

"Unstoppable" is succinct, and that is also the real beauty and what people will no doubt dislike about the film. The film quite literally starts off (
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nancyNov 14, 2010
Good movie!! The movie does take a bit to get up to speed, like the train, but then it takes off. I really enjoyed the visual ride of this film. The camera technique emphasizes the feeling of movement and speed and adds to the feeling ofGood movie!! The movie does take a bit to get up to speed, like the train, but then it takes off. I really enjoyed the visual ride of this film. The camera technique emphasizes the feeling of movement and speed and adds to the feeling of tension. The acting is solid and well-done, a pleasure to watch. Glad I saw it and will be recommending it to friends who watch more than girly movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DULUTHENGINEER2Nov 16, 2010
As a slam-bang exciting film, this is great. But anyone familiar with railroads will notice many errors. Just a few: the engineer of No. 1206 states that it has 5000 HP. But it is an SD-40, 3000 HP. A central figure is described as a"As a slam-bang exciting film, this is great. But anyone familiar with railroads will notice many errors. Just a few: the engineer of No. 1206 states that it has 5000 HP. But it is an SD-40, 3000 HP. A central figure is described as a" Yardmaster", yet she appears to control the entire subdivision. Only a Superintendent or Trainmaster would have that responsibility, especially in an emergency. A minor sub-plot, that the engineer has been involuntarily retired with "half benefits" is blatantly illegal and simply does not happen under modern law. Speed-limit signs (visible on a bridge) are not in use on any railroad--they seem to be like highway signs. Anyhow, see it (8.5)!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
djmac92905Nov 17, 2010
Well acted, highly entertaining, intense and well shot. Better dialogue and character development than one typically expects from the genre. Best action movie I've seen in a long time. The personification of the train as antagonistWell acted, highly entertaining, intense and well shot. Better dialogue and character development than one typically expects from the genre. Best action movie I've seen in a long time. The personification of the train as antagonist reminded me of "Duel" and "Backdraft" - very hard to do but very cool when it works! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 19, 2010
From the same director who brought you "The Taking of Pelham 123" last year, his next train oriented thriller stays on track (pun intended). The script, above anything in the film, was well written. The audience knows what is going to happen,From the same director who brought you "The Taking of Pelham 123" last year, his next train oriented thriller stays on track (pun intended). The script, above anything in the film, was well written. The audience knows what is going to happen, why not make it the most interesting from the audiences predictions? Tony Scott knows how to make a thriller, and leave out any extra cargo (pun intended). From edge of your seat thrills, to a story that's not as corny as Hollywood usually makes it, puts "Unstoppable" as one of the highlight action films of 2010. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DoctorKillaNov 22, 2010
The acting is near perfect, and the film has an uncanny ability to suck you in and downright entertain. Unlike other thrillers, it's very unpredictable maybe because not many people are like this one. Despite some semi-noticeable gaps inThe acting is near perfect, and the film has an uncanny ability to suck you in and downright entertain. Unlike other thrillers, it's very unpredictable maybe because not many people are like this one. Despite some semi-noticeable gaps in plausibility, or maybe it's me being an analytical college student, this move is scarily realistic. Definitely a worthwhile $10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheGorillaJan 12, 2011
well, this really surprised me. i wasn't expecting to see a good film with it's cheesy name but it sure gave me entertainment for a hour and a half..but Denzel should not act in such movies any more. he can do better than this. for sure!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LoganNov 25, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Although the SNL spoof of the trailer was hilarious, the actual movie was very gripping and suspenseful. This is not to say that it was a perfect movie, but it was very good in general. Definitely should seeI thoroughly enjoyed this film. Although the SNL spoof of the trailer was hilarious, the actual movie was very gripping and suspenseful. This is not to say that it was a perfect movie, but it was very good in general. Definitely should see it if you're into action, but not gory, films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WillFrankNov 27, 2010
This movie was incredibly dumb, but was great fun all the same. Denzel Washington is wonderful as always and Chris Pine not bad himself. Rosario Dawson was great as well. This movie was truely nothing special, but it had some awesome visualsThis movie was incredibly dumb, but was great fun all the same. Denzel Washington is wonderful as always and Chris Pine not bad himself. Rosario Dawson was great as well. This movie was truely nothing special, but it had some awesome visuals and action scenes. If you're looking for a good action flick go see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
D-SliceMar 5, 2011
The film lacks a certain amount of emotion, and maybe that's because it's so harsh (especially around the middle of the picture), but it sure does satisfy. Unstoppable is funny when it wants to be, has a great attention to detail andThe film lacks a certain amount of emotion, and maybe that's because it's so harsh (especially around the middle of the picture), but it sure does satisfy. Unstoppable is funny when it wants to be, has a great attention to detail and old-school, edge-of-your-seat action. Chris Pine and Denzel Washington shine as a duo. Due to the great cinematography and sound (not Academy Award worthy, however), the audience gets the feel of the immense power of the train which provides consistency throughout the film. Overall, this movie brings back the classic intensity and fun that brings back memories of 'Speed' with Keanu Reeves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews