Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 431 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ryan Bingham is a corporate downsizing expert whose cherished life on the road is threatened just as he is on the cusp of reaching ten million frequent flyer miles and after he’s met the frequent-traveler woman of his dreams. (Paramount Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Up in the Air may not end up as the best picture -- that will be decided by the Academy -- but it has landed in the middle of the discussion because it's laser-focused and right on time.
  2. Ryan may not be admirable, but Clooney makes him relatable. It's his deepest and nakedest performance.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    100
    It's rare for a movie to be at once so biting and so moving. If Ryan's future seems bleak, there's something exhilarating about a movie made with such clear-eyed intelligence.
  4. 88
    One-word reaction: bravo.
  5. If Steven Soderbergh taught Clooney how to act in "Out of Sight," then Reitman has taught him how to stop acting. This is the most vulnerable, the most playful, the most human performance of his career.
  6. Farmiga has never been better than she is here. Rarely does she get to do comedy, and she and Clooney give Up in the Air's sustained air of engaging disengagement a heartbeat as well as a romantic charge.
  7. Reitman, who also cowrote the screenplay, feels the constant need to "deepen" his characters, granting them wants and motivations--especially during the moralistic third act--that are totally alien to how they're initially portrayed.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 188
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite films ever, is amazing, incedible, emotive. And the better... the cast, Anna Kendrick, Vera Farmiga, George Clooney, are amazing. The story can be sad, but the film is fantastic. Up in the Air is a classic. Expand
  2. xerxes
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    What a great film i hope it wins best picture or any other film besides avatar because that film was so average they act like its the best film of all times, my goodness up in the air is way better. Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    A great movie of a solitary life. Everything in this movie makes me sad and I find it beautiful. George Clooney is back again and he is amazing. The writing is sharp and witty with a fun story about what it's like in the modern society. Expand
  4. Brett
    Feb 7, 2010
    8
    Love movies that make you look at your life. Yes the movie is smug, but the key message is 'look at your life, in how many of your favorite moments were you alone?'. If your favorite movie of the year was Transformers 2, you should probably not consider seeing this, as you will deem it 'overhyped', if you on the other hand have a few brain cells, you should enjoy it in some fashion. Collapse
  5. JL
    Jan 22, 2010
    6
    Somebody MUST have had a lot of critics on the payroll. I loved "Thank You For Smoking" and "Juno". But "Up In The Air" is really a take it or leave it kind of film. Fine for a DVD watch on a rainy afternoon, but nothing more. The characters are interesting and there's a little bit of conflict and revelation. But best film of the year?! Best actor?! I haven't been this surprised about the critics ravings since "Million Dollar Baby". The only excuse I can come up with is that critics and Hollywood types relate to the movie because they are always flying on planes and on the go with no time for serious relationships and/or a preferce for non-committed relationships. I simply didn't relate to the movie themes. Expand
  6. WayneL.
    Feb 11, 2010
    4
    When the movie was over, I couldn't answer the question of why it was made.
  7. CarolAnn
    Dec 25, 2009
    0
    Couldn't wait to see this highly praised movie. About 30 minutes into the film I knew I had been had. Just awful with characters that you hate, poor dialogue, and a movie that meanders nowhere. So depressing in this economy and to be released at Christmas? What were they thinking. Word of mouth will doom this terrible work. Expand

See all 188 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Films about the Ongoing Financial Crisis

    Ranked: Films about the Ongoing Financial Crisis Image
    Published: October 19, 2011
    This week, the ensemble drama "Margin Call" becomes the latest film to tackle the ongoing economic downturn. Where does it rank among the films that came before it? Find out inside.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.
  3. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.
  4. Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to "Locker"

    Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to
    Published: December 14, 2009
    The New York Film Critics Circle added to The Hurt Locker's growing list of honors, while another critic organization sided with Up in the Air.
  5. AFI, Boston Critics, L.A. Critics Name Top Movies of 2009

    AFI, Boston Critics, L.A. Critics Name Top Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: December 13, 2009
    The awards season kicks into high gear this week, and three separate organizations have given a big boost to The Hurt Locker, while another favors Avatar.