Up

Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1127 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,038
Mixed:
62
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DaveSJul 11, 2009
Up is an excellent movie. The story is near-perfect and the animation is beautiful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
edsJul 12, 2009
An uplifting movie, no pun intended. A film for adults and children. The beginning sequence showing Carl and Ellie's life is genius, talk in 5 minutes, with no words, just music and vision. Unbelieveable. This note to reviewer Memo An uplifting movie, no pun intended. A film for adults and children. The beginning sequence showing Carl and Ellie's life is genius, talk in 5 minutes, with no words, just music and vision. Unbelieveable. This note to reviewer Memo T..........Huh? How did you ever confuse not being able to have a baby with what you did. No wonder you voted as you did, you are confused. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JorgeMJul 16, 2009
Everything in this movie fits well that just makes a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HectorJul 16, 2009
One of Pixar's best films and one of the best films of 2009.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jwJul 19, 2009
(9.5) The star of the show is character development, with the mostly unheard-from Ellie functioning beautifully as the heart of the story. The scenes with her - young and then old - in the prologue are (with the possible exception of one or (9.5) The star of the show is character development, with the mostly unheard-from Ellie functioning beautifully as the heart of the story. The scenes with her - young and then old - in the prologue are (with the possible exception of one or two sequences in WALL-E) the best thing Pixar has ever done. It gives us the "reasons" for character traits early, as opposed to making them the "lesson" at the end. And it is unique in that it doesn't overexplain the problems of the child, Russell. On suspects that his father is the man trying to tear down Carl's house, but we never really know. Pixar has wisely steered its efforts toward emotional maturity; its visual luxuries are desensitizing and oddly static as compared to the best traditional animation. Pristine color is status quo, but good storytelling is still work. Comparing this movie's beginning to its middle is strong evidence of this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BilguunUJul 27, 2009
This was a usual amazing Pixar film. The first half especially was truly outstanding. The way the couple's story was told was a pure work of art. However, after this it became rather ordinary cartoon. Still I would recommend anyone to This was a usual amazing Pixar film. The first half especially was truly outstanding. The way the couple's story was told was a pure work of art. However, after this it became rather ordinary cartoon. Still I would recommend anyone to watch the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffreyBAug 11, 2009
Like others this movie left me laughing and crying. But most telling of all is when my 4 year old leaned over to me and said "He's sad and sorry daddy". Even she saw the touching side of this adventure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkSAug 26, 2009
Right up there with Nemo as one of the best Pixar movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregQAug 27, 2009
Another great one from Pixar. Doesn't have the social commentary aspect that WALL-E has, but has an outstanding and heartfelt story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertoMSep 24, 2009
This film was awesome experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveFSep 27, 2009
after a very "very" good first 20 minutes to this film i was thinking pixar had gone and done the impossible and made a better film than finding nemo. however by the time a squarking bird is introduced into the proceedings and a fairly funny after a very "very" good first 20 minutes to this film i was thinking pixar had gone and done the impossible and made a better film than finding nemo. however by the time a squarking bird is introduced into the proceedings and a fairly funny dog but who ultimately became tiresome i had lost all interest in it as the second half of the movie serves only as filler to add some really not so needed action and peril. From this point on it turns into a run of the mill drudge across the jungle (which suddenly appeared from nowhere by the way) and that is its biggest problem, its like it was a short story reaching a natural conclusion after 40 minutes and then pixar just stretched the whole thing out to make it feature length. we do get the full character arcs from pixar once more but by the time the credits roll i really couldn't have cared less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianR.Dec 19, 2009
Had a slow start, but got better and better to the end. One of the most funny movies I've seen in a while. Disney/Pixar and Steve Jobs definitely know how to make a good animated movie, and they've proved it once again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JularaAug 11, 2010
This is my favorite film from Pixar, besides Monsters Inc. The story about finding an adventure to embark on and enjoy the ride is the over riding theme of this film. The quirky characters are not to be forgotten and emotional depth theThis is my favorite film from Pixar, besides Monsters Inc. The story about finding an adventure to embark on and enjoy the ride is the over riding theme of this film. The quirky characters are not to be forgotten and emotional depth the film takes you as experience the joys and pitfalls of life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NatDurmanAug 14, 2010
UP is about an old man named Carl who sets out on an adventure, to fulfil his childhood sweetheartâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JawclAug 17, 2010
This was the best Pixar movie I've ever seen. I loved it, even thought it was sad it had a great story. The animation was very real, Blu-Ray is the way to go with this movie as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
In terms of emotional immersion, characterization, humor, and just good old-fashioned entertainment, Pixar puts all other summer fare to shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jeremyd99Aug 29, 2010
Up is a great family film,it is uplifting,funny,and and at event some parts dramatic.In my opinion it is one of the best movie to come out last year. The story is sweet and the visuals are great. These CGI graphics are outstanding,and lookUp is a great family film,it is uplifting,funny,and and at event some parts dramatic.In my opinion it is one of the best movie to come out last year. The story is sweet and the visuals are great. These CGI graphics are outstanding,and look better than most high budget action movies. The acting is good,and each voice fits the charachters perfectly. The background score is great,and fits perfectly to whats happening. This is one of Pixar's best and is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Melissa6381Oct 6, 2010
The beginning montage is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. The movie has enough for both adults and children to enjoy. All in all a fantastic story that reminds us all the seize the day!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
from the guys who brought you Monsters INC comes another memorable movie for kids and adults also known as Up. whats my opinion of it? its not my favorite, but its great. every Pixar movie kicks a**. Great characters, Great writing, Greatfrom the guys who brought you Monsters INC comes another memorable movie for kids and adults also known as Up. whats my opinion of it? its not my favorite, but its great. every Pixar movie kicks a**. Great characters, Great writing, Great music, and most of all: Great animation. Rating: 89% Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
After losing his wife, Mr. Frederickson finally finds adventure as he strings a plethora of balloons to the top of his house and tries to fly himself to South America, where his wife had always wanted to go since she was young but never gotAfter losing his wife, Mr. Frederickson finally finds adventure as he strings a plethora of balloons to the top of his house and tries to fly himself to South America, where his wife had always wanted to go since she was young but never got the chance. But when a 9-year old obnoxious fellow swings on for the ride, Mr. Federickson has to learn to deal with him after a conflict arises once landing in South America. Up is definitely a film for the entire family to feel excited about. The intial first 10 minutes are very heartwarming, but loses that warmth a little once the adventure begins, soon feeling like a shorter, much toned down adventure once it ends. Without a doubt Pixar delivers quality animation once again, but the feeling is different once the end credits, the same I saw in Cars and Monster's Inc. But definitely another masterpiece for 2009. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheGorillaAug 13, 2011
By all standards, this is Pixar's most beautiful, most enjoyable, deepest and funniest movie ever. I've had a smile throughout the whole movie, and all I can say is: terrific. It was such a refreshing feature and the story line was unique atBy all standards, this is Pixar's most beautiful, most enjoyable, deepest and funniest movie ever. I've had a smile throughout the whole movie, and all I can say is: terrific. It was such a refreshing feature and the story line was unique at it's best and worst. I didn't know what to expect when I went to see the movie. I thought it would be just another bubblegum animation, but boy, was I wrong. This is the most pleasant surprise I've ever experienced in my whole life. The characters are so sympathetic and the dogs are extremely funny. Pixar did it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CreativitaJul 2, 2011
Pixar continues to amaze me with the quality of their films. They have mastered the art of film-making and could change the way you think about the world with a colour or a sound. With "Up" they take you on an journey of subtle but darkPixar continues to amaze me with the quality of their films. They have mastered the art of film-making and could change the way you think about the world with a colour or a sound. With "Up" they take you on an journey of subtle but dark emotion and quirky humor, exploring circumstances not unlike to those we experience in our lives. The script breathes life and genuine emotion into each character and perfectly selected tracks are only a few of the things that makes 'Up" so brilliant. It is a perfect family film and will make you cry and laugh till the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
corpepDec 20, 2010
I love every part .it is my favorite movie. it is funny in every shape and form. it is so cool. something bad happens ,but it turns out ok .there are thousands of movies , but RENT this .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuMar 9, 2014
Up is a decent yet patchy addition to the Pixar cannon. The elements that deal with grief work excellently, yet the action is a little too abstract in comparison. Love those talking dogs, though. Hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
juliankleissMar 29, 2011
Even after the love of your life has passed away you can still spend some happy time with your sweet grandchildren and your loyal pets. "Up" is a beautifully sad movie about having a dream and living an adventure. While the villain isEven after the love of your life has passed away you can still spend some happy time with your sweet grandchildren and your loyal pets. "Up" is a beautifully sad movie about having a dream and living an adventure. While the villain is extremely unlikable, the protagonists are very lovable. The film might not have needed the final action sequence in the end, but "Up" is definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MalasawasJan 19, 2011
By the first it looks like a drama... it's really touching, the years going by... life, death... love... the idea of eternity, what remains, what doesn't... gotta be clear: I bursted into tears!!!! But... I've got really dissapointed passingBy the first it looks like a drama... it's really touching, the years going by... life, death... love... the idea of eternity, what remains, what doesn't... gotta be clear: I bursted into tears!!!! But... I've got really dissapointed passing thru this ''sad starting'' because it get's so... funny but for kids... the whole rest is intended for children... so it's good, really good Oscar Winning original score (you deserve it Mike Giacchino)... and after all, was the best on animated movies from 2009. Good job after all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 30, 2011
The opening seen in this is one of the few times a character death in a movie has actually saddened me. One of the most emotionally magnificent films ever crafted. The animation is incredibly vibrant, the score is rich and beautiful, and theThe opening seen in this is one of the few times a character death in a movie has actually saddened me. One of the most emotionally magnificent films ever crafted. The animation is incredibly vibrant, the score is rich and beautiful, and the voice acting is incredibly convincing. After hearing the story about the little girl who died after seeing this film, I only watch this film with more respect . A fantastic work of art. No wonder it was only the second animated film nominated for the Best Picture Oscar, this is amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
davenbettridgeNov 7, 2011
How many movies have an old man as a lead character? Very few, and its this original approach to film making that makes Pixar so good. The characters, story, animation and design of this film are brilliantly crafted. Up is just sort of beingHow many movies have an old man as a lead character? Very few, and its this original approach to film making that makes Pixar so good. The characters, story, animation and design of this film are brilliantly crafted. Up is just sort of being a masterpiece, it's a great animated American movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
daafdaafJun 28, 2011
This film, I found it very well made. It has a serious story line but great depth of character and some very funny seance. its slower pace sets it of from other animations with its dark beginning showing it to be film encompassing older generations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LevelsAndGearDec 27, 2011
"Up" One Line Review!

A bit too tearjerky for me, and the plot moved a smidge too conveniently but there were some good jokes and the digital 3-D was really cool and well done, it was seamlessly implemented - worth watching.
"Up" One Line Review!

A bit too tearjerky for me, and the plot moved a smidge too conveniently but there were some good jokes and the digital 3-D was really cool and well done, it was seamlessly implemented - worth watching.
http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/up/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews