Up

Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1141 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,052
Mixed:
63
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Navelpluis1337Apr 1, 2012
I'm two years late to the party, but glad I arrived there anyways. I rarely get moved by a movie, but this one had me on the brink of crying more than once. The characters are likeable, the surroundings beautiful, and the story emotional. IfI'm two years late to the party, but glad I arrived there anyways. I rarely get moved by a movie, but this one had me on the brink of crying more than once. The characters are likeable, the surroundings beautiful, and the story emotional. If you haven't seen it already I highly advice you to do so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 12, 2011
This one is real, incredibly powerful, full of eye-popping visuals and a complicated protagonist that is introduced in an almost perfect way with a truly flawless montage to explain his life
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Potter17Dec 11, 2011
Delivering some real laughs and interesting moments at the first minutes, "Up" sounds quite promising. But as soon as the plot starts to develop, you realize that "Up" is a good movie but is far away from being a Pixar masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
xenaAug 29, 2011
Uplifting,emotional and comedic. Mixed in perfect proportion.A treat to enjoy and ponder over.The film manages to together universal themes and in the process lead the viewer through an amazing journey complete with fantasticUplifting,emotional and comedic. Mixed in perfect proportion.A treat to enjoy and ponder over.The film manages to together universal themes and in the process lead the viewer through an amazing journey complete with fantastic vistas,nail-biting tensionand if there's no one else nearby some choice words toobased on character foibles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bram29Jan 25, 2013
reviewers had warned me and exited me before i saw this movie, and i immediately saw it twice, and a third time with director's commentary. pixar's up is so unbelievably good that i am now turning it into a moviegoers duty to once see thisreviewers had warned me and exited me before i saw this movie, and i immediately saw it twice, and a third time with director's commentary. pixar's up is so unbelievably good that i am now turning it into a moviegoers duty to once see this movie as a sort of holy pilgrimage. why is it so epic? because it's got everything. action, beautiful set pieces and animation, and, on top of it all, and at the very core, because it's a deeply philosophical movie and a great teacher, and it parallels it's joy so much with it's sadness that it creates a memorable and heave experience. what i like most about the philosophical element is that all the characters are built around a theme, and they all mean something and have something to say, which makes every one stick to my memory. every person in their lifetime has to see up before dying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 16, 2011
Up is a great animated film that is among the best from Pixar. It has the most heart warming story that Pixar has ever had and the characters are great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
maskinmaskNov 20, 2011
cross your heart.a promise keep all lifetime,a lifetime for a dream,that's awesome.adventure is out there,just follow you heart,work for your dream,what the **** least 150 characters long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFJun 25, 2013
Pixar may have created some of their finest work yet in the form of Up, it really packs an emotional punch that is difficult to find these days with real actors involved, but they manage to tell a love story and have a father/son orPixar may have created some of their finest work yet in the form of Up, it really packs an emotional punch that is difficult to find these days with real actors involved, but they manage to tell a love story and have a father/son or grandfather/grandson dynamic in this film that also show wonderful visuals that outline just how far the company has come since its Toy Story days.
With a wonderful opening montage that is almost void of any speaking, we are shown a heartbreaking story of love and loss, we are introduced to Carl, and elderly man who is the last remaining housing owner on a piece of land that is trying to be taken away to make room for some major development.
Carl is threatened with a retirement home so makes plans to get away to Paradise Falls, a place "lost in time", he attaches thousands of balloons to his house and floats off into the sky, but with added guests.
Russell, a young scout who accidentally tagged along, proves a welcome and hilarious friend for the ageing Carl, his witty lines but angelic charm have made him an unforgettable character in the Pixar family.
The themes within the film are edgy but realistic in Pixar terms. A film that deals with death, hints of fatherly abandonment and getting old are indeed tough but heartfelt messages, but these have been dealt with brilliantly, the whole film is an adventure of spontaneity and self discovery, don't necessarily plan everything in front of you but perhaps live a little and go with the flow. Carl has lived his whole life wishing to take hsi joinery, but only decides to do so at 78 years old.
The character of Russell is wonderfully voice acted by Jordan Nagai, who shows the innocence but also sponge-like nature of a child, picking up on everything that their elders do, but there for some blunt truth when necessary. The adventures these two take the viewer on will leave you wanting more and more, with hilarious and over the top antics to rival in of this studios previous efforts.
This is without doubt one of Pixar's finest efforts, it has plenty of clever but also slapstick humour, an even mix to appeal to the audience in masses, a heartfelt and motivational story of life going on, and is certainly a visual spectacle to behold.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jboy2468Nov 22, 2011
An excellent movie through and through, with silly scenes and a pretty good story. Animations are outstanding. The characters are great. The story seems shaky at times, and it doesn't really keep you interested at times. But, I definitelyAn excellent movie through and through, with silly scenes and a pretty good story. Animations are outstanding. The characters are great. The story seems shaky at times, and it doesn't really keep you interested at times. But, I definitely recommend this movie to anyone at any age. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4Jan 16, 2012
Up is timeless, emotional, heartfelt; everything in Up is in the right place its humor, heart and characters everything is just timeless and wonderful. I give this film 97%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SmileylivvieJun 10, 2012
Very good and humorous film about an old old man sat in his house on his favourite chair next to his wifes who unfortunately passed away a couple of years back, until he meets a scout boy named Russell, who is wanting his last badge calledVery good and humorous film about an old old man sat in his house on his favourite chair next to his wifes who unfortunately passed away a couple of years back, until he meets a scout boy named Russell, who is wanting his last badge called the "wilderness explorer" badge. Russell and his new old best friend goes flying over the rooftops of thousands of houses to get to the place where the old man has promised his old wife to go, South America, to a waterfall where they could build a house they have planned since the early ages of life, can he get there with a helping hand of Russell and some friends? Personally I LOVED this film and I am surprised there is some negative reviews!! :) great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZegilgameshDec 29, 2012
Up is as charming and funny as any adult movie, and it keeps the morality and gentle humanity of a Pixar classic. This is a cinematic masterpiece to behold for all ages, as its flaws are few and far between.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
7dogguyOct 20, 2012
to be honest i thought this movie was going to suck the characters are very memorable and the storyline is amazing and 5 minutes in the movie has almost and or balling your eyes out pixar make the best cgi movie and most luckly will alwaysto be honest i thought this movie was going to suck the characters are very memorable and the storyline is amazing and 5 minutes in the movie has almost and or balling your eyes out pixar make the best cgi movie and most luckly will always make the best cgi movies this movie is touching moving funny and inspiring you serious let out every emotion possible during this movie and thats the kind of movie that deserves a 10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Boozerx7Feb 16, 2012
Pixar rarely disappoints. Another brilliant movie. A very colourful, intriguing and moving movie that will keep you anticipated the whole time. A variety of emotions were felt in this roller coaster ride especially the flashbacks which hitsPixar rarely disappoints. Another brilliant movie. A very colourful, intriguing and moving movie that will keep you anticipated the whole time. A variety of emotions were felt in this roller coaster ride especially the flashbacks which hits you hard. Definitely worth the nomination of Best Picture. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JesrinMar 23, 2012
The most powerful animated film ever made. Truly amazing. I am NOT ashamed to admit that, for most of the movie, I had tears streaming down my face (either due to laughter or sorrow). This is an example of what ALL movies should aspire toThe most powerful animated film ever made. Truly amazing. I am NOT ashamed to admit that, for most of the movie, I had tears streaming down my face (either due to laughter or sorrow). This is an example of what ALL movies should aspire to achieve: Truth, beauty, and downright awesomeness. :D In Christ, Jesrin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dudu_95Nov 23, 2013
Possibly the most entertaining and heartwarming animated movie I have ever seen. Disney once again creates a touching story that will please children and adults alike.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jul 1, 2013
Up had a great beginning, an unimpressive middle, and a pleasant ending. It is far from the best material Pixar has produced. You get the feeling it could had been so much more imaginative considering the premise was wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
A_NorthernerApr 7, 2012
Disney-Pixar have almost consistently produced films to a superb standard in recent years and Up does not just meet this standard but raise it further. As with its predecessors, the animation is great and the story is amusing and rich inDisney-Pixar have almost consistently produced films to a superb standard in recent years and Up does not just meet this standard but raise it further. As with its predecessors, the animation is great and the story is amusing and rich in sentiment but what makes Up stand out above the rest is the combination of unusual characters, odd story and superb Oscar winning score. With the exception of The Incredibles, Pixar have traditionally stayed away from humans as central characters. However, in Up the main characters are Mr. Fredricksen, a lonely, grumpy old man and Russell, a plump young explorer scout. An unlikely pair who are unintentionally thrown together as Mr. Fredricksen transports his house to South America using helium filled balloons to escape moving from his home. There they meet a group of talking dogs, an endangered bird and Mr. Fredricksen's childhood hero as the adventure and fun continues.

As plots go it is one of the most bizarre yet from Pixar but it's a fun journey and the writers actually cover the pretty serious themes of ageing and missed opportunities, loneliness and friendship along the way. The montage at the beginning of the film displaying the life Mr. Fredricksen shared with his wife, from their childhood to her death, is beautifully made and, supported by the superb score, is an incredibly emotive piece of film making.

If you are looking for an enjoyable, funny film for the family then you can not do much better than Up.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
watithink123Jun 21, 2012
Up was so much better then I thought. Why give it a 6 A 5 or 2 out of 10? This film was amazing so just watch it. Up 9.5/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CDQJun 28, 2012
I have come to expect a lot from Pixar. They have consistently churned out wonderful movies, and I had heard Up was no exception. Unfortunately, I don't think that Up is nearly up to par with Pixar's best. The movie starts out fantastic,I have come to expect a lot from Pixar. They have consistently churned out wonderful movies, and I had heard Up was no exception. Unfortunately, I don't think that Up is nearly up to par with Pixar's best. The movie starts out fantastic, but it quickly falls apart. By the time we reach the second half, the movie has devolved into a mess. I think my main problem with Up is that it is the only Pixar movie where I cannot nag the feeling that everything is so implausible. How utterly unrealistic it was bothered me the whole movie, and this is saying something coming from someone who wasn't bothered by rats cooking. None of the characters in Up are particularly memorable. It just didn't connect with me in the way that other Pixar movies have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialMar 8, 2014
It's sweet, emotional, and hilarious adventure from Pixar. Adults would probably enjoy this film more than kids, but nevertheless, this is a great family & kids film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
King_Ossy99May 23, 2012
just face it disney pixar is THE best at animation nothing can beat them when it comes to animation Wall E: 10/10
Ratatouille: 10/10
The Incredibles: 10/10
Up: 10/10
Toy Story 1,2 and 3: 10/10 x 3
EVERY PIXAR MOVIE: 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
anshimanDec 23, 2012
Quite simply Pixar's best film to date. The emotional journey coupled with the eye-popping visuals makes for a film that deals with themes of tragedy, grief and loss encapsulated in such a sweet package - you won't be able to resist. ThisQuite simply Pixar's best film to date. The emotional journey coupled with the eye-popping visuals makes for a film that deals with themes of tragedy, grief and loss encapsulated in such a sweet package - you won't be able to resist. This bravura film leaps beyond the apparent restrictions of an animated film with mature themes whilst still maintaining the innocent sentiments at heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
charlieW24Jul 8, 2012
This could arguably be Pixars greatest work, the first five minutes is without a doubt the greatest opening in cinema, getting all emotional scenes from every film in history and putting them into one beautifully told and stunning scenes. IfThis could arguably be Pixars greatest work, the first five minutes is without a doubt the greatest opening in cinema, getting all emotional scenes from every film in history and putting them into one beautifully told and stunning scenes. If the film had lived up to this it would undeniably be in the top 10 greatest films in history, but it turns into adventure that is so admirable. Pixar again creates gorgeous visuals and a setting that is truly stunning, it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
axelkochAug 25, 2012
'Up' is funny, heartrending and lovingly made - very good pictures! But the story with the talking dogs is a bit silly and probably just there to fill time. Also, there are many goofs but that's okay. All in all, one of the best disney movies'Up' is funny, heartrending and lovingly made - very good pictures! But the story with the talking dogs is a bit silly and probably just there to fill time. Also, there are many goofs but that's okay. All in all, one of the best disney movies of all time - a good time for childs and grown-ups! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
Everyone talks about how sad this movie is, or at least about how sad the beginning is. Personally, I don't think that "sad" is the best word. It was more like...brilliant. Smooth story telling dense with emotion, irresistible humor, lovableEveryone talks about how sad this movie is, or at least about how sad the beginning is. Personally, I don't think that "sad" is the best word. It was more like...brilliant. Smooth story telling dense with emotion, irresistible humor, lovable and distinct characters, the perfect dose of peril and of course spot on animation. With this moving adventure of love, companionship and discovering the real treasures in life, Pixar has managed to, once again, touch us to the core with the simplest of gestures and in the process add another sparkling gem to their vault. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
domecNov 5, 2013
This movie is the only animated movie that made me cry. it´s story is so heartwarming it´s charchaters are grow on you. this movie you must watch or if you donýou will miss one of the most satfiying movies of all time
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HazzaGallaMay 8, 2016
'Up' to this day still remains one of my absolute favourite animated movies. And why is that? Because it combines so many astounding elements into a brilliantly made film. It's heartbreaking, it's charming, it's entertaining and it's'Up' to this day still remains one of my absolute favourite animated movies. And why is that? Because it combines so many astounding elements into a brilliantly made film. It's heartbreaking, it's charming, it's entertaining and it's fantastically crafted. The characters are memorable, the story is deeply intriguing and the soundtrack is just beautiful. 'Up' is a very special film, one that won't leave a person for a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sayomgwtfDec 3, 2012
I love the message behind this movie, even though it had such sad moments it is beautiful to understand that it is ok to dream and even though things do not happen the way we first think they would, doesn't mean they wouldn't happen at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sanyrubMay 4, 2015
Brilliant first act where emotions ride high. Beautiful, heartwarming and special. However, from the middle of the film to the end it does not feel that special and suffers a clear decline in originality and quality. Still very goodBrilliant first act where emotions ride high. Beautiful, heartwarming and special. However, from the middle of the film to the end it does not feel that special and suffers a clear decline in originality and quality. Still very good nonetheless. Visually stunning and colourful. Great concept that suffers towards the end of the film. A 7.5 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews