Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: An unmanned runaway train is carrying a cargo of toxic chemicals. An engineer and his conductor find themselves in a race against time. (Firm Films)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 14, 2010
    100
    Who knew that Unstoppable would be sensational? Talk about well-kept- and welcome-surprises. Tony Scott's latest thriller turns out to be pure cinema in the classic sense of the term. It's a motion picture about motion, an action symphony that gives new meaning to the notion of a one-track mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 14, 2010
    85
    The thrill of Tony Scott's Unstoppable, in which a runaway freight train hurtles through rural - and toward not-so-rural - Pennsylvania, is that its setup asks us to believe only in human ineptitude.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 14, 2010
    80
    With a movie like this, trying to guess how it ends isn't the point. Enjoying the ride is, and on that front, Unstoppable delivers.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 14, 2010
    75
    The runaway train thriller Unstoppable is one of Tony Scott's better films.
  5. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Dec 14, 2010
    70
    Unbeatable entertainment if you want to climb on board for the ride.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 14, 2010
    60
    If a movie can be both exciting and boring at the same time, that movie would be Unstoppable an adrenaline-infused runaway-train flick that perfectly distills director Tony Scott's talents and limitations.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Dec 14, 2010
    30
    It's manic and wearyingly predictable, and as soon as it begins, you know exactly how it's going to end: with a hard, fast crash (and the requisite yakkety epilogue).

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 71
  2. Negative: 10 out of 71
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Denzel is lower key until the role calls for action. Every character is perfectly cast and the movie is well edited to avoid the usual long soapy scenes. The lead character is definitely the train, but I bet that was so when a similar incident happened. It was edge of the seat action. Held our attention and kept us engaged. Great fun - everything it should be. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2010
    9
    this was intense! I was on the edge of my seat throughout. I was amazed. It was a little slow at the beginning and it took a little while to get going, but once it got going, it was GOING! And throughout this intense action, they added in some comedy that was funny and it worked. This movie deserves your money. If you're seeing skyline, forget about skyline, Unstoppable is where its at! This script is solid! The acting is phenominal! the visuals, dear lord they are awesome. Although a slow, and somewhat long start, this movie is great fun! Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    I was surprised that this film was actually good. The first 5 or 10 minutes for me was pretty boring but the rest was really awesome. The acting of the most characters were really good (the acting of the daughters and Darcy wasn't that good). This is probably the best train-disaster film in recent years. The film made me believe that the characters were real (yeah only the unmanned train part of the film is based on a true story). This film is really interesting and awesome. Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    Unstoppable is a pretty good movie.

    The first half is slow and boring but in the second half it was great.

    There were actually a few
    little jokes in there as well.

    Great action movie.
    Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    UNSTOPPABLE is an entertaining and fun action flick that is a great time when watched in cinemas.
  6. Nov 30, 2010
    6
    Not a bad movie but not a great movie, I'd say it was just decent. I took my out-of-town visiting mother and she enjoyed it (plus she didn't nag me for two hours). As for me, I didn't fall asleep. Chris Pine is fairly annoying and his whole relationship is a distraction that would have been better left out of the movie. Denzel as always does a great job acting, but get rid of the "that's my Daddy" daughter stuff. Too many films these days try to have a little bit of everything in them (love story, death of a friend, natural disaster, etc.), just give me a good movie with a twisting plot and good no-name actors and I'm good to go. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2012
    0
    I seen this movie in the cinema expecting a Thrill ride, what I got was Speed 4 (The Father Ted Episode Speed 3 was more exciting than this movie), but only even more predictable, boring, stale... if not for the acting... I would have filed a petition to metacritic attempting to get them to add a minus rating to the score system and this would be sitting at -5 at least, waste of time and money. Collapse

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers