User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 893 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 893
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StehenB
    Jun 6, 2009
    7
    Pixar sets a high bar for its movies. While "UP" is quite good, I still felt slightly disappointed by the film. The story, while original for an animated feature, is not well developed. It is also a bit confusing and disturbing for youngsters (i.e. scenes related to deaths). I can suspend my belief about a house carried off by helium balloons. But there are too many other incredible Pixar sets a high bar for its movies. While "UP" is quite good, I still felt slightly disappointed by the film. The story, while original for an animated feature, is not well developed. It is also a bit confusing and disturbing for youngsters (i.e. scenes related to deaths). I can suspend my belief about a house carried off by helium balloons. But there are too many other incredible elements that the film forces us to accept. Talking dogs? Why? The film is better than most, but still falls noticeably short of other Pixar classics. Expand
  2. clint
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    UP was sensational! A definite must see. An animated film that dares to do what other animated films won't. While often fantastical in nature, the film is grounded in the human story of the main characters. A poignant and hilarious film that has me smiling from ear to ear up to now whenever I think of it.
  3. CharlesW
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and left the theater UPlifted and happy in every way imaginable. Expand
  4. AnnaF
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A heartfelt and hilarious gem of a movie! I highy recommend this to everyone, from families with young kids and moviefans alike. The characters were all memorable and endearing.
  5. EricB
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I don't get how people can't like this movie. The characters are hilarious and likeable, and from the first scene, you're drawn into the movie. I got a bit teary-eyed several times throughout the movie, which is saying something. The ending is very satisfying, as well. The plot has many twists and turns, and I can't believe some people say it's predictable. I I don't get how people can't like this movie. The characters are hilarious and likeable, and from the first scene, you're drawn into the movie. I got a bit teary-eyed several times throughout the movie, which is saying something. The ending is very satisfying, as well. The plot has many twists and turns, and I can't believe some people say it's predictable. I didn't see any of the big twists coming. Overall, this is one of my favorite movies of all time. Go see it RIGHT NOW. Expand
  6. LeRonN
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    A+ is not high enough for this one.
  7. Chris
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Hilarious and heart warming
  8. LeonP
    Jul 30, 2009
    8
    Disappointing (for a Pixar) The first 10-15 minutes are so beautiful, it equals in intensity and subtlety some parts of WALL-E, but in South America, UP draws us back to when animation features were mostly for kids. They could have done seomthing a lot better, a lot more touching (the parts with Carl's wife amost all had me teary eyed! from the first minutes to the movie!) All in Disappointing (for a Pixar) The first 10-15 minutes are so beautiful, it equals in intensity and subtlety some parts of WALL-E, but in South America, UP draws us back to when animation features were mostly for kids. They could have done seomthing a lot better, a lot more touching (the parts with Carl's wife amost all had me teary eyed! from the first minutes to the movie!) All in all, a good cartoon, with some moments of sheer brilliance, this movie has only one (big) problem: WALL-E. 8/10 isn't bad for a movie that disppointed me, it means Pixar have set the bar extremely high. Expand
  9. AllieL
    Jul 30, 2009
    8
    I love Pixar and their movies, but this one was the most unusual of them all. The story line was very deep, emotional, and mature. It seemed like very young children wouldn't understand the background story of why the old man wanted to move his house to South America w/o their parents explaining it. But I thought the way Pixar told the story of the old man and his wife was very I love Pixar and their movies, but this one was the most unusual of them all. The story line was very deep, emotional, and mature. It seemed like very young children wouldn't understand the background story of why the old man wanted to move his house to South America w/o their parents explaining it. But I thought the way Pixar told the story of the old man and his wife was very artistic, romantic and sweet. I would/do recommend this movie to others. Because it's so different then the previous films makes this one even a little more special. Expand
  10. LishD
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    It was an incredible movie. I love how they touched on some topics many movies are scared of, the loss of a loved one and the neglect of a parent. Despite the overtones of this, it was an uplifting and enjoyable movie for everyone. Those who have commented about how dark it is, and how it wasnt a Pixar movie, I dont believe we watched the same movie. It was a beautiful story full of humor It was an incredible movie. I love how they touched on some topics many movies are scared of, the loss of a loved one and the neglect of a parent. Despite the overtones of this, it was an uplifting and enjoyable movie for everyone. Those who have commented about how dark it is, and how it wasnt a Pixar movie, I dont believe we watched the same movie. It was a beautiful story full of humor and sadness, I enjoyed it completely. Expand
  11. ClariceT.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    A wonderful movie that sums up the human experience. We all have moments of sorrow and sadness, but it is these moments that we come to accept and overcome, thus making the eventual happy times all the more joyous and memorable.
  12. DanielK.
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    No movie is perfect, but this one is very close for what it is. It manages to be genuine even though it is animated, and it is just a beautiful movie and wonderful story.
  13. Eliasc
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Another Pixar high achievement on the road to more complex themed animation. Pixar manages to create animated films that have storylines and character that will interest adults and yet still appeal to children. Here's hoping that Pixar takes the next step and animate even more complex stories.
  14. TonyC
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Awesome. the first Pixar movie to bring me within tears in the first ten minutes. A great tale, the kind Pixar has not failed to deliver.
  15. KatT
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Beautiful storyline (great morals for the kids) and heaps of humor. Both myself and my 11year old were giggling throughout. Will be buying this on DVD and watching again! (by the way Niv, its called a "spoiler" for a reason)
  16. BrianM
    Sep 2, 2009
    8
    The Pixar movies are so routinely excellent that when they are just a bit below par, it's surprising. Up is a very strong movie; immensely entertaining and surprisingly moving as well. But it doesn't stick to your ribs the way the best of the Pixar lot do. It feels just a little too conventional. Still, it's a true delight and probably the best movie of the summer.
  17. AlexY
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    This movie could melt a heart of ice. Up is consistently touching and captivating, if just a bit cheesy at times, but even the cheesy bits are heartwarming. The storyline is unique, bizarre, and inspiring. This is Pixar's best film since the Incredibles.
  18. BrianV.
    Mar 11, 2010
    9
    There should be more movies like this! though it is a movie ment for the younger audience, it is very well performed!
  19. BryanL.
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I think the one thing I can count on in about 90% of all rated movies is the poor rating coming from Salon.com's Stephanie Zacharek. This is a beautiful film with nary a flaw to it. Miss Zacharek, perhaps you should step aside and let someone who actually enjoys watching movies do the critiquing.
  20. JD
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I didn't want too see this film one bit... my mate dragged me along... best film iv seen this year! loved it. its been a long time that iv actually agreed something was worth the money in this day and age. POINT!
  21. NickV.
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    Well, Pixar really didn't let me down on this one. Another gem. Saw it in 3D.
  22. WillC
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Up is an absolute masterpiece of cinema. Its incredibly moving plot and beautiful animation make it one of the most ambitious animted movies ever created. This movie is great a telling a story without words and these moments were incredibly moving and very touching. This film had me laughing one minute and crying the next.
  23. KarlT
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies this year. Possibly THE best. Top five at least. An animated masterpiece.
  24. TonyO.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what is more, I loved the 3D as well. Special points. The landscapes on the mountain/waterfall, and the realisation of the blimp. And the dogs were pretty Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what is more, I loved the 3D as well. Special points. The landscapes on the mountain/waterfall, and the realisation of the blimp. And the dogs were pretty funny. A gem. Expand
  25. GabeS.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. In fact it maybe the most emotional I've ever seen. I know it's easily going to win Best Animated movie in the Academy's, but it's actually a shame that it won't be nominated for Best Movie of the Year. Anyway to sum all things up. This is the best movie of the year so far. Expand
  26. MelanieL
    May 31, 2009
    10
    The story is so much fun and it is beautiful to watch.
  27. JoelW.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Like other reviewers before me, its safe to say Pixar is making films for adults that children will only appreciate some aspects of and UP is no different. This is a wonderful story, and storytelling is what Pixar seems to do best. I highly recommend this film.
  28. JonL
    May 31, 2009
    9
    Not quite a masterpiece, but a fantastic piece of craftsmanship from the most reliable brand in the world.
  29. Stephanie
    May 31, 2009
    10
    I was utterly shocked by how filled with sadness and joy this movie brought me last night. There was not a dry eye in the movie theater during most of the film and it was an absolute pleasure to view. I'm encouraging everyone I know to see this movie.
  30. RachelJ
    May 31, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece, brilliant in every way. A heart warming tale, that made you love all the characters. Good for the whole family. Although it is heartbreaking at parts, it ads to the superb plot.
  31. DianaB
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of Carl and even Russell. Pixar has managed to create this masterpiece which elicits genuine tears, genuine laughs, all neatly tied together in a wonderful film. We all left the theater overjoyed. A+ for UP Expand
  32. LisaA.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A wonderful adventure, sweet, laugh out loud funny, poignant, and uplifting (no pun intended). My kids and husband immensely enjoyed it.
  33. CalebH
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    A perfect balance of laugh out loud humor and emotional depth that creates one of the most intriguing and unforgettable stories of our time about true love and understanding when it's time to let go. In the end, you have no where to go, but Up.
  34. JayK
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    I was disappointed by this movie, as I expected something on par with Wall-E. The first 15 minutes are very touching, even made me teary (I see my future before me). But this movie's ability to conjure real emotion stops there, with characters and story that are thenceforth somewhat flat. And while I love the weirdness and creativity displayed by many other animated films (Spirited I was disappointed by this movie, as I expected something on par with Wall-E. The first 15 minutes are very touching, even made me teary (I see my future before me). But this movie's ability to conjure real emotion stops there, with characters and story that are thenceforth somewhat flat. And while I love the weirdness and creativity displayed by many other animated films (Spirited Away, etc.), here the strangeness just rarely seems to fit right. (SPOILER ALERT) So many aspects felt uncomfortable and jarring, such as the old man running around for half the movie tethered to a house. The dogs are often funny (highlight of the film), but (SPOILER ALERT) flying planes?!? And the old guy gets random bouts of superhuman strength, speed, and flexibility (intentional, perhaps, but jarring). These random outcrops of weirdness never fit and are distracting, which I think is made worse by the art style that doesn't gel the realistic and the cartoony quite right. Close, but no cigar. Expand
  35. PeterM
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Excellent in every way possible. A joy to watch and notice all the small details.
  36. BillP
    Jun 1, 2009
    7
    The premise and animation quality might be worthy of a ten, but the execution of the story itself deserved anything but. Definitely my least favorite Pixar film by far (and a bit stunned at the 100s being so freely tossed around). The plot often felt too manipulated by the writers and required too many impractical moments to execute (sure some are required and perfectly fine since its a The premise and animation quality might be worthy of a ten, but the execution of the story itself deserved anything but. Definitely my least favorite Pixar film by far (and a bit stunned at the 100s being so freely tossed around). The plot often felt too manipulated by the writers and required too many impractical moments to execute (sure some are required and perfectly fine since its a fantasy, but it became too much for me with the old man repeatedly displaying Herculean strength and dogs flying planes, etc). These cliche and over-the-top action sequences just felt a little cheesy in an amateurish animation studio sort of way (see "Monsters vs Aliens" notion of a storyboard) and not something I've come to expect from Pixar's usually intricate and fully developed story lines. The characters weren't much to get behind either as the old man and the boy scout were simply caricatures of their respective stereotypes to the point that their source of humor is mostly rehashed from other movies (I find that sort of boy scout stereotype to make for an annoying character personally). The dogs, aside from the hero/cute dog, I also found to be annoying after awhile especially since they began to play a prominent role in the movie (one talking dog is plenty). That being said there were some fine moments...the back story of the old man's life has some moments and so does the last 15 minutes of the movie in general (where most of the humor and more enjoyable pace seemed to have been hiding). I'm still a little skeptical at this movie's ability to hold the attention of the younger ages so I was inclined to give it a 6, but gave it a 7 because I'm a softy for animations. Expand
  37. MiguelG
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    One of the best Pixar films ever conceived. Sure to be a long-standing Classic for years to come. "Up" is a stunning follow up to 2008's brilliant "Wall-E." It brings to life characters in ways that only Pixar can. These characters are all well drawn out and believeable, and the plot is absolutely amazing in its ability to infuse comedy with tragedy. While I can admit that there are One of the best Pixar films ever conceived. Sure to be a long-standing Classic for years to come. "Up" is a stunning follow up to 2008's brilliant "Wall-E." It brings to life characters in ways that only Pixar can. These characters are all well drawn out and believeable, and the plot is absolutely amazing in its ability to infuse comedy with tragedy. While I can admit that there are aspects of the film that would seem impossible (a floating house, talking dogs) the film makes everything seem so incredibly real. It is definitely a film that children and adults alike can enjoy. A sensationally heartfelt, often uplifting film, it seems almost impossible that anyone can't love "Up." Expand
  38. IanC.
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    This served as a reminder that sometimes we have to say goodbye to the things we love in order to get on with our lives.
  39. J.K.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    This captivating tale of extremely believable characters brings back the glory days of Hayao Miyazaki, where story and characters are subtle and sympathetic. It truly stands out in the crowd of abrasive, mindless animations now-a-days.
  40. JimF
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    It's not hard understanding why Pixar's shorts are so good: their features, particularly the last two, are at their best in the short, self-contained sequences that often begin the films. It was true with "Wall-E", which nonetheless still sustained itself after its brilliant opening and remains the company's best film. And it's true with "Up", which contains a charming It's not hard understanding why Pixar's shorts are so good: their features, particularly the last two, are at their best in the short, self-contained sequences that often begin the films. It was true with "Wall-E", which nonetheless still sustained itself after its brilliant opening and remains the company's best film. And it's true with "Up", which contains a charming and surprising five minute scene near the beginning of the film that encapsulates the early love affair between a crotchety old man (Ed Asner) and the adventurous girl he marries and adores so well it effectively serves to anchor the rest of the movie. Good thing, because that remaining hour or so of screen time is not that interesting in itself. It reminds me of that famous quote about history, that it's just one damn thing after another. Despite that, I still liked this film a great deal. That opening put me on its side, and on the side of its characters, and I never tired enough of the generic action to lose my affection and interest in them. "Wall-E" is a work of art; "Up" is a charming and enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours. Expand
  41. KurtC
    Jun 20, 2009
    7
    Overall, an enjoyable movie, but not one of Pixar's best (however, I liked it more than WALL-E, which I was not the biggest fan of). Heavy stuff for a children's movie...hence the PG rating, which reflects the darker, more sinister elements of the movie, relatively speaking to other children's films. What was missing from Up! was the joyful and fantastic aesthetic of Overall, an enjoyable movie, but not one of Pixar's best (however, I liked it more than WALL-E, which I was not the biggest fan of). Heavy stuff for a children's movie...hence the PG rating, which reflects the darker, more sinister elements of the movie, relatively speaking to other children's films. What was missing from Up! was the joyful and fantastic aesthetic of Pixar's earlier movies (e.g., Toy Story, Finding Nemo, The Incredibles). Up! ended up feeling predictable and heavy-handed. All in all, I'd probably watch it again. Expand
  42. KyleF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. The adventurous nature of this film was incredible, the heartfelt story was amazing too. GO SEE THIS FILM.
  43. Jeremy
    Jun 2, 2009
    8
    Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is the Disney monster. Up creates a few such moments that manage to carry it. But in between the movie pinballs around a startling series of Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is the Disney monster. Up creates a few such moments that manage to carry it. But in between the movie pinballs around a startling series of miscalculations and just plain stupid dialogue. The Wall Street Journal review seems to catch the problem: the movie seems caught in storyboard form. Nevertheless, because the worthwhile portions are Pixar visuals and Pixar moments, Up remains a really good movie. Those of us who hold WALL-E and Ratatouille in such high esteem have to feel some regret knowing what could have been. Expand
  44. ChrisF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    A beautiful story along with beautiful visuals and a beautiful score. Well done Pixar, you always impress me more and more.
  45. xoux
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Clearly one of the best since finding nemo.
  46. ChrisB
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Pixar is brilliant. When I saw the commercial and trailer for this, I thought it was going to be their first bad pic, but if you have a soul, you will be at the least a little misty after the first 10 minutes or so. Equally appealing to adults and kids, it's probably the best film I've seen this year.
  47. Jassie
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Bambi, Snow White, Lion King, and other past Disney films had their "dark" and "heavy" elements, and me and my generation turned out rather well. Obviously, those in the minority complaining about the real life themes in UP are these NEWBIE parents who finds talking and engaging their kids whenever something piques their interest too bothersome and tedious.
  48. DavidB
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    @Memo T - Abortion? What are you talking about? There was no abortion reference -- it was a miscarriage, bozo! And even if there were an abortion reference -- you would give it a 5 because of that? The opening sequence was as powerful as that of Wall-E, and the story was enchanting with the usual mindblowing animation.
  49. TomS
    Jun 28, 2009
    9
    Great movie. Not Pixar's best, but much better than Cars. Bleh! To the person who said this story touches on the topic of abortion...no it doesn't. Ellie doesn't get an abortion, they just realize she isn't "fertile" and she cannot have children. Obviously your poor score reflects your poor attention.
  50. WonderfulLizard
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    Great film. Yo, Memo T? That was a miscarriage. It was obvious that they were intending to have a baby and failed.
  51. AlexH.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    This is an outstanding movie. I went into the movie theater not expecting much, but since it was Pixar, it had to be good. It's funny, touching, and exciting.
  52. KevinP.
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    More like a 9.5...Pixar once again has proven themselves to be the best filmmakers in the business. Their last two films (Ratatouille and WALL-E) were each the best movies to come out in their respective years (that sentence sounds weird, but I'm sure you get what I mean) and it looks like Up is going to continue that streak for the third consecutive year. Probably Pixar's More like a 9.5...Pixar once again has proven themselves to be the best filmmakers in the business. Their last two films (Ratatouille and WALL-E) were each the best movies to come out in their respective years (that sentence sounds weird, but I'm sure you get what I mean) and it looks like Up is going to continue that streak for the third consecutive year. Probably Pixar's funniest offering to date, along with a very heartfelt story. Pixar is one of the only companies out there not re-making old films or basing their movies off of best-selling books...major props to them! Collapse
  53. RobertB
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best that pixar ever produced.This should easily win best animated picture and should, although unlikely, be nominated for best picture at the Oscars.
  54. JoeyM
    Jun 8, 2009
    9
    My wife and I absolutely loved "Up," particularly the dogs. We laughed just about as much as we cried. Indeed, the first fifteen minutes or so is about the most moving bit of storytelling I've seen on the big screen in years. I'd read what happens in those first fifteen minutes and I still couldn't stop myself from tearing up. While it doesn't quite reach the heights My wife and I absolutely loved "Up," particularly the dogs. We laughed just about as much as we cried. Indeed, the first fifteen minutes or so is about the most moving bit of storytelling I've seen on the big screen in years. I'd read what happens in those first fifteen minutes and I still couldn't stop myself from tearing up. While it doesn't quite reach the heights of "Wall-E" or 'Rataouile" for me (but what can?), this will likely be my favorite movie of 2009. Must see. Expand
  55. Janus
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, well, this 26yr old couldn't stop smiling after seeing UP! A great animated film for all ages, and for once, one with good moral values that can A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, well, this 26yr old couldn't stop smiling after seeing UP! A great animated film for all ages, and for once, one with good moral values that can be taught. Expand
  56. MarkA
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying then laughing in succession. It beautifully weaves subtle, cartoonish humor with sadness and revelation. The minds at Pixar have once again broken Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying then laughing in succession. It beautifully weaves subtle, cartoonish humor with sadness and revelation. The minds at Pixar have once again broken boundaries with this film, and I highly recommend it. Expand
  57. EwanM
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    It was fantastic! one of the best movies i have ever seen.
  58. ShellyW
    Jun 9, 2009
    8
    This was a great movie for me and my husband a the older kids. We LOVED it! The deceit is how the commercials bill it as "The Best Comedy of the summer". While there were certainly funny parts and it was a heartwarming albeit sad movie, there were youngsters under 6 behind us in the theater that actually screamed with fright at parts. They repeatedly asked their parents to leave and This was a great movie for me and my husband a the older kids. We LOVED it! The deceit is how the commercials bill it as "The Best Comedy of the summer". While there were certainly funny parts and it was a heartwarming albeit sad movie, there were youngsters under 6 behind us in the theater that actually screamed with fright at parts. They repeatedly asked their parents to leave and wanted to know when it would be over saying that they were too scared. Straight Comedy it is not! Parents with youngsters beware - it is very intense and there are concepts that kids under 10 might not understand or might find scary. Expand
  59. AnonyM
    Jun 9, 2009
    7
    While I do agree with the strong emotional attachments in the movie, I felt like the movie had very little discovery or adventure. Everything was straightforward, this is the bad guy... these are the good guys, this is the problem, here is the solution. don't get me wrong, the story of the old man growing up was well done, but after his house lifts off, well nothing much really While I do agree with the strong emotional attachments in the movie, I felt like the movie had very little discovery or adventure. Everything was straightforward, this is the bad guy... these are the good guys, this is the problem, here is the solution. don't get me wrong, the story of the old man growing up was well done, but after his house lifts off, well nothing much really significant happens. Expand
  60. JeffS
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Up is by far the best movie I have seen all year. It is enjoyable for the whole family. There are some genuinely moving and poignant moments for adults and plenty of laughs and goofiness for the little 'uns. This movie can be even used as a yardstick for professional movie critics: a good critic would recognize the greatness, while a pretentious windbag without any touches with the Up is by far the best movie I have seen all year. It is enjoyable for the whole family. There are some genuinely moving and poignant moments for adults and plenty of laughs and goofiness for the little 'uns. This movie can be even used as a yardstick for professional movie critics: a good critic would recognize the greatness, while a pretentious windbag without any touches with the reality would just dismiss it on their "indie" principle as yet another "corporate" money maker (such as certain reviewer from Salon.com who thumbs up "The Proposal" while trash talking "Up". The Proposal? For real?). Expand
  61. MarioW
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Excellent film. Those minority who claim it's overhyped are dead wrong, and they obviously came to that conclusion because they can't see past their own noses. They wanted it to be no more than your typical superficial, bright colored, and non-sensical animation, with wall to wall pop culture references and toilet humor. Pixar doesn't stoop to that level since they actually Excellent film. Those minority who claim it's overhyped are dead wrong, and they obviously came to that conclusion because they can't see past their own noses. They wanted it to be no more than your typical superficial, bright colored, and non-sensical animation, with wall to wall pop culture references and toilet humor. Pixar doesn't stoop to that level since they actually give US audiences credit that we ARE capable of cognition. Expand
  62. GarryK
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Simply put, it's not just a great animated film, but a great film overall.
  63. DwayneH
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Nice to see that critics and the great majority of moviegoers see eye to eye for once. This is a great film. Those very few contrarians are ripping this simply to look cool and all high and mighty for they are not going with the masses. I'm a skeptical person myself, but this movie is a joy so long as you immerse yourself and think with it. This is NOT the usual animated or live Nice to see that critics and the great majority of moviegoers see eye to eye for once. This is a great film. Those very few contrarians are ripping this simply to look cool and all high and mighty for they are not going with the masses. I'm a skeptical person myself, but this movie is a joy so long as you immerse yourself and think with it. This is NOT the usual animated or live action film wherein you park your brain outside and the movie just spoonfeeds you everything. Expand
  64. KazemE
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    The best Pixar movie I've ever seen. One of the best movies I've seen in a while. A very thoughtful movie.
  65. MooNinja
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    Very touching, and delivers on a number of levels. While the plot does seem to waver a bit towards the end, I felt emotionally attached to the characters, and the movie upon my departure from the theater. Up is a must see, especially if you are mature enough to understand emotion.
  66. MiraiM
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    This film was very touching and moving. Yes, there is a bit of a drop after a spectacular introduction however,] I still found the film to be a wonderful experience. A bit rushed but still a terrific movie.
  67. JustinH
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    A great film. Some of you are complaining about the ferocity of the film and the very few sights of blood and stuff. GET A GRIP! Talk about nitpicking! You guys act like there have been no traumatic and dark elements in animated films prior to UP.
  68. HeatherY
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    I agree with the overwhelming majority of people who have seen this film. It is simply MAGNIFICENT. Of course, there will be those very few contrarians who will go to great lengths to find faults (just look at some of the posters here). Up is head and shoulders above most animated and even Live Action films, because it is NOT all visual splendor, it actually had a meaningful story with I agree with the overwhelming majority of people who have seen this film. It is simply MAGNIFICENT. Of course, there will be those very few contrarians who will go to great lengths to find faults (just look at some of the posters here). Up is head and shoulders above most animated and even Live Action films, because it is NOT all visual splendor, it actually had a meaningful story with endearing characters and a message both the young and old can take to heart. That is something that is missing in most movies nowadays. Expand
  69. MattF
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    A superb film from beginning to end. It starts of in a melancholy note, but it is essential because it makes Carl's absolution at the end all the more powerful. The movie ends in a happy and heartwarming note that had me and my 3 young kids giddy and bouncing off the wall with joy as we left the theater. UP is fantastic!
  70. KennyM
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    A+, 5 stars, perfect 10, you name it. I'm usually a contrarian who goes against what the masses love, but this movie won me over. A hilarious film with endearing characters, whose struggles are all too human that we can all relate to. A heartwarming and uplifting (no pun intended) tale of friendship, love, dreams, and aspirations.
  71. JuanG.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    Very, Very, Very good movie! I don't like cartoons but this one won me over completely.
  72. nickj
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    The first time I saw Up I enjoyed it immensely, but nothing more. But when I saw it for the second time, the meaning of this beautiful portrait of recovering from a lost love started to sink in. Stunning visually and mentally. Bravo!
  73. IsaacS.
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    A movie with such pure imagination it becmes a great animated ride. Really funny and touching family movie. Pixar just keeps getting better. However, there are many things that are not for kids, remember this is a PG movie, read the movies rating before watching it, people have been giving it a bad score because of inappropriate things for minor, but it was all warned in the PG rating.
  74. Eduardo
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    It was one of the best films i've seen this year, and just might be the best pixars put out, it can be sad and times funny at others, its definately a brilliant fim, loved every minute of it and i recommend everybody to go out and watch UP because quite frankly its a great film.
  75. DanielH
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    I truly enjoyable experience. Loved almost every second of it. With both dramatic and whimsical music, the audio section has you covered. Gorgeous visuals bombard you repeatedly, (in a good way) and the humor, though slightly childish at times, is a pleasure to behold. If you didn't like Wall-E, and are tentative about seeing this movie after the slightly depressing ride that it put I truly enjoyable experience. Loved almost every second of it. With both dramatic and whimsical music, the audio section has you covered. Gorgeous visuals bombard you repeatedly, (in a good way) and the humor, though slightly childish at times, is a pleasure to behold. If you didn't like Wall-E, and are tentative about seeing this movie after the slightly depressing ride that it put you through, don't be. This movie is much ore enjoyable and heartwarming. Yet another steller movie from pixar, still waiting on them to make them a dud.... don't think it'll happen. Expand
  76. AdrianS.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    The best batman movie ever made.
  77. MichaelaM
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Absolutely loved it, choked during certain moment, laughing out loud the next, which is a rarity for me during a film.. Still abit choked actually, really touching storyline, very real parts of the movie which is probablly what sparked the emotions. Cannot wait to buy this one! My favourite by far!
  78. ScottS.
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    I rarely give any movie a 10 unless it's the best thing I've seen that year. Up was romantic, funny, imaginative, and unforgettable. I loved this movie and agree with the professional reviewer that this one will someday be compared with The Wizard of Oz. It was fantastic.
  79. luish.
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    This movie was awesome. It combines everything, adventure, emotion, truth, intrigue, etc. This is really a pretty movie, for me the best in its genre.
  80. JamesH.
    Nov 18, 2009
    8
    This is my least favorite of all the Pixar films, but still a very good animated movie. If it wasn't for the talking dogs there wouldn't be enough humor and the movie seemed overly sentimental. There were moments of great disbelief, such as the bad guy living in a zeppelin since the 1930s or so but still had knowledge of modern technology to invent talking dog collars and GPS This is my least favorite of all the Pixar films, but still a very good animated movie. If it wasn't for the talking dogs there wouldn't be enough humor and the movie seemed overly sentimental. There were moments of great disbelief, such as the bad guy living in a zeppelin since the 1930s or so but still had knowledge of modern technology to invent talking dog collars and GPS technology, or believing that a bunch of balloons could really lift a house off it's foundation. I realize you are supposed to suspend belief in animated films but this one asks a little too much. Expand
  81. JoradT
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    A fantastic movie in every right. Beautifully animated with stunning 3D and highly ambitious. Stunning and gripping story line, the whole movie just plays with your emotions. I'm not one to cry in films but I was crying the first time I saw it, only to find the next couple of minutes later I was back to laughing again. Wonderfully composed soundtrack and even now do I frequently hum A fantastic movie in every right. Beautifully animated with stunning 3D and highly ambitious. Stunning and gripping story line, the whole movie just plays with your emotions. I'm not one to cry in films but I was crying the first time I saw it, only to find the next couple of minutes later I was back to laughing again. Wonderfully composed soundtrack and even now do I frequently hum the main theme over and over again. Overall the film is one of the best I have ever seen and is one of the few movies that I actually went to see AGAIN in 3D. Expand
  82. jesss
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    Definitely a must see of the year, i just knew that i was going to love it simply because of how magical disney and pixar films always are. i enjoyed this more than most of there recent films i must say. the morals and values in the film are intriguing whilst the different relationship between the two main characters are absolutely hilarious in every way. one for the children and adults Definitely a must see of the year, i just knew that i was going to love it simply because of how magical disney and pixar films always are. i enjoyed this more than most of there recent films i must say. the morals and values in the film are intriguing whilst the different relationship between the two main characters are absolutely hilarious in every way. one for the children and adults being a adult myself without children i think that ses enough. if its the last thing you do just go and see this film. Expand
  83. TheCritic
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    Excellent movie. Great plot, funny characters. An all around excellent movie for the whole family to enjoy. 3-D was amazing.
  84. liser.
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Never seen a Pixar movie before. In new territory, was somewhat bewildered with the sheer unparseable imagination of this movie, but utterly, completely charmed. Saw it twice. What a great experience.
  85. LynnA
    May 31, 2009
    10
    INCREDIBLE ! If UP doesn't win a Best Picture Oscar then something is seriously wrong in tinsel town.
  86. ShamondG
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    Great movie. Not only did it have hilarious comedic hijinks and action, it had a wonderful message too for adults and children alike. My entire family had a blast.
  87. JoseG
    Jun 12, 2009
    9
    Brilliant!!! Ok, it's true that UP has some issues (... that was the strongest old man I have ever seen!!!) but the story capture you, and also is quite funny. The intro (first 20 min) make me almost cry (believe, I am not like crying much), it was very touching. Maybe not as great as WALL - E, but a excellent movie too... go and watch it, no regrets!!!
  88. JasonH.
    Jun 15, 2009
    8
    You know, this film is getting bashed for being "too depressing" in the first half, but I think that this emotional, bitter sweet feeling was unique , and should have been pusuited. I did not like the switch midway through the film (marked upon the entry of the dogs and bird) that suddenly turned the story into a common adventure. I honestly didn't care about the bird or the dog. The You know, this film is getting bashed for being "too depressing" in the first half, but I think that this emotional, bitter sweet feeling was unique , and should have been pusuited. I did not like the switch midway through the film (marked upon the entry of the dogs and bird) that suddenly turned the story into a common adventure. I honestly didn't care about the bird or the dog. The guy wanted his house by the falls for the entire film, and that was all I was waiting for. That darn bird and dog just seemed to be making a clear, obvious and annoying effort to inject the movie with their presence. Expand
  89. CollinC
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece in every respect.
  90. DougN
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    A great family movie. Really enjoyed it.
  91. MisakiE
    Jun 18, 2009
    9
    Best movie of the year!! I don't cry much, but first part of movie made me cry and tears kept coming... touching, sad, yet very sweet. Very cute and funny throughout. Excellent sense of humor and all family members can enjoy without regret. This 3D movie cost me big but it really was worth the price. I cannot wait to watch it again!!!!
  92. NathanD.
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    A very well animated (of course its pixar) movie with an expertly planned plot. Russell's upbeat personality mixed perfectly with Mr.Fredricksen's grumpy yet playful attitude.
  93. SeanM.
    Jun 21, 2009
    10
    I wanted to cry not once but many times throughout the movie. This is a perfect film for the whole family.
  94. JackF.
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    Excellent movie. That's really all there is to say. Oh, for those minority that are ripping this film, you people are the most jaded and sorriest people walking the face of the earth.
  95. KyleC
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    A+ for this one. A magnificent film. Whimsical, melancholy, hilarious, and endearing. It's nice to see an animated film that gives audiences the benefit of the doubt that they are capable of something more substantial. I personally am sick of the usual shallow cotton-candy animation from other studios. keep it up Pixar, you guys are one of the few bright spots in Hollywood today.
  96. JayD
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    10 is not enough for this one. This is a magnificent film. Going in, I was aware of the reviews from critics and moviegoers. My colleagues and neighbors raved about this one too, so I went to check it out. I thought it was going to be overrated, but I was dead wrong. This movie is everything everyone is talking about. A superb moviegoing experience that only a great film like UP can 10 is not enough for this one. This is a magnificent film. Going in, I was aware of the reviews from critics and moviegoers. My colleagues and neighbors raved about this one too, so I went to check it out. I thought it was going to be overrated, but I was dead wrong. This movie is everything everyone is talking about. A superb moviegoing experience that only a great film like UP can provide. This will be a timeless classic that will stand the test of time, while most other animation-and live action fare-will be forgotten. Expand
  97. MayJ
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    A+. Hilarious and heartfelt.
  98. PatrickG
    Jun 25, 2009
    8
    This movie is thoroughly entertaining despite being a "kids" movie. Pixar films are almost always enjoyable, and this one is no different. The story is far-fetched, but if you're looking for plot holes in a Pixar film then you probably shouldn't be watching it in the first place. Great movie to take the kids too, or a nice date movie if you're looking to play it safe.
  99. WilliamJ.
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Early on, I thought that my 4 and 6yr old kids would be lost with the rather heavy themes, but I looked at them and I saw in their faces that they were connecting with the themes being conveyed. The ride home was fun, we laughed, talked about the great characters in the movie, and best of all, had a meaningful talk about the great lessons the movie had to offer. UP is deserving of the Early on, I thought that my 4 and 6yr old kids would be lost with the rather heavy themes, but I looked at them and I saw in their faces that they were connecting with the themes being conveyed. The ride home was fun, we laughed, talked about the great characters in the movie, and best of all, had a meaningful talk about the great lessons the movie had to offer. UP is deserving of the rave reviews and universal love it is receiving. Expand
  100. Willie
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    A wonderful film that will definitely stand the test of time and will ilicit the fondest memories when thought of. That is something many movies will never have. UP is amazing in every sense of the word
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Winsome, touching and arguably the funniest Pixar effort ever, the gorgeously rendered, high-flying adventure is a tidy 90-minute distillation of all the signature touches that came before it.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    A captivating odd-couple adventure that becomes funnier and more exciting as it flies along.
  3. By all means, see Up in its 3-D incarnation: The cliff drops are vertiginous, and the scores of balloons--bunched into the shape of one giant balloon--are as pluckable as grapes.