User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 894 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 894
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Charming, emotional, hilarious, just some of the words that can be used to describe Disney/Pixar's Up. The opening of the film is the saddest thing I've ever seen in anything, and that's coming from a family film. Pixar continue to produce the best.
  2. RichardS.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons like that monsters vs aliens film we took them to a month ago, which was typical bubblegum. Up is a wonderful experience for all of us and I cannot commend the filmmakers enough for creating this feature. Expand
  3. AlexM.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The Incredibles. PIXAR IS BACK!!! I rank this movie in the top 3 pixars. GO SEE IT! Some people were crying in the movie!
  4. JulianP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how the story was a little deep for younger viewers, never once did the film go deeper into sadness than a view scenes left more for the viewer to fill in their own interpretations. My friends and I found Up to be a great film and easily a new Disney classic. Expand
  5. Bhatts
    May 30, 2009
    9
    breathtaking, frequently hilarious, practically life-affirming.
  6. SamE.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone who compares anything to Monsters Vs Aliens period. Expand
  7. KellyP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Funny and heartwarming. A great movie is always first and last about a great story, the amazing animation just happens to be the vehicle. Fabulous!
  8. BillPhu
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    While I don't think that it is nearly as humourous as WALL-E or Monsters vs Aliens 3D, I think that this movie is fantastic in it's own right. The trailers seem to imply that it's another another funny movie in the vein as previous productions, but it isn't There is humour, but there's far more romanticism than in any recent animated movies. It's touching,While I don't think that it is nearly as humourous as WALL-E or Monsters vs Aliens 3D, I think that this movie is fantastic in it's own right. The trailers seem to imply that it's another another funny movie in the vein as previous productions, but it isn't There is humour, but there's far more romanticism than in any recent animated movies. It's touching, and some of the themes such as promises, loss and family may be lost on a younger (i.e. < 10) crowd, but that doesn't make this a bad movie. Expand
  9. KarenJ
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Hilarious and Heartwarming. It's Pixars most poignant and human story yet. Loved it!!!
  10. JoeI.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen, ever.
  11. PatL.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Exellent. Touching, funny, and thoroughly entertaining. Great score also.
  12. MichelZ.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I would guess are more enjoyable for adults. The film is truly extraordinary in its ability to mesh seemingly incongruous elements, one would not think that all the elements of this movie would fit together, and yet they do. It is a movie that leaves you so completely emotionally satisfied that your only recourse is to see it again. Expand
  13. JoeC.
    May 30, 2009
    9
    Another triumph for Pixar. A beautiful and romantic tale. Great characters. It was so refreshing to have a elderly hero from a modest station express so much that is wonderful about the human experience. Despite the uplifting vibe, the presence of loss and longing saved the movie from the mediocrity of typical Disney factory drivel. The movie was very funny. The 3D certainly enhanced the Another triumph for Pixar. A beautiful and romantic tale. Great characters. It was so refreshing to have a elderly hero from a modest station express so much that is wonderful about the human experience. Despite the uplifting vibe, the presence of loss and longing saved the movie from the mediocrity of typical Disney factory drivel. The movie was very funny. The 3D certainly enhanced the experience and was seldom distracting. Despite the PG rating I found it to be appropriate for my 3 year old, who did get a little bored due to the relaxed pacing of the film and a mild cold. After 3 unbelievable home runs with Ratatoille, Wall-E and now UP, I am a little disappointed that Pixar will return next year with Toy Story 3. These are some of the greatest family films made. Every new and original story is a treasure. Expand
  14. RachelB.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Fantastic film, very heartfelt and sweet, perfect for children and adults, disney/pixar can no do wrong!
  15. HaroldB.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap gimmicks of things pointing at you and coming at you at every frame. My entire family loved it. Heck, I thought some themes will sail over my 3 yr old daughter and 5 yr old son's heads, but they were riveted the entire time. We'll definitely be seeing this again. I commend Pixar for being brave and willing to incorporate difficult themes along with fun and happy themes, because that's what life really is. Expand
  16. EvanB.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    A fantastic movie in every aspect! We as movie-goers should support Pixar for what they are achieving because it is high-quality family entertainment! Highly recommended.
  17. bobrich
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Stupendous amazing funny spectacular there was a smile on my face the whole movie.
  18. ChadB
    May 29, 2009
    10
    WOW ! I once again bow at you Pixar. The entire family enjoyed it, and my kids really got something about the movie besides the laughs and gags. They talked about taking care of parents/grandparents, spending time with them, how the simple things in life can be just as fun and memorable, and the like. We'll definitely see this again this summer.
  19. BobE.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    This movie is not only heartwarming from beginning to end, but you will be wetting your pants throughout with the hilarious jokes sprinkled in. I'll admit that I doubted Pixar when I heard about the off-the-wall plot line, but I will never doubt them again. Pixar has once again proven that they are at the front line of animation development in the modern day.
  20. JimG
    May 29, 2009
    10
    A wonderful movie. A human story that captivates both the young and old. I like how they did not use 3D in a gimmicky way like what was in Monsters v.s. Aliens. The 3D here did not resort to throwing and pointing things at you incessantly. The 3D was utilized more to convey the scope and depth of the mountains, cliffs, and the airborne scenes, so much so it felt like you were up in the A wonderful movie. A human story that captivates both the young and old. I like how they did not use 3D in a gimmicky way like what was in Monsters v.s. Aliens. The 3D here did not resort to throwing and pointing things at you incessantly. The 3D was utilized more to convey the scope and depth of the mountains, cliffs, and the airborne scenes, so much so it felt like you were up in the air yourself. This was a movie filmed in 3D, not a 3D movie. The story is the star of the film by far, and you'll be wowed whether you see it in 2D or 3D. A magnificent addition to the Pixar library. We can all argue til we are blue about which Pixar is the best (my vote still belongs to Wall-E at this point) .But UP stands alone as Pixars most human story. Expand
  21. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    This is definitely one of Pixar's best animated features.
    The story is so lovely that one cannot but find one's eyes watering while watching the first 20 minutes of the film and getting to see two people in love living their lives. It is just so moving that one cannot resist falling in love with it immediately.
    The Academy Award winning score is definitely one of the highlights of the
    This is definitely one of Pixar's best animated features.
    The story is so lovely that one cannot but find one's eyes watering while watching the first 20 minutes of the film and getting to see two people in love living their lives. It is just so moving that one cannot resist falling in love with it immediately.
    The Academy Award winning score is definitely one of the highlights of the film, due to its ability to give depth to our perception of the scenes and of the film in general.

    Surely, it is not Wall-E and it does not have such a "great idea" behind it as environmentalism and the future of humanity. But, in a way, it does more so: it is about the very basis of humanity - peoples ability to love beyond what is required of them and the realisation of love's importance in our lives. Maybe, after all, it is like Wall-E... or even better so, since through an ordinary person's story it can create a whole new world without having to make much effort. That's greatness.
    Expand
  22. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    A brilliant, unique movie. One of the best children's movie I watched.
  23. May 21, 2012
    9
    Though it is not the best Pixar film (for me, Ratatouille takes that spot), it is still a great movie. I love the fact that this this movie is very diverse, it has comedy moments, dramatic moments, action moments and a lot more. The flow of the story is brilliant, from start to finish, making the plot of the movie clear and understandable. And I appreciate that they make this more of anThough it is not the best Pixar film (for me, Ratatouille takes that spot), it is still a great movie. I love the fact that this this movie is very diverse, it has comedy moments, dramatic moments, action moments and a lot more. The flow of the story is brilliant, from start to finish, making the plot of the movie clear and understandable. And I appreciate that they make this more of an animation movie (which we all know that these movies are mostly for kids), where adults can relate. Yet again, Pixar has again produced an amazing movie and I am looking forward for more Pixar movies in the future... Expand
  24. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Up es una replica a seguir de como hacer y aprovechar una pelicula teniendo en cuenta los sentimientos y valores que hay que dar en este tipo de peliculas, una excelente muestra del amor en todo sentido y una pelicula mas que adorar de entre otras de Pixar
  25. Mar 12, 2015
    10
    Pixar always makes the best movies that touch us, such as Toy Story, Cars, Finding Nemo, and The Incredibles. This movie made me cry and laugh. Every great movie gives you both. Another outstanding story made by Pixar, about always going for your dreams, the limits are endless for adventure.
  26. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    Animation giant Pixar walks into 2009 with their new animation "Up". The movie is so organized and amazing, all I could suggest to you is to just shut up and watch the movie.
  27. BryanK.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks through a collar to other dogs speaks in a funny voice, which when fixed sounds like an evil scientist from a 1930's serial. The final thirty minutes are not only action filled, but comical and heartwarming. The characters were well-designed with unique characteristics which added to the enjoyment and allowed for the people viewing the film to connect with the characters. Very-well made film and one of the best Disney films of the first decade of the 21st century... Expand
  28. Ostaf
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    I cried, I laughed and I am 19....good movie.

    The worst part though was that there was a little sitting in front of me and when it was over she turned to her mother and said "that movie SUCKED!" and I was still wiping a tear out of my eye while chuckling
  29. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Pixar at it's finest, showing that an animated film doesn't have to rely only on humour but also can be quite emotional. Within the first 10 minutes of the movie you automatically feel for the main character and become emotionally involved in the film, that alone got me really impressed, Great animation backed up with great characters ( as any dog owner would agree ) , very funny moviePixar at it's finest, showing that an animated film doesn't have to rely only on humour but also can be quite emotional. Within the first 10 minutes of the movie you automatically feel for the main character and become emotionally involved in the film, that alone got me really impressed, Great animation backed up with great characters ( as any dog owner would agree ) , very funny movie that also pulls at your heart strings. A Must see.. A classic. Expand
  30. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Up was PIXAR's masterpiece. I mean this movie was absolutely perfect. The characters were hilarious and you could relate to them very well. Doug the dog was the best comic relief ever in an animated film. The plot was extremely original it's not funny. That doesn't mean the movie's not humorous though. It's freaking hilarious and it's also possibly the best movie I've ever seen. The overall movie is 11/10 and it is just - GORGEOUS!

    The movie definitely proves "Adventure is out there!" Well there definitely is. Also this movie is also the first I cried while watching. The first 5 minutes and the bit where Carl is flicking through Ellie's photo album/adventure book. PIXAR has done it again and they're still yet to make a dud. Cars was the closest thing to a dud. Up is so much better than any other animated movie this year. Coraline is pretty damn close to Up and so is Mary and Max. Anyone hear heard of Harvie Krumpet? Well Mary and Max was made by the same guy. Up is the animated king of 2009.
    Expand
  31. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Tells one of the greatest love stories in cinematic history in a brisk eight minutes. That, as is the film itself, is a wonderful, awe aspiring work of genius.
  32. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I've always enjoyed Edward Asner's voice work since Freakazoid (a cartoon not many of you may know), and he does an excellent job here. A sweet tale and a fun adventure on a flying house make this another Pixar classic.
  33. HollyC
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    --Light Spoilers Ahead--- This is one of my most favorite Pixar films---and I seriously went into the film doubting it a bit (I know I know!) Not only was I absolutely in love w/ the short that played ahead, "Partly Cloudy" but "Up" had me weeping---(out-right weeping!) in the first 20 minutes!!! The courage to take on grief and regret & make your protagonist a grumpy old man is --Light Spoilers Ahead--- This is one of my most favorite Pixar films---and I seriously went into the film doubting it a bit (I know I know!) Not only was I absolutely in love w/ the short that played ahead, "Partly Cloudy" but "Up" had me weeping---(out-right weeping!) in the first 20 minutes!!! The courage to take on grief and regret & make your protagonist a grumpy old man is astonishing in it's own right, but then to make it a great action adventure with plenty of eye candy and laughs as well---man, Pixar is just firing on all cylinders. Bravo to Pixar once again---probably some of our greatest story-tellers working today. Expand
  34. MegL
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Best movie I have seen this summer. The first ten minutes were perfect. More emotion was evoked in that ten minutes than in any movie I have seen in a long while.
  35. LindaL.
    Feb 7, 2010
    9
    I'm not a big fan of these animated darlings -- found "Nemo" OK, "Shrek" dull and "Wall-e" inane. But I really enjoyed "Up." Some quibbles with plot developments, but overall it was touching and sweet though still with a lot of grown-up appeal.
  36. ValS
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with the credits at the end as well - hilarious! This is a film about letting go and moving on. It is a film about hope, and about a journey that never ends, What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with the credits at the end as well - hilarious! This is a film about letting go and moving on. It is a film about hope, and about a journey that never ends, but simply moves into a different dimension. It's a film about rekindling the core of youth and optimism that lies in our hearts however old we are. A great film, it ranks with the best. Wonderful jokes;we laughed out loud frequently and both of us marvelled at the depth of detail - from the way the seat on the armchair hollowed and wore with frequent use over the years, to the build-up of stubble on the old man's face. Of course, there are imperfections in the plot if you look for them, but this is a fantasy, remember! And frankly, if some animated figures can generate such heart and such emotion and leave you feeling so up-lifted, then who cares?! Expand
  37. zacS.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Pixar have churned out another brilliant film, their storytelling matches the crisp grapics. A must see.
  38. RichN
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Just a very special film, moving, funny and brilliant. This is not just animation at it's best, it is filmmaking at its very best.
  39. DinoP
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    If I could give it a 20, I would! Raises the bar on so many levels, from the crisp story-telling to the crisp 3D. The "back-story," delivered nearly without dialog, is masterful, bringing the audience to tears within the first 10 minutes! Genius, pure and simple.
  40. StevenS
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes on a house full of balloons for no reason the end. i think this movie was fantastic and i cant wait for it on dvd. Expand
  41. KennyD
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Saw this movie at preview in London as a 3D. Wonderful story and characters. Surprisingly moving. Simple yet full of depth and the animation was 1st class as ever. Another Pixar classic
  42. RandyM
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    Simply put, "Up" is flawless. It's arguably Disney-Pixar's greatest film to date, and a triumph of human emotion and the spirit of adventure.
  43. MichaelE
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    I laughed, I cried, I felt for the characters, who are very likable and easy to relate to. Pixar's best movie yet in my opinion.
  44. FredB
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My wife and I really connected with this movie as we have fertility problems and have recently adopted two children. I spent alot of the movie fighting my tears, and realizing that adopting children is our UP. Expand
  45. JenniferK
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it was a movie that left us happy and enlightened and makes you see and appreciate life as a whole. Expand
  46. ThomasA
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    What a wonderful film this was. Heartfelt and endearing, Hilarious and poignant. The entire family had a great GREAT time! My kids even picked up on one of the great lessons in the movie which conveys that the simple things in life can be the best of times as well, and to always be helpful of elders and other people.
  47. DeeThink
    Jul 30, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece in every way that you can call a movie one. A direct insult to all who create "trash" film.
  48. JesseJ
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    AMAZING! Enjoyed it as much as Wall-E but a bill less than Rattatouile (donno how to spell it :S). I recommend any one to watch it! The dog is sooo funny. "OH BOY OH BOY, I WILL GO GET THE BALL THEN BRING IT BACK"!
  49. SarahR
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    By far, the best animated movie I have ever seen. I didn't think I'd like it because I've never really enjoyed pixar that much. But, it's funny, beautiful, heartworming, worth every dime.
  50. JayH.
    Nov 5, 2009
    9
    A brilliant film, wildly and wonderfully imaginative. The animation is amazing, the writing sublime. It is funny and touching, always fascinating, never a dull moment. Excellent in every respect.
  51. IanS.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Never has a Pixar film moved me in such a way as "UP". With plenty of laugh out loud moments, it also has heart, and will almost certainly bring you to tears.
  52. FeliciaN.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Well worth seeing. Good for all ages, Adults won't be bored.
  53. MikeS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Having fallen in love with this film even before its delivery, I must say here and now that Up both fulfilled and surpassed my expectations. Flawless animation is coupled here with a story and plot which are both hilarious and tear-jerking at the same time. I would happily call Up my film of the year.
  54. AaronG.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D was unneeded, UP comes through as an outstanding picture for the whole family to enjoy. Two thumbs up. Expand
  55. AaronB
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching from beginning to end, with some of Pixar's most humorous moments yet easily some of it's most poignant, "Up" soars high above the clouds of Paradise Falls. Particularly impressive is the opening montage that explains the lives of Ellie and Carl Frederickson without as much as a word, but left many in the theater where I saw it in tears. One could argue that the most recent slate of Pixar Movies (Up, Ratatouille and Wall-E) are deeper, richer and greater achievements than their predecessors. Expand
  56. GeorgeM
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his house, so instead...he ties a bunch of balloons to his house and off he goes with a miniature wilderness explorer, Russell, along for the ride. UP is just a great film for all ages...it has goofy stuff for the kids (that I must admit, I found funny at times) and it simply oozes "heart". The film does carry some interesting tones that I imagine are aimed more at adults...the idea of getting old or the horrible feeling of losing someone very dear to you and learning to let go...there really is something for everyone in UP. I loved the little side-characters in this film that provide some of the funniest moments...the speaking dog (who you can't help but like) and the bird (does not speak, but lights up the screen with a physcial presence) back up the film very nicely and they both chew up the scenes when on screen. UP is what "good clean fun" is all about when it comes to movies...you dont need explosions, morphing robots, and guys with claws...you just need great adventure, memorable characters, and like I mentioned earlier....heart. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION. Expand
  57. DamonP
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Up is another Pixar gem. I'm not sure this studio can do anything wrong. If you would have told me I would have loved a movie about an Old man and some Kid, I would have laughed at you. I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie tugs at your heartstrings for the entire running time.And was a joy to watch through and through.
  58. JohnL
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Animation is similar to that found in the Incredibles, but improved. The movie entertains a pretty sad story with various adverntures throughout. Well done. One of my favorite characters had to be Doug the dog, he was awesome.
  59. JimR
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing in it's depth and width - Not a wasted frame in it.
  60. ArthurC.
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets characterization and theme right like Pixar. And they do it without referencing pop culture. Why can't producers take a lesson from these guys. Collapse
  61. RCR
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    This film is a true masterpiece in storytelling and execution as well as a moving cinematic experience.
  62. AlfredH
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Touching and beautiful in every way. Best movie I've seen so far this year.
  63. AnOnymous
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Super Movie. And for all u bozo's who think it is abortion. wrong, just a miscarraige. i see some tension for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards. This is definitely Pixar's best film ever. better than even Toy Story. There were flaws, of course (no film is perfect) but they were fixed right away. Up, an amazing film. Who knows, it could be the first non-live action film Super Movie. And for all u bozo's who think it is abortion. wrong, just a miscarraige. i see some tension for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards. This is definitely Pixar's best film ever. better than even Toy Story. There were flaws, of course (no film is perfect) but they were fixed right away. Up, an amazing film. Who knows, it could be the first non-live action film since Beauty and the Beast to get nominated for Best picture. WALL-E shoulda, so did gran torino, but those were good, not great like Up. It's sad when he talks to his wife, even i know that. i lost a four year old cousin to brain cancer and Up made me think hey, it is okay to talk with lost loved ones. Up, truly amazing, inspiring, and cute. Expand
  64. clint
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    UP was sensational! A definite must see. An animated film that dares to do what other animated films won't. While often fantastical in nature, the film is grounded in the human story of the main characters. A poignant and hilarious film that has me smiling from ear to ear up to now whenever I think of it.
  65. CharlesW
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and left the theater UPlifted and happy in every way imaginable. Expand
  66. AnnaF
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A heartfelt and hilarious gem of a movie! I highy recommend this to everyone, from families with young kids and moviefans alike. The characters were all memorable and endearing.
  67. EricB
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I don't get how people can't like this movie. The characters are hilarious and likeable, and from the first scene, you're drawn into the movie. I got a bit teary-eyed several times throughout the movie, which is saying something. The ending is very satisfying, as well. The plot has many twists and turns, and I can't believe some people say it's predictable. I I don't get how people can't like this movie. The characters are hilarious and likeable, and from the first scene, you're drawn into the movie. I got a bit teary-eyed several times throughout the movie, which is saying something. The ending is very satisfying, as well. The plot has many twists and turns, and I can't believe some people say it's predictable. I didn't see any of the big twists coming. Overall, this is one of my favorite movies of all time. Go see it RIGHT NOW. Expand
  68. LeRonN
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    A+ is not high enough for this one.
  69. Chris
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Hilarious and heart warming
  70. LishD
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    It was an incredible movie. I love how they touched on some topics many movies are scared of, the loss of a loved one and the neglect of a parent. Despite the overtones of this, it was an uplifting and enjoyable movie for everyone. Those who have commented about how dark it is, and how it wasnt a Pixar movie, I dont believe we watched the same movie. It was a beautiful story full of humor It was an incredible movie. I love how they touched on some topics many movies are scared of, the loss of a loved one and the neglect of a parent. Despite the overtones of this, it was an uplifting and enjoyable movie for everyone. Those who have commented about how dark it is, and how it wasnt a Pixar movie, I dont believe we watched the same movie. It was a beautiful story full of humor and sadness, I enjoyed it completely. Expand
  71. ClariceT.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    A wonderful movie that sums up the human experience. We all have moments of sorrow and sadness, but it is these moments that we come to accept and overcome, thus making the eventual happy times all the more joyous and memorable.
  72. DanielK.
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    No movie is perfect, but this one is very close for what it is. It manages to be genuine even though it is animated, and it is just a beautiful movie and wonderful story.
  73. Eliasc
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Another Pixar high achievement on the road to more complex themed animation. Pixar manages to create animated films that have storylines and character that will interest adults and yet still appeal to children. Here's hoping that Pixar takes the next step and animate even more complex stories.
  74. TonyC
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Awesome. the first Pixar movie to bring me within tears in the first ten minutes. A great tale, the kind Pixar has not failed to deliver.
  75. KatT
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Beautiful storyline (great morals for the kids) and heaps of humor. Both myself and my 11year old were giggling throughout. Will be buying this on DVD and watching again! (by the way Niv, its called a "spoiler" for a reason)
  76. AlexY
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    This movie could melt a heart of ice. Up is consistently touching and captivating, if just a bit cheesy at times, but even the cheesy bits are heartwarming. The storyline is unique, bizarre, and inspiring. This is Pixar's best film since the Incredibles.
  77. BrianV.
    Mar 11, 2010
    9
    There should be more movies like this! though it is a movie ment for the younger audience, it is very well performed!
  78. BryanL.
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I think the one thing I can count on in about 90% of all rated movies is the poor rating coming from Salon.com's Stephanie Zacharek. This is a beautiful film with nary a flaw to it. Miss Zacharek, perhaps you should step aside and let someone who actually enjoys watching movies do the critiquing.
  79. JD
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I didn't want too see this film one bit... my mate dragged me along... best film iv seen this year! loved it. its been a long time that iv actually agreed something was worth the money in this day and age. POINT!
  80. NickV.
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    Well, Pixar really didn't let me down on this one. Another gem. Saw it in 3D.
  81. WillC
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Up is an absolute masterpiece of cinema. Its incredibly moving plot and beautiful animation make it one of the most ambitious animted movies ever created. This movie is great a telling a story without words and these moments were incredibly moving and very touching. This film had me laughing one minute and crying the next.
  82. KarlT
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies this year. Possibly THE best. Top five at least. An animated masterpiece.
  83. TonyO.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what is more, I loved the 3D as well. Special points. The landscapes on the mountain/waterfall, and the realisation of the blimp. And the dogs were pretty Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what is more, I loved the 3D as well. Special points. The landscapes on the mountain/waterfall, and the realisation of the blimp. And the dogs were pretty funny. A gem. Expand
  84. GabeS.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. In fact it maybe the most emotional I've ever seen. I know it's easily going to win Best Animated movie in the Academy's, but it's actually a shame that it won't be nominated for Best Movie of the Year. Anyway to sum all things up. This is the best movie of the year so far. Expand
  85. MelanieL
    May 31, 2009
    10
    The story is so much fun and it is beautiful to watch.
  86. JoelW.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Like other reviewers before me, its safe to say Pixar is making films for adults that children will only appreciate some aspects of and UP is no different. This is a wonderful story, and storytelling is what Pixar seems to do best. I highly recommend this film.
  87. JonL
    May 31, 2009
    9
    Not quite a masterpiece, but a fantastic piece of craftsmanship from the most reliable brand in the world.
  88. Stephanie
    May 31, 2009
    10
    I was utterly shocked by how filled with sadness and joy this movie brought me last night. There was not a dry eye in the movie theater during most of the film and it was an absolute pleasure to view. I'm encouraging everyone I know to see this movie.
  89. RachelJ
    May 31, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece, brilliant in every way. A heart warming tale, that made you love all the characters. Good for the whole family. Although it is heartbreaking at parts, it ads to the superb plot.
  90. DianaB
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of Carl and even Russell. Pixar has managed to create this masterpiece which elicits genuine tears, genuine laughs, all neatly tied together in a wonderful film. We all left the theater overjoyed. A+ for UP Expand
  91. LisaA.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A wonderful adventure, sweet, laugh out loud funny, poignant, and uplifting (no pun intended). My kids and husband immensely enjoyed it.
  92. CalebH
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    A perfect balance of laugh out loud humor and emotional depth that creates one of the most intriguing and unforgettable stories of our time about true love and understanding when it's time to let go. In the end, you have no where to go, but Up.
  93. PeterM
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Excellent in every way possible. A joy to watch and notice all the small details.
  94. MiguelG
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    One of the best Pixar films ever conceived. Sure to be a long-standing Classic for years to come. "Up" is a stunning follow up to 2008's brilliant "Wall-E." It brings to life characters in ways that only Pixar can. These characters are all well drawn out and believeable, and the plot is absolutely amazing in its ability to infuse comedy with tragedy. While I can admit that there are One of the best Pixar films ever conceived. Sure to be a long-standing Classic for years to come. "Up" is a stunning follow up to 2008's brilliant "Wall-E." It brings to life characters in ways that only Pixar can. These characters are all well drawn out and believeable, and the plot is absolutely amazing in its ability to infuse comedy with tragedy. While I can admit that there are aspects of the film that would seem impossible (a floating house, talking dogs) the film makes everything seem so incredibly real. It is definitely a film that children and adults alike can enjoy. A sensationally heartfelt, often uplifting film, it seems almost impossible that anyone can't love "Up." Expand
  95. IanC.
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    This served as a reminder that sometimes we have to say goodbye to the things we love in order to get on with our lives.
  96. J.K.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    This captivating tale of extremely believable characters brings back the glory days of Hayao Miyazaki, where story and characters are subtle and sympathetic. It truly stands out in the crowd of abrasive, mindless animations now-a-days.
  97. KyleF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. The adventurous nature of this film was incredible, the heartfelt story was amazing too. GO SEE THIS FILM.
  98. ChrisF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    A beautiful story along with beautiful visuals and a beautiful score. Well done Pixar, you always impress me more and more.
  99. xoux
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Clearly one of the best since finding nemo.
  100. ChrisB
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Pixar is brilliant. When I saw the commercial and trailer for this, I thought it was going to be their first bad pic, but if you have a soul, you will be at the least a little misty after the first 10 minutes or so. Equally appealing to adults and kids, it's probably the best film I've seen this year.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Winsome, touching and arguably the funniest Pixar effort ever, the gorgeously rendered, high-flying adventure is a tidy 90-minute distillation of all the signature touches that came before it.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    A captivating odd-couple adventure that becomes funnier and more exciting as it flies along.
  3. By all means, see Up in its 3-D incarnation: The cliff drops are vertiginous, and the scores of balloons--bunched into the shape of one giant balloon--are as pluckable as grapes.