User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 894 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 894
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Josh
    Jun 22, 2009
    3
    Completely over-rated. I don't know what it is about animated films but people will overlook a lot of things and seem to stroke their nearest phallic object in excitement over mediocre story lines.
  2. EnzoP.
    Jun 22, 2009
    8
    Up is the best animated movie of the summer by far. But I am not sure about the best animated movie of the year. So far up and star trek are tied for the best summer movie of 2009.
  3. JoeB.
    Jun 21, 2009
    0
    This movie was terrible from beginning to end you might like it if you were 1 years old i mean every was in the movie theater was booing and throwing popcorn.
  4. SeanM.
    Jun 21, 2009
    10
    I wanted to cry not once but many times throughout the movie. This is a perfect film for the whole family.
  5. KurtC
    Jun 20, 2009
    7
    Overall, an enjoyable movie, but not one of Pixar's best (however, I liked it more than WALL-E, which I was not the biggest fan of). Heavy stuff for a children's movie...hence the PG rating, which reflects the darker, more sinister elements of the movie, relatively speaking to other children's films. What was missing from Up! was the joyful and fantastic aesthetic of Overall, an enjoyable movie, but not one of Pixar's best (however, I liked it more than WALL-E, which I was not the biggest fan of). Heavy stuff for a children's movie...hence the PG rating, which reflects the darker, more sinister elements of the movie, relatively speaking to other children's films. What was missing from Up! was the joyful and fantastic aesthetic of Pixar's earlier movies (e.g., Toy Story, Finding Nemo, The Incredibles). Up! ended up feeling predictable and heavy-handed. All in all, I'd probably watch it again. Expand
  6. NathanD.
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    A very well animated (of course its pixar) movie with an expertly planned plot. Russell's upbeat personality mixed perfectly with Mr.Fredricksen's grumpy yet playful attitude.
  7. StevenS
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes on a house full of balloons for no reason the end. i think this movie was fantastic and i cant wait for it on dvd. Expand
  8. MisakiE
    Jun 18, 2009
    9
    Best movie of the year!! I don't cry much, but first part of movie made me cry and tears kept coming... touching, sad, yet very sweet. Very cute and funny throughout. Excellent sense of humor and all family members can enjoy without regret. This 3D movie cost me big but it really was worth the price. I cannot wait to watch it again!!!!
  9. DougN
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    A great family movie. Really enjoyed it.
  10. CollinC
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece in every respect.
  11. GeorgeM
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his house, so instead...he ties a bunch of balloons to his house and off he goes with a miniature wilderness explorer, Russell, along for the ride. UP is just a great film for all ages...it has goofy stuff for the kids (that I must admit, I found funny at times) and it simply oozes "heart". The film does carry some interesting tones that I imagine are aimed more at adults...the idea of getting old or the horrible feeling of losing someone very dear to you and learning to let go...there really is something for everyone in UP. I loved the little side-characters in this film that provide some of the funniest moments...the speaking dog (who you can't help but like) and the bird (does not speak, but lights up the screen with a physcial presence) back up the film very nicely and they both chew up the scenes when on screen. UP is what "good clean fun" is all about when it comes to movies...you dont need explosions, morphing robots, and guys with claws...you just need great adventure, memorable characters, and like I mentioned earlier....heart. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION. Expand
  12. J.K.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    This captivating tale of extremely believable characters brings back the glory days of Hayao Miyazaki, where story and characters are subtle and sympathetic. It truly stands out in the crowd of abrasive, mindless animations now-a-days.
  13. JimF
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    It's not hard understanding why Pixar's shorts are so good: their features, particularly the last two, are at their best in the short, self-contained sequences that often begin the films. It was true with "Wall-E", which nonetheless still sustained itself after its brilliant opening and remains the company's best film. And it's true with "Up", which contains a charming It's not hard understanding why Pixar's shorts are so good: their features, particularly the last two, are at their best in the short, self-contained sequences that often begin the films. It was true with "Wall-E", which nonetheless still sustained itself after its brilliant opening and remains the company's best film. And it's true with "Up", which contains a charming and surprising five minute scene near the beginning of the film that encapsulates the early love affair between a crotchety old man (Ed Asner) and the adventurous girl he marries and adores so well it effectively serves to anchor the rest of the movie. Good thing, because that remaining hour or so of screen time is not that interesting in itself. It reminds me of that famous quote about history, that it's just one damn thing after another. Despite that, I still liked this film a great deal. That opening put me on its side, and on the side of its characters, and I never tired enough of the generic action to lose my affection and interest in them. "Wall-E" is a work of art; "Up" is a charming and enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours. Expand
  14. IanC.
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    This served as a reminder that sometimes we have to say goodbye to the things we love in order to get on with our lives.
  15. JasonH.
    Jun 15, 2009
    8
    You know, this film is getting bashed for being "too depressing" in the first half, but I think that this emotional, bitter sweet feeling was unique , and should have been pusuited. I did not like the switch midway through the film (marked upon the entry of the dogs and bird) that suddenly turned the story into a common adventure. I honestly didn't care about the bird or the dog. The You know, this film is getting bashed for being "too depressing" in the first half, but I think that this emotional, bitter sweet feeling was unique , and should have been pusuited. I did not like the switch midway through the film (marked upon the entry of the dogs and bird) that suddenly turned the story into a common adventure. I honestly didn't care about the bird or the dog. The guy wanted his house by the falls for the entire film, and that was all I was waiting for. That darn bird and dog just seemed to be making a clear, obvious and annoying effort to inject the movie with their presence. Expand
  16. MiguelG
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    One of the best Pixar films ever conceived. Sure to be a long-standing Classic for years to come. "Up" is a stunning follow up to 2008's brilliant "Wall-E." It brings to life characters in ways that only Pixar can. These characters are all well drawn out and believeable, and the plot is absolutely amazing in its ability to infuse comedy with tragedy. While I can admit that there are One of the best Pixar films ever conceived. Sure to be a long-standing Classic for years to come. "Up" is a stunning follow up to 2008's brilliant "Wall-E." It brings to life characters in ways that only Pixar can. These characters are all well drawn out and believeable, and the plot is absolutely amazing in its ability to infuse comedy with tragedy. While I can admit that there are aspects of the film that would seem impossible (a floating house, talking dogs) the film makes everything seem so incredibly real. It is definitely a film that children and adults alike can enjoy. A sensationally heartfelt, often uplifting film, it seems almost impossible that anyone can't love "Up." Expand
  17. PeterM
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Excellent in every way possible. A joy to watch and notice all the small details.
  18. JoseG
    Jun 12, 2009
    9
    Brilliant!!! Ok, it's true that UP has some issues (... that was the strongest old man I have ever seen!!!) but the story capture you, and also is quite funny. The intro (first 20 min) make me almost cry (believe, I am not like crying much), it was very touching. Maybe not as great as WALL - E, but a excellent movie too... go and watch it, no regrets!!!
  19. ShamondG
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    Great movie. Not only did it have hilarious comedic hijinks and action, it had a wonderful message too for adults and children alike. My entire family had a blast.
  20. JayK
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    I was disappointed by this movie, as I expected something on par with Wall-E. The first 15 minutes are very touching, even made me teary (I see my future before me). But this movie's ability to conjure real emotion stops there, with characters and story that are thenceforth somewhat flat. And while I love the weirdness and creativity displayed by many other animated films (Spirited I was disappointed by this movie, as I expected something on par with Wall-E. The first 15 minutes are very touching, even made me teary (I see my future before me). But this movie's ability to conjure real emotion stops there, with characters and story that are thenceforth somewhat flat. And while I love the weirdness and creativity displayed by many other animated films (Spirited Away, etc.), here the strangeness just rarely seems to fit right. (SPOILER ALERT) So many aspects felt uncomfortable and jarring, such as the old man running around for half the movie tethered to a house. The dogs are often funny (highlight of the film), but (SPOILER ALERT) flying planes?!? And the old guy gets random bouts of superhuman strength, speed, and flexibility (intentional, perhaps, but jarring). These random outcrops of weirdness never fit and are distracting, which I think is made worse by the art style that doesn't gel the realistic and the cartoony quite right. Close, but no cigar. Expand
  21. DinoP
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    If I could give it a 20, I would! Raises the bar on so many levels, from the crisp story-telling to the crisp 3D. The "back-story," delivered nearly without dialog, is masterful, bringing the audience to tears within the first 10 minutes! Genius, pure and simple.
  22. AnonyM
    Jun 9, 2009
    7
    While I do agree with the strong emotional attachments in the movie, I felt like the movie had very little discovery or adventure. Everything was straightforward, this is the bad guy... these are the good guys, this is the problem, here is the solution. don't get me wrong, the story of the old man growing up was well done, but after his house lifts off, well nothing much really While I do agree with the strong emotional attachments in the movie, I felt like the movie had very little discovery or adventure. Everything was straightforward, this is the bad guy... these are the good guys, this is the problem, here is the solution. don't get me wrong, the story of the old man growing up was well done, but after his house lifts off, well nothing much really significant happens. Expand
  23. ShellyW
    Jun 9, 2009
    8
    This was a great movie for me and my husband a the older kids. We LOVED it! The deceit is how the commercials bill it as "The Best Comedy of the summer". While there were certainly funny parts and it was a heartwarming albeit sad movie, there were youngsters under 6 behind us in the theater that actually screamed with fright at parts. They repeatedly asked their parents to leave and This was a great movie for me and my husband a the older kids. We LOVED it! The deceit is how the commercials bill it as "The Best Comedy of the summer". While there were certainly funny parts and it was a heartwarming albeit sad movie, there were youngsters under 6 behind us in the theater that actually screamed with fright at parts. They repeatedly asked their parents to leave and wanted to know when it would be over saying that they were too scared. Straight Comedy it is not! Parents with youngsters beware - it is very intense and there are concepts that kids under 10 might not understand or might find scary. Expand
  24. EwanM
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    It was fantastic! one of the best movies i have ever seen.
  25. MarkA
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying then laughing in succession. It beautifully weaves subtle, cartoonish humor with sadness and revelation. The minds at Pixar have once again broken Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying then laughing in succession. It beautifully weaves subtle, cartoonish humor with sadness and revelation. The minds at Pixar have once again broken boundaries with this film, and I highly recommend it. Expand
  26. CharlesW
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and left the theater UPlifted and happy in every way imaginable. Expand
  27. clint
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    UP was sensational! A definite must see. An animated film that dares to do what other animated films won't. While often fantastical in nature, the film is grounded in the human story of the main characters. A poignant and hilarious film that has me smiling from ear to ear up to now whenever I think of it.
  28. AnnaF
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A heartfelt and hilarious gem of a movie! I highy recommend this to everyone, from families with young kids and moviefans alike. The characters were all memorable and endearing.
  29. ThomasA
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    What a wonderful film this was. Heartfelt and endearing, Hilarious and poignant. The entire family had a great GREAT time! My kids even picked up on one of the great lessons in the movie which conveys that the simple things in life can be the best of times as well, and to always be helpful of elders and other people.
  30. JenniferK
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it was a movie that left us happy and enlightened and makes you see and appreciate life as a whole. Expand
  31. Janus
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, well, this 26yr old couldn't stop smiling after seeing UP! A great animated film for all ages, and for once, one with good moral values that can A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, well, this 26yr old couldn't stop smiling after seeing UP! A great animated film for all ages, and for once, one with good moral values that can be taught. Expand
  32. JoeyM
    Jun 8, 2009
    9
    My wife and I absolutely loved "Up," particularly the dogs. We laughed just about as much as we cried. Indeed, the first fifteen minutes or so is about the most moving bit of storytelling I've seen on the big screen in years. I'd read what happens in those first fifteen minutes and I still couldn't stop myself from tearing up. While it doesn't quite reach the heights My wife and I absolutely loved "Up," particularly the dogs. We laughed just about as much as we cried. Indeed, the first fifteen minutes or so is about the most moving bit of storytelling I've seen on the big screen in years. I'd read what happens in those first fifteen minutes and I still couldn't stop myself from tearing up. While it doesn't quite reach the heights of "Wall-E" or 'Rataouile" for me (but what can?), this will likely be my favorite movie of 2009. Must see. Expand
  33. FredB
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My wife and I really connected with this movie as we have fertility problems and have recently adopted two children. I spent alot of the movie fighting my tears, and realizing that adopting children is our UP. Expand
  34. CarolynM
    Jun 7, 2009
    7
    Spectacular to watch, but the NY Times is right: some of Up is clever or cute or touching, but spells of it are cliched.
  35. HollyC
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    --Light Spoilers Ahead--- This is one of my most favorite Pixar films---and I seriously went into the film doubting it a bit (I know I know!) Not only was I absolutely in love w/ the short that played ahead, "Partly Cloudy" but "Up" had me weeping---(out-right weeping!) in the first 20 minutes!!! The courage to take on grief and regret & make your protagonist a grumpy old man is --Light Spoilers Ahead--- This is one of my most favorite Pixar films---and I seriously went into the film doubting it a bit (I know I know!) Not only was I absolutely in love w/ the short that played ahead, "Partly Cloudy" but "Up" had me weeping---(out-right weeping!) in the first 20 minutes!!! The courage to take on grief and regret & make your protagonist a grumpy old man is astonishing in it's own right, but then to make it a great action adventure with plenty of eye candy and laughs as well---man, Pixar is just firing on all cylinders. Bravo to Pixar once again---probably some of our greatest story-tellers working today. Expand
  36. MichaelE
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    I laughed, I cried, I felt for the characters, who are very likable and easy to relate to. Pixar's best movie yet in my opinion.
  37. StehenB
    Jun 6, 2009
    7
    Pixar sets a high bar for its movies. While "UP" is quite good, I still felt slightly disappointed by the film. The story, while original for an animated feature, is not well developed. It is also a bit confusing and disturbing for youngsters (i.e. scenes related to deaths). I can suspend my belief about a house carried off by helium balloons. But there are too many other incredible Pixar sets a high bar for its movies. While "UP" is quite good, I still felt slightly disappointed by the film. The story, while original for an animated feature, is not well developed. It is also a bit confusing and disturbing for youngsters (i.e. scenes related to deaths). I can suspend my belief about a house carried off by helium balloons. But there are too many other incredible elements that the film forces us to accept. Talking dogs? Why? The film is better than most, but still falls noticeably short of other Pixar classics. Expand
  38. RobertB
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best that pixar ever produced.This should easily win best animated picture and should, although unlikely, be nominated for best picture at the Oscars.
  39. AdamL
    Jun 6, 2009
    4
    Kind of a downer. Also the plot was like something out of Rescue Rangers. And I hate how the flaws in the plot bothered me. I mean its a kids movie, but its kind of not. Tries to appeal to too many kinds of people perhaps. Just came off as scattered.
  40. Acena
    Jun 5, 2009
    4
    My children and I were so excited to see this movie and we're very disapointed. I myself felt no interest in the characters and the movie seemed to be depressing at some points. I'm a hugh John Lasster fan. I loved cars and Toy Story. I'm a bit surprised he was involved with this movie... Wait for it on DVD. Not worth the time nor the money otherwise.
  41. KevinP.
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    More like a 9.5...Pixar once again has proven themselves to be the best filmmakers in the business. Their last two films (Ratatouille and WALL-E) were each the best movies to come out in their respective years (that sentence sounds weird, but I'm sure you get what I mean) and it looks like Up is going to continue that streak for the third consecutive year. Probably Pixar's More like a 9.5...Pixar once again has proven themselves to be the best filmmakers in the business. Their last two films (Ratatouille and WALL-E) were each the best movies to come out in their respective years (that sentence sounds weird, but I'm sure you get what I mean) and it looks like Up is going to continue that streak for the third consecutive year. Probably Pixar's funniest offering to date, along with a very heartfelt story. Pixar is one of the only companies out there not re-making old films or basing their movies off of best-selling books...major props to them! Expand
  42. RandyM
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    Simply put, "Up" is flawless. It's arguably Disney-Pixar's greatest film to date, and a triumph of human emotion and the spirit of adventure.
  43. kyleb
    Jun 5, 2009
    7
    It's definitely worth watching for the visuals alone, but the story and characters are lacking. The main character, Carl, is particularly distant and bland. His deceased wife, shown only in flashback, was definitely the more interesting half of that marriage, and I kept wishing she was the main character. Reviewers calling this Pixar's best are smoking dope. Better than the Toy It's definitely worth watching for the visuals alone, but the story and characters are lacking. The main character, Carl, is particularly distant and bland. His deceased wife, shown only in flashback, was definitely the more interesting half of that marriage, and I kept wishing she was the main character. Reviewers calling this Pixar's best are smoking dope. Better than the Toy Storys? Better than Nemo? Not even close. Up is a 2nd string Pixar movie along with Cars and Monsters Inc. Still worth seeing, but not particularly moving. Expand
  44. JimboH
    Jun 5, 2009
    7
    Has the audience going from zero to choked up in less than 10 minutes (an amazing feat), which is an interesting predicament when your in a theater with 3d glasses on. The movie then tries to get the audience to "move on", with the underlying lesson of the movie being that when your partner passes away there are ways of having someone keep you company without replacing them (pets, young Has the audience going from zero to choked up in less than 10 minutes (an amazing feat), which is an interesting predicament when your in a theater with 3d glasses on. The movie then tries to get the audience to "move on", with the underlying lesson of the movie being that when your partner passes away there are ways of having someone keep you company without replacing them (pets, young children are examples which the movie uses). The movie itself is overall quite good, but it does have a few short-lived boring spots. To me at least, it never truly got me out of the depressed state it put me in within the first 10 minutes. The 3d effect is good (select theaters of course), it really limits the gimmicky "throw stuff at the viewer" which is good in my opinion. Overall its a movie I think I only want to experience once. Expand
  45. RCR
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    This film is a true masterpiece in storytelling and execution as well as a moving cinematic experience.
  46. BobN.
    Jun 3, 2009
    8
    I wasn't going to see this film. The animation did not grab my interest -it seemed too similar to the Incredibles. Yet, come on now, it is a Pixar film, I reasoned. With low expectations I saw it. I think Roger Ebert said it best by comparing this with Miyazaki's beautiful animations. Though Miyazaki is on a whole different level of fantasy, this film felt like one of his I wasn't going to see this film. The animation did not grab my interest -it seemed too similar to the Incredibles. Yet, come on now, it is a Pixar film, I reasoned. With low expectations I saw it. I think Roger Ebert said it best by comparing this with Miyazaki's beautiful animations. Though Miyazaki is on a whole different level of fantasy, this film felt like one of his films-which is a great thing. I hold WALL-E to be Pixar's best film, and the best thing Disney has ever done. I will not compare it to Up. Up does not have a solid story, nor does anything truly grab you...but it has a spirit to it. That spirit, or atmosphere, it beautiful. This is a pure fantasy film with some heart. Nothing deep, but everything enjoyable. Parts are sad, but not overbearingly. Other Pixar films are sadder. I loved this film. It is not a cemented together as the others, but, again, that spirit...go see it and enjoy. Expand
  47. ChrisF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    A beautiful story along with beautiful visuals and a beautiful score. Well done Pixar, you always impress me more and more.
  48. Jeremy
    Jun 2, 2009
    8
    Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is the Disney monster. Up creates a few such moments that manage to carry it. But in between the movie pinballs around a startling series of Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is the Disney monster. Up creates a few such moments that manage to carry it. But in between the movie pinballs around a startling series of miscalculations and just plain stupid dialogue. The Wall Street Journal review seems to catch the problem: the movie seems caught in storyboard form. Nevertheless, because the worthwhile portions are Pixar visuals and Pixar moments, Up remains a really good movie. Those of us who hold WALL-E and Ratatouille in such high esteem have to feel some regret knowing what could have been. Expand
  49. KyleF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. The adventurous nature of this film was incredible, the heartfelt story was amazing too. GO SEE THIS FILM.
  50. ArthurC.
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets characterization and theme right like Pixar. And they do it without referencing pop culture. Why can't producers take a lesson from these guys. Expand
  51. KennyD
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Saw this movie at preview in London as a 3D. Wonderful story and characters. Surprisingly moving. Simple yet full of depth and the animation was 1st class as ever. Another Pixar classic
  52. BillPhu
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    While I don't think that it is nearly as humourous as WALL-E or Monsters vs Aliens 3D, I think that this movie is fantastic in it's own right. The trailers seem to imply that it's another another funny movie in the vein as previous productions, but it isn't There is humour, but there's far more romanticism than in any recent animated movies. It's touching,While I don't think that it is nearly as humourous as WALL-E or Monsters vs Aliens 3D, I think that this movie is fantastic in it's own right. The trailers seem to imply that it's another another funny movie in the vein as previous productions, but it isn't There is humour, but there's far more romanticism than in any recent animated movies. It's touching, and some of the themes such as promises, loss and family may be lost on a younger (i.e. < 10) crowd, but that doesn't make this a bad movie. Expand
  53. BillP
    Jun 1, 2009
    7
    The premise and animation quality might be worthy of a ten, but the execution of the story itself deserved anything but. Definitely my least favorite Pixar film by far (and a bit stunned at the 100s being so freely tossed around). The plot often felt too manipulated by the writers and required too many impractical moments to execute (sure some are required and perfectly fine since its a The premise and animation quality might be worthy of a ten, but the execution of the story itself deserved anything but. Definitely my least favorite Pixar film by far (and a bit stunned at the 100s being so freely tossed around). The plot often felt too manipulated by the writers and required too many impractical moments to execute (sure some are required and perfectly fine since its a fantasy, but it became too much for me with the old man repeatedly displaying Herculean strength and dogs flying planes, etc). These cliche and over-the-top action sequences just felt a little cheesy in an amateurish animation studio sort of way (see "Monsters vs Aliens" notion of a storyboard) and not something I've come to expect from Pixar's usually intricate and fully developed story lines. The characters weren't much to get behind either as the old man and the boy scout were simply caricatures of their respective stereotypes to the point that their source of humor is mostly rehashed from other movies (I find that sort of boy scout stereotype to make for an annoying character personally). The dogs, aside from the hero/cute dog, I also found to be annoying after awhile especially since they began to play a prominent role in the movie (one talking dog is plenty). That being said there were some fine moments...the back story of the old man's life has some moments and so does the last 15 minutes of the movie in general (where most of the humor and more enjoyable pace seemed to have been hiding). I'm still a little skeptical at this movie's ability to hold the attention of the younger ages so I was inclined to give it a 6, but gave it a 7 because I'm a softy for animations. Expand
  54. AaronB
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching from beginning to end, with some of Pixar's most humorous moments yet easily some of it's most poignant, "Up" soars high above the clouds of Paradise Falls. Particularly impressive is the opening montage that explains the lives of Ellie and Carl Frederickson without as much as a word, but left many in the theater where I saw it in tears. One could argue that the most recent slate of Pixar Movies (Up, Ratatouille and Wall-E) are deeper, richer and greater achievements than their predecessors. Expand
  55. CalebH
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    A perfect balance of laugh out loud humor and emotional depth that creates one of the most intriguing and unforgettable stories of our time about true love and understanding when it's time to let go. In the end, you have no where to go, but Up.
  56. CB
    Jun 1, 2009
    4
    I feel as though I watched a different movie as everyone else in the theater. "Up" is kind of a ludicrous tale, one that I simply could not get into, and I never felt a connection with ANY of the characters. This does not even come close to movies like Wall-E, which are visually stunning and far out there... in a good way. I cannot possibly recommend this movie to anyone, as it was I feel as though I watched a different movie as everyone else in the theater. "Up" is kind of a ludicrous tale, one that I simply could not get into, and I never felt a connection with ANY of the characters. This does not even come close to movies like Wall-E, which are visually stunning and far out there... in a good way. I cannot possibly recommend this movie to anyone, as it was forgettable even to my son. Expand
  57. JimR
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing in it's depth and width - Not a wasted frame in it.
  58. JohnL
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Animation is similar to that found in the Incredibles, but improved. The movie entertains a pretty sad story with various adverntures throughout. Well done. One of my favorite characters had to be Doug the dog, he was awesome.
  59. DamonP
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Up is another Pixar gem. I'm not sure this studio can do anything wrong. If you would have told me I would have loved a movie about an Old man and some Kid, I would have laughed at you. I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie tugs at your heartstrings for the entire running time.And was a joy to watch through and through.
  60. Stephanie
    May 31, 2009
    10
    I was utterly shocked by how filled with sadness and joy this movie brought me last night. There was not a dry eye in the movie theater during most of the film and it was an absolute pleasure to view. I'm encouraging everyone I know to see this movie.
  61. JonL
    May 31, 2009
    9
    Not quite a masterpiece, but a fantastic piece of craftsmanship from the most reliable brand in the world.
  62. LynnA
    May 31, 2009
    10
    INCREDIBLE ! If UP doesn't win a Best Picture Oscar then something is seriously wrong in tinsel town.
  63. MelanieL
    May 31, 2009
    10
    The story is so much fun and it is beautiful to watch.
  64. SL
    May 31, 2009
    4
    Just so-so, even boring at times, and even more so for kids I would think.
  65. GabeS.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. In fact it maybe the most emotional I've ever seen. I know it's easily going to win Best Animated movie in the Academy's, but it's actually a shame that it won't be nominated for Best Movie of the Year. Anyway to sum all things up. This is the best movie of the year so far. Expand
  66. RachelJ
    May 31, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece, brilliant in every way. A heart warming tale, that made you love all the characters. Good for the whole family. Although it is heartbreaking at parts, it ads to the superb plot.
  67. JoelW.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Like other reviewers before me, its safe to say Pixar is making films for adults that children will only appreciate some aspects of and UP is no different. This is a wonderful story, and storytelling is what Pixar seems to do best. I highly recommend this film.
  68. AaronG.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D was unneeded, UP comes through as an outstanding picture for the whole family to enjoy. Two thumbs up. Expand
  69. ChadS.
    May 30, 2009
    7
    The burden of dreams. Life happens, and then it happened, and now it's too late. Mourning over his childhood sweetheart, the old man ties himself to the house that is no longer his home. This single-minded obsession to maneuver the cumbersome object through a challenging, rough-hewn landscape somewhat recalls Werner Herzog's "Fitzcarraldo", the 1982 film about a man who moves The burden of dreams. Life happens, and then it happened, and now it's too late. Mourning over his childhood sweetheart, the old man ties himself to the house that is no longer his home. This single-minded obsession to maneuver the cumbersome object through a challenging, rough-hewn landscape somewhat recalls Werner Herzog's "Fitzcarraldo", the 1982 film about a man who moves his own cumbersome object, a steamboat, over an Amazonian mountain. Instead of head-shrinking natives, Carl(Ed Asner) uses balloons to do the dirty work, which is only fitting since Klaus Kinski often sounded like a loon. As was the filmmaker and his iconic star, the old man is a misanthrope(albeit This antisocial behavior is probably a result from depression). In one scene, he bloodies a man's forehead with his walker, and in another scene, he initially refuses to grant the boy scout entry into the house despite their rapidly escalating rise in altitude. During Carl's quest to unburden the burden, they encounter a dog(one of many who seem inspired by Kirsten Bakis' novel "Lives of Monster Dogs") that the old man won't love. These talking canines, in the film's best bit, satirizes the anthropomorphic behavior of animals so prevalent in children's films, by showing how dogs being dogs, revert to the baser instincts that are counterintuitive of their cognition training to evolve into man's best...manservant. Carl is also slow to help the bird, a bird that follows the same guiding principles of whimsical zoology as the aquatic creatures found in Wes Anderson's "The Life Aquatic w/Steve Zissou", whose two main characters played by Bill Murray and William Dafoe, seemed like stand-ins for Herzog and Kinski. The old man as a boy idolized Charles Muntz(Christopher Plummer), an adventurer. Jacques Cousteau(the inspiration for Anderson's film) was an adventurer too. "Up" is good, but it has the burden of Pixar dreams. "Up" wakes up. Expand
  70. LisaA.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A wonderful adventure, sweet, laugh out loud funny, poignant, and uplifting (no pun intended). My kids and husband immensely enjoyed it.
  71. DianaB
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of Carl and even Russell. Pixar has managed to create this masterpiece which elicits genuine tears, genuine laughs, all neatly tied together in a wonderful film. We all left the theater overjoyed. A+ for UP Expand
  72. Bhatts
    May 30, 2009
    9
    breathtaking, frequently hilarious, practically life-affirming.
  73. BryanK.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks through a collar to other dogs speaks in a funny voice, which when fixed sounds like an evil scientist from a 1930's serial. The final thirty minutes are not only action filled, but comical and heartwarming. The characters were well-designed with unique characteristics which added to the enjoyment and allowed for the people viewing the film to connect with the characters. Very-well made film and one of the best Disney films of the first decade of the 21st century... Expand
  74. KellyP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Funny and heartwarming. A great movie is always first and last about a great story, the amazing animation just happens to be the vehicle. Fabulous!
  75. CindyC.
    May 30, 2009
    5
    The animation is spectacular, and there are many laugh-out-loud moments. To the extent that violence toward animals is central to the plot, however, I was repelled by "Up".
  76. HaroldB.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap gimmicks of things pointing at you and coming at you at every frame. My entire family loved it. Heck, I thought some themes will sail over my 3 yr old daughter and 5 yr old son's heads, but they were riveted the entire time. We'll definitely be seeing this again. I commend Pixar for being brave and willing to incorporate difficult themes along with fun and happy themes, because that's what life really is. Expand
  77. RachelB.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Fantastic film, very heartfelt and sweet, perfect for children and adults, disney/pixar can no do wrong!
  78. JoeC.
    May 30, 2009
    9
    Another triumph for Pixar. A beautiful and romantic tale. Great characters. It was so refreshing to have a elderly hero from a modest station express so much that is wonderful about the human experience. Despite the uplifting vibe, the presence of loss and longing saved the movie from the mediocrity of typical Disney factory drivel. The movie was very funny. The 3D certainly enhanced the Another triumph for Pixar. A beautiful and romantic tale. Great characters. It was so refreshing to have a elderly hero from a modest station express so much that is wonderful about the human experience. Despite the uplifting vibe, the presence of loss and longing saved the movie from the mediocrity of typical Disney factory drivel. The movie was very funny. The 3D certainly enhanced the experience and was seldom distracting. Despite the PG rating I found it to be appropriate for my 3 year old, who did get a little bored due to the relaxed pacing of the film and a mild cold. After 3 unbelievable home runs with Ratatoille, Wall-E and now UP, I am a little disappointed that Pixar will return next year with Toy Story 3. These are some of the greatest family films made. Every new and original story is a treasure. Expand
  79. MichelZ.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I would guess are more enjoyable for adults. The film is truly extraordinary in its ability to mesh seemingly incongruous elements, one would not think that all the elements of this movie would fit together, and yet they do. It is a movie that leaves you so completely emotionally satisfied that your only recourse is to see it again. Expand
  80. JulianP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how the story was a little deep for younger viewers, never once did the film go deeper into sadness than a view scenes left more for the viewer to fill in their own interpretations. My friends and I found Up to be a great film and easily a new Disney classic. Expand
  81. AlexM.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The Incredibles. PIXAR IS BACK!!! I rank this movie in the top 3 pixars. GO SEE IT! Some people were crying in the movie!
  82. SamE.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone who compares anything to Monsters Vs Aliens period. Expand
  83. RichardS.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons like that monsters vs aliens film we took them to a month ago, which was typical bubblegum. Up is a wonderful experience for all of us and I cannot commend the filmmakers enough for creating this feature. Expand
  84. JimG
    May 29, 2009
    10
    A wonderful movie. A human story that captivates both the young and old. I like how they did not use 3D in a gimmicky way like what was in Monsters v.s. Aliens. The 3D here did not resort to throwing and pointing things at you incessantly. The 3D was utilized more to convey the scope and depth of the mountains, cliffs, and the airborne scenes, so much so it felt like you were up in the A wonderful movie. A human story that captivates both the young and old. I like how they did not use 3D in a gimmicky way like what was in Monsters v.s. Aliens. The 3D here did not resort to throwing and pointing things at you incessantly. The 3D was utilized more to convey the scope and depth of the mountains, cliffs, and the airborne scenes, so much so it felt like you were up in the air yourself. This was a movie filmed in 3D, not a 3D movie. The story is the star of the film by far, and you'll be wowed whether you see it in 2D or 3D. A magnificent addition to the Pixar library. We can all argue til we are blue about which Pixar is the best (my vote still belongs to Wall-E at this point) .But UP stands alone as Pixars most human story. Expand
  85. FrankS.
    May 29, 2009
    3
    The 3D effect were not that great. Monster vs. Aliens set the bar, here it's just not worth the money. The story is not family friendly, more for adults, not for seniors ... some left the cinema at our place, I guess they felt insulted by the story. Why do you tell a story about loosing wife and unborn child in a comic? Not funny at all. Overall a very sad movie and not for entertainment.
  86. PatL.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Exellent. Touching, funny, and thoroughly entertaining. Great score also.
  87. BobE.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    This movie is not only heartwarming from beginning to end, but you will be wetting your pants throughout with the hilarious jokes sprinkled in. I'll admit that I doubted Pixar when I heard about the off-the-wall plot line, but I will never doubt them again. Pixar has once again proven that they are at the front line of animation development in the modern day.
  88. JoeI.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen, ever.
  89. KarenJ
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Hilarious and Heartwarming. It's Pixars most poignant and human story yet. Loved it!!!
  90. ChadB
    May 29, 2009
    10
    WOW ! I once again bow at you Pixar. The entire family enjoyed it, and my kids really got something about the movie besides the laughs and gags. They talked about taking care of parents/grandparents, spending time with them, how the simple things in life can be just as fun and memorable, and the like. We'll definitely see this again this summer.
  91. TDKinDallas
    May 29, 2009
    7
    The movie is good, but nothing exciting about it. The 3D effects were worthless so I wouldn't pay any extra for it. After the amazing 3D for Monsters I don't think any 3D will be as good for a while.
  92. bobrich
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Stupendous amazing funny spectacular there was a smile on my face the whole movie.
  93. EvanB.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    A fantastic movie in every aspect! We as movie-goers should support Pixar for what they are achieving because it is high-quality family entertainment! Highly recommended.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Winsome, touching and arguably the funniest Pixar effort ever, the gorgeously rendered, high-flying adventure is a tidy 90-minute distillation of all the signature touches that came before it.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    A captivating odd-couple adventure that becomes funnier and more exciting as it flies along.
  3. By all means, see Up in its 3-D incarnation: The cliff drops are vertiginous, and the scores of balloons--bunched into the shape of one giant balloon--are as pluckable as grapes.