User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 894 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 894
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Charming, emotional, hilarious, just some of the words that can be used to describe Disney/Pixar's Up. The opening of the film is the saddest thing I've ever seen in anything, and that's coming from a family film. Pixar continue to produce the best.
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    8
    hilariously uplifting adventure
  3. RichardS.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons like that monsters vs aliens film we took them to a month ago, which was typical bubblegum. Up is a wonderful experience for all of us and I cannot commend the filmmakers enough for creating this feature. Expand
  4. AlexM.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The Incredibles. PIXAR IS BACK!!! I rank this movie in the top 3 pixars. GO SEE IT! Some people were crying in the movie!
  5. JulianP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how the story was a little deep for younger viewers, never once did the film go deeper into sadness than a view scenes left more for the viewer to fill in their own interpretations. My friends and I found Up to be a great film and easily a new Disney classic. Expand
  6. Bhatts
    May 30, 2009
    9
    breathtaking, frequently hilarious, practically life-affirming.
  7. SamE.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone who compares anything to Monsters Vs Aliens period. Expand
  8. KellyP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Funny and heartwarming. A great movie is always first and last about a great story, the amazing animation just happens to be the vehicle. Fabulous!
  9. BillPhu
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    While I don't think that it is nearly as humourous as WALL-E or Monsters vs Aliens 3D, I think that this movie is fantastic in it's own right. The trailers seem to imply that it's another another funny movie in the vein as previous productions, but it isn't There is humour, but there's far more romanticism than in any recent animated movies. It's touching,While I don't think that it is nearly as humourous as WALL-E or Monsters vs Aliens 3D, I think that this movie is fantastic in it's own right. The trailers seem to imply that it's another another funny movie in the vein as previous productions, but it isn't There is humour, but there's far more romanticism than in any recent animated movies. It's touching, and some of the themes such as promises, loss and family may be lost on a younger (i.e. < 10) crowd, but that doesn't make this a bad movie. Expand
  10. KarenJ
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Hilarious and Heartwarming. It's Pixars most poignant and human story yet. Loved it!!!
  11. JoeI.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen, ever.
  12. PatL.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Exellent. Touching, funny, and thoroughly entertaining. Great score also.
  13. MichelZ.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I would guess are more enjoyable for adults. The film is truly extraordinary in its ability to mesh seemingly incongruous elements, one would not think that all the elements of this movie would fit together, and yet they do. It is a movie that leaves you so completely emotionally satisfied that your only recourse is to see it again. Expand
  14. JoeC.
    May 30, 2009
    9
    Another triumph for Pixar. A beautiful and romantic tale. Great characters. It was so refreshing to have a elderly hero from a modest station express so much that is wonderful about the human experience. Despite the uplifting vibe, the presence of loss and longing saved the movie from the mediocrity of typical Disney factory drivel. The movie was very funny. The 3D certainly enhanced the Another triumph for Pixar. A beautiful and romantic tale. Great characters. It was so refreshing to have a elderly hero from a modest station express so much that is wonderful about the human experience. Despite the uplifting vibe, the presence of loss and longing saved the movie from the mediocrity of typical Disney factory drivel. The movie was very funny. The 3D certainly enhanced the experience and was seldom distracting. Despite the PG rating I found it to be appropriate for my 3 year old, who did get a little bored due to the relaxed pacing of the film and a mild cold. After 3 unbelievable home runs with Ratatoille, Wall-E and now UP, I am a little disappointed that Pixar will return next year with Toy Story 3. These are some of the greatest family films made. Every new and original story is a treasure. Expand
  15. RachelB.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Fantastic film, very heartfelt and sweet, perfect for children and adults, disney/pixar can no do wrong!
  16. HaroldB.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap gimmicks of things pointing at you and coming at you at every frame. My entire family loved it. Heck, I thought some themes will sail over my 3 yr old daughter and 5 yr old son's heads, but they were riveted the entire time. We'll definitely be seeing this again. I commend Pixar for being brave and willing to incorporate difficult themes along with fun and happy themes, because that's what life really is. Expand
  17. EvanB.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    A fantastic movie in every aspect! We as movie-goers should support Pixar for what they are achieving because it is high-quality family entertainment! Highly recommended.
  18. bobrich
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Stupendous amazing funny spectacular there was a smile on my face the whole movie.
  19. ChadB
    May 29, 2009
    10
    WOW ! I once again bow at you Pixar. The entire family enjoyed it, and my kids really got something about the movie besides the laughs and gags. They talked about taking care of parents/grandparents, spending time with them, how the simple things in life can be just as fun and memorable, and the like. We'll definitely see this again this summer.
  20. BobE.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    This movie is not only heartwarming from beginning to end, but you will be wetting your pants throughout with the hilarious jokes sprinkled in. I'll admit that I doubted Pixar when I heard about the off-the-wall plot line, but I will never doubt them again. Pixar has once again proven that they are at the front line of animation development in the modern day.
  21. JimG
    May 29, 2009
    10
    A wonderful movie. A human story that captivates both the young and old. I like how they did not use 3D in a gimmicky way like what was in Monsters v.s. Aliens. The 3D here did not resort to throwing and pointing things at you incessantly. The 3D was utilized more to convey the scope and depth of the mountains, cliffs, and the airborne scenes, so much so it felt like you were up in the A wonderful movie. A human story that captivates both the young and old. I like how they did not use 3D in a gimmicky way like what was in Monsters v.s. Aliens. The 3D here did not resort to throwing and pointing things at you incessantly. The 3D was utilized more to convey the scope and depth of the mountains, cliffs, and the airborne scenes, so much so it felt like you were up in the air yourself. This was a movie filmed in 3D, not a 3D movie. The story is the star of the film by far, and you'll be wowed whether you see it in 2D or 3D. A magnificent addition to the Pixar library. We can all argue til we are blue about which Pixar is the best (my vote still belongs to Wall-E at this point) .But UP stands alone as Pixars most human story. Expand
  22. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    This is definitely one of Pixar's best animated features.
    The story is so lovely that one cannot but find one's eyes watering while watching the first 20 minutes of the film and getting to see two people in love living their lives. It is just so moving that one cannot resist falling in love with it immediately.
    The Academy Award winning score is definitely one of the highlights of the
    This is definitely one of Pixar's best animated features.
    The story is so lovely that one cannot but find one's eyes watering while watching the first 20 minutes of the film and getting to see two people in love living their lives. It is just so moving that one cannot resist falling in love with it immediately.
    The Academy Award winning score is definitely one of the highlights of the film, due to its ability to give depth to our perception of the scenes and of the film in general.

    Surely, it is not Wall-E and it does not have such a "great idea" behind it as environmentalism and the future of humanity. But, in a way, it does more so: it is about the very basis of humanity - peoples ability to love beyond what is required of them and the realisation of love's importance in our lives. Maybe, after all, it is like Wall-E... or even better so, since through an ordinary person's story it can create a whole new world without having to make much effort. That's greatness.
    Expand
  23. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    A brilliant, unique movie. One of the best children's movie I watched.
  24. May 21, 2012
    9
    Though it is not the best Pixar film (for me, Ratatouille takes that spot), it is still a great movie. I love the fact that this this movie is very diverse, it has comedy moments, dramatic moments, action moments and a lot more. The flow of the story is brilliant, from start to finish, making the plot of the movie clear and understandable. And I appreciate that they make this more of anThough it is not the best Pixar film (for me, Ratatouille takes that spot), it is still a great movie. I love the fact that this this movie is very diverse, it has comedy moments, dramatic moments, action moments and a lot more. The flow of the story is brilliant, from start to finish, making the plot of the movie clear and understandable. And I appreciate that they make this more of an animation movie (which we all know that these movies are mostly for kids), where adults can relate. Yet again, Pixar has again produced an amazing movie and I am looking forward for more Pixar movies in the future... Expand
  25. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Up es una replica a seguir de como hacer y aprovechar una pelicula teniendo en cuenta los sentimientos y valores que hay que dar en este tipo de peliculas, una excelente muestra del amor en todo sentido y una pelicula mas que adorar de entre otras de Pixar
  26. Mar 12, 2015
    10
    Pixar always makes the best movies that touch us, such as Toy Story, Cars, Finding Nemo, and The Incredibles. This movie made me cry and laugh. Every great movie gives you both. Another outstanding story made by Pixar, about always going for your dreams, the limits are endless for adventure.
  27. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    Animation giant Pixar walks into 2009 with their new animation "Up". The movie is so organized and amazing, all I could suggest to you is to just shut up and watch the movie.
  28. BryanK.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks through a collar to other dogs speaks in a funny voice, which when fixed sounds like an evil scientist from a 1930's serial. The final thirty minutes are not only action filled, but comical and heartwarming. The characters were well-designed with unique characteristics which added to the enjoyment and allowed for the people viewing the film to connect with the characters. Very-well made film and one of the best Disney films of the first decade of the 21st century... Expand
  29. Ostaf
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    I cried, I laughed and I am 19....good movie.

    The worst part though was that there was a little sitting in front of me and when it was over she turned to her mother and said "that movie SUCKED!" and I was still wiping a tear out of my eye while chuckling
  30. Mar 1, 2011
    6
    Up isn't a very funny movie, don't get me wrong it has it's funny moments, but I don't believe they were trying to go for the funniest movie out there, they try to get emotion in there, and for the most part they succeeded, it's nice to see a movie for kids that tries to teach them something, but it could have been more interesting, it can get pretty boring at certain points, but this is aUp isn't a very funny movie, don't get me wrong it has it's funny moments, but I don't believe they were trying to go for the funniest movie out there, they try to get emotion in there, and for the most part they succeeded, it's nice to see a movie for kids that tries to teach them something, but it could have been more interesting, it can get pretty boring at certain points, but this is a movie I can recommend, just don't expect a comedy that will keep you laughing through the entire time. Expand
  31. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Pixar at it's finest, showing that an animated film doesn't have to rely only on humour but also can be quite emotional. Within the first 10 minutes of the movie you automatically feel for the main character and become emotionally involved in the film, that alone got me really impressed, Great animation backed up with great characters ( as any dog owner would agree ) , very funny moviePixar at it's finest, showing that an animated film doesn't have to rely only on humour but also can be quite emotional. Within the first 10 minutes of the movie you automatically feel for the main character and become emotionally involved in the film, that alone got me really impressed, Great animation backed up with great characters ( as any dog owner would agree ) , very funny movie that also pulls at your heart strings. A Must see.. A classic. Expand
  32. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Up was PIXAR's masterpiece. I mean this movie was absolutely perfect. The characters were hilarious and you could relate to them very well. Doug the dog was the best comic relief ever in an animated film. The plot was extremely original it's not funny. That doesn't mean the movie's not humorous though. It's freaking hilarious and it's also possibly the best movie I've ever seen. The overall movie is 11/10 and it is just - GORGEOUS!

    The movie definitely proves "Adventure is out there!" Well there definitely is. Also this movie is also the first I cried while watching. The first 5 minutes and the bit where Carl is flicking through Ellie's photo album/adventure book. PIXAR has done it again and they're still yet to make a dud. Cars was the closest thing to a dud. Up is so much better than any other animated movie this year. Coraline is pretty damn close to Up and so is Mary and Max. Anyone hear heard of Harvie Krumpet? Well Mary and Max was made by the same guy. Up is the animated king of 2009.
    Expand
  33. JoseC
    Jul 3, 2009
    5
    After one of the best takeoffs I ever seen, the movie goes straight to hell in an incomprehensible series of scenes in the middle of nowhere with an incredible (even for an animated film) agile old old man, jumping up and down all over the place, and a hero that went mad.
  34. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Tells one of the greatest love stories in cinematic history in a brisk eight minutes. That, as is the film itself, is a wonderful, awe aspiring work of genius.
  35. Aug 16, 2010
    5
    After the first 20 minutes or so, the film just falls apart. Enjoy the beautiful beginning because its really the only noteworthy part of this very overrated spectacle. I don't understand why animated films don't need to follow the same common guidelines to making good entertainment other films, but apparently they do. Definitely not Pixar's best.
  36. Buddhamind
    Mar 5, 2010
    4
    Although the movie technically is beautifully made, and there are some really funny scenes, I didn't like it at all. It left me with a kind of cold, uneasy feeling. Not a film I'd like to see a second time.
  37. JoeB.
    Jun 21, 2009
    0
    This movie was terrible from beginning to end you might like it if you were 1 years old i mean every was in the movie theater was booing and throwing popcorn.
  38. Jun 29, 2012
    0
    This could arguably be Pixars greatest work, the first five minutes is without a doubt the greatest opening in cinema, getting all emotional scenes from evry film in history and putting them into one beautifully told and stunning scenes. If the film had lived up to this it would un deniably be in the top 10 greatest films in history, but it turns into adventure that is so admirable. PixarThis could arguably be Pixars greatest work, the first five minutes is without a doubt the greatest opening in cinema, getting all emotional scenes from evry film in history and putting them into one beautifully told and stunning scenes. If the film had lived up to this it would un deniably be in the top 10 greatest films in history, but it turns into adventure that is so admirable. Pixar again creates gorgeous visuals and a setting that is truly stunning, its charming and funny throughout. Performances are top notch and laughs are real laugh out loud ones, its every thing you could hope for in a film in one. The storytelling is stunning, creating morals, excitement and is very emotional at places. The film does not try to be this forced emotion present in most films, but is just there and is some of the most emotional scenes in film history. Undeniably good, the film needs to be watched to be understoof how the snese of adventure, memories, emotion and simply letting go create one of the greatest films ever. But what did you expect from Pixar? Expand
  39. CarolynS.
    Feb 28, 2010
    3
    Perhaps if I had had a seven year old with me, I could have watched HIM enjoy UP The DOGS were nice, however.
  40. CB
    Jun 1, 2009
    4
    I feel as though I watched a different movie as everyone else in the theater. "Up" is kind of a ludicrous tale, one that I simply could not get into, and I never felt a connection with ANY of the characters. This does not even come close to movies like Wall-E, which are visually stunning and far out there... in a good way. I cannot possibly recommend this movie to anyone, as it was I feel as though I watched a different movie as everyone else in the theater. "Up" is kind of a ludicrous tale, one that I simply could not get into, and I never felt a connection with ANY of the characters. This does not even come close to movies like Wall-E, which are visually stunning and far out there... in a good way. I cannot possibly recommend this movie to anyone, as it was forgettable even to my son. Expand
  41. AdamL
    Jun 6, 2009
    4
    Kind of a downer. Also the plot was like something out of Rescue Rangers. And I hate how the flaws in the plot bothered me. I mean its a kids movie, but its kind of not. Tries to appeal to too many kinds of people perhaps. Just came off as scattered.
  42. CodyB
    Jan 2, 2010
    2
    This movie was absolutely terrible and impossible to follow. The story was just like they were pulling rabbits out of hats to keep the movie going. It wasn't funny but was actually drab and slow. Don't watch it.
  43. DaveH
    Jan 31, 2010
    6
    While the intro sequence is heart warming and very cute, the rest of the movie is direct to video.
  44. Dave
    Oct 29, 2009
    6
    I've loved pretty much all the other Pixar films, but I can't love this. The first 20 minutes is so sad, but the remainder of Up just isn't funny enough to pull you out of the depression completely. I appreciate there are always adult themes running through Pixar movies, and that should always be the case, but this one pushes it too far. Certainly has some great moments, I've loved pretty much all the other Pixar films, but I can't love this. The first 20 minutes is so sad, but the remainder of Up just isn't funny enough to pull you out of the depression completely. I appreciate there are always adult themes running through Pixar movies, and that should always be the case, but this one pushes it too far. Certainly has some great moments, but not enough. Expand
  45. AnneW
    Jul 4, 2009
    3
    If this were true Pixar , viewers would not have been subjected to visions of blood (as when the old man attacks the foreman), the manipulative, contrived building of the couple's relationship from childhood, only to have her die and leave him (and us) thoroughly miserable. The ferocity of the attack dogs drawing blood from the bird's leg....I could go on. Pixar we miss you.
  46. baycrum
    Oct 22, 2009
    0
    NOT funny in the least.WORST Pixar movie EVER. The critics are just giving it good reviews because they are too afraid to say it was bad.Okay the plot was almost close to a bad lifetime movie and the only thing keeping it from going to that level was the kid and the dogs.DO NOT waste your money on this film in 3D like I did:no reason for it to be in 3D whatsoever,Don't fall for the NOT funny in the least.WORST Pixar movie EVER. The critics are just giving it good reviews because they are too afraid to say it was bad.Okay the plot was almost close to a bad lifetime movie and the only thing keeping it from going to that level was the kid and the dogs.DO NOT waste your money on this film in 3D like I did:no reason for it to be in 3D whatsoever,Don't fall for the colors are more vivid scam ethier.The emotions also felt pushed. Don't be afraid to say it was bad. Expand
  47. TDKinDallas
    May 29, 2009
    7
    The movie is good, but nothing exciting about it. The 3D effects were worthless so I wouldn't pay any extra for it. After the amazing 3D for Monsters I don't think any 3D will be as good for a while.
  48. FrankS.
    May 29, 2009
    3
    The 3D effect were not that great. Monster vs. Aliens set the bar, here it's just not worth the money. The story is not family friendly, more for adults, not for seniors ... some left the cinema at our place, I guess they felt insulted by the story. Why do you tell a story about loosing wife and unborn child in a comic? Not funny at all. Overall a very sad movie and not for entertainment.
  49. CindyC.
    May 30, 2009
    5
    The animation is spectacular, and there are many laugh-out-loud moments. To the extent that violence toward animals is central to the plot, however, I was repelled by "Up".
  50. Josh
    Jun 22, 2009
    3
    Completely over-rated. I don't know what it is about animated films but people will overlook a lot of things and seem to stroke their nearest phallic object in excitement over mediocre story lines.
  51. MemoT
    Jun 23, 2009
    5
    We were really excited about the movie, however we came home disappointed... Do you remember abortion topics in some other kids movie?... I'm not pretty sure if I want my toddler girl to be evolved and related to this kind of topics... the animation is amazing, along with the music, however as I told you, we were very disappointed about how Pixar manages death and (again) abortion.
  52. Acena
    Jun 5, 2009
    4
    My children and I were so excited to see this movie and we're very disapointed. I myself felt no interest in the characters and the movie seemed to be depressing at some points. I'm a hugh John Lasster fan. I loved cars and Toy Story. I'm a bit surprised he was involved with this movie... Wait for it on DVD. Not worth the time nor the money otherwise.
  53. AnonymousMC
    Jul 18, 2009
    6
    DoONT believe the hype! this movie was not that funny. here and there there were a few jokes that made you chuckle but not enough to call it a comedy, which is what it was advertised as. it was other wise good, in terms of animation and voice acting and sound. I miss pixar's old, funny movies even though they're a little childish. Remember monster's inc. and finding nemo?DoONT believe the hype! this movie was not that funny. here and there there were a few jokes that made you chuckle but not enough to call it a comedy, which is what it was advertised as. it was other wise good, in terms of animation and voice acting and sound. I miss pixar's old, funny movies even though they're a little childish. Remember monster's inc. and finding nemo? those are two my fav movies of all time. at least this movie was better than wall-e(one of the worst movies ive ever seen) Expand
  54. JohnB.
    Jul 7, 2009
    2
    The most over hyped movie of all time....slow boring and uninteresting. I was so excited to watch this movie and the beginning was pretty good but then it got slower and slower and less funnier to the point where i was having trouble staying awake. Its also very predictable throughout, with its unoriginal storyline. Ive always loved pixar and almost all of there other films but this is The most over hyped movie of all time....slow boring and uninteresting. I was so excited to watch this movie and the beginning was pretty good but then it got slower and slower and less funnier to the point where i was having trouble staying awake. Its also very predictable throughout, with its unoriginal storyline. Ive always loved pixar and almost all of there other films but this is definitely the worst pixar movie I've ever seen. Expand
  55. Niv
    Aug 21, 2009
    4
    Starts good but deteriorates up to the end. The good jokes are all spoiled by the teaser trailer and what are left are the lame talking dogs up to the end. Overrated and worst of all the pixar films I have watch.
  56. SL
    May 31, 2009
    4
    Just so-so, even boring at times, and even more so for kids I would think.
  57. LeeW
    Aug 15, 2009
    6
    This film starts off magical. I was believing it to be an amazing film along the lines of other Pixar works. However, it suddenly becomes ridiculous and spews childish humor at the audience. In a movie like Ratatouille, the humor and stories meant something different to both children and adults, but Up just seems to focus on things that would rake more money in from people with children.
  58. TristramM
    Dec 28, 2009
    4
    I really could not relate to the plot or the characters. What a waste of time.
  59. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I've always enjoyed Edward Asner's voice work since Freakazoid (a cartoon not many of you may know), and he does an excellent job here. A sweet tale and a fun adventure on a flying house make this another Pixar classic.
  60. Mar 18, 2011
    6
    This animated movie from Disney and Pixar isn't their best work, far from it. It has it's funny moments, but overall it's just not that funny. The intro of the movie, basically the life of Carl Fredericksen from childhood to the age of seventy eight , is very compelling and the best part of the movie. If Up was just those ten minutes I would give it a perfect score. That part is truelyThis animated movie from Disney and Pixar isn't their best work, far from it. It has it's funny moments, but overall it's just not that funny. The intro of the movie, basically the life of Carl Fredericksen from childhood to the age of seventy eight , is very compelling and the best part of the movie. If Up was just those ten minutes I would give it a perfect score. That part is truely magnificent. The rest of the movie is frankly a letdown, good for a few laughs but nothing more. (6.0) Expand
  61. May 4, 2012
    6
    As an adult, I didn't particularly enjoy this movie. It wasn't bad, but I wouldn't watch it again. I agree with some previous users in saying that the beginning of the movie is the best, and from there it just sort of goes downhill.
  62. Feb 19, 2013
    6
    I know for many this movie is their favorite Pixar movie. But not me. In fact I got to say it is my least favorite Pixar film. Sure it has great visuals and some colorful characters. But I just found most of it a bit dull. The intro, however is absolutely fantastic and sets such a dark tone that I was really surprised to see in an animated movie. Then it goes all light hearted andI know for many this movie is their favorite Pixar movie. But not me. In fact I got to say it is my least favorite Pixar film. Sure it has great visuals and some colorful characters. But I just found most of it a bit dull. The intro, however is absolutely fantastic and sets such a dark tone that I was really surprised to see in an animated movie. Then it goes all light hearted and colorful. I would think that this movie is more for a younger audience that want that kind of thing, but after such a deep intro I had honestly expected that the rest of the movie to be the same, but its not. The whole movie feels like you're waiting for something to happen and it just never reaches a climactic point of note or worthy to the tone set in the beginning. Overall: It isn't a bad movie, but I found it a bit too light hearted to take it seriously. But again, this is just me and I understand why others really like it. Expand
  63. BobN.
    Jun 3, 2009
    8
    I wasn't going to see this film. The animation did not grab my interest -it seemed too similar to the Incredibles. Yet, come on now, it is a Pixar film, I reasoned. With low expectations I saw it. I think Roger Ebert said it best by comparing this with Miyazaki's beautiful animations. Though Miyazaki is on a whole different level of fantasy, this film felt like one of his I wasn't going to see this film. The animation did not grab my interest -it seemed too similar to the Incredibles. Yet, come on now, it is a Pixar film, I reasoned. With low expectations I saw it. I think Roger Ebert said it best by comparing this with Miyazaki's beautiful animations. Though Miyazaki is on a whole different level of fantasy, this film felt like one of his films-which is a great thing. I hold WALL-E to be Pixar's best film, and the best thing Disney has ever done. I will not compare it to Up. Up does not have a solid story, nor does anything truly grab you...but it has a spirit to it. That spirit, or atmosphere, it beautiful. This is a pure fantasy film with some heart. Nothing deep, but everything enjoyable. Parts are sad, but not overbearingly. Other Pixar films are sadder. I loved this film. It is not a cemented together as the others, but, again, that spirit...go see it and enjoy. Expand
  64. JimboH
    Jun 5, 2009
    7
    Has the audience going from zero to choked up in less than 10 minutes (an amazing feat), which is an interesting predicament when your in a theater with 3d glasses on. The movie then tries to get the audience to "move on", with the underlying lesson of the movie being that when your partner passes away there are ways of having someone keep you company without replacing them (pets, young Has the audience going from zero to choked up in less than 10 minutes (an amazing feat), which is an interesting predicament when your in a theater with 3d glasses on. The movie then tries to get the audience to "move on", with the underlying lesson of the movie being that when your partner passes away there are ways of having someone keep you company without replacing them (pets, young children are examples which the movie uses). The movie itself is overall quite good, but it does have a few short-lived boring spots. To me at least, it never truly got me out of the depressed state it put me in within the first 10 minutes. The 3d effect is good (select theaters of course), it really limits the gimmicky "throw stuff at the viewer" which is good in my opinion. Overall its a movie I think I only want to experience once. Expand
  65. kyleb
    Jun 5, 2009
    7
    It's definitely worth watching for the visuals alone, but the story and characters are lacking. The main character, Carl, is particularly distant and bland. His deceased wife, shown only in flashback, was definitely the more interesting half of that marriage, and I kept wishing she was the main character. Reviewers calling this Pixar's best are smoking dope. Better than the Toy It's definitely worth watching for the visuals alone, but the story and characters are lacking. The main character, Carl, is particularly distant and bland. His deceased wife, shown only in flashback, was definitely the more interesting half of that marriage, and I kept wishing she was the main character. Reviewers calling this Pixar's best are smoking dope. Better than the Toy Storys? Better than Nemo? Not even close. Up is a 2nd string Pixar movie along with Cars and Monsters Inc. Still worth seeing, but not particularly moving. Expand
  66. HollyC
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    --Light Spoilers Ahead--- This is one of my most favorite Pixar films---and I seriously went into the film doubting it a bit (I know I know!) Not only was I absolutely in love w/ the short that played ahead, "Partly Cloudy" but "Up" had me weeping---(out-right weeping!) in the first 20 minutes!!! The courage to take on grief and regret & make your protagonist a grumpy old man is --Light Spoilers Ahead--- This is one of my most favorite Pixar films---and I seriously went into the film doubting it a bit (I know I know!) Not only was I absolutely in love w/ the short that played ahead, "Partly Cloudy" but "Up" had me weeping---(out-right weeping!) in the first 20 minutes!!! The courage to take on grief and regret & make your protagonist a grumpy old man is astonishing in it's own right, but then to make it a great action adventure with plenty of eye candy and laughs as well---man, Pixar is just firing on all cylinders. Bravo to Pixar once again---probably some of our greatest story-tellers working today. Expand
  67. MegL
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Best movie I have seen this summer. The first ten minutes were perfect. More emotion was evoked in that ten minutes than in any movie I have seen in a long while.
  68. LindaL.
    Feb 7, 2010
    9
    I'm not a big fan of these animated darlings -- found "Nemo" OK, "Shrek" dull and "Wall-e" inane. But I really enjoyed "Up." Some quibbles with plot developments, but overall it was touching and sweet though still with a lot of grown-up appeal.
  69. ValS
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with the credits at the end as well - hilarious! This is a film about letting go and moving on. It is a film about hope, and about a journey that never ends, What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with the credits at the end as well - hilarious! This is a film about letting go and moving on. It is a film about hope, and about a journey that never ends, but simply moves into a different dimension. It's a film about rekindling the core of youth and optimism that lies in our hearts however old we are. A great film, it ranks with the best. Wonderful jokes;we laughed out loud frequently and both of us marvelled at the depth of detail - from the way the seat on the armchair hollowed and wore with frequent use over the years, to the build-up of stubble on the old man's face. Of course, there are imperfections in the plot if you look for them, but this is a fantasy, remember! And frankly, if some animated figures can generate such heart and such emotion and leave you feeling so up-lifted, then who cares?! Expand
  70. zacS.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Pixar have churned out another brilliant film, their storytelling matches the crisp grapics. A must see.
  71. RichN
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Just a very special film, moving, funny and brilliant. This is not just animation at it's best, it is filmmaking at its very best.
  72. DinoP
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    If I could give it a 20, I would! Raises the bar on so many levels, from the crisp story-telling to the crisp 3D. The "back-story," delivered nearly without dialog, is masterful, bringing the audience to tears within the first 10 minutes! Genius, pure and simple.
  73. StevenS
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes on a house full of balloons for no reason the end. i think this movie was fantastic and i cant wait for it on dvd. Expand
  74. KennyD
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Saw this movie at preview in London as a 3D. Wonderful story and characters. Surprisingly moving. Simple yet full of depth and the animation was 1st class as ever. Another Pixar classic
  75. EnzoP.
    Jun 22, 2009
    8
    Up is the best animated movie of the summer by far. But I am not sure about the best animated movie of the year. So far up and star trek are tied for the best summer movie of 2009.
  76. RandyM
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    Simply put, "Up" is flawless. It's arguably Disney-Pixar's greatest film to date, and a triumph of human emotion and the spirit of adventure.
  77. MichaelE
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    I laughed, I cried, I felt for the characters, who are very likable and easy to relate to. Pixar's best movie yet in my opinion.
  78. CarolynM
    Jun 7, 2009
    7
    Spectacular to watch, but the NY Times is right: some of Up is clever or cute or touching, but spells of it are cliched.
  79. FredB
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My wife and I really connected with this movie as we have fertility problems and have recently adopted two children. I spent alot of the movie fighting my tears, and realizing that adopting children is our UP. Expand
  80. JenniferK
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it was a movie that left us happy and enlightened and makes you see and appreciate life as a whole. Expand
  81. ThomasA
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    What a wonderful film this was. Heartfelt and endearing, Hilarious and poignant. The entire family had a great GREAT time! My kids even picked up on one of the great lessons in the movie which conveys that the simple things in life can be the best of times as well, and to always be helpful of elders and other people.
  82. DeeThink
    Jul 30, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece in every way that you can call a movie one. A direct insult to all who create "trash" film.
  83. JesseJ
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    AMAZING! Enjoyed it as much as Wall-E but a bill less than Rattatouile (donno how to spell it :S). I recommend any one to watch it! The dog is sooo funny. "OH BOY OH BOY, I WILL GO GET THE BALL THEN BRING IT BACK"!
  84. ToddA.
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    _Up_ has wide appeal, likable characters, and, surprisingly, mature themes. This film delivers entertainment and, sometimes, a message or two without being too heavy-handed about it. This film shows great promise for the continuously successful Disney and Pixar duo.
  85. SarahR
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    By far, the best animated movie I have ever seen. I didn't think I'd like it because I've never really enjoyed pixar that much. But, it's funny, beautiful, heartworming, worth every dime.
  86. JayH.
    Nov 5, 2009
    9
    A brilliant film, wildly and wonderfully imaginative. The animation is amazing, the writing sublime. It is funny and touching, always fascinating, never a dull moment. Excellent in every respect.
  87. IanS.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Never has a Pixar film moved me in such a way as "UP". With plenty of laugh out loud moments, it also has heart, and will almost certainly bring you to tears.
  88. FeliciaN.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Well worth seeing. Good for all ages, Adults won't be bored.
  89. MikeS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Having fallen in love with this film even before its delivery, I must say here and now that Up both fulfilled and surpassed my expectations. Flawless animation is coupled here with a story and plot which are both hilarious and tear-jerking at the same time. I would happily call Up my film of the year.
  90. ChadS.
    May 30, 2009
    7
    The burden of dreams. Life happens, and then it happened, and now it's too late. Mourning over his childhood sweetheart, the old man ties himself to the house that is no longer his home. This single-minded obsession to maneuver the cumbersome object through a challenging, rough-hewn landscape somewhat recalls Werner Herzog's "Fitzcarraldo", the 1982 film about a man who moves The burden of dreams. Life happens, and then it happened, and now it's too late. Mourning over his childhood sweetheart, the old man ties himself to the house that is no longer his home. This single-minded obsession to maneuver the cumbersome object through a challenging, rough-hewn landscape somewhat recalls Werner Herzog's "Fitzcarraldo", the 1982 film about a man who moves his own cumbersome object, a steamboat, over an Amazonian mountain. Instead of head-shrinking natives, Carl(Ed Asner) uses balloons to do the dirty work, which is only fitting since Klaus Kinski often sounded like a loon. As was the filmmaker and his iconic star, the old man is a misanthrope(albeit This antisocial behavior is probably a result from depression). In one scene, he bloodies a man's forehead with his walker, and in another scene, he initially refuses to grant the boy scout entry into the house despite their rapidly escalating rise in altitude. During Carl's quest to unburden the burden, they encounter a dog(one of many who seem inspired by Kirsten Bakis' novel "Lives of Monster Dogs") that the old man won't love. These talking canines, in the film's best bit, satirizes the anthropomorphic behavior of animals so prevalent in children's films, by showing how dogs being dogs, revert to the baser instincts that are counterintuitive of their cognition training to evolve into man's best...manservant. Carl is also slow to help the bird, a bird that follows the same guiding principles of whimsical zoology as the aquatic creatures found in Wes Anderson's "The Life Aquatic w/Steve Zissou", whose two main characters played by Bill Murray and William Dafoe, seemed like stand-ins for Herzog and Kinski. The old man as a boy idolized Charles Muntz(Christopher Plummer), an adventurer. Jacques Cousteau(the inspiration for Anderson's film) was an adventurer too. "Up" is good, but it has the burden of Pixar dreams. "Up" wakes up. Expand
  91. AaronG.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D was unneeded, UP comes through as an outstanding picture for the whole family to enjoy. Two thumbs up. Expand
  92. AaronB
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching from beginning to end, with some of Pixar's most humorous moments yet easily some of it's most poignant, "Up" soars high above the clouds of Paradise Falls. Particularly impressive is the opening montage that explains the lives of Ellie and Carl Frederickson without as much as a word, but left many in the theater where I saw it in tears. One could argue that the most recent slate of Pixar Movies (Up, Ratatouille and Wall-E) are deeper, richer and greater achievements than their predecessors. Expand
  93. GeorgeM
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his house, so instead...he ties a bunch of balloons to his house and off he goes with a miniature wilderness explorer, Russell, along for the ride. UP is just a great film for all ages...it has goofy stuff for the kids (that I must admit, I found funny at times) and it simply oozes "heart". The film does carry some interesting tones that I imagine are aimed more at adults...the idea of getting old or the horrible feeling of losing someone very dear to you and learning to let go...there really is something for everyone in UP. I loved the little side-characters in this film that provide some of the funniest moments...the speaking dog (who you can't help but like) and the bird (does not speak, but lights up the screen with a physcial presence) back up the film very nicely and they both chew up the scenes when on screen. UP is what "good clean fun" is all about when it comes to movies...you dont need explosions, morphing robots, and guys with claws...you just need great adventure, memorable characters, and like I mentioned earlier....heart. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION. Expand
  94. DamonP
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Up is another Pixar gem. I'm not sure this studio can do anything wrong. If you would have told me I would have loved a movie about an Old man and some Kid, I would have laughed at you. I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie tugs at your heartstrings for the entire running time.And was a joy to watch through and through.
  95. JohnL
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Animation is similar to that found in the Incredibles, but improved. The movie entertains a pretty sad story with various adverntures throughout. Well done. One of my favorite characters had to be Doug the dog, he was awesome.
  96. JimR
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing in it's depth and width - Not a wasted frame in it.
  97. ArthurC.
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets characterization and theme right like Pixar. And they do it without referencing pop culture. Why can't producers take a lesson from these guys. Expand
  98. RCR
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    This film is a true masterpiece in storytelling and execution as well as a moving cinematic experience.
  99. AlfredH
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Touching and beautiful in every way. Best movie I've seen so far this year.
  100. AnOnymous
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Super Movie. And for all u bozo's who think it is abortion. wrong, just a miscarraige. i see some tension for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards. This is definitely Pixar's best film ever. better than even Toy Story. There were flaws, of course (no film is perfect) but they were fixed right away. Up, an amazing film. Who knows, it could be the first non-live action film Super Movie. And for all u bozo's who think it is abortion. wrong, just a miscarraige. i see some tension for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards. This is definitely Pixar's best film ever. better than even Toy Story. There were flaws, of course (no film is perfect) but they were fixed right away. Up, an amazing film. Who knows, it could be the first non-live action film since Beauty and the Beast to get nominated for Best picture. WALL-E shoulda, so did gran torino, but those were good, not great like Up. It's sad when he talks to his wife, even i know that. i lost a four year old cousin to brain cancer and Up made me think hey, it is okay to talk with lost loved ones. Up, truly amazing, inspiring, and cute. Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Winsome, touching and arguably the funniest Pixar effort ever, the gorgeously rendered, high-flying adventure is a tidy 90-minute distillation of all the signature touches that came before it.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    A captivating odd-couple adventure that becomes funnier and more exciting as it flies along.
  3. By all means, see Up in its 3-D incarnation: The cliff drops are vertiginous, and the scores of balloons--bunched into the shape of one giant balloon--are as pluckable as grapes.