Up

Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1101 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,015
Mixed:
59
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
KyleFJun 2, 2009
Fantastic. The adventurous nature of this film was incredible, the heartfelt story was amazing too. GO SEE THIS FILM.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeremyJun 2, 2009
Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is the Disney monster. Up creates a few such moments that manage to carry it. But in between the movie pinballs around a startling series of miscalculations and just plain stupid dialogue. The Wall Street Journal review seems to catch the problem: the movie seems caught in storyboard form. Nevertheless, because the worthwhile portions are Pixar visuals and Pixar moments, Up remains a really good movie. Those of us who hold WALL-E and Ratatouille in such high esteem have to feel some regret knowing what could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisFJun 2, 2009
A beautiful story along with beautiful visuals and a beautiful score. Well done Pixar, you always impress me more and more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
xouxJun 24, 2009
Clearly one of the best since finding nemo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBJun 24, 2009
Pixar is brilliant. When I saw the commercial and trailer for this, I thought it was going to be their first bad pic, but if you have a soul, you will be at the least a little misty after the first 10 minutes or so. Equally appealing to Pixar is brilliant. When I saw the commercial and trailer for this, I thought it was going to be their first bad pic, but if you have a soul, you will be at the least a little misty after the first 10 minutes or so. Equally appealing to adults and kids, it's probably the best film I've seen this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JassieJun 25, 2009
Bambi, Snow White, Lion King, and other past Disney films had their "dark" and "heavy" elements, and me and my generation turned out rather well. Obviously, those in the minority complaining about the real life themes in UP are these NEWBIE Bambi, Snow White, Lion King, and other past Disney films had their "dark" and "heavy" elements, and me and my generation turned out rather well. Obviously, those in the minority complaining about the real life themes in UP are these NEWBIE parents who finds talking and engaging their kids whenever something piques their interest too bothersome and tedious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidBJun 28, 2009
@Memo T - Abortion? What are you talking about? There was no abortion reference -- it was a miscarriage, bozo! And even if there were an abortion reference -- you would give it a 5 because of that? The opening sequence was as powerful as @Memo T - Abortion? What are you talking about? There was no abortion reference -- it was a miscarriage, bozo! And even if there were an abortion reference -- you would give it a 5 because of that? The opening sequence was as powerful as that of Wall-E, and the story was enchanting with the usual mindblowing animation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomSJun 28, 2009
Great movie. Not Pixar's best, but much better than Cars. Bleh! To the person who said this story touches on the topic of abortion...no it doesn't. Ellie doesn't get an abortion, they just realize she isn't "fertile" and Great movie. Not Pixar's best, but much better than Cars. Bleh! To the person who said this story touches on the topic of abortion...no it doesn't. Ellie doesn't get an abortion, they just realize she isn't "fertile" and she cannot have children. Obviously your poor score reflects your poor attention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WonderfulLizardJun 28, 2009
Great film. Yo, Memo T? That was a miscarriage. It was obvious that they were intending to have a baby and failed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexH.Jun 29, 2009
This is an outstanding movie. I went into the movie theater not expecting much, but since it was Pixar, it had to be good. It's funny, touching, and exciting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinP.Jun 5, 2009
More like a 9.5...Pixar once again has proven themselves to be the best filmmakers in the business. Their last two films (Ratatouille and WALL-E) were each the best movies to come out in their respective years (that sentence sounds weird, More like a 9.5...Pixar once again has proven themselves to be the best filmmakers in the business. Their last two films (Ratatouille and WALL-E) were each the best movies to come out in their respective years (that sentence sounds weird, but I'm sure you get what I mean) and it looks like Up is going to continue that streak for the third consecutive year. Probably Pixar's funniest offering to date, along with a very heartfelt story. Pixar is one of the only companies out there not re-making old films or basing their movies off of best-selling books...major props to them! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertBJun 6, 2009
This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best that pixar ever produced.This should easily win best animated picture and should, although This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best that pixar ever produced.This should easily win best animated picture and should, although unlikely, be nominated for best picture at the Oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyMJun 8, 2009
My wife and I absolutely loved "Up," particularly the dogs. We laughed just about as much as we cried. Indeed, the first fifteen minutes or so is about the most moving bit of storytelling I've seen on the big screen in years. I'd My wife and I absolutely loved "Up," particularly the dogs. We laughed just about as much as we cried. Indeed, the first fifteen minutes or so is about the most moving bit of storytelling I've seen on the big screen in years. I'd read what happens in those first fifteen minutes and I still couldn't stop myself from tearing up. While it doesn't quite reach the heights of "Wall-E" or 'Rataouile" for me (but what can?), this will likely be my favorite movie of 2009. Must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanusJun 8, 2009
A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, well, this 26yr old couldn't stop smiling after seeing UP! A great animated film for all ages, and for once, one with good moral values that can be taught. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkAJun 8, 2009
Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying then laughing in succession. It beautifully weaves subtle, cartoonish humor with sadness and revelation. The minds at Pixar have once again broken boundaries with this film, and I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EwanMJun 9, 2009
It was fantastic! one of the best movies i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShellyWJun 9, 2009
This was a great movie for me and my husband a the older kids. We LOVED it! The deceit is how the commercials bill it as "The Best Comedy of the summer". While there were certainly funny parts and it was a heartwarming albeit sad movie, This was a great movie for me and my husband a the older kids. We LOVED it! The deceit is how the commercials bill it as "The Best Comedy of the summer". While there were certainly funny parts and it was a heartwarming albeit sad movie, there were youngsters under 6 behind us in the theater that actually screamed with fright at parts. They repeatedly asked their parents to leave and wanted to know when it would be over saying that they were too scared. Straight Comedy it is not! Parents with youngsters beware - it is very intense and there are concepts that kids under 10 might not understand or might find scary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonyMJun 9, 2009
While I do agree with the strong emotional attachments in the movie, I felt like the movie had very little discovery or adventure. Everything was straightforward, this is the bad guy... these are the good guys, this is the problem, here is While I do agree with the strong emotional attachments in the movie, I felt like the movie had very little discovery or adventure. Everything was straightforward, this is the bad guy... these are the good guys, this is the problem, here is the solution. don't get me wrong, the story of the old man growing up was well done, but after his house lifts off, well nothing much really significant happens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffSJul 1, 2009
Up is by far the best movie I have seen all year. It is enjoyable for the whole family. There are some genuinely moving and poignant moments for adults and plenty of laughs and goofiness for the little 'uns. This movie can be even used Up is by far the best movie I have seen all year. It is enjoyable for the whole family. There are some genuinely moving and poignant moments for adults and plenty of laughs and goofiness for the little 'uns. This movie can be even used as a yardstick for professional movie critics: a good critic would recognize the greatness, while a pretentious windbag without any touches with the reality would just dismiss it on their "indie" principle as yet another "corporate" money maker (such as certain reviewer from Salon.com who thumbs up "The Proposal" while trash talking "Up". The Proposal? For real?). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarioWJul 10, 2009
Excellent film. Those minority who claim it's overhyped are dead wrong, and they obviously came to that conclusion because they can't see past their own noses. They wanted it to be no more than your typical superficial, bright Excellent film. Those minority who claim it's overhyped are dead wrong, and they obviously came to that conclusion because they can't see past their own noses. They wanted it to be no more than your typical superficial, bright colored, and non-sensical animation, with wall to wall pop culture references and toilet humor. Pixar doesn't stoop to that level since they actually give US audiences credit that we ARE capable of cognition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarryKJul 10, 2009
Simply put, it's not just a great animated film, but a great film overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DwayneHJul 10, 2009
Nice to see that critics and the great majority of moviegoers see eye to eye for once. This is a great film. Those very few contrarians are ripping this simply to look cool and all high and mighty for they are not going with the masses. Nice to see that critics and the great majority of moviegoers see eye to eye for once. This is a great film. Those very few contrarians are ripping this simply to look cool and all high and mighty for they are not going with the masses. I'm a skeptical person myself, but this movie is a joy so long as you immerse yourself and think with it. This is NOT the usual animated or live action film wherein you park your brain outside and the movie just spoonfeeds you everything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KazemEJul 12, 2009
The best Pixar movie I've ever seen. One of the best movies I've seen in a while. A very thoughtful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MooNinjaJul 18, 2009
Very touching, and delivers on a number of levels. While the plot does seem to waver a bit towards the end, I felt emotionally attached to the characters, and the movie upon my departure from the theater. Up is a must see, especially if you Very touching, and delivers on a number of levels. While the plot does seem to waver a bit towards the end, I felt emotionally attached to the characters, and the movie upon my departure from the theater. Up is a must see, especially if you are mature enough to understand emotion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MiraiMJul 18, 2009
This film was very touching and moving. Yes, there is a bit of a drop after a spectacular introduction however,] I still found the film to be a wonderful experience. A bit rushed but still a terrific movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinHJul 7, 2009
A great film. Some of you are complaining about the ferocity of the film and the very few sights of blood and stuff. GET A GRIP! Talk about nitpicking! You guys act like there have been no traumatic and dark elements in animated films prior to UP.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeatherYJul 7, 2009
I agree with the overwhelming majority of people who have seen this film. It is simply MAGNIFICENT. Of course, there will be those very few contrarians who will go to great lengths to find faults (just look at some of the posters here). Up I agree with the overwhelming majority of people who have seen this film. It is simply MAGNIFICENT. Of course, there will be those very few contrarians who will go to great lengths to find faults (just look at some of the posters here). Up is head and shoulders above most animated and even Live Action films, because it is NOT all visual splendor, it actually had a meaningful story with endearing characters and a message both the young and old can take to heart. That is something that is missing in most movies nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattFJul 7, 2009
A superb film from beginning to end. It starts of in a melancholy note, but it is essential because it makes Carl's absolution at the end all the more powerful. The movie ends in a happy and heartwarming note that had me and my 3 young A superb film from beginning to end. It starts of in a melancholy note, but it is essential because it makes Carl's absolution at the end all the more powerful. The movie ends in a happy and heartwarming note that had me and my 3 young kids giddy and bouncing off the wall with joy as we left the theater. UP is fantastic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyMJul 7, 2009
A+, 5 stars, perfect 10, you name it. I'm usually a contrarian who goes against what the masses love, but this movie won me over. A hilarious film with endearing characters, whose struggles are all too human that we can all relate to. A A+, 5 stars, perfect 10, you name it. I'm usually a contrarian who goes against what the masses love, but this movie won me over. A hilarious film with endearing characters, whose struggles are all too human that we can all relate to. A heartwarming and uplifting (no pun intended) tale of friendship, love, dreams, and aspirations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanG.Jul 8, 2009
Very, Very, Very good movie! I don't like cartoons but this one won me over completely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful