Up

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1065 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RichardS.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons like that monsters vs aliens film we took them to a month ago, which was typical bubblegum. Up is a wonderful experience for all of us and I cannot commend the filmmakers enough for creating this feature. Expand
  2. AlexM.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The Incredibles. PIXAR IS BACK!!! I rank this movie in the top 3 pixars. GO SEE IT! Some people were crying in the movie!
  3. BobN.
    Jun 3, 2009
    8
    I wasn't going to see this film. The animation did not grab my interest -it seemed too similar to the Incredibles. Yet, come on now, it is a Pixar film, I reasoned. With low expectations I saw it. I think Roger Ebert said it best by comparing this with Miyazaki's beautiful animations. Though Miyazaki is on a whole different level of fantasy, this film felt like one of his I wasn't going to see this film. The animation did not grab my interest -it seemed too similar to the Incredibles. Yet, come on now, it is a Pixar film, I reasoned. With low expectations I saw it. I think Roger Ebert said it best by comparing this with Miyazaki's beautiful animations. Though Miyazaki is on a whole different level of fantasy, this film felt like one of his films-which is a great thing. I hold WALL-E to be Pixar's best film, and the best thing Disney has ever done. I will not compare it to Up. Up does not have a solid story, nor does anything truly grab you...but it has a spirit to it. That spirit, or atmosphere, it beautiful. This is a pure fantasy film with some heart. Nothing deep, but everything enjoyable. Parts are sad, but not overbearingly. Other Pixar films are sadder. I loved this film. It is not a cemented together as the others, but, again, that spirit...go see it and enjoy. Expand
  4. JimboH
    Jun 5, 2009
    7
    Has the audience going from zero to choked up in less than 10 minutes (an amazing feat), which is an interesting predicament when your in a theater with 3d glasses on. The movie then tries to get the audience to "move on", with the underlying lesson of the movie being that when your partner passes away there are ways of having someone keep you company without replacing them (pets, young Has the audience going from zero to choked up in less than 10 minutes (an amazing feat), which is an interesting predicament when your in a theater with 3d glasses on. The movie then tries to get the audience to "move on", with the underlying lesson of the movie being that when your partner passes away there are ways of having someone keep you company without replacing them (pets, young children are examples which the movie uses). The movie itself is overall quite good, but it does have a few short-lived boring spots. To me at least, it never truly got me out of the depressed state it put me in within the first 10 minutes. The 3d effect is good (select theaters of course), it really limits the gimmicky "throw stuff at the viewer" which is good in my opinion. Overall its a movie I think I only want to experience once. Expand
  5. kyleb
    Jun 5, 2009
    7
    It's definitely worth watching for the visuals alone, but the story and characters are lacking. The main character, Carl, is particularly distant and bland. His deceased wife, shown only in flashback, was definitely the more interesting half of that marriage, and I kept wishing she was the main character. Reviewers calling this Pixar's best are smoking dope. Better than the Toy It's definitely worth watching for the visuals alone, but the story and characters are lacking. The main character, Carl, is particularly distant and bland. His deceased wife, shown only in flashback, was definitely the more interesting half of that marriage, and I kept wishing she was the main character. Reviewers calling this Pixar's best are smoking dope. Better than the Toy Storys? Better than Nemo? Not even close. Up is a 2nd string Pixar movie along with Cars and Monsters Inc. Still worth seeing, but not particularly moving. Expand
  6. HollyC
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    --Light Spoilers Ahead--- This is one of my most favorite Pixar films---and I seriously went into the film doubting it a bit (I know I know!) Not only was I absolutely in love w/ the short that played ahead, "Partly Cloudy" but "Up" had me weeping---(out-right weeping!) in the first 20 minutes!!! The courage to take on grief and regret & make your protagonist a grumpy old man is --Light Spoilers Ahead--- This is one of my most favorite Pixar films---and I seriously went into the film doubting it a bit (I know I know!) Not only was I absolutely in love w/ the short that played ahead, "Partly Cloudy" but "Up" had me weeping---(out-right weeping!) in the first 20 minutes!!! The courage to take on grief and regret & make your protagonist a grumpy old man is astonishing in it's own right, but then to make it a great action adventure with plenty of eye candy and laughs as well---man, Pixar is just firing on all cylinders. Bravo to Pixar once again---probably some of our greatest story-tellers working today. Expand
  7. MegL
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Best movie I have seen this summer. The first ten minutes were perfect. More emotion was evoked in that ten minutes than in any movie I have seen in a long while.
  8. LindaL.
    Feb 7, 2010
    9
    I'm not a big fan of these animated darlings -- found "Nemo" OK, "Shrek" dull and "Wall-e" inane. But I really enjoyed "Up." Some quibbles with plot developments, but overall it was touching and sweet though still with a lot of grown-up appeal.
  9. ValS
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with the credits at the end as well - hilarious! This is a film about letting go and moving on. It is a film about hope, and about a journey that never ends, What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with the credits at the end as well - hilarious! This is a film about letting go and moving on. It is a film about hope, and about a journey that never ends, but simply moves into a different dimension. It's a film about rekindling the core of youth and optimism that lies in our hearts however old we are. A great film, it ranks with the best. Wonderful jokes;we laughed out loud frequently and both of us marvelled at the depth of detail - from the way the seat on the armchair hollowed and wore with frequent use over the years, to the build-up of stubble on the old man's face. Of course, there are imperfections in the plot if you look for them, but this is a fantasy, remember! And frankly, if some animated figures can generate such heart and such emotion and leave you feeling so up-lifted, then who cares?! Expand
  10. zacS.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Pixar have churned out another brilliant film, their storytelling matches the crisp grapics. A must see.
  11. RichN
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Just a very special film, moving, funny and brilliant. This is not just animation at it's best, it is filmmaking at its very best.
  12. JulianP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how the story was a little deep for younger viewers, never once did the film go deeper into sadness than a view scenes left more for the viewer to fill in their own interpretations. My friends and I found Up to be a great film and easily a new Disney classic. Expand
  13. Bhatts
    May 30, 2009
    9
    breathtaking, frequently hilarious, practically life-affirming.
  14. SamE.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone who compares anything to Monsters Vs Aliens period. Expand
  15. DinoP
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    If I could give it a 20, I would! Raises the bar on so many levels, from the crisp story-telling to the crisp 3D. The "back-story," delivered nearly without dialog, is masterful, bringing the audience to tears within the first 10 minutes! Genius, pure and simple.
  16. StevenS
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes on a house full of balloons for no reason the end. i think this movie was fantastic and i cant wait for it on dvd. Expand
  17. KennyD
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Saw this movie at preview in London as a 3D. Wonderful story and characters. Surprisingly moving. Simple yet full of depth and the animation was 1st class as ever. Another Pixar classic
  18. EnzoP.
    Jun 22, 2009
    8
    Up is the best animated movie of the summer by far. But I am not sure about the best animated movie of the year. So far up and star trek are tied for the best summer movie of 2009.
  19. RandyM
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    Simply put, "Up" is flawless. It's arguably Disney-Pixar's greatest film to date, and a triumph of human emotion and the spirit of adventure.
  20. MichaelE
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    I laughed, I cried, I felt for the characters, who are very likable and easy to relate to. Pixar's best movie yet in my opinion.
  21. CarolynM
    Jun 7, 2009
    7
    Spectacular to watch, but the NY Times is right: some of Up is clever or cute or touching, but spells of it are cliched.
  22. FredB
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My wife and I really connected with this movie as we have fertility problems and have recently adopted two children. I spent alot of the movie fighting my tears, and realizing that adopting children is our UP. Expand
  23. JenniferK
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it was a movie that left us happy and enlightened and makes you see and appreciate life as a whole. Expand
  24. ThomasA
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    What a wonderful film this was. Heartfelt and endearing, Hilarious and poignant. The entire family had a great GREAT time! My kids even picked up on one of the great lessons in the movie which conveys that the simple things in life can be the best of times as well, and to always be helpful of elders and other people.
  25. DeeThink
    Jul 30, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece in every way that you can call a movie one. A direct insult to all who create "trash" film.
  26. JesseJ
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    AMAZING! Enjoyed it as much as Wall-E but a bill less than Rattatouile (donno how to spell it :S). I recommend any one to watch it! The dog is sooo funny. "OH BOY OH BOY, I WILL GO GET THE BALL THEN BRING IT BACK"!
  27. ToddA.
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    _Up_ has wide appeal, likable characters, and, surprisingly, mature themes. This film delivers entertainment and, sometimes, a message or two without being too heavy-handed about it. This film shows great promise for the continuously successful Disney and Pixar duo.
  28. SarahR
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    By far, the best animated movie I have ever seen. I didn't think I'd like it because I've never really enjoyed pixar that much. But, it's funny, beautiful, heartworming, worth every dime.
  29. JayH.
    Nov 5, 2009
    9
    A brilliant film, wildly and wonderfully imaginative. The animation is amazing, the writing sublime. It is funny and touching, always fascinating, never a dull moment. Excellent in every respect.
  30. IanS.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Never has a Pixar film moved me in such a way as "UP". With plenty of laugh out loud moments, it also has heart, and will almost certainly bring you to tears.
  31. FeliciaN.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Well worth seeing. Good for all ages, Adults won't be bored.
  32. Ostaf
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    I cried, I laughed and I am 19....good movie.

    The worst part though was that there was a little sitting in front of me and when it was over she turned to her mother and said "that movie SUCKED!" and I was still wiping a tear out of my eye while chuckling
  33. MikeS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Having fallen in love with this film even before its delivery, I must say here and now that Up both fulfilled and surpassed my expectations. Flawless animation is coupled here with a story and plot which are both hilarious and tear-jerking at the same time. I would happily call Up my film of the year.
  34. KellyP.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Funny and heartwarming. A great movie is always first and last about a great story, the amazing animation just happens to be the vehicle. Fabulous!
  35. ChadS.
    May 30, 2009
    7
    The burden of dreams. Life happens, and then it happened, and now it's too late. Mourning over his childhood sweetheart, the old man ties himself to the house that is no longer his home. This single-minded obsession to maneuver the cumbersome object through a challenging, rough-hewn landscape somewhat recalls Werner Herzog's "Fitzcarraldo", the 1982 film about a man who moves The burden of dreams. Life happens, and then it happened, and now it's too late. Mourning over his childhood sweetheart, the old man ties himself to the house that is no longer his home. This single-minded obsession to maneuver the cumbersome object through a challenging, rough-hewn landscape somewhat recalls Werner Herzog's "Fitzcarraldo", the 1982 film about a man who moves his own cumbersome object, a steamboat, over an Amazonian mountain. Instead of head-shrinking natives, Carl(Ed Asner) uses balloons to do the dirty work, which is only fitting since Klaus Kinski often sounded like a loon. As was the filmmaker and his iconic star, the old man is a misanthrope(albeit This antisocial behavior is probably a result from depression). In one scene, he bloodies a man's forehead with his walker, and in another scene, he initially refuses to grant the boy scout entry into the house despite their rapidly escalating rise in altitude. During Carl's quest to unburden the burden, they encounter a dog(one of many who seem inspired by Kirsten Bakis' novel "Lives of Monster Dogs") that the old man won't love. These talking canines, in the film's best bit, satirizes the anthropomorphic behavior of animals so prevalent in children's films, by showing how dogs being dogs, revert to the baser instincts that are counterintuitive of their cognition training to evolve into man's best...manservant. Carl is also slow to help the bird, a bird that follows the same guiding principles of whimsical zoology as the aquatic creatures found in Wes Anderson's "The Life Aquatic w/Steve Zissou", whose two main characters played by Bill Murray and William Dafoe, seemed like stand-ins for Herzog and Kinski. The old man as a boy idolized Charles Muntz(Christopher Plummer), an adventurer. Jacques Cousteau(the inspiration for Anderson's film) was an adventurer too. "Up" is good, but it has the burden of Pixar dreams. "Up" wakes up. Expand
  36. AaronG.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D was unneeded, UP comes through as an outstanding picture for the whole family to enjoy. Two thumbs up. Expand
  37. AaronB
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching from beginning to end, with some of Pixar's most humorous moments yet easily some of it's most poignant, "Up" soars high above the clouds of Paradise Falls. Particularly impressive is the opening montage that explains the lives of Ellie and Carl Frederickson without as much as a word, but left many in the theater where I saw it in tears. One could argue that the most recent slate of Pixar Movies (Up, Ratatouille and Wall-E) are deeper, richer and greater achievements than their predecessors. Expand
  38. GeorgeM
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his house, so instead...he ties a bunch of balloons to his house and off he goes with a miniature wilderness explorer, Russell, along for the ride. UP is just a great film for all ages...it has goofy stuff for the kids (that I must admit, I found funny at times) and it simply oozes "heart". The film does carry some interesting tones that I imagine are aimed more at adults...the idea of getting old or the horrible feeling of losing someone very dear to you and learning to let go...there really is something for everyone in UP. I loved the little side-characters in this film that provide some of the funniest moments...the speaking dog (who you can't help but like) and the bird (does not speak, but lights up the screen with a physcial presence) back up the film very nicely and they both chew up the scenes when on screen. UP is what "good clean fun" is all about when it comes to movies...you dont need explosions, morphing robots, and guys with claws...you just need great adventure, memorable characters, and like I mentioned earlier....heart. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION. Expand
  39. DamonP
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Up is another Pixar gem. I'm not sure this studio can do anything wrong. If you would have told me I would have loved a movie about an Old man and some Kid, I would have laughed at you. I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie tugs at your heartstrings for the entire running time.And was a joy to watch through and through.
  40. JohnL
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Animation is similar to that found in the Incredibles, but improved. The movie entertains a pretty sad story with various adverntures throughout. Well done. One of my favorite characters had to be Doug the dog, he was awesome.
  41. JimR
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing in it's depth and width - Not a wasted frame in it.
  42. BillPhu
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    While I don't think that it is nearly as humourous as WALL-E or Monsters vs Aliens 3D, I think that this movie is fantastic in it's own right. The trailers seem to imply that it's another another funny movie in the vein as previous productions, but it isn't There is humour, but there's far more romanticism than in any recent animated movies. It's touching,While I don't think that it is nearly as humourous as WALL-E or Monsters vs Aliens 3D, I think that this movie is fantastic in it's own right. The trailers seem to imply that it's another another funny movie in the vein as previous productions, but it isn't There is humour, but there's far more romanticism than in any recent animated movies. It's touching, and some of the themes such as promises, loss and family may be lost on a younger (i.e. < 10) crowd, but that doesn't make this a bad movie. Expand
  43. ArthurC.
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets characterization and theme right like Pixar. And they do it without referencing pop culture. Why can't producers take a lesson from these guys. Expand
  44. RCR
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    This film is a true masterpiece in storytelling and execution as well as a moving cinematic experience.
  45. AlfredH
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Touching and beautiful in every way. Best movie I've seen so far this year.
  46. AnOnymous
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Super Movie. And for all u bozo's who think it is abortion. wrong, just a miscarraige. i see some tension for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards. This is definitely Pixar's best film ever. better than even Toy Story. There were flaws, of course (no film is perfect) but they were fixed right away. Up, an amazing film. Who knows, it could be the first non-live action film Super Movie. And for all u bozo's who think it is abortion. wrong, just a miscarraige. i see some tension for Best Animated Feature at the Academy Awards. This is definitely Pixar's best film ever. better than even Toy Story. There were flaws, of course (no film is perfect) but they were fixed right away. Up, an amazing film. Who knows, it could be the first non-live action film since Beauty and the Beast to get nominated for Best picture. WALL-E shoulda, so did gran torino, but those were good, not great like Up. It's sad when he talks to his wife, even i know that. i lost a four year old cousin to brain cancer and Up made me think hey, it is okay to talk with lost loved ones. Up, truly amazing, inspiring, and cute. Expand
  47. StehenB
    Jun 6, 2009
    7
    Pixar sets a high bar for its movies. While "UP" is quite good, I still felt slightly disappointed by the film. The story, while original for an animated feature, is not well developed. It is also a bit confusing and disturbing for youngsters (i.e. scenes related to deaths). I can suspend my belief about a house carried off by helium balloons. But there are too many other incredible Pixar sets a high bar for its movies. While "UP" is quite good, I still felt slightly disappointed by the film. The story, while original for an animated feature, is not well developed. It is also a bit confusing and disturbing for youngsters (i.e. scenes related to deaths). I can suspend my belief about a house carried off by helium balloons. But there are too many other incredible elements that the film forces us to accept. Talking dogs? Why? The film is better than most, but still falls noticeably short of other Pixar classics. Expand
  48. clint
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    UP was sensational! A definite must see. An animated film that dares to do what other animated films won't. While often fantastical in nature, the film is grounded in the human story of the main characters. A poignant and hilarious film that has me smiling from ear to ear up to now whenever I think of it.
  49. CharlesW
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and A+ for UP! The funniest and most endearing movie I've seen this year, and in recent memory. A movie that not only has a ton of laughs, but had a good message that is often lacking in most animated films nowadays. Most animated films dumb things down and don't give kids enough credit from my point of view. Me, my wife, and my 3 chilren (ages 3.5, 6, and 8yrs) had a great time and left the theater UPlifted and happy in every way imaginable. Expand
  50. AnnaF
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    A heartfelt and hilarious gem of a movie! I highy recommend this to everyone, from families with young kids and moviefans alike. The characters were all memorable and endearing.
  51. EricB
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I don't get how people can't like this movie. The characters are hilarious and likeable, and from the first scene, you're drawn into the movie. I got a bit teary-eyed several times throughout the movie, which is saying something. The ending is very satisfying, as well. The plot has many twists and turns, and I can't believe some people say it's predictable. I I don't get how people can't like this movie. The characters are hilarious and likeable, and from the first scene, you're drawn into the movie. I got a bit teary-eyed several times throughout the movie, which is saying something. The ending is very satisfying, as well. The plot has many twists and turns, and I can't believe some people say it's predictable. I didn't see any of the big twists coming. Overall, this is one of my favorite movies of all time. Go see it RIGHT NOW. Expand
  52. LeRonN
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    A+ is not high enough for this one.
  53. Chris
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Hilarious and heart warming
  54. LeonP
    Jul 30, 2009
    8
    Disappointing (for a Pixar) The first 10-15 minutes are so beautiful, it equals in intensity and subtlety some parts of WALL-E, but in South America, UP draws us back to when animation features were mostly for kids. They could have done seomthing a lot better, a lot more touching (the parts with Carl's wife amost all had me teary eyed! from the first minutes to the movie!) All in Disappointing (for a Pixar) The first 10-15 minutes are so beautiful, it equals in intensity and subtlety some parts of WALL-E, but in South America, UP draws us back to when animation features were mostly for kids. They could have done seomthing a lot better, a lot more touching (the parts with Carl's wife amost all had me teary eyed! from the first minutes to the movie!) All in all, a good cartoon, with some moments of sheer brilliance, this movie has only one (big) problem: WALL-E. 8/10 isn't bad for a movie that disppointed me, it means Pixar have set the bar extremely high. Expand
  55. AllieL
    Jul 30, 2009
    8
    I love Pixar and their movies, but this one was the most unusual of them all. The story line was very deep, emotional, and mature. It seemed like very young children wouldn't understand the background story of why the old man wanted to move his house to South America w/o their parents explaining it. But I thought the way Pixar told the story of the old man and his wife was very I love Pixar and their movies, but this one was the most unusual of them all. The story line was very deep, emotional, and mature. It seemed like very young children wouldn't understand the background story of why the old man wanted to move his house to South America w/o their parents explaining it. But I thought the way Pixar told the story of the old man and his wife was very artistic, romantic and sweet. I would/do recommend this movie to others. Because it's so different then the previous films makes this one even a little more special. Expand
  56. LishD
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    It was an incredible movie. I love how they touched on some topics many movies are scared of, the loss of a loved one and the neglect of a parent. Despite the overtones of this, it was an uplifting and enjoyable movie for everyone. Those who have commented about how dark it is, and how it wasnt a Pixar movie, I dont believe we watched the same movie. It was a beautiful story full of humor It was an incredible movie. I love how they touched on some topics many movies are scared of, the loss of a loved one and the neglect of a parent. Despite the overtones of this, it was an uplifting and enjoyable movie for everyone. Those who have commented about how dark it is, and how it wasnt a Pixar movie, I dont believe we watched the same movie. It was a beautiful story full of humor and sadness, I enjoyed it completely. Expand
  57. ClariceT.
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    A wonderful movie that sums up the human experience. We all have moments of sorrow and sadness, but it is these moments that we come to accept and overcome, thus making the eventual happy times all the more joyous and memorable.
  58. DanielK.
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    No movie is perfect, but this one is very close for what it is. It manages to be genuine even though it is animated, and it is just a beautiful movie and wonderful story.
  59. Eliasc
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Another Pixar high achievement on the road to more complex themed animation. Pixar manages to create animated films that have storylines and character that will interest adults and yet still appeal to children. Here's hoping that Pixar takes the next step and animate even more complex stories.
  60. TonyC
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Awesome. the first Pixar movie to bring me within tears in the first ten minutes. A great tale, the kind Pixar has not failed to deliver.
  61. KatT
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Beautiful storyline (great morals for the kids) and heaps of humor. Both myself and my 11year old were giggling throughout. Will be buying this on DVD and watching again! (by the way Niv, its called a "spoiler" for a reason)
  62. BrianM
    Sep 2, 2009
    8
    The Pixar movies are so routinely excellent that when they are just a bit below par, it's surprising. Up is a very strong movie; immensely entertaining and surprisingly moving as well. But it doesn't stick to your ribs the way the best of the Pixar lot do. It feels just a little too conventional. Still, it's a true delight and probably the best movie of the summer.
  63. AlexY
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    This movie could melt a heart of ice. Up is consistently touching and captivating, if just a bit cheesy at times, but even the cheesy bits are heartwarming. The storyline is unique, bizarre, and inspiring. This is Pixar's best film since the Incredibles.
  64. BrianV.
    Mar 11, 2010
    9
    There should be more movies like this! though it is a movie ment for the younger audience, it is very well performed!
  65. BryanL.
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I think the one thing I can count on in about 90% of all rated movies is the poor rating coming from Salon.com's Stephanie Zacharek. This is a beautiful film with nary a flaw to it. Miss Zacharek, perhaps you should step aside and let someone who actually enjoys watching movies do the critiquing.
  66. JD
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I didn't want too see this film one bit... my mate dragged me along... best film iv seen this year! loved it. its been a long time that iv actually agreed something was worth the money in this day and age. POINT!
  67. NickV.
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    Well, Pixar really didn't let me down on this one. Another gem. Saw it in 3D.
  68. WillC
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Up is an absolute masterpiece of cinema. Its incredibly moving plot and beautiful animation make it one of the most ambitious animted movies ever created. This movie is great a telling a story without words and these moments were incredibly moving and very touching. This film had me laughing one minute and crying the next.
  69. KarlT
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies this year. Possibly THE best. Top five at least. An animated masterpiece.
  70. TonyO.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what is more, I loved the 3D as well. Special points. The landscapes on the mountain/waterfall, and the realisation of the blimp. And the dogs were pretty Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what is more, I loved the 3D as well. Special points. The landscapes on the mountain/waterfall, and the realisation of the blimp. And the dogs were pretty funny. A gem. Expand
  71. TDKinDallas
    May 29, 2009
    7
    The movie is good, but nothing exciting about it. The 3D effects were worthless so I wouldn't pay any extra for it. After the amazing 3D for Monsters I don't think any 3D will be as good for a while.
  72. KarenJ
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Hilarious and Heartwarming. It's Pixars most poignant and human story yet. Loved it!!!
  73. JoeI.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Best movie I've ever seen, ever.
  74. PatL.
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Exellent. Touching, funny, and thoroughly entertaining. Great score also.
  75. GabeS.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. In fact it maybe the most emotional I've ever seen. I know it's easily going to win Best Animated movie in the Academy's, but it's actually a shame that it won't be nominated for Best Movie of the Year. Anyway to sum all things up. This is the best movie of the year so far. Expand
  76. MelanieL
    May 31, 2009
    10
    The story is so much fun and it is beautiful to watch.
  77. MichelZ.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I Once again Pixar manages to explore themes that will soar above children's heads. At times moving Pixar manages to tell a story that transcends the genre of animation. One must wonder if children can enjoy such sad stories, yet it begs the question, should we care if children enjoy it, Pixar does not make children's films anymore. Their films speak to the human experience and I would guess are more enjoyable for adults. The film is truly extraordinary in its ability to mesh seemingly incongruous elements, one would not think that all the elements of this movie would fit together, and yet they do. It is a movie that leaves you so completely emotionally satisfied that your only recourse is to see it again. Expand
  78. JoelW.
    May 31, 2009
    10
    This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Like other reviewers before me, its safe to say Pixar is making films for adults that children will only appreciate some aspects of and UP is no different. This is a wonderful story, and storytelling is what Pixar seems to do best. I highly recommend this film.
  79. JonL
    May 31, 2009
    9
    Not quite a masterpiece, but a fantastic piece of craftsmanship from the most reliable brand in the world.
  80. Stephanie
    May 31, 2009
    10
    I was utterly shocked by how filled with sadness and joy this movie brought me last night. There was not a dry eye in the movie theater during most of the film and it was an absolute pleasure to view. I'm encouraging everyone I know to see this movie.
  81. JoeC.
    May 30, 2009
    9
    Another triumph for Pixar. A beautiful and romantic tale. Great characters. It was so refreshing to have a elderly hero from a modest station express so much that is wonderful about the human experience. Despite the uplifting vibe, the presence of loss and longing saved the movie from the mediocrity of typical Disney factory drivel. The movie was very funny. The 3D certainly enhanced the Another triumph for Pixar. A beautiful and romantic tale. Great characters. It was so refreshing to have a elderly hero from a modest station express so much that is wonderful about the human experience. Despite the uplifting vibe, the presence of loss and longing saved the movie from the mediocrity of typical Disney factory drivel. The movie was very funny. The 3D certainly enhanced the experience and was seldom distracting. Despite the PG rating I found it to be appropriate for my 3 year old, who did get a little bored due to the relaxed pacing of the film and a mild cold. After 3 unbelievable home runs with Ratatoille, Wall-E and now UP, I am a little disappointed that Pixar will return next year with Toy Story 3. These are some of the greatest family films made. Every new and original story is a treasure. Expand
  82. RachelB.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Fantastic film, very heartfelt and sweet, perfect for children and adults, disney/pixar can no do wrong!
  83. RachelJ
    May 31, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece, brilliant in every way. A heart warming tale, that made you love all the characters. Good for the whole family. Although it is heartbreaking at parts, it ads to the superb plot.
  84. HaroldB.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap Up was a terrific film through and through. The Story is the show here as the entire cast of characters are so endearing and relatable. It was touching, melancholy, hilarious, and uplifting (no pun intended), all rolled into a sure to be timeless film. The 3D was used in an immersive way which is to show scope and depth, which is refreshing since all 3D movies lately go for the cheap gimmicks of things pointing at you and coming at you at every frame. My entire family loved it. Heck, I thought some themes will sail over my 3 yr old daughter and 5 yr old son's heads, but they were riveted the entire time. We'll definitely be seeing this again. I commend Pixar for being brave and willing to incorporate difficult themes along with fun and happy themes, because that's what life really is. Expand
  85. BryanK.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks through a collar to other dogs speaks in a funny voice, which when fixed sounds like an evil scientist from a 1930's serial. The final thirty minutes are not only action filled, but comical and heartwarming. The characters were well-designed with unique characteristics which added to the enjoyment and allowed for the people viewing the film to connect with the characters. Very-well made film and one of the best Disney films of the first decade of the 21st century... Expand
  86. DianaB
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of Carl and even Russell. Pixar has managed to create this masterpiece which elicits genuine tears, genuine laughs, all neatly tied together in a wonderful film. We all left the theater overjoyed. A+ for UP Expand
  87. LisaA.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    A wonderful adventure, sweet, laugh out loud funny, poignant, and uplifting (no pun intended). My kids and husband immensely enjoyed it.
  88. CalebH
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    A perfect balance of laugh out loud humor and emotional depth that creates one of the most intriguing and unforgettable stories of our time about true love and understanding when it's time to let go. In the end, you have no where to go, but Up.
  89. JayK
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    I was disappointed by this movie, as I expected something on par with Wall-E. The first 15 minutes are very touching, even made me teary (I see my future before me). But this movie's ability to conjure real emotion stops there, with characters and story that are thenceforth somewhat flat. And while I love the weirdness and creativity displayed by many other animated films (Spirited I was disappointed by this movie, as I expected something on par with Wall-E. The first 15 minutes are very touching, even made me teary (I see my future before me). But this movie's ability to conjure real emotion stops there, with characters and story that are thenceforth somewhat flat. And while I love the weirdness and creativity displayed by many other animated films (Spirited Away, etc.), here the strangeness just rarely seems to fit right. (SPOILER ALERT) So many aspects felt uncomfortable and jarring, such as the old man running around for half the movie tethered to a house. The dogs are often funny (highlight of the film), but (SPOILER ALERT) flying planes?!? And the old guy gets random bouts of superhuman strength, speed, and flexibility (intentional, perhaps, but jarring). These random outcrops of weirdness never fit and are distracting, which I think is made worse by the art style that doesn't gel the realistic and the cartoony quite right. Close, but no cigar. Expand
  90. PeterM
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Excellent in every way possible. A joy to watch and notice all the small details.
  91. BillP
    Jun 1, 2009
    7
    The premise and animation quality might be worthy of a ten, but the execution of the story itself deserved anything but. Definitely my least favorite Pixar film by far (and a bit stunned at the 100s being so freely tossed around). The plot often felt too manipulated by the writers and required too many impractical moments to execute (sure some are required and perfectly fine since its a The premise and animation quality might be worthy of a ten, but the execution of the story itself deserved anything but. Definitely my least favorite Pixar film by far (and a bit stunned at the 100s being so freely tossed around). The plot often felt too manipulated by the writers and required too many impractical moments to execute (sure some are required and perfectly fine since its a fantasy, but it became too much for me with the old man repeatedly displaying Herculean strength and dogs flying planes, etc). These cliche and over-the-top action sequences just felt a little cheesy in an amateurish animation studio sort of way (see "Monsters vs Aliens" notion of a storyboard) and not something I've come to expect from Pixar's usually intricate and fully developed story lines. The characters weren't much to get behind either as the old man and the boy scout were simply caricatures of their respective stereotypes to the point that their source of humor is mostly rehashed from other movies (I find that sort of boy scout stereotype to make for an annoying character personally). The dogs, aside from the hero/cute dog, I also found to be annoying after awhile especially since they began to play a prominent role in the movie (one talking dog is plenty). That being said there were some fine moments...the back story of the old man's life has some moments and so does the last 15 minutes of the movie in general (where most of the humor and more enjoyable pace seemed to have been hiding). I'm still a little skeptical at this movie's ability to hold the attention of the younger ages so I was inclined to give it a 6, but gave it a 7 because I'm a softy for animations. Expand
  92. MiguelG
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    One of the best Pixar films ever conceived. Sure to be a long-standing Classic for years to come. "Up" is a stunning follow up to 2008's brilliant "Wall-E." It brings to life characters in ways that only Pixar can. These characters are all well drawn out and believeable, and the plot is absolutely amazing in its ability to infuse comedy with tragedy. While I can admit that there are One of the best Pixar films ever conceived. Sure to be a long-standing Classic for years to come. "Up" is a stunning follow up to 2008's brilliant "Wall-E." It brings to life characters in ways that only Pixar can. These characters are all well drawn out and believeable, and the plot is absolutely amazing in its ability to infuse comedy with tragedy. While I can admit that there are aspects of the film that would seem impossible (a floating house, talking dogs) the film makes everything seem so incredibly real. It is definitely a film that children and adults alike can enjoy. A sensationally heartfelt, often uplifting film, it seems almost impossible that anyone can't love "Up." Expand
  93. IanC.
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    This served as a reminder that sometimes we have to say goodbye to the things we love in order to get on with our lives.
  94. J.K.
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    This captivating tale of extremely believable characters brings back the glory days of Hayao Miyazaki, where story and characters are subtle and sympathetic. It truly stands out in the crowd of abrasive, mindless animations now-a-days.
  95. JimF
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    It's not hard understanding why Pixar's shorts are so good: their features, particularly the last two, are at their best in the short, self-contained sequences that often begin the films. It was true with "Wall-E", which nonetheless still sustained itself after its brilliant opening and remains the company's best film. And it's true with "Up", which contains a charming It's not hard understanding why Pixar's shorts are so good: their features, particularly the last two, are at their best in the short, self-contained sequences that often begin the films. It was true with "Wall-E", which nonetheless still sustained itself after its brilliant opening and remains the company's best film. And it's true with "Up", which contains a charming and surprising five minute scene near the beginning of the film that encapsulates the early love affair between a crotchety old man (Ed Asner) and the adventurous girl he marries and adores so well it effectively serves to anchor the rest of the movie. Good thing, because that remaining hour or so of screen time is not that interesting in itself. It reminds me of that famous quote about history, that it's just one damn thing after another. Despite that, I still liked this film a great deal. That opening put me on its side, and on the side of its characters, and I never tired enough of the generic action to lose my affection and interest in them. "Wall-E" is a work of art; "Up" is a charming and enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours. Expand
  96. KurtC
    Jun 20, 2009
    7
    Overall, an enjoyable movie, but not one of Pixar's best (however, I liked it more than WALL-E, which I was not the biggest fan of). Heavy stuff for a children's movie...hence the PG rating, which reflects the darker, more sinister elements of the movie, relatively speaking to other children's films. What was missing from Up! was the joyful and fantastic aesthetic of Overall, an enjoyable movie, but not one of Pixar's best (however, I liked it more than WALL-E, which I was not the biggest fan of). Heavy stuff for a children's movie...hence the PG rating, which reflects the darker, more sinister elements of the movie, relatively speaking to other children's films. What was missing from Up! was the joyful and fantastic aesthetic of Pixar's earlier movies (e.g., Toy Story, Finding Nemo, The Incredibles). Up! ended up feeling predictable and heavy-handed. All in all, I'd probably watch it again. Expand
  97. KyleF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. The adventurous nature of this film was incredible, the heartfelt story was amazing too. GO SEE THIS FILM.
  98. Jeremy
    Jun 2, 2009
    8
    Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is the Disney monster. Up creates a few such moments that manage to carry it. But in between the movie pinballs around a startling series of Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is the Disney monster. Up creates a few such moments that manage to carry it. But in between the movie pinballs around a startling series of miscalculations and just plain stupid dialogue. The Wall Street Journal review seems to catch the problem: the movie seems caught in storyboard form. Nevertheless, because the worthwhile portions are Pixar visuals and Pixar moments, Up remains a really good movie. Those of us who hold WALL-E and Ratatouille in such high esteem have to feel some regret knowing what could have been. Expand
  99. ChrisF
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    A beautiful story along with beautiful visuals and a beautiful score. Well done Pixar, you always impress me more and more.
  100. xoux
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Clearly one of the best since finding nemo.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Winsome, touching and arguably the funniest Pixar effort ever, the gorgeously rendered, high-flying adventure is a tidy 90-minute distillation of all the signature touches that came before it.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    A captivating odd-couple adventure that becomes funnier and more exciting as it flies along.
  3. By all means, see Up in its 3-D incarnation: The cliff drops are vertiginous, and the scores of balloons--bunched into the shape of one giant balloon--are as pluckable as grapes.